Find companies:
Ryder
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
368 reviews

Ryder Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good teamwork and positive environment to work.
Copy configuration technician (Current Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 2, 2014
Every morning before we start our daily duties, we all gather together to the hall for a meeting and morning exercise. I have good rapport with my colleagues and we work together as a team. The management people are supportive to us. They acknowledges our sucess and good work by giving us recognition and rewards. The environment I work is safe and have – more... that sense of teamwork. The enjoyable of part of the job is when I get to problem solve and fix the challenging problems of the machines. It gives me that sense of satisfaction and drive. I would like to have better work benefits like dental benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
filing clerk
Filing clerk (Former Employee), BramptonJanuary 4, 2014
a typical day at work- full time
what you learned - filing
management -good
your co-workers -good
the hardest part of the job - no
the most enjoyable part of the job - good managment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCApril 27, 2013
Pros: benefits where good people some where good works so not
Cons: management never tells u nothing till the last minute and want u to know it right away
a typical day if u r on a forklift is hard they would give u so much to do in a little amount of time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
understaffed, poorly managed
technician (Current Employee), ontario, caApril 16, 2013
Pros: n/a
poor equipment, never enough staff, its all about numbers to show share holders
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace with enjoyable coworkers
Material handler (Former Employee), Montreal, QcJanuary 22, 2013
While i worked here i learned a lot and enjoyed working with the many other people who worked there aswell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Driver Representative (Current Employee), Moncton NBNovember 25, 2012
Pros: hours are good, wages are satisfactory
Cons: the seurity doesn't seem to be there anymore.....
Supervisors are great to deal with , customers are pleasant to work with as well

Due to restructuring, our jobs are no longer secure, so it is time to seek other option

I figure I should return to operating equiptment, and what better place would be then in Alberta.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, good Company.
Director of Sales (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 17, 2012
Pros: ample room for advancement
Cons: disjointed organizational structure--matrix style
Limited innnovation, disjointed organizational structure, product quality declining
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with poor salary
Logistics Operations Manager (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCMarch 27, 2012
Really enjoyed working with Ryder. They taught me a lot. However the salary was very poor. Great place to learn your craft but unfortunately, if you want to make market wages you have to leave...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Level 2 Technician (Former Employee), Joplin, MOApril 12, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
everything bad at this company like everyone says. don't complain about anything or you will get fired also don't listen to them about we never fire anyone about anything expect safety that's bs they fired me cause I complain about my paycheck
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Diesel Technician (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNApril 7, 2014
not a bad place to work over all competitive benefits and pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the Ryder Center of Saginaw Valley State University was a unique experience that I really enjoyed and learned a lot from.
Building Supervisor (Former Employee), University Center, MIApril 7, 2014
At the Ryder Center I typically walked the facility at least 4 times an hour to check on rooms and patrons, greeted patrons and assisted them with any of their needs, also communicating with the custodial/maintenance staff and the desk workers frequently. As a college student, this job allowed me to learn to have more initiative and be more assertive – more... in leadership positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not communicate with employees
Accounting (Current Employee), Miami, FLApril 2, 2014
This company does not seem to understand that employees are its best asset. Everything happens behind closed doors and there is no communication. While the company is doing well, they are not sharing it with their employees, with the exception of top level executives who get stock options and fat bonuses. There are no raises, so there is no incentive – more... to perform well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good corporate culture
Finance Manager (Former Employee), Novi, MIApril 1, 2014
Treats employees fairly, like family, friendly work atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a team effort environment
Senior Application Analyst/Management (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 29, 2014
A place for advancement and opportunity, but very political in nature
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment
Outbound Billing, Yard Manager Reconciliation (Former Employee), Lancaster, TXMarch 28, 2014
Checking on both inbound and outbound shipments. This was a temp position and the company closed it's doors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top 100 company to work for with excellent on board training
Account Manager (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAMarch 28, 2014
Pros: fantastic management support
Great company to work for. Unfortunately, I made the decision to leave the state of Georgia rapidly with my family to return back to my naive California home permanently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience of professional career!
Management (Current Employee), Carol StreamMarch 28, 2014
Pros: veteran affairs
Cons: hr support, pay, recruiting, accountability
As with many 3pl, much is based on the account you would be working with / in. Before you accept a position with Ryder at a specific site do as much research on the client Ryder is supporting at that location and the customers involvement.

Ryder is huge on training (or creating the perception), from a legal perspective and also being publicly traded – more... they do ensure to protect themselves by using a program called Stars and Protread (webinar based training) many of the subject matter lacks substance but it covers their needs.

My location ... I will simply say this was by far the worst experience of my managerial career; employees are allowed to continually underachieve with little to no recourse, errors, unprofessional behavior are common place. Ryder is deathly afraid of lawsuits, so they require above and beyound documentation which is not all bad to a degree but the customer expects for accountability and local leadership often times find itself in the middle and attempting to walk a very fine line.

There is no local Human Resource and that does often propose a problem as our HR Generalist resides in another state and supports multiple accounts across the country at one time.

As all of Ryder locations are obviously satellite facilties, as previously stated do as much research about the individual location you are applying too. The relationships within facility as well as with customer, as that will be key to your ultimate success and happiness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
Refrigeration Technician / building maintenance (Former Employee), Mount Sterling, OHMarch 26, 2014
Pros: ryder care about there employes
Cons: they run on contracts
RYDER WAS A GREAT PLACE TO WORK ALL THE MANAGEMENT WAS GREAT TO WORK WITH I LEARNED ALOT ABOUT RERIGERATION AND FORKLIFT REPAIR T HE HARDEST PART THERE WAS RUNNING THE WHOLE PLACE BY MYSELF KEEPING UP WITH EVERYTHING AND THE BEST I LIKED IS WHEN MANAGEMENT CAME UP TO ME THANKING ME WHAT AOUTSTANDING JOB I WAS DOING
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful place to work
Senior Rental Representative (Current Employee), Hebron, KYMarch 25, 2014
good company to work for, however the job it self is stressful and dissatisfying
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok first job for a diesel mechanic
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), springdale, arMarch 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches once a month for safety
Cons: your never doing good in the companies eyes
I worked on night shift it started at 3 pm and normally ended at 11:30 pm. As soon as I got there usually work that day shift did not want to do was left for night shift. I learned an incredible amount there because anything that was some what complicated or if a drive up came in the boss would come to me with answers after only a few months of being – more... there and remember this was my first diesel mechanic job there was a lot I did not know at the time but Ryder does not have a dead line so if one comes in and it has a major issue get ready to dive into it bc ryder does not keep alot of rentals for sub units especially at the shop I was at I mean we had about 450 units but mostly full service leases and level one which means ryder does not own the truck someone just pays us to fix it and level ones that they want you to fix usually have about 750,000 miles on them lol. So need less to say I learned more than my little mind could handle we had 12 diesel mechanics and 3 fuel/ truck washers but I would also fuel when no one was there or when they were at lunch. I learned how to replace AC systems,transmissions, wheel seals and bearings, drive lines, turbo's, EGR valves and coolers, water pumps, radiators, oil and transmission coolers, fuel injectors, truck seats, power window motors, door locks, ignitions, 5th wheels, coolant reservoirs, and any wiring on a truck that you can imagine I had my hands on it. I learned all that with ryder and much more there is just to much to list about what I learned and I was a T2 making 14.25 hr to start and 2 and a half years later I was making 14.78 hr. I really liked Ryder as a whole they started back like in the 1940's and if they had paid me more I would have stayed with them. My co workers were pretty cool they smoked a little to much but they taught me what I know today. The most difficult part of the job was knowing that you should be making a lot more money than some of the other people there and the best part of the job was that if your a good diesel mechanic for them you have got job security. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Ryder

Ryder System, Inc. is a FORTUNE® 500 provider of leading-edge transportation, logistics and supply chain management solutions. – Read more