RONA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tres agréable
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Hull, QC13 December 2017
L'équipe en général es enthousiasme et oerséverante .
Pros
La claireter du travail
Cons
Les traineur de pattes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cary out (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 December 2017
Well knolegable staff always friendly and professional. Always willing to lend a hand and willing to help find any product or price for product. Friendly e vironment over all.
Pros
Very friendly and willing to help out
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career with a lot of advancement opportunities
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC11 December 2017
Highly recommend this company, and since the Lowe's purchase, it has become an even better place to work. The hours in management can be long, but the team you work with can make it go faster.
Lots of opportunities to learn and development, the company has excellent training and a great workplace culture.
Pros
Training, career advancement, opportunities to learn and grow
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Head Cashier , Vault (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC6 December 2017
i loved working for this company , i worked for them for almost 8 years . i gained so much experience in the world of customer service and building materials . my co-workers and management felt like family , ill cherish my time with them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Donot work here!!!!
Paint etc (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC25 November 2017
Terrible place to work !!!!no manager support! And the managers they have are uneducated in customer service!!they donot support their workers!! They use them! Management needs to go for intense training on how to treat people!! Believe me, bad place period!! And shop Canadian??? Everything is from China!!! So how does that work!!
Pros
Nil
Cons
Long hours, abuse
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bien
Partenaire quincaillerie/outillage (Current Employee) –  Carignan, QC15 November 2017
Bon emploi étudiant. La direction est très compréhensive face à la disponibilité des employés étudiants.
Pros
flexibilité des horaires
Cons
salaire minimum et peu de possibilités d'avancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made peanuts to operate a forklift
Forklift Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 October 2017
i was pressured into operating a forklift full time without a proper license or pay raise, i was doing forklift work and picking up the slack of new employees and also getting chewed up when i couldnt do the job of 2 people
Cons
horrible manager, bad pay, hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
les patrons ne se préocuent pas des leurs employés et ne sont pas réaliste vis a vis les livraisons et les horaires de travail des employés
gérant d' entrepot (Former Employee) –  rona Quevillon28 October 2017
les propriétaires n, ont aucune parole ,j, adorais servir les clients et le travail en général
Pros
j' ai appris des matériaux de construction
Cons
patrons menteurs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for needing a job.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 October 2017
I recommend Rona for people in need of work or looking for a good retail position. The atmosphere is good and is a fun workplace. If it weren't for the low salary because it is retail I would probably stay permanently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy atmosphere that I enjoy being a part of
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Loon Lake, SK24 October 2017
Working at a hardware store like Rona, I like how busy and fast paced it can be which makes the day go by fast! There's always something to do (fun or not), so I really enjoy working at a place like that. I like meeting all the new faces and helping them out as best as I can and I like learning about something new every day if it's from a customer, themselves, or a coworker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized company where hope goes to die
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON19 October 2017
Worked with the company for a long time and during those years the company got cheaper and cheaper. It went from having pizza on promotion days and christmas dinner at a banquet hall to no free food and being asked to pay for water. There was no staff appreciation and it was the most disorganized managment team with the store manager feeding people lies and only worrying about customers and treating employees like garbage. If you want to work somewhere where you become less motivated and have your dignity and respect be shattered by the managment team this is the place to be. And if you chose to complan, they will ignore it and tell you that problem will be fixed, which it doesn't.
Pros
Great employees to work with
Cons
Cheap company with no employee apprecation
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L'aspect le plus agréable de votre poste
Commis couvre-sol (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC19 October 2017
L'aspect le plus agréable du RONA est l'esprit d'équipe qu'il y règne.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Journée type
Formateur Professionel (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 October 2017
Deplacement dans le quebec.
Résoudre differentes problematiques
Former les employés et dirigeants
Les accompagner pour le changement
Pros
salaire
Cons
Horaires et jours variables pas de stabilité
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that could improve on organization
Lumber Associate (Former Employee) –  Southampton, ON12 October 2017
A typical day at work consists of assisting customers and loading their vehicles with their orders. I would also help with measurements and cutting of the lumber. Any down time that I would have in between customers would go towards organizing the in-stock lumber yard. I was able to have more insight on properly measuring and cutting as I hadn't had quite as much experience prior to Rona. The hardest part of the job is dealing with unexpected customer expectations in which what they request is not do-able. The most enjoyable part of my day on the other hand would consist of interaction between customers on a day to day basis and see the amount of impact I can have by just helping.
Pros
Flexible with my schedule
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 October 2017
The staff were nice. The training was an easy process and straight to the point. The product knowledge was challenging due to the many different types of work work tools.
Pros
Training was easy
Cons
Product knowledge was challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is what it is... could be better.
DZ DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ON4 October 2017
Great places through out the chain. Contractors are 50/50 personality wise so be prepared to be yelled at a lot for being late at 7am. you learn your the only one that knows the rules of the road. Management depends on who you get. customers were great!.
Pros
good team
Cons
first to show and last to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON2 October 2017
Feels like home. i loved working there. The only thing is that if your not busy theres a lot of down time so thats when you usually get your cleaning done or your filling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Sales (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON27 September 2017
Day would include helping customers, stocking materials, and working on any displays that needed to be made. Most of the staff was very friendly, but work would usually never be busy. This was the RONA that was on Queen street in Brampton that closed a couple of years ago.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC23 September 2017
Underpaid for the work you do depending on the department, no comissions even with record breaking sales, no incentives. Most poeple that work there are overqualified and underpaid which bring a somber ambiance of uselessness...
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail
Ingénieur Etude et Développement (Former Employee) –  quebec21 September 2017
Pas de soucis pour faire du télétravail, l'important est que le travail soit fait et les usagers satisfait
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RONA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 343 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5