RONA Employee Reviews

Found 308 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but unorganized working environment
CSA (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON25 April 2017
I was a CSA so I had a variety of responsibilities from collecting cart from the shelters and bringing them inside to working on the cash resgester. Usually, I learned various new things about home maintenance and skills like painting and gardening. The management was kind of sloppy, the managers were not very involved but we had a good team to make up for that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
correct
voltigeur (Former Employee) –  Charlemagne, QC20 April 2017
90% de votre journée ce passe dehors à rentrer les chariot et aider les clients à mettre leur matériels dans leurs autos. L'aspect de sécurité seront appris durant votre formation. Le plus difficile est de soulevé des charges lourdes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go no where
Contract Sales (Former Employee) –  BC19 April 2017
Likes to make promises they don't intend to keep, to keep you there. They only promote their friends or family plus. Don't deal with problem employees effectively
Pros
some of the staff
Cons
doesn't keep promises
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace with a knowlegeable service team.
Cashier/Lumber Yard (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON14 April 2017
Smaller workplace and warehouse compared to competitors. This leads to less product choices overall but a much more personal experience for customers. This workplace has a focus on service quality over product quantity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Salesperson (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON13 April 2017
stacked some wood fixed it up and helped customers out, with customers i would show there where the wood was that they needed and what would is best suited for each specific thing they are trying to design and create.
Pros
nice staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 April 2017
Until they got new managers then it went all down the drain. I did enjoy the staff I worked with. I did think that we could have hired more people and it always seemed like they would make us short handed instead of hiring some people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned lots but didn't like the management
Lumber Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON8 April 2017
Was told I was going to get a raise for like 7 months and didn't see a dime then told I was gonna be reimbursed by the assistant manager then got laughed at by the actually manager saying no k was going to get my raise when I got it
Pros
laid back
Cons
if you worked hard you got nothing to show for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many management and not enough training.
Yard staff (Former Employee) –  Cobble Hill, BC5 April 2017
They said they would have me job shadow someone.It did not happen.The management talks over management.For the amount of work expected salary very low,and the boss in the yard,needs to stay in the army.Was a know it all who knew nothing and was not good with his employees at all!!Was willing to work and to do a good job but didn't last long enough.Turn over there really high!!!
Pros
poor mamangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail et perspectives
Conseiller-vendeurs couvre-plancher/cour à bois (Current Employee) –  Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC30 March 2017
Bonne environnement de travail, le travail est simple. Les perspective d'avenir ne sont pas très élevé, il est difficile de monter et d'avoir de nouveaux défis.
Pros
Environnement de travail et affiation social
Cons
Salaire
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON29 March 2017
Working at RONA has been a wonderful experience. Employees are always nice and ready to help you whenever you have any questions. I have been able to improve on my problem solving skills as well as improve my customer service skills whenever customers had a problem or concern with either the product or their service. Management was always there to help out when the store got busy and answer questions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work
Lumber Associate (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB29 March 2017
Hardest part is working outdoors in the winter time.
Most enjoyable would be the staff you can work with.
Lots of fun surprise lunches.
Great holiday employee activities.
Pros
Lots of fun days
Cons
little communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Yard Associate (Former Employee) –  Wallaceburg, ON25 March 2017
Great atmosphere and very fun to work with. Very professional staff that are very helpful for whatever project your working on. Professional's that are experts in their fields.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Front-End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON22 March 2017
A very enjoyable place to work with kind and caring employees. Fellow coworkers are very helpful and are always around to give assistance when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fellow workers
Yard Worker/ stocker inside store (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 March 2017
People can be very lazy and you have to keep fixing there mistakes. its very slow in the evening. Rona cares so much about safety of employees for example you have to where a hard hat outside while taking down racking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great set of skills that were learned from Rona
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON14 March 2017
Vast and unique skills in many fields such as customer service, lumber treatment and care, lumber product information and uses, Hazardous protocol and rules, Etc. Rona was the stepping stone to which i learned many skills i do use everyday.
Pros
Great co-workers, Simple tasks, Great Store
Cons
Some unusual tasks, Lack of structure in the yard
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to advance
Customer Experience Manager (Former Employee) –  Flamborough, ON14 March 2017
The management team excels in coaching it's employees in order to let them advance throughout the company and cross train them in various areas of the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on est comme une famille
Conseillère ressources humaines (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC12 March 2017
L'ambiance de travail est définitivement le point marquant de cette compagnie. Très axée sur le service à la clientèle et l'évolution de ses employés, RONA a une structure très définie concernant la formation et l'intégration. On s'y sent chez soi dès la première semaine.
Pros
Intégration et formation, ambiance de travail, collègues, tâches, avantages sociaux
Cons
salaire (mais les avantages sociaux et l'ambiance comblent amplement)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized/ Poor Management
Stock/ Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Leamington, ON10 March 2017
The job is enjoyable in that I work nights - part time - with one other person so we don't have to deal with management. A typical day is filled with frustration due to poor procedures and systems and disorganization. Most people there hate their jobs and upper management so the culture in not a positive one. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the many changes in procedure due to poor planning, mismanagement and extra workload due to laziness/ negativity of full time staff.
Pros
Night shift
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly place to work.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 March 2017
Everyone there made me feel extremely welcome and they were very kind and patient. Always wanting to help others out. The staff made it a great place to be and I am lucky to have experienced this.
Pros
Great staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible environemnt
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2017
I stocked shelves, helped customers and watered plants. One valuable lesson i learned was how to communicate with others in an appropriate and efficient manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RONA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 311 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5