Find companies:
Ross Dress For Less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,864 reviews

Ross Dress For Less Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out good
front end supervisor (Current Employee), floridaAugust 6, 2014
Pros: payed vacation and sick time
Cons: coworkers
Ross is your average retail store, you have good days and bad days. The same goes to customers, but not for the co workers. A lot of my girls are a blast to work with but there are a select few that just cant lave high school behind them. Im only in my 20's and work with people a lot older then me and they just are the worst people to be around. It – more... makes every day hard to want to go to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Customer Service / Cashier (Former Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 6, 2014
hel;ping customer gate thereis needs returns and sales floor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun workplace!
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Queen CreekAugust 6, 2014
Overall, I enjoyed the experience working for this company. The hours were good, the time spent there was fun and busy, and you can't go wrong with the discount and incredible low prices!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLAugust 4, 2014
Fast paced,learned how to work fast ,check out fast ,improved cash handling and customer service,leadership skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very live and kind work place.
Associate (Former Employee), Newport News, VAAugust 4, 2014
Coming into work everyday was always different. There would be different goals to accomplish. I learned a lot of different skills when it comes down to merchandise and clothing. My co-workers were very nice and a great team of people to work with. Every day was a good day for everyone. Nothing was hard about my job. Customers always left satisfied with – more... our good service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
stocker/cashier (Current Employee), Conroe, TXAugust 4, 2014
Associates walk the store to make sure customers dont steal. Stock room associates make sure truck is finished daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging
Cashier / Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chandler,AZAugust 4, 2014
As productive and engaging as could be although alot of idol time that we try to fill with busy work..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working environment
Sales Floor and Stock Room (Former Employee), Stafford, TXAugust 1, 2014
it was an overall good company with lots of working opportuneties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Joplin, MOAugust 1, 2014
Pros: breaks
Cons: rate of pay.
I helped to unload the truck in the mornings. I process all the freight and put alarms on the necessary items. I help to stock the freight onto the sales floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy retail store
Front end Supervisor (Former Employee), San Pedro, CAAugust 1, 2014
Before walking into work I needed to mentally prepare myself for the duties I had in stored for me that shift. The store is usually busy non stop from opening to perhaps an hour before it close. When I was hired here I went form sales floor, cashier, customer service, to front end supervisor within 7 months. It was the first job I learned how to be – more... organized and specific to were certain item belonged in the store, made sure if they were stored properly, and always assist the customers with any questions, problems, and concerns they had. I had to be responsible to make sure my drawer always had maintain its correct balance, open and closes cash drawers, as well as relieve my fellow employees for their breaks and lunches. My fellow co-workers usually complained a lot about the amount of work they were given and not necessarily the nicest but when it was time for them to clock out they were the most jolliest they could be.
During the course of time I worked for this company, we would have a new manager every 3 months. I believe I decided to leave just when our 7th manager was about to walk into office.
The hardest part of this job was realizing that people can be pigs, they trash the store everyday, let their kids run wild, and try to shoplift every 60 seconds. While me being in charge of how the operations was run had to put on a big smile and take it all in with no complaints. Although that may sound bad I actually found it quite enjoyable, every now and then I would occasionally get a customer who's polite with manners. Enjoy a small conversation while attending to their needs before I send them on their way. What makes me enjoy my job is that I can help people and put on smile on their face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advances with retail company for 7 years. Moved for promotions 4 times.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Idaho Falls, IDAugust 1, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunities.
I learned how to schedule, hire, and train all associates. I learned time management is key to success as well as organization. The hardest part of my job was leaving it everyday because there was always more stuff to be done. The most enjoyable part of my job was working close with all associates and being able to train them and be there for them with – more... any issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: decent hours
Cons: no benefits
my typical day at work would be answering phone calls checking the shipment seeing what has to be shipped out for the day receiving the shipment and enter the cases into the computer scan all cases, file all of the invoices and assist lab as needed on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Flexiable
Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 31, 2014
I love my job and they always help me out. The managers are very supportive. I would recommend working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLJuly 31, 2014
Pros: 20% discount
A typical day at work was rather stressful, yet really relaxing at times. I learned how to associate with customers and mostly retail experiences such as cashier, go backs, hanging clothes back up, and cleaning the store before closing. My co-workers were hard-workers and the management was great at what they did. The hardest part about the job was – more... the hours, considering i had school the next morning and we got out at 1 am sometimes. The best part about my job was associating with customers and giving them the proper customer service they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Store Manager (Current Employee), Glen Allen, VAJuly 31, 2014
Store Manager of a retail establishment
Conflict Resolution and Payroll Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Downers Grove, ILJuly 31, 2014
Ross is a fun place to work, happy vibe. the environment makes it easier to work most times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers and co-workers
Sales Associate/MOD Plus (manager on duty) (Current Employee), Marietta, GAJuly 30, 2014
The most enjoyable are the customers! I have learned that if your customer comes in having a back day, that is your opportunity to turn things around and I absolutely love to see them walk with a smile on their faces! My co-workers are one of a find. The hardest part is that it doesn't seen to be enough hours in the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Busy Retail Environment, sometimes dealing w/hostile customers
Back-up Manager/ Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Albuquerque, New MexicoJuly 30, 2014
Pros: i was given more hours than i sometimes wanted.
Cons: messy store from customers and busy all the time, plan on late hours if you close
Environment is extremely busy and you must really think quickly as lines of customers (oftentimes angry for long line and wait) sometimes demand discounts and manager availability is difficult. High Stress Environment. For retail store, just be prepared for this because it's difficult when training is limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they provide equal opportunity for work advancement and is very understanding with availability for work
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Los angeles, CAJuly 30, 2014
Ross is a great place to start for work because they give an opportunity to people like me with no work experience. Once you are in the company, as long as you do good with your job, moving up is not a problem. They give everybody a chance to train and try to move up from their position (they even ask you where you wanna be trained!). And if your availability – more... for work changes, they will still accommodate you and give you schedules on the days you are available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company to work for.
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 30, 2014
Pros: 15 minute breaks after two hours of working
Cons: managers don't always remember to give you your breaks
In my opinion the managers need more communication with each other about schedules and other things. I also think that the managers should communicate more with their employees about changes made to the schedules. My co-workers at Ross are great. Most of them are friendly and always have a smile on their face. The managers are just as nice and friendly – more... as the rest of the staff. The hardest part of this job would be figuring out the daily routine. When being trained I don't think that you get a very good feel for how things are run and how you are expected to do certain things. Once you get the hang of it though it goes much more smoothly. The most enjoyable part of this job is speaking to the customers and getting to know them. They're all so friendly and love to talk. – less

About Ross Dress For Less

Our customers love a great deal. That makes our mission simple: to provide exciting bargains, every day, in every store. It takes – Read more

Ross Dress For Less Photos