Royal Bank of Canada Employee Reviews

Found 592 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Technical Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 1, 2016
RBC is a great company to work for since they have great opportunities for growth and development. The location is great and the atmosphere is wonderful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the Environment would go back in a heart beat
Senior Systems Network Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 30, 2016
Loved the Environment would go back in a heart beat..

Worked in IT Building on Front Street work culture is AWESOME... Only Good Things to say about RBC... Wish other companies were have as good to their employees.... (Only speaking about IT Group at RBC)
Pros
MANY MANY
Cons
NONE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific Corporate Culture
Commercial Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BCMay 29, 2016
For those who are ambitious, seeking ample opportunity for growth and superb resources it is a terrific corporate culture. Highly recommend
Pros
Client interaction, training, resources, opportunities, benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Client Advisor (Current Employee) –  Lively, ONMay 27, 2016
I love working at RBC and with fellow employees. Unfortunately, I am not receiving enough hours to pay all my bills. Rbc has an excellent Code of Conduct which all employees including management adhere to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and good working environment
Account Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 25, 2016
Happy to have worked in the bank. Good benefits with job stability. Lots of learning oppurtunities. Days just passed by unnoticed due to workload but happy to serve the client at my best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! one of the best employers in Canada
QA Lead (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 24, 2016
Great place to work.

Awesome people to work with. Learnt a lot on accessibility testing.
Working with offshore teams and multiple vendor environment.
Pros
Free bank account
Cons
restricted to work elsewhere. outside activities are monitored.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional team and a fun workplace
Technical Systems Analyst Co-op (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 24, 2016
I have nothing but positive things to say about my time at RBC. I worked with a team of professional software developers in an Agile environment and I learned a great deal from all of them. I became very good at reading and debugging other peoples code, as I spent a lot of time fixing code defects. I learned a lot about JavaScript and AngularJS as well as working within the ASP.NET ecosystem.
Pros
Independence to work on what you want
Cons
Can be difficult to stand out in such a large corporation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Client Advisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMay 22, 2016
management and co workers are professional, there is team work. fair, motivated and supportive.

the hardest part of job is meeting sales target.

but over all i t is indeed an excellent work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
SENIOR RECRUITER (CONTRACT) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 19, 2016
People are great and the work environment is fantastic. can not say much about job security as i am hired as a contractor and they are still unable to decide if i will be extended and my contract expires in 2 weeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Banking Advisor (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLMay 19, 2016
Helping clients.
Investments
Credit
Benefits

Hardest part would have to be meeting goals with such a diminishing traffic at the branch level. Goals are still set high but trying to reach them is very difficult for everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of opportunities for career progression
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 16, 2016
Training and development is great. RBC is strong at talent management. A lot of opportunities for career progression.
Pros
benefits, training, career development
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job.
BA (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 13, 2016
Job is ok, nothing special. Growth can be denied to right people, promotion does not always depend on hard work or merit.
Pros
Work from Home
Cons
Rat race
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good competrative perks and benefits
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, OntarioMay 9, 2016
Very good company with competatative perks and benefits.
Managed in an competitive environment.
Have good infrastructure and facilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture of High Accountability
Branch Manager Keil Dr (Current Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ONMay 2, 2016
Demanding yet rewarding career opportunities. Provides the ability to impact and influence people and their own personal development. Community involvement is highly encouraged and supported. Diverse culture and always looking for new thoughts, ideas and experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weak leadership turns engagement into disengagement.
Banking Advisor (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ONMay 2, 2016
I took the Banking Advisor role with all the enthusiasm in the world and meeting clients is always fun, but the environment has soured that enthusiasm. The advertisement is advice, but to be clear you don’t get measured to provide advice. You get measured to push product. Wrap extremely weak leadership around it and your day turns into a race to get it over with. I love sales, but the environment needs to be positive, supportive and achievable without having to cheat or trying to trick customers under the guise of providing advice.

It’s astonishing to have someone tell that you need to suck and blow at the same time while having a straight face. I have worked for awesome leaders in the past, but it is definitely a culture of blame at the retail level.
Pros
At a higher level, it is a good organization.
Cons
Ultra high micro management and you will need a very thick skin.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Business System Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 1, 2016
The team bonded well in a fast paced environment. Since the Business was off shore, so the company tools like webex helped a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great teamwork
Account Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 29, 2016
I was working in weekend shift. I like if their having a cross traing in other department because I learned a lot. I build good relationship to my co-worker we all have respect to each other.
Pros
having bonus
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it there, and its exciting
Client Advisor (Current Employee) –  Nelson, BCApril 27, 2016
Its a great place to work. Everyone works together as a team. Also everyone works together to help each other out, whether they are a trainee or an experienced employee
Pros
Engaging Team
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful team work
Client Advisor - Expert (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABApril 26, 2016
I worked in a large branch for RBC in Grande Prairie, AB. The team work was endless. We worked so well as a team. We had a service side and sales side. Everyone worked together to give our clients the best experience they could possibly have. No matter how busy every ones day was we were all very welcoming in helping one another and that helped a huge amount.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cool atmosphere, lots of perks but low pay
Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 25, 2016
If you are into running you will enjoy working here! there is a lot to do bt it can be fun checking out new merchandise and advising.customers. there is a lot of inventory work if you are in management but if you have a good manager and coworkers the store can be a well oiled machine.
Tons of perks! Ive won sneakers three times and gotten free stuff.
The pay however is not that good.
It is a family company so the store standards are high and if they are not met that can be troublesome.

Run clubs are busy but can be fun because the same people come every week. its very social.
Pros
Fun and Lots of perks
Cons
Low pay, lots of duties. Long hours for managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 698 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0