Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd. Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place for a beginner
Assistant Exe. Housekeeper/Senior Deck Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Florida, ONFebruary 11, 2016
Sheraton group was my stepping stone ,got ample experience with the professional and highly trained managers and supervisors .Always a pleasure to work with starwood groups .
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Company to Travel With
Stage & Production Manager (Former Employee) –  WorldWideJanuary 15, 2016
A Great Place to start your career with.
Co-workers from around the world.
A Different city every day of the week.
Free Travel.
Experience different cultures onboard and ashore.
Awesome Excursions
Awesome Entertainment
Great place to get hands on training with technology
Great place to develop and climb the career ladder.
Pros
Free Travel and Hands on Training
Cons
Be prepared to be away from home for upto 8 months
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great and rewarding place to work if you want to get paid for traveling!
Dancer/Aerialist (Current Employee) –  On the Ship!October 14, 2015
Dealing with HR on the ship is much easier than dealing with anyone shoreside. Its an amazing company to work for in regards to being able to be promoted into better jobs, and its an amazing place to make friends and be immersed into different cultures. The amount of work changes, depending on what position you are in, ie. housekeeping works the most, dining works the middle amount, and cruise staff and entertainment works the least comparatively to the others because our positions depend on our bodies.
Pros
Traveling
Cons
Short breaks, away from home, get paid in dollars no matter what currency you use.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at the freedom of the seas
Cook (Former Employee) –  cook 3August 1, 2015
Working in a cruce ship is so diferent that working on land, there you work arround 14h every day no day off in a 8 months contract, i learned a lot there, i had a great time there, it was hard but it was a nice oportunitie
Pros
everyting was free on the ship, the rent, the food
Cons
shorts breaks no day off
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its good interms of travelling the world
Commi chef, bell and staff and office attendant (Former Employee) –  depends on where your schedule to workJuly 7, 2015
A typical day at work is a day that i served and delivered good customer service to the guests i have learned always to be humbled and respectable to the management and co workers the hardest part of my job is to be out of a product in high demand. The most enjoyable part of my job is to deliver the wow to guest and they keeps coming back.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best and most fruitful experiences of my life!
Broadcast Technician (Former Employee) –  The worldJune 29, 2015
While being away from your loved ones for months at a time can prove rather taxing on ones mind, Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines was a welcoming and friendly company to work for. A friendly environment, coupled with some of the best people I've ever worked with makes this company a wonderful one to be a part of. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel around the world, meet friends from different country
2nd Purser Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cruise shipFebruary 10, 2015
Start 6 am every day, no weekends or holidays off. Work with different nationality all over the world. The most enjoyable part of the job is traveling around the world. The hardest part of the job not specify working hours. I learn a lot of team work that's very important in cruise industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job unless you want to settle down in one place
youth activities staff (Former Employee) –  Around the worldFebruary 9, 2015
Fun environment, difficulty to grow up within the company. Not having a single day off in up to 7 months takes a toll on you after a while.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start working in life with.
Assistant Restaurant Manager (Dining Room Manager) (Former Employee) –  MiamiJanuary 13, 2015
A life changing experience working on a cruise ship. Go to see the world and meet a lot of guest from different cultures.
Pros
met a lot of people from around the world
Cons
long hours and staying on the ship for 7 months
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
cook1 (Former Employee) –  at seaDecember 7, 2014
i'm always learning new stuff. love sharing my experiences with others to help them grom practically.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff and management
Cook Room Service Mess &Coffee Attendant Waitress (Current Employee) –  Port Antonio, PortlandNovember 5, 2014
lovely staff and management, easy going and fun, they treated me like family
Pros
easy to work with
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible and well organized workplace with benefits and fun.
Youth staff (Former Employee) –  Nassau, Bahamas/Miami, FLSeptember 30, 2014
Approximately 10 hours/day of work in safe environment. Working with children age 1 - 17. Teamwork really developed, cooperating and responsible co-workers and managers. Special-needed and mentaly-challenged children involved in everyday activities. Cominication with parents constant.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a fun place to work with lot of responsibilities
Crew Administrator (Former Employee) –  on ships last was Mariner of the seasSeptember 12, 2014
Royal Caribbean is a good place to work , and with proper training and interviews can make you grow in the company.
Pros
you live on ship and is close to work.
Cons
long hours and have to be away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ensuring passengers had a satisfying cruise experience.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCJune 17, 2014
Daily interactions with cruise passengers, inbound and outbound. It was a good opportunity to interact with large crowds in a busy setting such at YVR or Canada Place.
Pros
coworkers, customer interaction.
Cons
temporary summer position.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational company to work for.
Orchestra musician (Former Employee) –  Miami (head office)May 21, 2014
Working for Royal Caribbean was a once in a life time experience where I was essentially getting paid to travel the world.

The job was to be part of the on board Orchestra, playing all kinds of shows to entertain the guests, whether this be playing in the weekly production of Saturday Night Fever, sight reading a guest entertainer show, or playing Jazz for the captains cocktail party on formal night.

This role really helped me to gain a feeling of responsibility, as i was in charge of my own performance on stage and off stage and all issues relating to the Drums would be my responsibility to resolve.

As well as this as the orchestra drummer, I was in charge of all the other drummers on the ship. My role with this was to ensure that standards were kept, and the general maintenance of the drums was up to standard.
Pros
short hours, seeing the world, making great friends, gaining professional music experience, doing what i love and getting paid.
Cons
constant time changes, lack of job security once contracts finished.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was exciting and fun
Cruise staff (Former Employee) –  on a cruise shipApril 11, 2014
entertaining audience , hosting shows , coworkers were fun to be around , hardest part would be working eight months with out day off.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead by fear and pressure
Crew Administration Manager (Former Employee) –  Cruise ShipsFebruary 1, 2014
The company in itself is a good place to work if you have the energy and can put in the hours.
You get to see a lot of places and you're paid cash which is great.

However as much as you look for support there seems to be a huge disconnect between the ship staff and the head office staff which makes things very difficult.

If your boss is in Miami but has never worked on a ship - they cannot possibly understand what one goes through.

If everyone in the office worked shipboard at some point - it would make things a lot smoother.

Also there is a lot of pressure to meet budget when things aren't still correct on the ships.

Unfortunate but true.
Pros
get to travel, free food, get to save
Cons
management is by people who have never lived on the ships
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company !!
Drummer (Former Employee) –  DIZZY'S Lounge on "EXPLORER OF THE SEAS"January 14, 2014
I played drums on a cruise ship. Paradise Locations,... Inconsistent hours, but always less than (Mainstream Employment) most jobs.
Pros
room and board, fully paid for .
Cons
feeling captive
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a ideal company to work with.
Commis I / Sushi Chef (Former Employee) –  Cruise ShipJuly 5, 2013
Great opportunity to travel around the world.
Lots of amenities for crew.
Pros
free food, airconditioned cabin.
Cons
sea sick during bad weather.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
adventurous and fun place to work
commis 1 (Current Employee) –  Miami, MBMay 1, 2013
a typical day at work,i'm working breakfast shift , I would start at 5:30 am, preparing and plating for service, once service starts ill continue replenishing and prepare for lunch or dinner. I'll take a 30 minutes break then return to work and continue my prep and this goes on until about 10:30 am, breakfast closes and i'll b off until 4 pm, dinner time i'll assist with appetizer while i prep for breakfast the next day take a break return to work until my working day ends at about 10 pm. Daily i learn a lot in the smallest ways, how to cope with different people from all over the world how to create a new dish, to make a new decoration or garnish, different presentations. Management is great most time. co-workers are fun most times they make the work seem fun and easier,more enjoyable. hardest part of the job is being away from home and family for 8 months. most enjoyable part is travelling, seeing new places meeting new people on a regular,plenty parties. it's vacationing while working.
Pros
meal and boarding free
Cons
long hours and long time away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 735 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture