Royal Canadian Legion Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, public oriented,enjoyed dealing with Veterans
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Fredericton, NBJuly 19, 2015
Because it is a membership-based organization, you have to work for many "bosses" which can be difficult at times. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the fast-paced, diverse position. The President is the ultimate – more... boss and this position is filled by election annually. Therefore, this was a very responsible position because the Administrative Assistant was the only constant as the President and Executive changed annually. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a small business dealing with veterans and the general public
administrative assitant (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONJune 22, 2015
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: only part time work
I answered phones, emails, faxed, coordinated rentals, communicated with different executive members. Answered directly to the president of the branch and members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
serve (Former Employee), Chateauguay, QCJune 20, 2015
Pros: everyone is nice, free food, free drinks
Cons: nothing
royal Canadian legion is for vets of the war. Brunches are well balanced meals, cheap too. all proceeds go towards the legion. Volunteer to serve brunches, cadets now do it, very nice people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at times it is a high volume of sales in a short time frame
Bartender (Current Employee), Tilbury, ONApril 15, 2015
Pros: need to multie task and work fast and effeincely
Cons: long shifts when staff did not want to work.
Completing cash transaction, customer services, telephone manners and scheduling rentals and hall clean up and reordering plus completing weekly deposits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy / productive / fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 2, 2015
Pros: great food
Cons: long hours
typically my day was where will I be working, staff issues occurred often, so I would fill in , management and co-workers were great , the members were always a challenge , but I enjoyed working for the Legion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor mangement
Bartender (Former Employee), CaledoniaMarch 27, 2015
the team leader wasn't a very pleasant lady and always heard her complain about her job, but sat there and drank every night after work. the president was rude and ignorant to almost everyone that walked into the establishment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall average day
Bar tender (Former Employee), Espanola ONJanuary 22, 2015
Pros: free to do things
Cons: no breaks
Every morning at 9 am meet with my boss she would inform me what needed to be done during that day. I mostly did maintenance like cleaning up after people and making sure everything was tidy, I worked – more... alone I didn't have any co workers other then my boss. The hardest part of my job was trying to make sure i did everything as asked which I did, I didn't find anything overly difficult, The most enjoyable part of my job was knowing I was helping out the veterans. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet freindly place.
Affiliate Voting Member (Current Employee), 612 BeamsvilleNovember 19, 2014
Like all Legions clean and friendly place, with regulars giving back much to their community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. supports the community and it s veterans and families
Branch/Bar Manager (Former Employee), Cold Lake ABOctober 17, 2014
Pros: friendly environment, pretty relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: long hours at times, on my feet all day
I worked there for 8 years and was a volunteer on the executive for 4 years prior to that. It is interesting working for volunteers and has its challenges and rewards. I was in a highly responsible and – more... trusted job and did adhere to the requirements.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the politics .
The Legion members are what made my job most enjoyable.
since i was the manager,I hired the staff and they were super to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very energetic person in the work force
Executive Committee Member (Current Employee), Cold Lake, ABAugust 25, 2014
Pros: camp work
Cons: away from family
check e-mails
attend safety toolbox meetings
on sight morning inspection/audits
review stats from previous day which may included finishing investigations inputting matrix or IMS items

back on sight for further on sight review coaching FLHA

There are a wide variety for this type of to numerous to list them all
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to volunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee), Victoria Harbour, ONAugust 17, 2014
I volunteer regularly at the legion, I don't get paid for my services but the time i spend there goes towards my 40 hours of community service for school. A typical day will include washing the floors setting up and putting away tables and chairs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Challenging
Bookkeeper F/C (Former Employee), Niagara-on-the-Lake, ONJuly 16, 2014
Typical day was based in Bookkeeping F/C and meeting the challenges of different ideas of volunteers and staying true to the Members. I came into this position at a very difficult time when there was a – more... lot of corruption and dishonesty and had to work hard to set in place new policies and guidelines to correct the wrongs. I enjoyed this position very much because of the members and staff who worked there. However, it was very difficult given the task I had at hand. I did succeed in my duties at hand with much animosity towards me. But in the end it all worked out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work at my own pace
accountant (Current Employee), Barry's Bay, ONApril 4, 2014
Pros: work at my own pace
Cons: contacted as needed because i work out of my home
do the accounting for five bank accounts as required. Executive is elected so my bosses change. I work well with everyone on staff and do the jobs required of me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Bartender (Former Employee), Prince Albert, SKMarch 20, 2014
Pros: good stories
great people to work with. and that's about it really......
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to be a Comrade with the RCL
Member (Former Employee), Invermere, BCFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: culture, friends and food
Cons: not a thing
Takes one heck of a resume to become a member, but once you qualify I highly recommend it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kitchen and a dance hall
waitor (Current Employee), Charlottetown, PEFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: shook many hands met many people free dinner
Cons: there was not any
my mother would get a phone call from one of the ladies at the legion and i would say yes i will serve i would go serve a dinner be polite to customers i would than collect used main course dishes and – more... then serve desert than clear that off the tables collect every dish and table cloth of tables and take them to the dish washer to be put in proper areas than i might help set up dj equipment if there was a dance but i would mostly clear the dance floor pay was tip based – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Bar steward (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: dealing with internal politics
open up the premises
serve drinks to customers
serve snacks to customer
stock up beverages and sundries
ensure pool tables are covered
tvs are off at end of evening
make sure premises are secure at end of night
hardest part of job is dealing with the executive
most enjoyable part is the customers-we are like the old tv show cheers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job cleaning aint that hard faster u get it dont quicker u get ur $
Janitorial (Former Employee), Thompson, MBJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: short shifts
Cons: sometimes really dirty at the legion
the hardest part of this job was stacking the tables on top of each other very easy work easy pay the part i liked about was when i woke up in the morning id be up and ready for work by 8 and i wouldnt b very tired though out my day i learned that i should clean places better when there dirty / dusty .. the typical day at work was cleaning then setting up for bingo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Cleaner / Dishwasher (Former Employee), Sutton, ONDecember 8, 2013
it was a great place to work but it was time for something new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cooking fi a small un safe kitchen
Cook (Former Employee), Prince George, BCNovember 2, 2013
Cons: working where to many were telling you wat should be done
made soup set up tables cooked off bacon
cleaned up mess made by others
checked out made list if items needed
did up dishes sanatized work areas