Ryerson University

Ryerson University Employee Reviews

Found 140 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full of discoveries
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2016
I went into the lab as i scheduled for that week. i usually modified my experiments on MOFs as i read more articles. my curiosity also drove me into making my own modifications in the synthesis procedure. i learnt a lot and discovered a lot after the characterization of my samples.
Pros
unravel my own potential
Cons
working alone was boring
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent job, time management and a lot to learn
Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 December 2015
I had the pleasure of being a student researcher during my last of Ryerson. The professor I have worked with was fantastic at her job and was willing to help me and contact me as much as possible for the project I was working in.
Pros
Work at your own pace
Cons
If you don't manage your time well, you won't do well
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning opportunity with access to resources
GRADUATE RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  10 Dundas st East14 December 2015
Fun pace to work with. Lot of new and interesting learning opportunities especially for research oriented people. Good place to network with professionals and develop business ideas.
Pros
Resources, work-life balance
Cons
Limited Growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intellectualling stimulating place to work
DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 December 2015
My eight years at Ryerson University were a wonderful time to try new things, meet a variety of people and expand my skills.
Pros
great location, good salary and benefits
Cons
steep corporate pyramid, difficult to move into other jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 November 2015
There was a lot to like about working at Ryerson. The online HR system was difficult to navigate but has since been updated.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to obtain full time permanent
Payments Representative (Former Employee) –  toronto6 November 2015
You will most likely be in contract for a long time and there's no telling when they decide to let you go. You still need to pay union dues even if you are contract and it mostly benefits the permanent employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Troubleshooting data center, Maintaining Server PODs
Research / Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 November 2015
Faced challenges to re-arrange the PODs for course. Improved the availability of PODs and improved network by replacing devices to latest models.
Pros
Productive work, Good management, Challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard working community that makes you feel welcome
Fabrication Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2015
I enjoyed working in a close-knit environment. I always felt excited to start the day, cleaning the shop, assisting with design fabrication projects with other students and ultimately solving problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
RU Noted Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 October 2015
I enhanced knowledge of department administration practices in organized manner. I learnt various techniques of using Excel.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Clerk in OSAP Department (Former Employee) –  toronto ont29 September 2015
I learned a lot in the OSAP department and would gladly work there again.My contract was extended and I was grateful for that opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Private Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 September 2015
Awesome. I enjoyed working with students and explaining challenging science concepts. The pay was good and the environment was simply amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management, place to learn and excel
TEACHING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  toronto,ON23 September 2015
Educational workplace with supportive mentors and management. Most of the professor take interest in your personal and professional success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Chemistry Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Toronto, On11 September 2015
Ryerson being an academic institute, has a very unique environment. The young generation is full of energy and eager to create change, loved it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and positive environment
Women's Soccer Head Coach (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2015
Committed athletic department and staff, providing excellent opportunities for young student-athletes. Demanding role mentoring students, coaching, and recruiting.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for work
Master Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2015
It provides a lot of chances for students

The lab is very big for students to do all kinds of work

The professor's courses are excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place to grow as a student and Academic
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto8 August 2015
Productive and fun work place to grow as a student and Academic. The professors at Ryerson are wonderful. I felt part of a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Employer in the GTA
Admissions and Liaison Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 July 2015
Great place to work. The union and HR have a great working relationship which means employees benefit tremendously. If you want to be part of an innovative, and diverse community, then Ryerson University is the place to be.
Pros
Great management teams, fun place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As an instructor in the socieal sciences, I had the richest experience working with students and faculty of all background.
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2015
As a qualified landed immigrant to Canada, I had the unique opportunity of knowing the work culture, demands of work and the work environment in different settings. My qualification and international experience helped me a lot in getting along with people coming from different background, that enriched my own life.
Pros
Learning skills
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Place
Network Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 July 2015
Intelligent Management
- Growth Company
- Entrepreneurial Culture
- Smart Talented software developers
- Intense, agile project driven results
- Seriously Technical Company
Pros
Every day is enjoyable
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work at ryerson
PhD project Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 June 2015
great team, great atmosphere. meeting new people and learn lot of new things. making a lot of networking . and most of all socializing with new communities.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 143 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3

Ryerson University Reviews by Location