Find companies:
Ryder
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
432 reviews

Ryder Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good teamwork and positive environment to work.
Copy configuration technician (Current Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 2, 2014
Every morning before we start our daily duties, we all gather together to the hall for a meeting and morning exercise. I have good rapport with my colleagues and we work together as a team. The management people are supportive to us. They acknowledges our sucess and good work by giving us recognition and rewards. The environment I work is safe and have – more... that sense of teamwork. The enjoyable of part of the job is when I get to problem solve and fix the challenging problems of the machines. It gives me that sense of satisfaction and drive. I would like to have better work benefits like dental benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
filing clerk
Filing clerk (Former Employee), BramptonJanuary 4, 2014
a typical day at work- full time
what you learned - filing
management -good
your co-workers -good
the hardest part of the job - no
the most enjoyable part of the job - good managment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Montréal, QCApril 27, 2013
Pros: benefits where good people some where good works so not
Cons: management never tells u nothing till the last minute and want u to know it right away
a typical day if u r on a forklift is hard they would give u so much to do in a little amount of time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
understaffed, poorly managed
technician (Current Employee), ontario, caApril 16, 2013
Pros: n/a
poor equipment, never enough staff, its all about numbers to show share holders
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace with enjoyable coworkers
Material handler (Former Employee), Montreal, QcJanuary 22, 2013
While i worked here i learned a lot and enjoyed working with the many other people who worked there aswell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Driver Representative (Current Employee), Moncton NBNovember 25, 2012
Pros: hours are good, wages are satisfactory
Cons: the seurity doesn't seem to be there anymore.....
Supervisors are great to deal with , customers are pleasant to work with as well

Due to restructuring, our jobs are no longer secure, so it is time to seek other option

I figure I should return to operating equiptment, and what better place would be then in Alberta.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, good Company.
Director of Sales (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 17, 2012
Pros: ample room for advancement
Cons: disjointed organizational structure--matrix style
Limited innnovation, disjointed organizational structure, product quality declining
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with poor salary
Logistics Operations Manager (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMarch 27, 2012
Really enjoyed working with Ryder. They taught me a lot. However the salary was very poor. Great place to learn your craft but unfortunately, if you want to make market wages you have to leave...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for fast pace and fun.
Customer Logistics Manager (Former Employee), Laredo, TXAugust 29, 2014
Pros: health insurance, 401k, lunch once a month on our safety meeting
My typical day was managing operation by checking in with my supervisors and their concerns and need. Then focus on implementation or adjustments of new routes and or procedures. I learned to follow process and generate procedures for upcoming operations as well as teaching my employees the importance of following them. The hardest par of the job was – more... the fast pace, but I still managed to keep a relaxed work place and keep all my employees and customer happy. In my 13 years with the company there was not a dull moment and all my 13 year were enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive and never happy
Lead technician (Current Employee), Lebanon, ILAugust 28, 2014
Pros: payed vacation days and sick days
Cons: hard to deal with custmer
A typical work day for me is I come in and work list that is laid out for me. That have to be done by the end of the day. But have a hard time getting thing done right the first time do to the customer drivers always wanting me to fix something at the last second when they depart and getting back to what I was working on and start all over.Then have – more... the customer always asking when will the truck be done every few minutes. I have learned a lot form getting my hand dirty and figure out how think run. My coworker are fun to work with not bad to deal wither ether. The hardest part about my job is pleasing the customer and everyone else around trying to make everyone happy don't always pan out very good. The most enjoyable about my job is getting to use my brain like on wiring of truck that some people just cant figure out – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a ok job
Dispatch Clerk (Current Employee), tupelo msAugust 26, 2014
its a great place to work. fun environment. wouldnt mind working for this company again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance departmant representative
Insurance Department Representative (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GeorgiaAugust 25, 2014
Pros: learning computer skills
Cons: difficulty sitting at a desk all day
I arrived at my desk 20 minutes before 8:00 and I remained there until 4:30. I was responsible for client insurance verification and setting up new customer files. I learned computer skills. Management was not always available. My co-workers were in cubicles. Sitting at my computer was the most difficult part of this job. The most enjoyable part was – more... knowing I learned computer skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and a fun family enviornment
CSC2 (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAAugust 19, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work was filled answering phones and a lot of data entry, I learned very useful computer skills how to effectively multitask and type multiple words per minute, Management was awesome I have nothing negative to say about management they were understanding and very patient and generous and my coworkers were like not co workers at all – more... they were like my family, the hardest part of the job was the multitasking, and the most enjoyable part was the people and management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A GOOD PLACE TO WORK AND A GOOD BENEFITS
Driver (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 18, 2014
Pros: a good place to work
Cons: healthcare
A typical start at 3:30 pm and end at 3:30 am. I learn that you had to keep up or you stood the chance of the load being late and every load after would be late also. the management on night shifts was excellent and the crew on nights were good as well. The hardest part of the job is when you first start on the job learning the location of each dealer – more... and where the door is to deliver the parts to. The hardest part of the yard work was learning were each trailer had to go and learning the routes and the times required for each trailer. The most enjoyable part of the job was when you were ahead. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Maintenance Associate (Former Employee), Hebron, kyAugust 14, 2014
The best part of the company is people. This is the only company that people became that honest worker and mature about their actions at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Slip Sheet Operator (Former Employee), Morris, ILAugust 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Unload trailer and stage in open aisle. I Learned how to drive a slipsheet truck very well. Worked well management and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trucking Industry
Account Representative (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 12, 2014
Pros: it was a newly created position for me in omaha
Cons: healthcare coverage
I met with several clients weekly to discuss their needs and upcoming needs. I would draw up new lease agreements on trucking equipment or completely build a new unit through our computer system and working hand in hand with Freightliner. I always made it a point to touch base with them so they knew that I was truly there for them. I would handle questions – more... regarding billing all the way to settling a dispute on a maintenance issue. Some of my clients were not in Nebraska so I did some overnight travel to them. I really enjoyed the client service that I was able to perform with this position. I believe the product is why they may have tried your company the first time but its the client service they receive afterwards is what makes them loyal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee), Ontario, CAAugust 8, 2014
Pros: day shift
Cons: management
Awsome work ares and co-workers .as soon as we finifhed are work our boos would send us home early.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast-paced enviornment.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Rochelle, ILAugust 7, 2014
The work environment is very fast paced. You are pressured to make and maintain rate with very little ramp-up time. You are expected to be at 80% your 2nd week on shift, which is not nearly enough time to learn the system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are ok company to work for
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 6, 2014
Pros: learn something from day to day
Over all its a good place to work. I think they need to be more tuff on s.o.p for drivers.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ryder

Ryder System, Inc. is a FORTUNE® 500 provider of leading-edge transportation, logistics and supply chain management solutions. – Read more