Royal Canadian Legion Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Campbellford, ON6 September 2017
i enjoyed working here it was a fun and productive workplace where i became friends with kids at school i never thought i would work with got to know them better over the years
Pros
taking home left overs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people, great management and ceo
Bar Steward Manager (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON25 August 2017
The day begins at 12.00pm to 12.00am or to 2.00am , we work 5 double shifts and get 7 days off. Our Monday starts on Thurs, Fri, Sat, 1200.am till 200.am Sunday Monday is our day off and then Tues, Wed, 12.00am till 12.00 pm. We manage all inventory and shop and order it as well , supply the treasures a weekly report on sales, order, petty cash , rentals and memberships. The hardest part of the day is when the shift is only half over. our customers are the most enjoyable part of the day they keep us going and bring new events and adventures to our venue.
Pros
one week off
Cons
long hours no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace
Custodian (Former Employee) –  North Sydney, NS6 August 2017
Very good people to work for. The management team was excellent and my fellow employees were educated and dedicated to their positions. The legion taught me how to get along with people and gain and give respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining and fun, Educating Experience
Bartender/Waitress (Current Employee) –  Vulcan, AB6 July 2017
I learn a lot and meet new people with interesting stories all the time. A great job if you don't mind the strange schedule. Plus, air conditioning is nice.
Pros
New people, learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bartender
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 June 2017
Day and evening shifts 7 days a week. taking in beer deliveries, paying out VLT's and serving alcohol. catered to an older crowd, fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderfful to hear the stories from our veterans
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON22 February 2017
a great community provider. Our legions do great stuff for our community.
It was a fabulous place to work,
I learned alot about out elderly and there needs.
Pros
great atmosphere
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth the Experience
Server (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON8 January 2017
Wage wasn't exactly all it's cracked up to be, but when you're 17 and just wanting pocket money, it's totally worth it. But realistically, the experience was what it was all about. It's a perfect opportunity for resume building.
Pros
Meeting New people, gaining experience
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON19 December 2016
Allowed me to gain bartending skills. Training was not good. Was left to open and close by myself after only 2 shifts. Management is bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Enviroment
Bar Stewardess (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, ON6 November 2016
Loved the people I worked with. I enjoyed the pace we worked at. It was always different there, but you definitely had some slow days, which can be a nice change some times.
Pros
Free lunches during events.
Cons
Not as high as minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Custodian Helper (Former Employee) –  Shelburne, NS4 October 2016
I enjoyed my time working at the Royal Canadian Legion, the people were friendly and respected what you done and also allowed you to do your work without trying to make you feel not knowledgeable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  pincher creek20 September 2016
great place to work, great co workers fun working environment. the customers are the best part. definitely taking pride in your job there is an asset. I would recommend this place to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Office Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC24 August 2016
Lots going on in this company, lots of things changing. Wish there was more volunteers but the volunteers that are there are always going above and beyond.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive way to raise funds.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 August 2016
It was an excellent volunteering experience. It allowed me to interact with the public actively. I collected donations throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Multi Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC6 July 2016
provide free meal.work is not hard and pay is not bad.you can get off anytime in case of emergency and sick leave. no benefits and not unionized
Pros
free meal
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive ,busy but short nights
Volunteering (Current Employee) –  Delhi, ON22 March 2016
It would get busy serving dinner but once everyone had their meals and were eating we were able to focus on other tasks such as cleaning and preparing more food.
It was always fun and an enjoyable time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive Work Place
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 March 2016
mostly consisted of serving customers drinks, Nevada Tickets ( Pull Tickets) was Part Time Bar Tender so mostly worked alone
hardest part dealing with "inebriated " clients - best part leaving behind clean Bar and Seating Area, stocked cooler and balanced cash floats
Pros
was able to still work my Full Time position
Cons
Sometime Late Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work. Warm and welcoming environment.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB8 March 2016
Pleasant staff, very supportive Executive and Board of Directors. The.Branch Manager position poses challenges on a daily basis. Member age group varies (20's to 90's). Sitting and chatting with the older Legion members is always enlightening....always something new to learn about the town and the Legion. Newer members bring their energy and a peek towards the future life of the Legion.
Pros
Always meeting new people.
Cons
Easy to get into working long hours as there's ALWAYS something that needs to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Volunteer Staff (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 February 2016
tyoicaly i would carry 50 plates at a time to wash
i learned to bust tables and working in a friendly environment i also enjoyed the staff they were kind and freindly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical kitchen help
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB7 February 2016
Casual day consisted of washing dishes, helping with food prep, and helping prepare and run buffet meals, also did closing duties at night time.
Pros
One Free meal a day, unlimited drinks
Cons
Not enough hours, not good enough wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fast paced job, but I loved it.
PORTER/ SECURITY (Current Employee) –  Truro, NS3 February 2016
Wonderful place to work. Always smiling faces and an absolute pleasure and privilege to work at the Royal Canadian Legion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Canadian Legion. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 66 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7