RONA Employee Reviews

Found 257 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Yard Associate (Former Employee) –  Wallaceburg, ON25 March 2017
Great atmosphere and very fun to work with. Very professional staff that are very helpful for whatever project your working on. Professional's that are experts in their fields.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Front-End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON22 March 2017
A very enjoyable place to work with kind and caring employees. Fellow coworkers are very helpful and are always around to give assistance when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fellow workers
Yard Worker/ stocker inside store (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 March 2017
People can be very lazy and you have to keep fixing there mistakes. its very slow in the evening. Rona cares so much about safety of employees for example you have to where a hard hat outside while taking down racking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great set of skills that were learned from Rona
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON14 March 2017
Vast and unique skills in many fields such as customer service, lumber treatment and care, lumber product information and uses, Hazardous protocol and rules, Etc. Rona was the stepping stone to which i learned many skills i do use everyday.
Pros
Great co-workers, Simple tasks, Great Store
Cons
Some unusual tasks, Lack of structure in the yard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to advance
Customer Experience Manager (Former Employee) –  Flamborough, ON14 March 2017
The management team excels in coaching it's employees in order to let them advance throughout the company and cross train them in various areas of the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized/ Poor Management
Stock/ Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Leamington, ON10 March 2017
The job is enjoyable in that I work nights - part time - with one other person so we don't have to deal with management. A typical day is filled with frustration due to poor procedures and systems and disorganization. Most people there hate their jobs and upper management so the culture in not a positive one. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the many changes in procedure due to poor planning, mismanagement and extra workload due to laziness/ negativity of full time staff.
Pros
Night shift
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly place to work.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 March 2017
Everyone there made me feel extremely welcome and they were very kind and patient. Always wanting to help others out. The staff made it a great place to be and I am lucky to have experienced this.
Pros
Great staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible environemnt
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2017
I stocked shelves, helped customers and watered plants. One valuable lesson i learned was how to communicate with others in an appropriate and efficient manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized, horribly managed
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 March 2017
I've been with Rona for a number of years working part time while going to school.
This corporation does NOT care about their employees. During slow season I'm lucky getting 10 hours a week, even after asking management to switch departments in order for more hours, to which they completely ignored.
Pros
None
Cons
Poorly managed, no consideration for part time employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, good people
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON6 March 2017
Typical day at work included heading to the Receiving area where i would grab a pump cart, pick a skid of product, and head out into the store to put that product away. some days there was alot of skids, and we would be doing them all day. but some days, or on slower periods of the year there were barely any skids.
break room is cool, i like the quiet room with the comfy couch. When youre not pulling skids, you are spotting for someone on a machine, or wrapping and banding product to prepare it to either be shipped, or put in the steel.
the hardest part of the job was that some product was too heavy to lift on my own, or the work was long and strenuous. your feet hurt at the end of the day and maybe your back too. long 8 hours of standing on your feet.
great source of exercise however. The crew i worked with was fun to be around and working with them often made the shift go by faster
Pros
good exercise
Cons
Long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON6 March 2017
Rona has a great workplace environment with friendly employees as well as an approachable management team. They are very accommodating and value you as a person, not only an employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Torbay Road - Department Head (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL27 February 2017
great place to work all staff are knowledgeable and very helpful! the management there is always there to help when you need it and provide the right tools for the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldn't recommend it
Buyer Western Canada (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 February 2017
bad management low pay, no advancement , they don't care about their employees . they don't want ideas brought to them . and management takes all credit for work done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and work envoiornment
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 February 2017
RONA is a good business. Managers and co workers maintain great relationships with another. The overall experience really taught me a lot about customer service, how to work in high stress situations and deadline driven positions. The management team is great with making employees more knowledgeable about products and services RONA offers. Hardest part about the job is dealing with unsatisfied customers but I have learned to always mediate and compromise to make sure that the customer has a good experience in dealing with the business.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
No benefits, Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Lumber Yard Worker (Current Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON15 February 2017
I liked working with this company. very relaxed work environment, and also very welcoming. in all I had a good experience there and I continue to shop there to this day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of different manual work to do
Commis département (Former Employee) –  Verdun, QC14 February 2017
I love this workplace because of the manual work that came with it. Doing the reception of stock, placing it, making recipe of paint color and doing some wood work for client.
Cons
Not much client
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to grow
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 February 2017
Lots of turn over. Management restructuring. Business bought out by Lowes

Inconsistant message from management.

Best employees left the company. Lots of pay cuts and reorganizing. Intrinsic motivators not part of management philosophy
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers, disorganized management
Yard Worker (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC8 February 2017
It's an OK place to start your working life but leaves little to be desired through advancement. Everyone should work in customer service at least once.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Inconsistent schedule, high productivity requests.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
im a hard worker
Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Qu'Appelle, SK7 February 2017
i was an easy job. i most drove a fork lift around all day moving stacks of wood, and occasionally i would get sent on delivery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON6 February 2017
I write invoices for contractors for their lumber orders. The management team is very friendly and efficient, and the hours are very flexible. The hardest part of the job is when customers are unsatisfied and take it out on the employees. The most enjoyable part is the environment; all the employees are friends and we make it a very fun experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RONA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 259 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5