Find companies:
Sacred Heart Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
139 reviews

Sacred Heart Hospital Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harmonious relationship with the management and co-workers
Neonatal Nurse (Current Employee), Cebu City, PhilippinesJune 25, 2013
Pros: exposed and able to practice the different nicu machines
Cons: minimum salary wage
First, we will do our routine endorsement to all the patients in NICU, then we will have our loading of patients/newborns. I have learned so much in our day-to-day work, like how to manage time properly especially in feeding and assisting mothers in breastfeeding, to have proper rapport with my co-workers within and outside my designated area. I value – more... my relationship to my co-staff so much because with this I could create a stress-free environment and I could be focus in rendering proper care to my patients. Our hospital management has a lot to improve since we are upgrading our hospital bed capacity. Sometimes, we disapproved to their newly implemented regulations but in the long run we managed to accept what they are trying to change and do for our benefits. I encountered some hardships especially in dealing with mothers whose newborn babies were not healthy or have newborn complications. It's a must to extend your patience in assisting their queries and demands. I am very delighted to be part of our neonatal intensive care team because I was able to extend and broaden my knowledge and expertise in dealing with newborns with or without complications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great radiologists to work for
Nuclear Medicine Technologist (Former Employee), Eau Claire, WIJune 25, 2013
small department
good working environment
great working hours
call was a nice bonus
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free gift cards for perfect attendance.
Escort patients (Current Employee), Allentown, PAJune 23, 2013
Pros: alot of paid time off
Cons: short staff
Family oriented diversity, everyone knows one another. Very understanding managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's really great always helping others.. staff/patient's/visitor's
Dispatcher (Current Employee), Eau Claire, WIJune 10, 2013
Pros: sharing the work day with others you learn things from
Cons: early hours?
I am involved in many things at this hospital. Each day is sort of the same yet different. I have learned patience,listening, and kindness are the greatest things to share in healthcare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable experience
Volunteer (Former Employee), Allentown, PAJune 6, 2013
On a typical day of volunteering, it was always calm. i learned to make patients feel comfortable, discharge patients, answer calls, make deliveries to different locations in the hospital, put medical files in order and work as a receptionist by picking up phone calls, having patients sign in, send patients where they need to go for there appointments. – more... My co-workers and i worked together (team work) if one person needed help someone would tag along and help them. there was nothing hard about volunteering here. everything was pretty easy. I believe helping patients out, getting them water and talking to them to make them feel comfortable was the most enjoyable part about volunteering here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No stability
Chicago, Il -Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, IlJune 6, 2013
Pros: flexibility with work schedules
Cons: pay/hr director
This facility has great potential for excellence in care but, is undergoing legal difficulties that can not allow job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff with team work philosophy.
LPN (Current Employee), Allentown, PAMay 28, 2013
Pros: covered, safe parking deck with access to the facility.
Cons: short staffing and no break room available for our locked unit.
Night shift on the Extended Acute Care Unit, Behavioral Health, can be challenging and requires one to be on there toes, recognizing and treating behavioral issues, and utilizing therapeutic skills. With two nurses and one MHT on a 19 bed unit, it is busy and demanding, but in a positive sort of way. Management does their best to maintain a positive – more... and efficient work environment. The hardest part of the job is when census is down and the MHT is pulled. The patients on this unit have lifelong mental health issues and can be highly volatile in a short period of time. With only two nurses there is a sense of being unsafe. That is a true negative in this position, but one that has been adapted to. Most enjoyable is the interaction with the patients who are sincere in trying to manage their illness and are trying their best. Even those who have difficulty coping can have a positive impact on the day when they can be reached and a smile brought to their face, if only for a moment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
ER Registrar/ Diagnostic Registrar (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLMay 25, 2013
Pros: the best compensation /benefits
Cons: no promotions
A typical day at work was checking patients in and out of the emergency room, The hardest part of my job was being involved with the trauma patients, The best part of my job was caring for the ill
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I functioned as the Assistant Chief Nursing Officer responsible for all the outpatient departments of the hospital.
DIRECTOR OF PATIENT CARE SERVICES/ASST (Former Employee), Allentown, PAMay 8, 2013
Pros: rapid change, responsibility for a wide range of departments, ability to cross lines when necessary
Cons: nursing shortage, limited financial resources, inner-city environment
I was promoted from nurse manager for the short procedure unit to director. I learned that I could manage a unit like cardiac catheterization (as well as others foreign to my experience) without the specialty care experience by trusting the clinical skills to my competent staff. This is where I really got a handle to developing and managing budgets – more... and was able to conduct monthly reviews with the managers who reported to me. I enjoyed working with me colleagues who had diverse backgrounds and we learned from each other.
I actually lover every part of this job because I was constantly learning and transferring knowledge to others. I was identified as team leader to lead teams to improve productivity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy full of love
Transporter (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLMay 7, 2013
Pros: great lunches (wendy's and subway) resturants!
Cons: very tight rooms so its hard to get around.
Coming into work is pretty easy, say my good mornings, have a nice breakfast, and get right to work. I work in a different area than the rest of my co-workers. My transportation job "patient escort" duties now consist of being in the main pharmacy. Dispersing medicine onto each floor of the hospital so that the nurses will have their patient's antibiotics.Interacting – more... with the nurses and the patients are the highlights of the day because there's always something happening in the hospital. If a fellow transporter is in need of help I do what I can to help them out and continue to do my part in transportation. I've learned a ton of names and uses of different medicines. There are many difficult days, when patients often aren't aware of where they are or how they may have got there. Sick babies that you wish you could bring plenty of joy to their faces, everyday is a tribulation but you learn to face them and it becomes the most easiest job ever. I'm very appreciative for being given the opportunity to work at Sacred Heart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLApril 24, 2013
Sacred Heart isn't a bad place to work but does not expedite hiring process, be patient and you might get a call
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Registered Staff Technologist (Former Employee), Eau Claire, WIApril 11, 2013
Pros: always moving, exciting, fast paced, always got my hours and then some.
Cons: having to work weekends, helath insurance wasn't the greatest.
Working in this hospital, there was many places an Xray technologist is needed. I would go to Surgery, emergency room for a trauma, an outpatient needed an Xray, an inpatient needed and Xray, a Radiologist needed help with a Fluoroscopy case. It was fun having so much to do in a day. I always felt I made a difference working here and the people I touched – more... during their care.
My coworkers were very young, just out of school. Some liked to work, but some just sat, that just meant more for me to do!
The hardest part of my job was having to see the death of people. I know it is the natural way of things, but still hard. Having to work so many weekends in a row was hard too, not much of a family life.
I enjoyed helping patients. no matter how many X-rays you do in a day, they were always exciting. You never knew what was coming next. I loved helping with the spinal/neuro surgeries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Milot,North of HaitiApril 4, 2013
Working for this company was best I learned a lot from doctors,local and foreigners,and from the older nurses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sacred Heart
Receptionist (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLMarch 11, 2013
Great place to advance and a family atmosphere and a great place to learn,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management and working environment
Surgical Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: absence of benefits like health insurance
My typical day started at 7:00,when i am checking OR sceduling. After that, I am checking my room equipment and I go to the out patient facility to bring the patient in OR. I'm helping in the patient positioning and anesthesia induction. Next, I scrub on the procedure and participate in Surgery, during which I'm exposing the wound, making hemostasis, – more... and closing the wound after Surgery. Between two surgeries, I check the equipment for the next procedure and check the patients rediness. Besides that, I'm helping in patient transportation from the Recovery Room to the floor and from the floor to the wating facility. After OR day is finished, I always turn off all equipment used and go home with the feeling of accomplishment and joy! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteered in assistance to the hospital and faculty.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Allentown, PAFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: meeting new people and learning new things about the medical field.
I conducted various tasks such as transfering medical records and documents as well as blood tests to different departments of the hospital. I was also in assistance to patients by discharging them out of the hospital with a wheelchair. The most enjoyable part of the job is talking with faculty members and learning many things that I was naive about – more... prior to volunteering. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND A PEACEFUL WORKING ENVIRONMENT
GENERAL NURSE PRACTIONER (Current Employee), AbeokutaFebruary 9, 2013
Cons: short break
Always caring for my patients though proper assessment of their vital and proving the necessary care needed for them in an appropriate,acceptable and standard settings.
I learn t to be industrious and care with empathy.
My co-workers are very co-operative.
The most enjoyable part of the work is seeing my patient getting well and being able to live a – more... healthy life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Admissions Clerk (Former Employee), Allentown, PAFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: free healthcare
Cons: short lunches
It was a good place to work exciting and challenging it was a variety of things to do.Never a dull moment .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Do An Internship
Med/Surg Internship (Former Employee), Eau Claire, WIJanuary 22, 2013
This is where I did my internship before graduation on the Med/Surg Ortho floor. Here I not only got go directly interaction with patients as a nurse, but I was also able to see the management side as my nurse mentor was also the floor charge nurse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed helping people find appropriate employment
Employment Recruiter (Former Employee), Allentown, PAJanuary 21, 2013
I was the employment recruiter. I advertised, screened, interviewed, and hired applicants. Plus, I maintained current job descriptions and conducted new employee orientation. I learned that I am very much a people person and love meeting and talking everyone. My management and co-workers were very helpful and supportive. The hardest part of the position – more... was finding the proper candidate and not being able to meet the salary requirements of the candidate. – less