Find companies:
Ross Dress For Less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,970 reviews

Ross Dress For Less Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Employee (Current Employee), CaliforniaSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: work life balance
Great place to work. The company is expanding across the country and doing well in an otherwise difficult retail environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Sales Associate/Seasonal (Former Employee), Savannah, GASeptember 28, 2014
Pros: holiday pay
Cons: management, favortisim
Will be a great place to work if supervisors and owners care about their employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team-based environment with friendly and flexible management.
SPS-Store Protection Specialist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: team-driven work environment.
Cons: lack of hours after holiday hours ended.
A typical day at work included a pre-opening run through the store which included filling out forms necessary to track hour to hour operations during the day. A meeting with management to talk about goals for the day usually took place every morning. I learned many different facets of customer service incorporating them seamlessly into the security – more... arena. Difficulties arose in the job when keeping an "eye" on all customers in the store at any given time. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing when I played a part in the apprehension of a shoplifter or helped out a paying customer with any questions or problems that may have arisen during their shopping experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace cashiers
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Missouri City, TXSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: 20% discount on most of the merchandise
Cons: too many call out from part time associates
A typical day at Ross will pass by very fast, in such fast pace retail environment the day will be gone in no time. Have learn a lot, from others and management, The District manager gives helpful feedback contributing to growth with in the company. Friendly and fun associates, makes it easy and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an average retail job
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Bradley, ILSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: nice coworkers/staff
Cons: not enough hours
This job was a decent place to work for. I was hoping to work here longer, but only to find out this job was temporary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job to hold while in school
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Farmington, NMSeptember 26, 2014
This job was a pretty easy going one that was great to have while in school. The hours were decent, and the pay was fair enough. This job really only took being positive so that all customer needs were met in a way that made them feel welcome to return for future purchases.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT CUSTOMER AWARENESS
Store Manager (Former Employee), HOUSTONSeptember 24, 2014
KNOWLEDGE OF STORE POLICY AND PROCEDURES A MUST TO KEEP YOUR BUSINESS ON POINT FOR THE FUTURE TASK A HAND.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal but good
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Hayward, CASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: short breaks
I had fun working there. It was very fast paced but they worked around my schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Store Protection Specialist (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: good management, good training, decent benefits, friendly coworkers, fast career advancement
Cons: low pay, low hours(for part time) limited advancement, high turnover, boring
In my experience here I learned how security and loss prevention work together to make a safe shopping enviroment for customers.I also learned how to train new associates, be a leader, and have better awareness of my personal surroundings. The co-workers are friendly and trustworthy. There is a very healthy competition amoung the loss prevention officers. – more... Although the job is boring due to the fact that 90% of your shift is standing upfront watching cashiers and greeting customers as they come into the store to shop, the other 10% is spent walking the floor and ensuring customers are not trying to steal. The managent team is pretty consistant and very flexiable and understanding. The training is also very good. For the most part the trainer is consistant and even is you are trained by someone different the information is the same and the job is easy to understand. On the other hand the job only has one full-time LP and 5 Part-timers, who usually average around just 15 hours per week, while the full-timer averages 37-40 hours per week. At $9.25/ an hour I recommend that a person considering this position have a full-time job that comes before this one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for entry level experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), ArizonaSeptember 22, 2014
Most of my work experience comes from being on register, on the sales floor or in stock. Working on register is probably the easiest most enjoyable position. The most difficult part of being on register is keeping organized and focused, it's very fast paced and customers can be demanding. Working on the Sales Floor is not easy, but it's not the hardest – more... position. You have to be fast when cleaning and restocking the sales floor and you'll also have to simultaneously help customers while on the floor. Stock, in my opinion is the most difficult position to work. You have to be extremely fast and able to meet productivity levels consistently. You also have to do the most "physical" work, including, lifting heavy items, running mass amounts of products to the floor and organizing them. Ross mostly hires part-time positions, which is good if you're a student or you don't need a lot of hours. But if you require a lot of hours, then Ross might not be the best place for you. The work is not easy, so you see a lot of employees just come and go. The management where I worked was great they were nice and always professional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ROSS
Loss Prevention Associate (Current Employee), Stockton, CASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Great place to work at, Great co workers, learn alot each day from others that are higher position, what i enjoy about the work place is who i work with each day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with customers
Cashier and Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Hiram GASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: merchandising, working with the people
Cons: breaks and compensation
Loved merchandising and getting to know the people. Also loved the repeat customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place is about asmuch fun as playing on I-85
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Concord, NCSeptember 22, 2014
As far as Ross it was not a fun place to work at. During the week days was slow ,we didn't have the customers like we did on week ends ,and when a race was in town we were extremely busy sales were up and going . I learned a lot about working in the fitting room while I worked at Ross. Our management was not as good as it should have been ,especially – more... the store manager was not nearly as good as she should have been. I really liked most of my co-workers, they were nice to work with because we worked as a team .The hardest part of my job, was keeping the customers waited on and happy and smiling most of the time. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I had found out I did succeed in making my customers happy ,then I was even very happy myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Company with Fun Coworkers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Roseburg, ORSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: fun job, physical, good shifts.
Cons: poor management
The jobs here are very stressful and demanding, I've learned alot about customer service and retail. All short shifts most is 6 hrs a day. The management team is lousy and doesn't help or treat or care for their employees as they should. The way they pay employees is a joke and unfair. The schedules are ridiculous and get like 10-15 hrs a week. My co-workers – more... are great people but most are lazy and most don't deserve to even keep their jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone for students or people that have just relocated
Front End Supervisor / Backup Manager (Former Employee), Lake Forest Park WASeptember 21, 2014
Pros: in store discount
Cons: low hours, low pay, constantly on your feet, inconsistent scheduling
A typical day at work consisted of tending to customers, receiving and displaying merchandise, and selling merchandise to said customers. My time at Ross taught me how necessary it is to seek higher education at any cost. My co-workers were mostly students. The hardest part of the job was the inconsistent scheduling and the low pay. The best part of – more... the job was the in store discount. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I've ever had
Customer Service (Current Employee), Corvallis, ORSeptember 21, 2014
Manager = awesome
Hours = poor
Job Position = Easy
Despite having not enough hours the job is amazing, the environment is positive and easy going, the employee's for the most part are very nice and the manager is awesome. I am so lucky to have an awesome boss like I do working at Ross Dress for Less, Not very many people have that opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Sales associate (Former Employee), Longview, TXSeptember 20, 2014
The managers do what they can for people with what limited resources they are given. They pay above minimum wage and give regular wages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail and Assistant Manager in Training
Retail/Sales/Register (Former Employee), Tolleson, AZSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: i loved to shop then.
Cons: i had to move to california.
I began working at Ross as a Dept sales representative. After 6 months I was approved to the Women's Dept. And after 3 years I was being trained for a managers position, and had to move for family emergency purposes. I loved my job, supervisors and Bosses were great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Fitting Room Associate (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: snack n pop machines
Cons: no benefits
meet new people everyday. People travel for hours to come to ross. Managers and employees are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Retail Associate (Former Employee), tempe, AZSeptember 19, 2014
Enjoyed working with people. Good Co-workers. Always something to do, and I loved that!

1 2 3 4 5

About Ross Dress For Less

Our customers love a great deal. That makes our mission simple: to provide exciting bargains, every day, in every store. It takes – Read more

Ross Dress For Less Photos