Royal Canadian Mint

Royal Canadian Mint Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 14 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Something new to learn everyday.
Supervisor-Christine Lavallee (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMarch 23, 2016
Many different areas to work in so were assigned a different job daily. Alot of great people and helpful management. Enjoyed learning so many different areas of the minting of so many coins.
Pros
Celebration lunches for goals acheved
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production of coins for Canada and other countries
Helper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBDecember 15, 2015
great co-worker and fun workplace. learn new things making coins from start to finish. working with coin and seeing different design at the end . shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary workers are nobodies
Shipping and Handling (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONDecember 2, 2015
Worked there for two years as a temporary worker with promises of full time positions.

Had one opoortunity to apply for a full time position.

They lay off temporary workers to bring in new staff.

No, I mean absolutely no care in the world for temporary workers.

They found out i took another job, because i need to survive, they let me go.

The letter states:
Temporary employees are expected to be reasonably available for work to deal with unexpected and temporary increases in operational requirements.

1st, why do you lay us off, but hire replacements while we are laid off...

2nd, I have a home, i have bills, so i have to find work elsewhere. You cant expect people to live below the poverty line for your operational convenience,
Pros
Fun people
Cons
Not enough work for temporary workers, unorganized management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong team spirit within teams
R&D STUDENT (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 29, 2015
Fun work place, not your typical government office. So much fun within team members (if you're an outgoing person), occasional lunch outing and even bowling or other team building activities.
Pros
Team lunches and other outings
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is not fun working there
Shipping & Packing (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 22, 2015
to much favoritism for some people ,especially by family.I worked on a temporary basis,
since 2009 I seen many Irregularities in contracts that are always are for relatives or friends of headquarters.
benefit I have nothing , then how I can say that is good to work there if never I will have a contract or full time there and now they send me home lay off short time of work.and hire 25 people to work there.
Royal Canadian Mint depends on the federal government
Pros
good payment
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the cantine, production area tense
Plating R&D (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 21, 2014
A good cantine turned out to be a very important feature, good food, a place to socialize, proximity. So far the mint's cantine was the best in these fields.

The production areas are quite hazardous though, but if you mature and careful, nothing dangerous should really happen.
Pros
government job
Cons
government job
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible people to work with
Technical Services COOP student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJanuary 28, 2014
A very secure and financially rewarding place to work.
Can become a fast pace work place with tight deadlines as it is a manufacturing facility.
Always room for personal advancement within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJanuary 21, 2014
My day was wonderful went fast people are good and helpful working with professionals and no judgement learned that working as a team is very good experience for me fast pace i like
Pros
excellent staff
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodective and alot of work to do daily
Cleaner Domus Cleaning (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJanuary 20, 2014
A typical day is to go around the offices and take the garbage and clean the disk tops and dust and vacuum daily. I learned to work fast in a work environment that you had a lot of duties to do daily. My supervisor was very demanding and expected a lot out of you daily and wanted you to do your job probably. I didn't interact with my co-workers a lot cause we were working in different parts of the building different responsibilities.
Pros
long lunch
Cons
repedive days
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working near the High Security @ RCM
Coining Production (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJanuary 2, 2014
- Best experience and gained more knowledge on VBA programming
- Supervisor was really helpful throughout the term
- Most enjoyable part of the job was the BBQ held at the end of the term
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
no electronic devices
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
prodaction worker / helper (Former Employee) –  wpgMarch 27, 2013
n/a great place to work great people and benefits as well as pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great experience to discover
CMMS/Inventory Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  ottawa, onMay 15, 2012
- great expectations
- challenging experiences
- Team work
- excellent collective agreement
- great employees benefits
- great social activities
Pros
benefits and awards for your determination
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2

Comment – February 1, 2013

Why did you leave?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Helper (Former Employee) –  winnipeg, mb.April 27, 2012
the employees were amazing to work with. i have learn't alot about our canadian coin on how it is made each and every process. it is a very hot in the plant in the summer time. but i most enjoyed the coining dept. i am very proud that i had the opportunity to be part of that team.
Was this review helpful?Yes40No18

Comment – February 1, 2013

Why did you leave?

See more Royal Canadian Mint reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture