Royal Canadian Legion Employee Reviews

Showing all 55 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  pincher creekSeptember 20, 2016
great place to work, great co workers fun working environment. the customers are the best part. definitely taking pride in your job there is an asset. I would recommend this place to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive way to raise funds.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONAugust 18, 2016
It was an excellent volunteering experience. It allowed me to interact with the public actively. I collected donations throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Multi Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BCJuly 6, 2016
provide free meal.work is not hard and pay is not bad.you can get off anytime in case of emergency and sick leave. no benefits and not unionized
Pros
free meal
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive ,busy but short nights
Volunteering (Current Employee) –  Delhi, ONMarch 22, 2016
It would get busy serving dinner but once everyone had their meals and were eating we were able to focus on other tasks such as cleaning and preparing more food.
It was always fun and an enjoyable time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive Work Place
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 10, 2016
mostly consisted of serving customers drinks, Nevada Tickets ( Pull Tickets) was Part Time Bar Tender so mostly worked alone
hardest part dealing with "inebriated " clients - best part leaving behind clean Bar and Seating Area, stocked cooler and balanced cash floats
Pros
was able to still work my Full Time position
Cons
Sometime Late Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work. Warm and welcoming environment.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABMarch 8, 2016
Pleasant staff, very supportive Executive and Board of Directors. The.Branch Manager position poses challenges on a daily basis. Member age group varies (20's to 90's). Sitting and chatting with the older Legion members is always enlightening....always something new to learn about the town and the Legion. Newer members bring their energy and a peek towards the future life of the Legion.
Pros
Always meeting new people.
Cons
Easy to get into working long hours as there's ALWAYS something that needs to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Volunteer Staff (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONFebruary 8, 2016
tyoicaly i would carry 50 plates at a time to wash
i learned to bust tables and working in a friendly environment i also enjoyed the staff they were kind and freindly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical kitchen help
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, ABFebruary 7, 2016
Casual day consisted of washing dishes, helping with food prep, and helping prepare and run buffet meals, also did closing duties at night time.
Pros
One Free meal a day, unlimited drinks
Cons
Not enough hours, not good enough wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fast paced job, but I loved it.
PORTER/ SECURITY (Current Employee) –  Truro, NSFebruary 3, 2016
Wonderful place to work. Always smiling faces and an absolute pleasure and privilege to work at the Royal Canadian Legion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Short Order Cook (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 29, 2016
- preparing and serving food
- how to prioritise my work
- provided training and good feed back
- pleasant and helpful
- over loaded work being the only cook
- a satisfied customer
Pros
Cooking my own lunch and a family atmosphere
Cons
over loaded work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Cook (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJanuary 12, 2016
There wasn't a day where i got frustrated at coworkers. Dart nights were fun to work, alongside steak night. All customers showed up happy also left if not in the same mood a better mood. Also full and satisfied.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place
Head Bartender (Former Employee) –  Gillam, MBDecember 25, 2015
as a private run organization the management is under the direction of an Executive Committee. Many personal opinions can influence how the organization runs and who works there. in a nutshell a lot of politics and looking the other way when whats best for the business is not the way it's run.

I gained alot of experience working here as i was able to learn to manage work schedules for staff and run effective staff meetings.
I was also a volunteer for various committees which was a great influence of my personal development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Legion
BAR MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Smithers, BCDecember 4, 2015
Unfortunately many if the countries legions are dying off.
With not enough veterans around to support them they start closing their doors,
I did love working there, the patrons were the friendliest bunch.
Pros
Patrons, meat draw.
Cons
Only volunteers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun experience volunteering at the Royal Canadian Legion
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  South Surrey, BCNovember 15, 2015
I did many types of volunteering- Meat Draw ticket sales, Creating Meals for the Friday night dance.
I learned how to sell and cook in big quantities .
Met a lot of nice people. I still volunteer on occasion..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Clientele
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Ladysmith, BCNovember 13, 2015
Taking drink orders, making and serving beverage to the patrons.
Executing money transaction (Debit, Visa and cash).
Providing excellent customer service to all guests.
Pros
Meeting extraordinary people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bar Staff Supervisor,VLT,cash accountability
*supervise barstaff, cash,bar, VLT supervision (Former Employee) –  Lac Du Bonnet, MbOctober 20, 2015
*great interaction with public
*enjoyable work
*poor management
*disgruntled co-workers
*difficult to maintain positive attitude in an often toxic and confusing executive direction
Pros
Serving the public
Cons
Too much politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and mellow place to work...and Has a pool table
Bartendar/Manager (Former Employee) –  Alert Bay B.CSeptember 8, 2015
Loved working here at the Legion, got to enjoy a lots of people company as I was a very good Bartender and people loved my personality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly respected establishment
Assistant Bar Manager/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Burns Lake, BCJuly 25, 2015
The Legions patrons were very kind and generous, I have learned how to build great relationships with customers.

I run the bar, my management skills have improved. I am the only employee, unless otherwise, we are throwing an event in which I am the team leader.

No part of my job is hard.

Every part of my job is enjoyable.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, public oriented,enjoyed dealing with Veterans
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBJuly 19, 2015
Because it is a membership-based organization, you have to work for many "bosses" which can be difficult at times. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the fast-paced, diverse position. The President is the ultimate boss and this position is filled by election annually. Therefore, this was a very responsible position because the Administrative Assistant was the only constant as the President and Executive changed annually.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a small business dealing with veterans and the general public
administrative assitant (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ONJune 22, 2015
I answered phones, emails, faxed, coordinated rentals, communicated with different executive members. Answered directly to the president of the branch and members.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
only part time work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5