Find companies:
Ross Dress For Less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,145 reviews

Ross Dress For Less Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tolerable Job, Low Pay, Good Discount
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), FLNovember 28, 2014
Pros: discount, nice coworkers
Cons: over worked, underpaid, very little room for advancement
Every moment i worked here i wanted to quit. The only thing that made working there tolerable is having people there that understood why i hated the job so much. The best part of the job is the discount and 3 times a year our discount is doubled. The company is also very flexible with employees regarding their availability. With Ross most employee's – more... are over worked and under paid. The store is almost always understaffed and you must deal with unhappy customers on a daily basis because of this. Usually customers are mad about things that are out of your control. Especially dealing with the return policy or long lines. I would only recommend this job to someone whose looking for a little extra money and a decent discount. I don't recommend only working at Ross, you have very few opportunities for a pay raise and everyone starts at minimum wage. No one can survive just off of Ross's pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on register and constantly cleaning up sales floor.
Sales Associate/Retail (Former Employee), Avondale, AZNovember 26, 2014
Pros: working with great people
Cons: unorganized, no hours being offered.
A typical day at Ross consists of constant movement but typically only working for about 4 hours per shift. Generally I would be on the register and ensuring that customers have a fast and accurate transaction process; I would also be working on the sales floor in the men's and kid's department (where it was the most messiest) picking up all clothes – more... and other items from off of the floor. The thing that was the worst about working for Ross was the management, they were so unorganized as a unit and for a few months we didn't even have a store manager! Some members of management would communicate a specific change in something then when I would talk with the other members of management I would hear something completely opposite about the same thing. It was exhausting to have adhere to all the several changes that they had then didn't have and then had again. The worst part of the job was that they would continue to cut our hours more and more each week, Eventually I had just gotten sick of getting such puny checks. The best part of the job was my co-workers because they were generally around the same age as I was and we all felt the same way about the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work for but could use improvement on taking care of there employee's
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Gresham, ORNovember 25, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: bad ethics
I believe this company was a great part time fit for me they were a good company to work for but they don't back up there employee's as much as there customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad for Associates, ok for SPS
Store Protection Specialist (Current Employee), Alexandria, VANovember 24, 2014
If you are an SPS there... The pay is better and you do less work. Managers contradict themselves a lot. A Typical day at work is standing in your post for a few hours and watching to see if someone is stealing. Dog, I swear to God I do not feel like writing this review right now man, but I'm going to so that this thing can stop asking me to add more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
sales associate (Former Employee), Aurora, CONovember 24, 2014
Pros: had a job to by presents for chrismas
Cons: after season was over spent 2/3 of my paychecks just to get to work
was to repetative and when it came to doing our jobs managment just had us get it done quick and not properly. "just make it look good don't worry about doing right" was something i was constintly told.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Management & Lack of Leadership
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Harvey, LANovember 23, 2014
Cons: managment, pay
This particular Ross location has very poor management and a strong lack of leadership. A typical day at work was chaotic. Customers never seemed to be checked out in a timely fashion. The managers displayed strong favoritism to certain associates. The store manager is very arrogant and nonchalant as well as the assistant store manger. Many associates – more... never receive their breaks or lunches in a timely manner. I even went shifts without taking a break or lunch, because they were so "busy" in the front. The discount really didn't make working at Ross worth the madness that this location put me through. As a part-time associate at this location, you are not even guaranteed 15 hours a week. You do so much, for no sincere thank you and for so little pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place productive work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Henderson, NVNovember 23, 2014
Love love loved working for this compant, This is where it all started where, I basically learned how to be a front end supervisor to opening and closing store, to becoming stock lead, it was always a fast paced job but also kept it steady the managment and co-workers were the best always kept up with all their task as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Tamuning, GUNovember 23, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: hours, expectations
Over worked and under pay. Lazy management
good as a starter job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable place to work
Loss Provention / Sales Representative (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXNovember 22, 2014
A fast paced work place, with very busy holidays and friendly employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun to work for
Stocker/Customer Service (Current Employee), Puyallup, WANovember 22, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunch or breakfast, multitask and customer svc skills are continually being developed
Cons: difficult to get full time position
great place to work, good people to work with and for. learned further multitask and customer service skills. fast paced but productive and organized envirenment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent managment and fair duties
Sales associate, customer service (Current Employee), Vancouver, WANovember 21, 2014
Fast-paced environment, dealing with different types of customers, quick and efficient problem solving, high-level customer-service, goal-oriented register working, friendly, helpful and collaborative team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Area Manager (Former Employee), compton CANovember 21, 2014
Pros: team work, discount
Cons: hours, management
there is alot of expectations for too little.but overall i did enjoy working there until new higher personal came in
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, room for advancement, and great discount
Front End Supervisor, Cashier (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CANovember 20, 2014
Pros: great discount, location, and to local shops
Cons: discounted healthcare, working black friday, and numerous( main) superviors
I started as a cashier when I started working there. Under new management, and within a few months I became a Front End Supervisor. And once I became a supervisor, I was disrespected. Most of the supervisors I knew would leave me in charge to do their job while they dealt with office tasks. While working there, the company went through several managers – more... and district managers in several months. It was hard to keep track of everyone's names. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for as a 2nd job
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Downers Grove, ILNovember 20, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: salary
Ross is a pleasant company to work for, they respect the employees needs, and recognize talents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Vista, CANovember 19, 2014
I worked at Ross during a transition time in my life, knowing it would be a temporary job. I was surprised how associate centered the company was. It was always a great environment to be a part of however, it is retail so that says enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and great for college student.
Sales associate/Costumer Service (Current Employee), Atlanta, GaNovember 17, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: not many advancement positions
Ross is great place to work if you are a college student. They can be flexible on availability change. They recognize hard work and great employees. It's just another retail job really. The only advancement are manger positions. On top of that they still aren't that great. Great place to work, but not for a short time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fast paced work enviorment!
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Dallas, TxNovember 17, 2014
Pros: double discount day
Cons: unpredictable schedule
One of the best parts of working in Retail are the customers! Every day is someone new and something new to learn. Being up front means that you are the face of the company. My day starts with reading the closing teams notes and remarks. My tasks depend on what shift I am working that day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Socially Servicing Others
ROSS Coordinator (Current Employee), East Saint Louis, ILNovember 16, 2014
What I enjoy most about training and education is the opportunity to share something new with another person. This two elements transform a job into a passion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fast paced environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), High Point, NCNovember 16, 2014
Pros: management, long hours
Cons: low pay, slow advancement
I love my job here at Ross for the most part,
It has great management, and coworkers, I'm very flexible with them and they love me for that. But, I am only part-time and is in need of a full-time position in order to move up in life, of which Ross isn't currently offering right now. However, I would say this is a good part-time, minimum wage job and – more... is good for those who's just starting to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive Team
Step Lead/ Manager on Duty (Current Employee), Placerville, CANovember 15, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: managment issues
I learned product placement, How to deal with disgruntled employees and what it's like to be under serious pressure.

About Ross Dress For Less

Our customers love a great deal. That makes our mission simple: to provide exciting bargains, every day, in every store. It takes – Read more

Ross Dress For Less Photos