Sabre Employee Reviews

Showing all 172 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviornment
Reservations Agent (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FL17 May 2017
Company that cares about their employees and community values.Also a chance for advancement and an emphasis on continued learn and expansion of company and industry knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect lay-offs
Senior Release Manager (Former Employee) –  Southlake, TX4 May 2017
Favoritism is obvious when laying off/terminating, If you aren't social enough you'll be on the chopping block. Many Directors don't know the business, they are moved around between areas just because. There is a "layoff" every year since Management does not know what they are doing. This company is doomed once AA leaves them. There's no work for Airline after 2017 and it's dwindling. RUN AWAY to a company that appreciates their employees and can provide security.
Pros
The building is nice.
Cons
The layoff game is played all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with good people
HVAC Technician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN3 May 2017
It's a lot of hard work, but they have a lot of good people. Depending on what type of work a person is into, this can be enjoyable. This was not just for me.
Pros
Healthcare and Caring people
Cons
long hours and consistant moving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Technology Company
Sr. Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TX21 April 2017
Began my IT career here. Excellent opportunities and learned many different technology platforms in the Integration Lab. Involved in enterprise level projects.
Pros
Great opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Procuctive and fun place to work
Head - Talent Acquisition (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, Karnataka20 April 2017
Truly enjoyed working with this company. Great leaders and fun place to be in. Excellent leaders who know well how to drive their teams and keep them motivated.
Pros
Nil
Cons
NIl
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Java Developer (Current Employee) –  Southlake, TX14 April 2017
The Management didn't have proper planning and they put all pressure on employees. They seemed to follow agile , but there no proper process in place. Even the Billing and the deadlines were not planned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging company to work at - hardcore waterfall, command and control culture
Enterprise Agile Coach (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TX11 April 2017
This is a great company to work for if you don't mind a waterfall, command and control culture and if your core values align with the company culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sabre has been very good to me for many years.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Southlake, TX4 April 2017
I have watched Sabre go from being a division within American Airlines to becoming the company they are today. I have seen many many changes over the years. Some good and some not as good. However, they had always been really good to their employees. They provided me with the opportunity to work hard, earn a good living, and develop my career in a meaningful way. There were always opportunities for advancement and learning if you wanted to take advantage of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Senior QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, Karnataka8 March 2017
Sabre is a great place to work at, workplace culture is great with an amicable atmosphere. Team that I worked in had senior and junior members who were ready to help when required. Nice thing in Sabre is the pantry where you can relax, play ping pong, Foose ball and have fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Sr VMWare Consultant (Former Employee) –  Southlake, TX6 March 2017
Excellent co-ordination
Easy to handle hierarchy
Good work culture
Nice coworkers
Simple infrastructure
Cozy work process
Tactical management
Secured job
Good balance of life and work
Pros
Good
Cons
Not much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Focused - Good place to work
Senior Principal Information Security (Former Employee) –  Southlake, TX2 March 2017
Sabre offers many benefits to employees like Skillsoft online training and 24x7 online books. In addition to online executive abstracts, workout facilities, paid volunteer days, etc. This is in addition to competitive pay and benefits (401k match), onsite health clinic, cafeteria, health rooms and onsite health screening.

This said, there is a culture change now that the company is public and there is a new CEO. I see more "bottom line" type decisions which are good for the company at the expense of benefits. (welcome to the real world).

Overall, I would recommend Sabre as a good place to work.
Pros
gym, onsite health clinic, online learning, paid volunteer days
Cons
Culture shift, recent layoffs, big company pains (not nimble)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on where you are it can be exciting to work here
Architect (Current Employee) –  Southlake, TX26 February 2017
Constant hiring and reduction in work force can be very distracting and stressful. Some areas continue to operate on old legacy software stack though some others are making an effort to modernize
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn
Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Southlake, TX17 February 2017
You learn a lot about all aspects of working in a big corporations, and in technology. However, the company culture would benefit from more communications from the top-down.
Pros
good people, some flexible work schedules
Cons
open floor plan can make it hard to get work done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Finance Operations/Accounting - General Accountant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TX 7823316 February 2017
The work place culture is a friendly and team working culture. Fast pace culture working but most enjoyable place work at. I learnt a wealth of information about back office accounting and the credit card industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sabre Review
Senior System Delivery (Project Manager) (Former Employee) –  Southlake TX8 February 2017
A typical day at work was easy but frustrating because every body seems to think their problem is a priority over everyone else.
I didn't learn much because I was never sent to training even though it was promised multiple times.
The workplace culture is hard to determine at present because a new CEO has just taken over. I can say that the way it was leading up to the new CEO was not pleasant. Everyone had the attitude that you should work as much as possible and be available to answer emails at all hours of the day and night.
The hardest part of the job was trying to get the company to give me proper training. Because it wasn't given i never felt like I was doing a appropriate job for my position.
The only enjoyable part of this job was the vacation time that I had earned and some of the friendships that I made. There are no perks and no matter what they say they don't seem to be interested in hiring the most skilled workers.
Pros
Vacations and distance from home
Cons
Management and what seemed like a lack of funds to help employees better themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Marketing Manager (Contract) (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PR26 January 2017
This a great company to develop your sales, marketing and distribution skills along providing excellence customer service
Pros
Great development oportunities
Cons
Extensive travel required
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on the where you work within Sabre, this can be an interesting place to be
Sr. Principal Application Architect (Current Employee) –  Southlake, TX24 January 2017
Sabre has some interesting products in play in the market that can be fun to work with but It also has a lot of Legacy technical debt which at times can weigh things down
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large changes in management and multiple rounds of layoffs hurt the culture. The new management was not successful restoring it
Lead QA Engineer (Former Employee) –  Southlake, TX12 January 2017
Sabre's higher management was changed dramatically in preparation to go public.
That improved the company financially and was great since long due changes were finally implemented.
However, after a while, that impacted the moral, and job security feeling and the culture was changed to the worse in less than 3 years.
The employees changed as well. Many of the management level (that knew in advance about the changes!!!) found smart ways to move on.. The laid off people got nice packages and the remaining were either new management, existing management that liked the new culture, and a lot of insecure and resentful people.

The fun coming to the office was limited as well as team work.
Pros
Location, green building, excellent benefits, many employees are young, young at heart, and open minded people
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and friendly environment
Payroll Analyst Uruguay and Latin-American (Current Employee) –  Montevideo, Departamento de Montevideo10 January 2017
Hello. A typical day: I wake up at 7.30 and take the bus in order to arrive to the company at 9. I work in HR deparment with 15 other people in an open office. I have learned a lot of (internal) customer service, Kronos app skills, work in team, and working with remote managers. I work with excellent people, very friendly and who take care of the communication and colaboration. I do not know if it is difficult, but for sure needs a big responsability, to reach all time-frames in critical dates. The most enjoyable part is working with people from other countries.
Pros
mobile shifts
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
DevOps Support (Former Employee) –  Southlake, TX9 January 2017
Many company-sponsored events to encourage innovation. Employees and contractors are dispersed all over the world -- Texas, Oklahoma, Poland, Uraguay, India, etc.

Workers have great control over the software loaded on their company laptops, which means that you get to load your own software. (For those with desktop skills, this is great! For those with less desktop knowledge, support is available, but you will have to request/schedule it.)

People are generally friendly to newcomers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sabre. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 172 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7