Royal Canadian Mint

13 reviews

Royal Canadian Mint Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary workers are nobodies
Shipping and Handling (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONDecember 2, 2015
Pros: Fun people
Cons: Not enough work for temporary workers, unorganized management
Worked there for two years as a temporary worker with promises of full time positions.

Had one opoortunity to apply for a full time position.

They lay off temporary workers to bring in new staff.

No, I mean absolutely no care in the world for temporary workers.

They found out i took another job, because i need to survive, they let me go.

The letter states:
Temporary employees are expected to be reasonably available for work to deal with unexpected and temporary increases in operational requirements.

1st, why do you lay us off, but hire replacements while we are laid off...

2nd, I have a home, i have bills, so i have to find work elsewhere. You cant expect people to live below the poverty line for your operational convenience,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong team spirit within teams
R&D STUDENT (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 29, 2015
Pros: Team lunches and other outings
Fun work place, not your typical government office. So much fun within team members (if you're an outgoing person), occasional lunch outing and even bowling or other team building activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is not fun working there
Shipping & Packing (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 22, 2015
Pros: good payment
Cons: no job security
to much favoritism for some people ,especially by family.I worked on a temporary basis,
since 2009 I seen many Irregularities in contracts that are always are for relatives or friends of headquarters.
benefit I have nothing , then how I can say that is good to work there if never I will have a contract or full time there and now they send me home lay off short time of work.and hire 25 people to work there.
Royal Canadian Mint depends on the federal government
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the cantine, production area tense
Plating R&D (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 21, 2014
Pros: government job
Cons: government job
A good cantine turned out to be a very important feature, good food, a place to socialize, proximity. So far the mint's cantine was the best in these fields.

The production areas are quite hazardous though, but if you mature and careful, nothing dangerous should really happen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible people to work with
Technical Services COOP student (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 28, 2014
A very secure and financially rewarding place to work.
Can become a fast pace work place with tight deadlines as it is a manufacturing facility.
Always room for personal advancement within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: excellent staff
Cons: no cons
My day was wonderful went fast people are good and helpful working with professionals and no judgement learned that working as a team is very good experience for me fast pace i like
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodective and alot of work to do daily
Cleaner Domus Cleaning (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: long lunch
Cons: repedive days
A typical day is to go around the offices and take the garbage and clean the disk tops and dust and vacuum daily. I learned to work fast in a work environment that you had a lot of duties to do daily. My supervisor was very demanding and expected a lot out of you daily and wanted you to do your job probably. I didn't interact with my co-workers a lot cause we were working in different parts of the building different responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working near the High Security @ RCM
Coining Production (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no electronic devices
- Best experience and gained more knowledge on VBA programming
- Supervisor was really helpful throughout the term
- Most enjoyable part of the job was the BBQ held at the end of the term
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
prodaction worker / helper (Former Employee), wpgMarch 27, 2013
n/a great place to work great people and benefits as well as pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great experience to discover
CMMS/Inventory Co-ordinator (Former Employee), ottawa, onMay 15, 2012
Pros: benefits and awards for your determination
Cons: n/a
- great expectations
- challenging experiences
- Team work
- excellent collective agreement
- great employees benefits
- great social activities

February 1, 2013

Why did you leave?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Helper (Former Employee), winnipeg, mb.April 27, 2012
the employees were amazing to work with. i have learn't alot about our canadian coin on how it is made each and every process. it is a very hot in the plant in the summer time. but i most enjoyed the coining dept. i am very proud that i had the opportunity to be part of that team.

February 1, 2013

Why did you leave?

See more Royal Canadian Mint reviews

You may want to try: