Find companies:
Ross Dress For Less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,156 reviews

Ross Dress For Less Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment enjoyed interacting with customers
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 26, 2014
Pros: great environment and friendly co workers
Cons: poor management and unfair hours and pay rate
management with unorganized and they hired more than enough people just to get the new store open and running then they gave out minimal to no hours at minimal wage. It was sad that I had to walk away from the job but they left me no choice and I believe it was just wrong how they deal with the situation as a whole
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at Ross Stores
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 24, 2014
Every day we do an STaRTing Assignment, by making sure everything is in the correct spot where your Manager On Duty (MOD) assign you to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Floor Representative (Former Employee), Bellflower, CADecember 24, 2014
Atypical day would feel long because we would be busy, on other days we wouldn't. MY co-workers were awesome, loving people, and they were hardworking. The hardest part of working was rude customers but the most enjoyable part would helping customers find what they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy all the interesting people who shop here.
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 23, 2014
Cons: part-time minimum wage
This is a very fast paced, busy store. Being close to an international airport brings people in from many countries. The language barrier can be quite challenging on some days.
I have learned how to "sign" the way to the restrooms and how many items may be taken into the fitting rooms. Management is very good at involving the entire team of employees – more... in many diverse areas of the store which makes for a good shopping experience for our customers.
The hardest part of the job is recovering the clothing that is left in many parts of the store by customers.
I do enjoy the camaraderie of my co-workers and their willingness to help one another.
There is no desire on my part to join the management team as I am semi-retired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough hours, too much work
stocker, clerk, (Current Employee), La Verne, CADecember 23, 2014
Pros: free lunch sometimes
Cons: everything else
company is extremely unorganized, only hires part-time at minimum wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place of work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Marysville, WADecember 20, 2014
Pros: pros were the discounts on products at the store
Cons: cons were that the managers would not work around your schedule
A typical day at work would be to help maintain the store and help customers. I learned what it takes to stock shelves and learned more about responsibility with it being my first job. Management was alright just didn't like my job being held over my head if I could not complete an impossible task. Great and fun coworkers enjoyable to be around and – more... work with. The hardest part about this job was having to be awake at 3am in the morning. The most enjoyable part of this job was closing the store and making sure everything was set up and ready to go for the morning crew. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you have the right management and employees
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLDecember 19, 2014
Pros: discounts on merchandise
Cons: shady management (based on location though), low pay for part time
a typical day would be to come in and most likely see a long line with 2 cashiers at register because management would want the sales floor organized which is virtually mission impossible sometimes with all the customers moving everything. I learned from this job that you can only trust yourself and look after yourself ( not trying to say that all your – more... co-workers will be jerks, some are really nice and helpful) because the same person who smiles in your face is probably the same person who will be telling on you to management for accidentally not cleaning your hangers or running the go-back fast enough or being too slow at the register. The management are not all bad , just communicate with them and make sure that your schedule is not changed without you knowing. The hardest part of the job is learning to do go backs or stressing out when your the only person at the register processing transactions but the most enjoyable part is shopping on day off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work during Christmas, but not much after
Sales Associate (Former Employee), 5269 Highway 280 Ste 120, Birmingham, AL 35242December 19, 2014
Pros: store discount, friendly customers
Cons: crazy break schedule, tedious work with low pay, very little chance of promotions, not enough hours given
Typically you come in when you're scheduled and, depending on rather or not you're going to be asked to stay over, leave on time. You learn how to deal with rude employees as well as customers. The management team is nice, if not a little disorganized. Co-workers tend to do most of the work. The job isn't hard at all; it's mostly just really tedious – more... and you don't get much for the work you do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast pace environment
Area Supervisor (Former Employee), Downtown Los AngelesDecember 18, 2014
Pros: promotions
Cons: pay
I was a Front End Supervisor, I leaded 15-20 people on a daily basis. What I love about this company is that one can move up quickly. I started as a Stockroom Associate and I left as a Manager on duty. It took me three months to completely learn the business and become an asset to the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer or second job, just not a primary career
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Tempe, AZDecember 17, 2014
Pros: paid fifteen minute breaks, fun environment and great coworkers
Cons: part time salary and limited ability to move up unless you plan on making your career retail
I have been working at Ross Since August of 2013 and I don't have any major complaints other then the pay. I honestly feel that Ross is a great secondary job. They work around your school schedule and are really good about trying to give you up to 25 hours on your schedule if you ask for it. However if you want to go fulltime, I have noticed that they – more... ask older coworkers before the college kids simply because I feel that they feel college kids aren't as dependable and responsible, which in general they aren't. So since I don't plan on working retail for the rest of my life I don't take offense, but I do have bills to pay, which is why I am looking for that secure 9-5 job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee), Columbus, GADecember 17, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Working for this company has taught me alot about being the best I can be and more when it comes to serving my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oxnard, CADecember 16, 2014
It was very rewarded working at Ross Dress for Less. Everyday I walked in ready to work and eager to give the customers what they wanted, great items at a very affordable price.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In a Word: Terrible.
Store Protection Specialist (Former Employee), TennesseeDecember 16, 2014
Pros: awesome co-workers, interact with all kinds of people, it's a job
Cons: poor pay, poor management, long and irregular hours, employee discout is 20% and only for you, only offer part-time positions, little chance for advancment
The hours are all over the place. Aspects of the job were excessive while others served no purpose whatsoever. You have to memorize a sheet with four headings and each heading has four bullet points that you must be able to recite then provide examples of. They were super picky about the uniform which they don't provide. No one, not friend or even co-workers, – more... were surprised when I left soon after getting the job.

You are nothing more than a glorified door greeter. You can't actually do anything to stop shoplifters. You stand 100% of the job, and not even on a fatigue mat. Management was rude and were quick to take advantage if you let them. Management has an illusion of the job that is vastly different from reality.

Benefits were terrible. Literally the only reason I bought anything was because I was there all day to see stuff that I thought were cool after seeing them every day for multiple days.

The most enjoyable thing were the people and co-workers. Some of the customers were sweet and nice while others were rude but you met more nice than the latter.

When I started, advancement to a full-time position was 3 months which jumped to 6 months a week later. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Cashier /Stocker (Former Employee), Pasadena, TXDecember 16, 2014
Cons: short breaks
Working for this company was a challenge for me as i continued work with the months time i've learned something everyday to make my job more enjoyable and helping costumers .the challenge became no more as i thought the hardest job was a peice of cake..I love meeting & helping customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need to find a good store
Cashier (Former Employee), chino, caDecember 15, 2014
Not all stores are the same. need to find a store with a great management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to shop after working!
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Hoover, ALDecember 15, 2014
Pros: free lunch every month, flexible hours, double discounts days and the great prices
Cons: minimal pay and there's not enough communication between management
Management is okay. My co-workers are fun to be around and some feel like they're like family. The hardest part of the job is making sure every task in done within a certain time.I love the discount off the already great prices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Stocker (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXDecember 15, 2014
A typical day at work is the same as yesterdays day at work. Nothing new happen'd and nothing old Happen'd. The coworkers were very easy to get along with, though some has the inner circle already set. Including managers. The hardest part of the job was getting stock down. So little workers vs. one big truck full of merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy job
night stock lead (Current Employee), Miami Beach, FLDecember 15, 2014
working night shift at ross is pretty easy as long as you pay attention and know what you are doing, management is very helpful if you need help with anything. working a night will aloow you to do more things in the daytime hours , like going to school or even if you have kids you can spend more time with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It!
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee), Hickory, NCDecember 13, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: long hours
This was such a fun and exciting place to work, especially if you love to shop...Which I do. There was new stock coming in every day and it was fun for all the team members to work freight and get to look at all the new things coming in on a daily basis. The whole management team worked great together. The communication between management and associates – more... was phenomenal! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place but whatever..
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Kahului, HIDecember 13, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: management sucks, under appreciated
It's a good job as a first job. You learn a lot "skills" like how to work a register, process transactions, recover a sales floor, etc. After a month of working here, the managers weren't as helpful or nice, they would yell at me for no reason & give me attitude. I could be working my butt off & they would still have something to complain about.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ross Dress For Less

Our customers love a great deal. That makes our mission simple: to provide exciting bargains, every day, in every store. It takes – Read more

Ross Dress For Less Photos