RR Donnelley Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant/Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Fergus, ON29 March 2017
Great pay

with the decline in forms and paper in society it always feels like a deteriorating business and not a growing business

Always worried about downsizing and plant closures
Pros
Good pay and hours
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Clerical Office Administration (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON15 March 2017
As a summer student for 3 years this was a great place to work. I worked in the factory days, afternoons and nights. My last summer I worked in the office as a general assistant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 March 2017
I learned a lot about managing a fast paced environment here. It was a great place to enhance my Project Management skills. The most enjoyable part of the job was visiting my client's store locations and seeing the work I'd done placed around the store. I really enjoyed having a visible effect on the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Copy Editor
Senior Copy Editor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 March 2017
My job was odd in that it was all off-site. Some of the RRD people were fantastic and really dynamic fun people. But the corporate structure was, well, very corporate. Still, the salary was quite good and we had a lot of autonomy while the job lasted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ordinary work environment
Financial Analyst, Payroll Accounting (Current Employee) –  Vipond Drive, Mississauga, ON11 January 2017
The management needs to value each of its employees. Not much scope for upward movement. Low compensation compared to the reputation of the company. Management needs to look after the interest of all employees, not just the top level.
Pros
Not much of interference by management on day to day basis
Cons
Compensation low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A port in a storm
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NY3 October 2016
This was just a temp job through a temp agency, multiple times staff informed me I was only going to be there for a little bit. Im not a fan of sales but luckily all I had to do was correct orders. Typically I would come in, sit in a cubicle, put on a headset, and take phone calls from people who never got the checkbooks they ordered in the mail. I learned that if someone complains enough they get free things. My co-workers were ok, although I only had about 5 other co-workers so it was just the same small group every single day. The hardest part of the job was that I didnt really know how to work their computer systems that well and I had a lot of order problems that I didn't know how to solve by myself. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I was able to sit all day long in a chair.
Pros
No physical activity
Cons
Zero Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work
Warehouse Employee (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON24 September 2016
Work each day presented a standard set of required tasks that did vary in intensity and expedience depending on the requirements of the customers. Knowing how to optimize your time and apply the relevant skills to meet those requirements was a critical component of the job. I enjoyed organizing and coordinating the orders efficiently to clients' continued satisfaction.
Pros
Variety of tasks from simplistic to comprehensive
Cons
Weak management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 June 2016
Answering All Incoming Phone Calls
Receiving Mails
Maintaining The front area
Coordinating with others
Forwarding to Correct Extensions
Using the Switch board
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient in resources
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 June 2016
Great working environment with benevolent co-workers and supervisors. Platform to apply my computer skills and an opportunity to learn about new software.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tres bonne compagnie
Magasinier, compagne (Former Employee) –  Donnelly, AB6 May 2016
j'ai aime travailler dans cette compagnie
j'ai aime le travail rapide et precis
Pros
salaire
Cons
un peu de pression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great boss
Human resources assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 April 2016
Review applications received on Internet. Conduct first interviews. Answer questions from employees. Fill out necessary documents for submission to insurance company, CSST, etc.

Working in human resources was a great experience.

Management was great.

Co-workers were also great.

Sometimes having to deal with employee personal problems.

I enjoyed all aspects of my job.
Pros
Enjoying the people in general
Cons
Noisy office
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, safe, clean environment
Temp Bindery Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON29 March 2016
RR Donnelley is a great place to work. Wonderful co-workers and management. Pay was fair, hours are regular. Very secure, safe and clean place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work Environment with Friendly people to work with
Project Manager, Client Services (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 March 2016
RR Donnelley is a place where you get to learn a lot about the print communications industry with IT Implementation in particular.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing colleagues, steady work and lots of hours.
Material packer (Former Employee) –  Fergus, ON9 November 2015
Co-workers were all very friendly with a great sense of humour, as well as helpful when needed. Management too, were helpful when needed and laid back as well. Always kept busy with tasks, some days were slower than other but that is to be expected. Environment was great to work in, everyone did their part to keep the building clean as well as safe. Overall, it was a very enjoyable job.
Pros
Friendly faces, good teamwork, great hours.
Cons
Didn't get a lot of sunlight due to lack of windows in the building.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equilibre Vie professionnelle / Personnelle
Représentante au service clientele (Current Employee) –  Montreal4 October 2015
Beaucoup d'heures supplementaires rendent difficiles l'equilibre entre travail et vie personnelle
Pros
Tres bonne gestion d'entreprise, tres bonne gestion d'employes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, office environment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK23 August 2015
Basic office procedures plus data entry, order processing, acquiring estimates, pricing.

Large company ... across Canada, US and Europe.

Enjoy my co-workers across Canada.

Management is very focused on all its employees being trained properly and ongoing training is provided.
Cons
Too quiet, no face-to-face interaction with customers or public
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good wage buddy system !!!
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON13 May 2015
too much politics if management likes you personally you do as you please not one of the buddies you are watched expected to make up for the others door is always open but dont use it !!!!
advancement comes from within so the culture stays the same
good wage for warehousing eventually
they have taken away pension & holidays

judged by who you are not what you do
Pros
wages
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional surrounding, without a dull moment, fast paced.
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 March 2015
- Review orders with my supervisor,
- Working with Oracle software.
- Friendly
- Working with non efficient courier Co.
- Learning Oracle software.
Pros
Free tea/Coffee
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work with great people
Wide Format Operator (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON14 March 2015
Being at RR Donnelley for about 1 and a half years I was able to meet a lot of fine and hardworking individuals. As with any company there are the odd few that shouldn't be there or in leadership roles but this doesn't take away from the solid work environment with the organization.

Management is well known for taking chances within the company by promoting within to solidify the foundation of the plant and it works well. By hiring within and offering advancement they have built a hardworking, stable, and fun setting.
Pros
Friendly staff, knowledgable management
Cons
lower leadership roles not having proper leadership training
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 February 2015
How to organize your time and Job.
Every day you learn new things how to operate the machine based on the request that we have more responsibilities.

Team work and how to respect your co-workers.


Challenge is most important part of my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RR Donnelley. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,038 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4