Find companies:
Ross Dress For Less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,041 reviews

Ross Dress For Less Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Fun Work Enviornment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Goodyear, AZOctober 28, 2014
Pros: awesome safety parties
Cons: healthcare benefits
Ross is a very fast pace and busy place to work at, but each store varies. Good attendance, punctuality, and appearance are key especially for advancement in the company as well as excellent people skills. Being a team player is essential and also multi-tasking. Co-workers are very friendly, positive, and knowledgeable about Ross policies and procedures. – more... Being in retail can be demanding but you learn how to pace yourself and try to have good time management skills, but the most rewarding thing about working at Ross is seeing customers leave happy and satisfied with the merchandise as well as the awesome customer service – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Westminster, CAOctober 28, 2014
Pros: good atmosphere
Cons: bad schedule! bad!
Very rude customers at this location. I had to fix aisles and cashier at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, great place
Stock Room & Cashier (Former Employee), 339 Carroll St Fort Worth, Texas 76107October 28, 2014
Pros: good discount on store.
Cons: short shifts
Open boxes, stocked store,cashier, and markdowns the hardest part was recovering store.The most enjoyable part was learning new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced enviornment
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 28, 2014
Pros: cutomer interactios and great team members.
Returned and exchanged any merchandise customers were not satisfied with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers were good but upper managment was ver unorganized.
Area Supervisor (Former Employee), Woodinville, WAOctober 27, 2014
lots of back to back shifts made it rather exhausting. balance between work and like was very hit and miss. I did like the fast pace environment and upbeat coworkers.

A typical day- for an Area Supervisor there are three shifts, open, mid, and closer. All Managers and Area Supervisors are key holders. My typical shift was closer. so from 3pm until10:30 – more... pm I was the manager on duty. Job responsibilities included break schedules, floor management (assigning my staff to their designated zones) time management, checking emails, speaking with less than pleased customers, breaking down morning shipment trash, and floor sets. also setting alarms and locking the store up at the end of the night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great training for new employees
Retail Associate (Current Employee), La Verne, CAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: good at making sure you take breaks and lunches on time
Cons: bad management
first when you arrive you check your schedule to see where you are put. then once you get to where you need to be(fitting rooms, stock, cashier, sales floor) you ask the manager what you should be doing. then once they tell you, you recover that area. then before you leave you make sure the area is recovered again so the next employees coming in do – more... not have to do it. learned to be fast and friendly with costumers and help them with whatever they need. management needs a lot more work done. I am still currently working there. the co workers there are really nice as well as the managers. the hardest part would be to make sure you do a good job and on time. the most enjoyable part would be getting true cards from other employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my honest opinion about what to expect
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Miami, FLOctober 27, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, great customer service experience
Cons: imposible to move up with this company, minimum wage pay, takes years to get a raise
A typical day can consist of anything from being on a register, running fitting room racks, which is a rack filled with clothes customers decided not to get after trying them on in the fitting room. Recovering a assigned section of the store, covering lunches to running go back, which is items customers decided against at the register. its a great way – more... to gain customer service experience and build communication skills. However the pay is not enough for someone with a lot of expenses. There is a 25 hour per week cap for part time employees and the pay is minimum wage, with no possibility for a raise in at least a year maybe more. This is a great 1st job for anyone just entering the working force, preferably teens and college students. The hours are flexible and they work around your available schedule which is great. You get to meet new people everyday and you can meet some great friends while working there. The customers can be a bit rude at times so self control and anger management and patients is a must for this type of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management team
Stock Team Member (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKOctober 24, 2014
Pros: great discount perks for employees
Cons: no healthcare provided
A typical day working at Ross was busy, but it was a low volume store. I enjoyed organizing the merchandise and getting to see different things that we don't always carry, but what I didn't like the most was having to put clothes on hangers half the day. Standing in one place for a long period of time is not something I enjoy. I learned how to calculate – more... a stores daily income for sales and how to process a certain amount of funds for the bank to pick up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Floor Maintence
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Laredo, TXOctober 24, 2014
Making sure that my workers were always doing there job and making sure that they always had the right equipment to do so
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun job with a great discount and great management but low hourly wage
Stock Room Area Supervisor, Shift Manager (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTOctober 24, 2014
Pros: amazing discount, fun environment, advancement opportunities, flexible schedule
Cons: very low pay, infrequent reviews, schedule changing weekly
This is an amazing first job. Amazing work environment and very fun place to be. Great management and great company over all. Typical day is very fast paced and fun. Normal floor staff go between working a register and picking up the store or working fitting room or stock room. No day is ever the same as the last and each brings new challenges and opportunities. – more... I found it easy to move up into a management roll and loved that position even more. Movement beyond area management is a lot tighter and not quite so easy but that is only because there are less positions that become available. This job starts at minimum wage and with very few exceptions only offers one very small raise every year. It has a very large turnover rate because most people have it as a first job or transition job and leave once they find a higher paying job. But once you make it into a full time position, money is a little better and the benefits are pretty good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COOctober 24, 2014
Cross-perform in all assigned areas to make sure that merchandise sizing, ticketing and presentation are to company standards.

Perform daily recovery to ensure a neat, clean and organized store.

Learned how to use a cash register and how to keep things running in an orderly fashion.

Management was fantastic and very understanding.

Most of my co-workers – more... kept to themselves, other were very friendly.

Hardest part of this job was being on you feet throughout the whole shift.

Most enjoyable part was providing outstanding customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Area Supervisor (Current Employee), San DimasOctober 23, 2014
I like it here. The people are great, the work is fun. It can sometimes be a challenge but it usually feels pretty good when you are able to get it all done before the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
security (Current Employee), Oakland, CAOctober 23, 2014
wonderful place to work, great environment, management is wonderful to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It paid the bills.
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: unwilling to allow for other, set, occurrences.
I worked in this location for only 6 months before I began to notice that, more and more often, the management would schedule me for times I had in writing informed them I was unavailable. After being threatened with a write-up after declining to skip school in order to work a series of shifts, I left the job and focused entirely on my studies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Manager (Current Employee), Morrisville, NCOctober 22, 2014
Pros: fun environment
A typical day at work is ensuring staff and store is functioning properly. Training staff.
I learned how to be a leader, customer service, hiring, payroll, and operations.
All management communicates very well and are always willing to go the extra mile.
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping and training staff in their positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay sucks
markdowns/ sales associate (Former Employee), Fresno, CAOctober 22, 2014
Cons: low pay for alot of work
working the cashier when im not doing markdowns and also helping in the
fitting rooms
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for experiance
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Highland, CAOctober 22, 2014
I enjoyed working with the company and learned much from my employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive retail environment, great place to grow professionally
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: discounts on great retail items
Cons: short breaks
Great ways to move up faster in the company, if you desire. The hire from within the company which is awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its work
Stockroom Associate (Current Employee), El Paso, TXOctober 20, 2014
It's Fast pace.
I've Learned to work with a team.
Management is fair.
Co-workers help the day go faster.
The hardest part is maintaining the quota,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
FRONT END SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Deerfield beach, FloridaOctober 20, 2014
It was okay for a part time job. High pace environment. They are a famous retail store.

1 2 3 4 5

About Ross Dress For Less

Our customers love a great deal. That makes our mission simple: to provide exciting bargains, every day, in every store. It takes – Read more

Ross Dress For Less Photos