Find companies:
Ross Dress For Less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,549 reviews

Ross Dress For Less Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and fun place to work
Cashier, STEP Team, SPS (Current Employee), Towson, MDMarch 26, 2014
I love being of assistance to not only my fellow co-workers but also are treasured customers as well. A typical day at work is quite fun and exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tamuning, GUMarch 26, 2014
I worked during the holidays therefore the store was always busy but overall it was fast paced. It was a new experience for me but i enjoyed every second. The ross family was very welcoming & showed me everything i need to know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Montclair, CAMarch 25, 2014
Confer with customers, explained products, participated in all locations of the store to help meet store goal and deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly fun place to work
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: keep up with breaks, friendly co-workers and managers
Best group of people I have ever worked with. I experienced a lot during this job that I can take to future careers. Things such as how to handle customer questions and problems, working with equipment like cash registers and retail merchandising markdown equipment. If you are a hard worker they reward you, with in 3 months on the job I was promoted – more... to Front End Supervisor. Would recommend working here to anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent retail store
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: short breaks
Cons: good schedule
I learn a lot of the retail industry. The hardest part of this job was closing, not enough employ to clean departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive clean worplace
Backroom Stocker (Former Employee), security blvdMarch 25, 2014
this place was clean responsible and fast and efficient. we packed food fastly never had a disrespectful customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment, great associate discounts
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Emeryville, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great associate discounts, as well as breaks, flexible hours
On a typical day we come in and do our "start" for the day, run any go backs, greet customers, and provide customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Recommend
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXMarch 25, 2014
I highly don't recommend working here. I never got paid my last paycheck and they would never return back calls or emails about this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place of Employment
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee), Visalia, CAMarch 24, 2014
Store regularly sub-par to OSHA standards. No chance for annual review, promotion or raise. 25 hour workweek cap for part time workers enforced so company will not have to offer health insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Area Supervisor (Current Employee), Montclair, CAMarch 24, 2014
Its a fast pace place to work with lot of opportunity for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy
Cashier (Former Employee), Lodi, CAMarch 21, 2014
I worked as a cashier as well I would over see the work of employees who had to clean the store. as well I learned how to take charge when the manager was not available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace fun work place
Store Protection Specialist (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 21, 2014
typically days would be very busy which is exciting to me. I've learned things like dealing with customers , how to react in stressful situations, how to maintain an safe and secure environment, mitigating theft and fraud , developing great teams and partnerships and minimizing operational shortage. Managers are very supportive and co-works are friendly – more... and helpful. The most enjoyable part of the job is everything. The fact that im helping provide an safe and secure environment for customers is exciting to me , being able to make an difference means everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 21, 2014
fun but also engaging place to work
We get to talk to a lot of customer and connect with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace, associates were very helpful and understanding
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLMarch 21, 2014
Pros: gained retail experience
Cons: location was inconvient due to transportaion issues
* A typical day at Ross would start off Clocking in, and checking in to see what deparment and assignments you are assigned for the day.Greeting customers as the enter and exit the store
* I've Iearned how to ring and pack items utilizing the register and had an overview on how to get into the break room & how to report a possible action of theft with – more... missing merchandise on the board in he breakroom. Also how to maintain your assigned department & work area clean.Label the hangers according to size of clothing & footwear,Lingerie, etc. where and how to return any unwanted items back in the correct department. how to clock-in-clock-out.
* my coworkers were very understanding and helpful whenever i was unsure of myself.
* The hardest part of the job was the job was getting to and from work because of a lack of transportation
*the most enjoyable part of the job was greeting the customers and also assisting a customer in choosing and purchasing items – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: associate discounts, also if you find a legit sponsor you can move up and learn pretty quick
Cons: poor compensation, workload, and favoritism.
I tell everyone, understand what you are getting into. As a discount retailer, Ross is just that. Compared to other retailers, they do not compensate their employees to their skills. Also, as with any work place, politics are in play. You may be lucky to have a great store manager & district manager who are engaging and fun to be around that motivate – more... you to do better, or you may be with someone that just wants to move up. I unfortunately experienced that latter. With this, comes integrity issues where things are swept under the rug and you are picked on for attempting to fix the issues. I have been a firsthand witness to cronyism and nepotism.
Understand it is retail, so there is recovery, a lot of it, as well as customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and fun workplace!
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee), West Hollywood, CAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: limited benefits
There is never a dull moment at Ross in West Hollywood. If you like to keep busy and multitask in a fast paced and fun environment this is a good place for you. There is a lot of room for growth in the company if you are willing to put in a lot of hard work. I learned important qualities necessary to be a leader such as persistence, integrity, and always – more... leading by example. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfect
cashier/ jewelery associate (Former Employee), san leandro caMarch 20, 2014
i love it management is on top of there job. the employees pretty much are the same they keep it professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Stockroom and sales (Former Employee), NorthgateMarch 19, 2014
Pros: wide variety of restaurants to eat at for lunch, costumer interaction 24/7, i could dress comfy and cute
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work would be to get straight to the job after clocking in. After 2 hours, we go on break. Before break time, we walk around the whole store to look out for suspicious activity and to pick up after customers. I learned how to advertise new merchandise and I gained a lot of customer service experience. I learned how to neatly and quickly – more... organize multiple departments. The hardest part of the job was to complete all assigned tasks in the short amount of time especially when we had so much to receive. The most enjoyable part was catering to customer's needs. My co-workers were very friendly, helpful, and funny. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Modesto, CAMarch 19, 2014
I learned a lot working at Ross. It taught me the value of earning a paycheck and to work hard. My coworkers were great and so were my bosses. I loved working in customer service and really enjoyed being able to help others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Novato, CAMarch 19, 2014
• Stock Room: unloading inventory, adjusting each item according to section, stocking inventory
• Cashier and Customer Service: bagging/ringing up items and answering any questions

About Ross Dress For Less

Our customers love a great deal. That makes our mission simple: to provide exciting bargains, every day, in every store. It takes – Read more

Ross Dress For Less Photos