Find companies:
Ross Dress For Less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,142 reviews

Ross Dress For Less Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work and good learning experience.
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Beavercreek, OHNovember 14, 2014
Pros: working with all the waste collection men was very comfortable and easy.
Cons: was quite the drive from my home.
I was placed in the company as a Dispatcher, which I had never done before but with the training I received, I truly enjoyed this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment with friendly co-workers
Store Protection Specialist (Current Employee), Westminster, CANovember 13, 2014
Pros: opportunities for advancement, friendly co-workers
Cons: healthcare for fulltime associates only, business hours (open late)
Ross was a great learning experience. Everyone works hard to achieve the company goals. Management is always willing to help the associates to pursue career opportunities within the company. Over the years that I have worked for Ross, I've learned to develop a better team by having a consistent communication between the associates and management. I've – more... learned to deter theft and fraud by providing excellent customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment for a workplace
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNNovember 13, 2014
Pros: plenty of breaks, new people
Cons: i love this place i have not found any
A typical day at work is fast paced, checking customers out and assisting them. I've learned how to help a customer find exactly what they are looking for without a lot of time. Management is awesome they work with me on my schedule and always are there when you need help. My co-workers are very outgoing and motivated makes it easy and enjoyable. The – more... hardest part of my job is stocking trying to get things unloaded of the truck in a hour and my most enjoyable part is the interaction with new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a nice store and i like working their.
Salesperson (Former Employee), Mount Prospect, ILNovember 13, 2014
Pros: 20% discount
Cons: short breaks 15 min
I learned how to work as a salesperson and work in the fitting room, and got use to working in that enviornment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start off if your looking to get into the job force
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Chandler, AZNovember 12, 2014
Pros: easy, simple, fun, friendly, works with school schedule
job was not hard it was simple and straight out minimal thinking required easy to excel at the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place For Employment, Great Second Job!
Night Stock Associate (Current Employee), Orlando FLNovember 12, 2014
Pros: pay is exceptional
Cons: position starts as seasonal, then becomes regular, only part time hours (25 or less)
Okay company, Discount & pricing is okay also. Management is a bit crazy. Night shift can be hectic occasionally. Not guaranteed hours every week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Goldsboro, NCNovember 12, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment, friendly staff
Cons: no healthcare, short hours
Great place to work. Employees are very friendly. Shifts are good but can be short. Best part of the job is working with different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was never two days that were the same.
Area Supervisor (Former Employee), Cool Springs, TNNovember 12, 2014
Pros: i would achieve my monthly, yearly goals and get my bonus'
Cons: not enough employess
There was never two days that were the same. It was a challenge that I enjoyed. It was a job where you wore many hats. I was quick to handle customer service to assure that they were happy and satisfied. Reconciling daily paperwork and payroll. Managing a team of 25 plus associates and delegating jobs. Performing my own personal duties and reaching – more... my own goals on a daily basis while running a busy store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 11, 2014
a typical day at work would us getting to work unloading a truck and sorting clothes, putting things in the proper place around store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 11, 2014
Working for Ross Dress for Less was fun. I learned how to unload the truck, tag and sensor merchandise, as well as knowing where to put the merchandise after they have been tagged and sensor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 11, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: pay, schedule, management
This place was terrible to work at! Managers were rude, other employees were too, everyone looked miserable here which resulted in poor customer service and horrendous performance as a store. They don't try to work with your schedule even if you're a mom or a student. They refused to offer more than 20 hours a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Learned a lot!
Loss Prevention Agent (Former Employee), Whitehall, PANovember 10, 2014
The co-workers were great, some of the management needed improvement, but were overall amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Sales associate (Former Employee), Salisbury, MDNovember 9, 2014
Pros: 0
Cons: 0
* cashier, customer service, stocking, recovery, and clean up
* retail in different background
* lack of business manner
* nice and respectful
* not be able to help customers
* finding new items to stock
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a wonderful company to work with!!!
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Kingman, AZNovember 9, 2014
Pros: wonderful learning experience, great leaders, fun place to work.
Cons: not enough hours.
I've been seeing a lot of nasty reviews about this company, quit frankly I am tired of seeing It, and I thought I should give my point of view since I have been working with the company for almost one year. Ross Is a great place to not only work with but to learn! when I got hired at Ross I basically had no work experience at all. I knew nothing about – more... a register, I knew nothing about customer service. before Ross I was the person who never speaks, I was extremely shy beyond the point that If I didn't know you... you never heard a word come out of my mouth. Not only that I was struggling with paranoia to be around people In public places! (100% Truth) but once I started working with Ross not only did I come out of my shell I realized I had wonderful customer service, I've heard It from my store manager! So this job has helped me with many things and It's Improved my life! I went from the person who never talks to the person you can't shut up! Furthermore, Ross has great leaders they take there time to show you things you don't know and explain things so you will. Expect to learn many things, such as the fitting room, how to use a cash register, how to do stock, customer service and the sales floor. The biggest advice I would give someone who's just been hired or looking to get a job with Ross Is to simply have patience. It's the key with just about any retail job... especially Ross. one minute you could have two people In line and turn around and you've got 25! Not only that, dealing with rude customers... just stay calm, explain, keep a smile on your face and understand. Always bee cheerful and talkative when giving customer service being polite and respectful to a customer Is a big thing! Always say your manners even when you're dealing with a rude customer. Because no matter what, they'll still remember you were respectful. The hardest part of the job, Is when you expect to work a certain time and It can be changed at any giving moment. I was once scheduled at 4:00 PM and had two days off prior to that day, I got there around 3:40 checked my schedule and It got changed to 6:15 so I had to sit there for two hours. The most enjoyable thing about working with Ross and the store I work with Is It's always organized, clean and there's great leadership. I can be having a bad day beyond work and come to work and just feel happy and here and there have a great laugh with some co workers. It's best to have a fun enjoyable work place, but most of the time be serious. Overall, If you're are looking for a place to learn retail or you are simply looking for a great job... go with Ross Dress For Less! It's a great company and I am proud to say I work at Ross! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Cashier (Former Employee), Portland, ORNovember 8, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: everything
Just wasnt my cup of tea. Managment was horrible, we never knew what our schedule were, they would not work with my schedule, they told me i would work 25-30 hours but I only worked 10-15 I got items from the store thrown at me by customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, great place to work.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Humble, TXNovember 8, 2014
Pros: teamwork and respect were number one.
Cons: minimal communication barier.
Treated with great respect from Store Manger, we made a great team.Very quickly built a great repoire with Store Associates
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The managers are great to work with and easy to talk to and flexible. Excellent benefits and employee discounts.
Manager On Duty+ (Current Employee), Kissimmee, Fl.November 8, 2014
A typical day of work at Ross is usually very diversified and you will accomplish 10-15 different assignments. The most enjoyable part of my job is providing an excellent customer service experience as well as an exciting treasure hunt shopping experience for our customers. The hardest part of my job is the recovery of the store at the end of the business – more... day. The store is always a mess and impossible to maintain cleanliness and organization because of this you are always working at 100 mph all day. Great place to work if you're beginning a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Below average working environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mays Landing, NJNovember 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Unwelcoming work environment as management does not take employees into consideration with decisions that directly affect them. Lack of communication often and rules are loosely applied most of time allowing for lack of consistency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail enviroment
Store Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta , GaNovember 7, 2014
Pros: i had a great crew. generous discount
Cons: long holiday hours, tight payroll
As a Manager, a typical day at Ross was coming in and performing opening procedures ( checking emails for company directives, checking sales from the previous day, Filling out the MOD checklist
during my store walks, assigning the associates various jobs for the day etc..). I was also MOD anytime that I was in the building. I enjoyed training and developing – more... the associates and interacting
with the other store managers in my district. The hardest part of the job was during the holiday season when the hours were extended trying to exceed the company's standards and keep the store in perfect condition. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Work Here.
Sales Associate/MOD Plus. (Former Employee), Sparks, NVNovember 7, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: everything.
Seriously, just don't. Management picks favorites and only cares about themselves, not the associates.

About Ross Dress For Less

Our customers love a great deal. That makes our mission simple: to provide exciting bargains, every day, in every store. It takes – Read more

Ross Dress For Less Photos