Ryerson University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great colleagues
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 October 2017
great on boarding process, excellent colleagues, compensation reflects education and experience, ability to work independently required, yearly contracts for pt tm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill work place
IT HELP DESK ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2017
Great management, they're always there when I need help. Good work life balance. Doing work study at Ryerson University is very manageable with my full time school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great education hub!
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 September 2017
For me a typical day at Ryerson was between research studies and TA classes. It was a great opportunity to learn whether you are conducting lab tutorials or studying. The environment was pleasant and stress-free. Overall it was a self learning process which enhanced my interpersonal and mathematical skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful and hard working manager
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 September 2017
My manager is extremely respectful, very hard working, and deeply interested in my growth. Most other managers (but not all) are similarly committed and engaged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work, but low pay
Production Artist, Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 September 2017
This review is really worth nothing because the job will vary a lot depending on who is your professor and what they ask you to do. I enjoyed my time just fine.
Pros
Interesting work that is hopefully in your field
Cons
low pay and you have to do it while going to school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Manager Recreation (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 September 2017
Varying hours
Family environment
Energetic
Big focus on Customer Service
Fast paced during School Year, Summers are down time.
Get to work out at work.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Travel Time to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent research study term
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 September 2017
- Independent work, no collaborative team work
- Learnt a lot about telecommunication industry
- Supervised by an awesome professor
- Work wherever you want
- Hardest part is working alone for too long
- Most enjoyable part is the freedom to work where-ever you want
Pros
Working anywhere there is internet, not confined to an office or cubicle
Cons
Working independently for too long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional and well organized place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2017
Great Place to Work. Employees and Management are amazing, long hours, but a lot of support for employees and students. The location is amazing, right in the heart of Toronto.
Pros
Benefits, Personal Support, Organization, Professional
Cons
Long hours, Busy Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Biochemistry laboratory Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 September 2017
my experience as a tutor at ryerson university was very rewarding. seeing the influence that I had on my students was very rewarding and motivating to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Molecular Science Graduate Student
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2017
I imagine the graduate student experience is mostly the same across most universities. I put in about 10 hours a day into research, writing, running my experiments, preparing for labs and marking.
Pros
Independent work, pursue your interests, flexible hours (depends on your supervisor)
Cons
Tight deadlines, pressure to produce results, you have to beg for money ie. applying for scholarships and grants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun quiet work space
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 September 2017
3 hours of calling with breaks every now and then to socialize with coworkers. It was a real enjoyable experience with very flexible hours due to a good cover system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus on Education
Practice Placement Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 September 2017
Focus on Education, job advancement, work life balance.
They focus on work life balance that may provide benefits to staff.
Regular staff meetings. Strong union
Pros
Benifits
Cons
travel time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Salary
Professor of High Advanced ESL (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 August 2017
The payment was good and reliable. The students were great. I would recommend this job to someone. The only thing is that the work fluctuates depending on how many students enrol and this does not help with job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting environment to work for
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 August 2017
Co-workers are great and supervisors are friendly. I can learn a lot in here. But there are too many applicants for the positions and some supervisors prefer to hire a certain group of ethnicity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Project Coordinator (RA assistant) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 August 2017
Best position that I ever had at Ryerson University. Solid paycheques, good life/work balance. Exposure to new construction methods. You can use all theory methods of civil engineering in real life design/build projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, amazing colleagues
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2017
Great work-life balance and opportunity for advancement. As a research assistant I got an opportunity to learn, and conduct research, which has advanced my career tremendously.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Course Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 August 2017
- the supervisors are amazing and they really care for your career advancement
- since it is part of the university, they are flexible with your school schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a graduated student review of Ryerson University
Master of Engineering Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 August 2017
Ryerson University is a great place to do University studies and also get connected with industries.
Professors ask students to do projects for each course and if the student has enough eager to choose hard projects and do them correctly, it would be great experience for them to become familiar with industrial technologies in their field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 August 2017
The workplace was very productive and fun. This job was mostly for students of Ryerson University, so it was easier for them to have a job closer to their place of study.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive studies
Data Analytics Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 July 2017
I studied in the Certificate in Data Analytics, Big Data, and Predictive Analytics program. I definitely recommend to anyone who is interested in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ryerson University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 201 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3

Ryerson University Reviews by Location