Royal Canadian Mint Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile workplace
Plater Operator and Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 October 2017
Hostile Workplace, was assaulted by upper management. Would not recommended anyone work for this employer. Please understand this really did happen.
Pros
no punch clock
Cons
Hostile workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast changing requirements for work force
Temporary Helper, Shipping Department (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 October 2017
very structured environment, staffing requirements changed daily.
Hardest part of job was not knowing how long there would be work and how long layoffs would last.
Pros
wages
Cons
frequent layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very very tense atmosphere and very unstable
Senior Manager, Acquisition and Direct Marketing (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 October 2017
Loved my work and my boss was great, was suddenly laid off which led to subsequent layoffs that now likely number in the thousands. Almost everyone I know is now either laid off or on stress leave. It's a real mess over there. Such a shame.
Pros
Salary and benefits
Cons
1000s of layoffs with more coming, no direction, no vision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job for students
Student Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 September 2017
Great pay and amazing experience. Gets you comfortable with customer service and public speaking. I would not be fluent in French without this job. Gives you an idea of marketing and sales techniques.
Pros
Great experience for your resume
Cons
On your feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 July 2017
8:00 to 5:00 shift. I learned how to operate an overhead crane and a coining press. Great management. Great staff and easy to get along with. Was a good place to work.
Pros
good staff
Cons
high security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly repetitive and numbers oriented workplace
Temp shipping/helper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 May 2017
Days to evenings shift work can get annoying. It's ok, as they pay well. Very competitive and "everyone for themselves "type of attitude with coworkers. Everybody wants that elusive "permanent" job as you can be a temp worker forever. Lots of standing as you do your work and everyone is running around trying to be the boss's best worker. High security requires you to go through airport style security every time you leave the work area. Annoying as you cannot wear a watch, rings or anything metal. Some people who you think have been there for 15 or 20 years (by looking at them and by their attitudes) have actually been there for 3 or so years. Does the work environment take that much of a toll on you?
Pros
good pay
Cons
shift work, standing for 7 hrs a day, prison like feeling due to high security details
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job and workplace cukture
Dynamics AX Developer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 April 2017
A crown corporation that is a good workplace. Secure, good pay and benefit.
Enterprise IT system and government workplace culture.
Very good working experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive places
Helper in the Shipping/Packing (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 December 2016
I love working there but due to injury i can't lift much of anything now and i have since transfer to inactive duty because of my injury and return to school to assist future work
Cons
Long hours and varing shift heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
production planner (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 May 2016
Enjoyed my time working at the Mint. Mostly was a summer student but even still was made to feel at home. When I worked my few regular contracts I was a strong part of the team I worked with and felt I made positive contributions. I never felt out of work or excluded from group work etc.
Pros
Great cafeteria, safe working environment
Cons
Noisy in the plant, often high paced/ stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Something new to learn everyday.
Supervisor-Christine Lavallee (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 March 2016
Many different areas to work in so were assigned a different job daily. Alot of great people and helpful management. Enjoyed learning so many different areas of the minting of so many coins.
Pros
Celebration lunches for goals acheved
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production of coins for Canada and other countries
Helper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 December 2015
great co-worker and fun workplace. learn new things making coins from start to finish. working with coin and seeing different design at the end . shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary workers are nobodies
Shipping and Handling (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 December 2015
Worked there for two years as a temporary worker with promises of full time positions.

Had one opoortunity to apply for a full time position.

They lay off temporary workers to bring in new staff.

No, I mean absolutely no care in the world for temporary workers.

They found out i took another job, because i need to survive, they let me go.

The letter states:
Temporary employees are expected to be reasonably available for work to deal with unexpected and temporary increases in operational requirements.

1st, why do you lay us off, but hire replacements while we are laid off...

2nd, I have a home, i have bills, so i have to find work elsewhere. You cant expect people to live below the poverty line for your operational convenience,
Pros
Fun people
Cons
Not enough work for temporary workers, unorganized management
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong team spirit within teams
R&D STUDENT (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 September 2015
Fun work place, not your typical government office. So much fun within team members (if you're an outgoing person), occasional lunch outing and even bowling or other team building activities.
Pros
Team lunches and other outings
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is not fun working there
Shipping & Packing (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 September 2015
to much favoritism for some people ,especially by family.I worked on a temporary basis,
since 2009 I seen many Irregularities in contracts that are always are for relatives or friends of headquarters.
benefit I have nothing , then how I can say that is good to work there if never I will have a contract or full time there and now they send me home lay off short time of work.and hire 25 people to work there.
Royal Canadian Mint depends on the federal government
Pros
good payment
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the cantine, production area tense
Plating R&D (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 April 2014
A good cantine turned out to be a very important feature, good food, a place to socialize, proximity. So far the mint's cantine was the best in these fields.

The production areas are quite hazardous though, but if you mature and careful, nothing dangerous should really happen.
Pros
Government Job
Cons
Government Job
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible people to work with
Technical Services COOP student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 January 2014
A very secure and financially rewarding place to work.
Can become a fast pace work place with tight deadlines as it is a manufacturing facility.
Always room for personal advancement within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 January 2014
My day was wonderful went fast people are good and helpful working with professionals and no judgement learned that working as a team is very good experience for me fast pace i like
Pros
excellent staff
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodective and alot of work to do daily
Cleaner Domus Cleaning (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 January 2014
A typical day is to go around the offices and take the garbage and clean the disk tops and dust and vacuum daily. I learned to work fast in a work environment that you had a lot of duties to do daily. My supervisor was very demanding and expected a lot out of you daily and wanted you to do your job probably. I didn't interact with my co-workers a lot cause we were working in different parts of the building different responsibilities.
Pros
long lunch
Cons
repedive days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working near the High Security @ RCM
Coining Production (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 January 2014
- Best experience and gained more knowledge on VBA programming
- Supervisor was really helpful throughout the term
- Most enjoyable part of the job was the BBQ held at the end of the term
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No electronic devices
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
prodaction worker / helper (Former Employee) –  wpg27 March 2013
n/a great place to work great people and benefits as well as pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 17Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Canadian Mint. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5

Royal Canadian Mint Reviews by Location