Ryerson University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible work
Social Media Community Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2018
accommodating to student schedules and student hours.
Worked with great co-workers who were also students. Work was related to the degree I am currently pursuing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student part time job
TEACHER ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 January 2018
working while studying, work experience, improve skills, fun, teaching assistant and research assistant, good money, independency working hard easy on students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
First Generation Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2018
Lots of room for growth. Ability to transfer departments. Variety of jobs to do. Encouraging staff, lots of holidays and lots of free food. Also lots of events take place. Staff is concerned about your growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to Work
Writing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 December 2017
I loved working at Ryerson University because it gives you the opportunity to interact with a diverse groups of individuals and learn new things every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 December 2017
The staff at Ryerson University was accommodating of a student's schedule. Training was always provided as needed. Administrative procedures ran smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with amazing mentors
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 December 2017
Working for Ryerson University was an excellent experience. I was able to work from home for my research assistant position so the flexibility was a bonus. Throughout my placement, I was provided with great mentorship, as I was given tips on how to improve as well as given reassurance when I was on the right track. Would absolutely work for Ryerson University again!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard but good pay for TAs, less for RAs
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 December 2017
Worked as TA and RA. TA salary is set and there is limit, but it is generally pretty easy (depending on the prof you get). RA wage is less but usually more interesting work. Experience completely depends on the prof you're working with and the relationship you have with that person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facilitator for 22 kids
Teachers Assistant/Facilitator (BUS 100) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 December 2017
It was a great experience to TA a class of 22 students. I had gotten the oppurtunity to connect with the students. Would do it again. Pay was alright, but expereince made up for it.
Pros
Early course selection
Cons
Mandatory 1 hour lecture to attend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Network Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 October 2017
best place to study. the program was great and above all the program director was the nicest person I have ever come across. very helpful and remembers you by name even after youve passed out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great colleagues
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 October 2017
great on boarding process, excellent colleagues, compensation reflects education and experience, ability to work independently required, yearly contracts for pt tm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill work place
IT HELP DESK ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2017
Great management, they're always there when I need help. Good work life balance. Doing work study at Ryerson University is very manageable with my full time school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great education hub!
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 September 2017
For me a typical day at Ryerson was between research studies and TA classes. It was a great opportunity to learn whether you are conducting lab tutorials or studying. The environment was pleasant and stress-free. Overall it was a self learning process which enhanced my interpersonal and mathematical skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful and hard working manager
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 September 2017
My manager is extremely respectful, very hard working, and deeply interested in my growth. Most other managers (but not all) are similarly committed and engaged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work, but low pay
Production Artist, Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 September 2017
This review is really worth nothing because the job will vary a lot depending on who is your professor and what they ask you to do. I enjoyed my time just fine.
Pros
Interesting work that is hopefully in your field
Cons
low pay and you have to do it while going to school
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Manager Recreation (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 September 2017
Varying hours
Family environment
Energetic
Big focus on Customer Service
Fast paced during School Year, Summers are down time.
Get to work out at work.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Travel Time to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent research study term
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 September 2017
- Independent work, no collaborative team work
- Learnt a lot about telecommunication industry
- Supervised by an awesome professor
- Work wherever you want
- Hardest part is working alone for too long
- Most enjoyable part is the freedom to work where-ever you want
Pros
Working anywhere there is internet, not confined to an office or cubicle
Cons
Working independently for too long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional and well organized place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2017
Great Place to Work. Employees and Management are amazing, long hours, but a lot of support for employees and students. The location is amazing, right in the heart of Toronto.
Pros
Benefits, Personal Support, Organization, Professional
Cons
Long hours, Busy Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Biochemistry laboratory Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 September 2017
my experience as a tutor at ryerson university was very rewarding. seeing the influence that I had on my students was very rewarding and motivating to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Molecular Science Graduate Student
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2017
I imagine the graduate student experience is mostly the same across most universities. I put in about 10 hours a day into research, writing, running my experiments, preparing for labs and marking.
Pros
Independent work, pursue your interests, flexible hours (depends on your supervisor)
Cons
Tight deadlines, pressure to produce results, you have to beg for money ie. applying for scholarships and grants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun quiet work space
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 September 2017
3 hours of calling with breaks every now and then to socialize with coworkers. It was a real enjoyable experience with very flexible hours due to a good cover system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ryerson University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 210 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3

Ryerson University Reviews by Location