Find companies:
Rohm and Haas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Rohm and Haas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Company
Development Chemist (Former Employee), JarrowMay 6, 2014
Cons: long hours poor money
Long hours treated like cattle. No job security. You were expected to turn up for work at the drop of a hat
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviorment
stationary engineer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 25, 2014
Pros: fair management
good work envioment for a chemical company - fair and open minded
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secretary of the cleaning services
Secretary (Former Employee), Deer Park, TXFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: overtime
I will check emails, follow up calls, supervise areas, do safety trainings. Help out with payroll and file paperwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible workplace
R&D Lab Technician (Former Employee), Marlborough, MAFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: intellectual co-workers, great benefits, acknowledgements as deserved.
Cons: many lay-offs
You are an employee here not just a number. This company encourages both professional and personal development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company and benefits!
Account Representative (Former Employee), Reading, PASeptember 9, 2013
Pros: great compant, pay, benefits. close to home
Cons: only complaint is that i was part of the downsizing!
Loved this job! Started in customer service, promoted to Inside Sales. Worked with a great group of people...really good team work.
Worked closely with National Sales Manager, outside reps and many other departments including credit and shipping. The Powder Coating division was downsized and later sold. This is the job that I planned to work at until – more... retirement but that didn't work out. Still in touch with m former co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer exists
Scientist (Former Employee), PASeptember 4, 2013
No is DOW Chemical. Very old school environment and no flexibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
SQL DBA (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 22, 2013
This company has some great people to work with and always had some advanced technologies implemented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Team Leader (Former Employee), Grangemouth StirlingshireAugust 3, 2013
Pros: good working conditions
Cons: weekend work
Continental shift pattern,day,back and night shift.Packaging of plastic additives in various weights from 25kg to 20 tonne bulk.Automatic and manual filling.Team leader, organise shift depending on production needs, training of fellow workers and new starts. Various plant duties including fork truck work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dow (formerly Rohm and Haas) is the 2nd largest chemical company in the world---and we are diligently working to make it THE largest!
Process Technician (Current Employee), Deer Park, TXApril 30, 2013
Pros: there are endless learning opportunities, as new products are are being introduced, dow offers competitive salaries and comprehensive benefits, including an annual variable pay program that rewards team and individual performance, dow also offers its' employees an employee stock ownership program, and the commitment to long-term success that it brings, dow is committed to running a safe operation, and goes above and beyond local, state and federal safety and environmental requirements.
Cons: this is a young mans' job, there are rarely breaks or time for lunches available, i do not know that i will be able to physically keep up the pace for too many more years.
A typical day at Dow, (formerly Rohm and Haas) consists of, but is not limited to the following tasks for an operator or technician: Ensure operational activities and process performance are aligned with plant and business goals. Operate and field check process equipment. Monitor process conditions, equipment and control systems and make adjustments – more... as necessary. Follow operating discipline, procedures and practices to ensure a safe and efficient operation of assigned duties. Use troubleshooting skills to resolve process, product quality, safety, and environmental problems. Perform minor repairs, improvements and preventative maintenance utilizing appropriate procedures, processes and disciplines. Use process knowledge and skills to make improvements in plant performance and Operating Discipline. As required, initiate and participate in Root Cause Investigations. Identify equipment requiring maintenance. Clear and isolate equipment as required and issue Safe Work Permits for maintenance and project work. Act as a resource for other Operators and/or Technicians on job tasks and prioritization of work activities. Perform immediate response activities assigned by Immediate Response Leader. Monitor, collect and input plant metrics for Statistical Process Control (S. P. C. ), asset utilization, conversion cost, and production yields to help identify opportunities for plant optimization. Communicate with transportation providers on issues related to carriers and equipment. Perform tasks assigned per task list. Accurately complete all required paperwork. Maintain and file necessary records in accordance with business requirements. Operate tank farm to support production, loading racks and material transfers in accordance with defined operating discipline and work processes. Perform daily sample analysis. Perform calibration checks of analytical equipment and systems and respond appropriately. Provide confirmation and approval of sample quality for the loading of trucks, iso-containers, drums and railcars. Make independent decisions on approval or rejection of products based on analytical data. Package RCRA waste, complete paperwork, and arrange for disposal. Perform all duties with a high degree of dedication to safety and environmental stewardship. The process knowledge and multi-tasking skills I have attained from working at Dow will prove invaluable in any petrochemical plants' operational setting. Dow's management is committed to providing the workforce with the tools needed to get the job done in the safest, most efficient manner possible, and my co-workers all (mostly) pull together as a team, with a singular mission in mind: Produce the highest quality product in the safest manner while maintaining an empowered team environment, effectively communicating, sharing information, resolving issues, giving and receiving both positive and critical feedback in a respectful and professional manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chemical mfg co.
Polymer Operator / Raw materials Operator (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMarch 18, 2013
Great place to work, but with no room for advacment. Learned about safety and EPA rules, hazardous waste disposal, and chemical processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy work days
Material quality inspector, material tester (Former Employee), Newark, DEFebruary 26, 2013
Every day started with a shift meeting to discuss the previous issues of the shift before ours. My main job was to inspect pads that cleaned computer chip wafers before they got cut down into actual chips. I also cleaned, cut and tested the pads before the actual inspection process. I learned to read work orders and understand the thickness stats for – more... the pads. I was hired in through a temp service so I mainly delt with their management and they were very nice. My co workers were fun and energetic. The hardest part of the job was waking up so early. My most enjoyable part of the job was the fact that we were always busy so our 12 hour days went by decently fast. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laboratory technician
R&D Specialist (Former Employee), Norcross, GAFebruary 9, 2013
Pros: pleasant place to work
Cons: r & d and shut down
use various techniques in analysis of embedded circuit boards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun, advancement
Machine Operator/inspector (Former Employee), Newark, DEJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: growth within company, benefits, competitive salary
Cons: job security
I enjoyed my time working here, co-workers, management id have to made the fun. The company went out of business, so id have to say who knows where I would be if I was still working there, so much room to grow. I guess I never really considered any thing hard about my job besides going out of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Automotive Paint Industry
Batch Operator (Former Employee), Lansing, ILNovember 10, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: wages
Fast paced environment, worked the night shift with six day weeks. Business was located close to home, got along well with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paint manufacturing
Batch maker/ Maker Filler (Former Employee), Lansing, ILOctober 16, 2012
Pros: leaning procedures and skills acquired
Cons: exposure to different chemicals
A typical day at work was making 4 to 5 batches of paint using large mixing equipment and pumps. I was able to learn the guidelines of mixing various powders and liquids to create the paint used for homes and businesses. I learned to use large industrial equipment such as mixers/ pumps as well as forklift. Management was fair and provided fair working – more... conditions. My co-workers were kind and hard working individuals. The only difficulty, was the production from the previous shift which each shift work together to complete a batch of paint or maintaining the cleanliness of the equipment. The hardest part of my job was the making of batches, which required a strict process when creating them. The most enjoyable part was leaning a new skill and trade, which allowed me the opportunity to train new employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great refinery with great people
Pipe Fitter Helper (Former Employee), Deer Park, TXOctober 2, 2012
Great refinery with excellent safety guidelines. Good management and great place to work overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training and Development Function for Chemical Industry
Training Manager, Latin American Region (Former Employee), Coral Gables, FLSeptember 6, 2012
I implemented a number of training programs for managers, executives, operators and develped tests
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good family company
Credit Analyst (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 12, 2012
Pros: have private lunch areas
Cons: company was sold to dow chemical
Would be to make collections calls, communicate with customer interal and external customers, to insure all funds are paid on time to put the company in a good position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive envirorment
Chemical Operator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 9, 2012
Pros: paid holidays
Cons: short breaks
The most stressfull part of my postion was rotating shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing Company
Administrative Assistant/Inventory Coordinator (Former Employee), Lansing, ILJuly 7, 2012
Learned about taking inventory, creating cycle counts, and maintaining inventory.

About Rohm and Haas

The Tao of Dow Chemical lies within its¬†integrated production of plastics, chemicals, hydrocarbons, and agrochemicals. The largest – Read more