Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not recommend working here!
Store Manager (seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON2 February 2018
very busy and very understaffed, dealing with a lot of tourist, so the language barrier can get challenging. Long hours, with no extra pay. Management/owners are not very nice people to work for and can't keep staff.
Pros
good chocolate
Cons
tight pants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON15 January 2018
The owners of the store I worked at owed three stores and only ever focused time or effort to one as well as it seemed as though they only bought them out of retirment boredom.
Pros
Chocolate
Cons
Unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with weight on your shoulders
Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON5 January 2018
I found the job to be a lot of fun when it came to the creative part of it, i.e decorating, creating things, coming up with ideas etc. But as far as communication goes towards management and is something that was a HUGE downside to working for the particular store.
I learned quite a bit with some training, I felt I had to learn a lot of my own day to day. The atmosphere of the staff was great.
I also found that some staff are lazy and don't assist or fill the role of their positions making your work load heavier.
I found the hardest part about the job was the lack of communication, made it difficult to plan things and get everyone on the same page.
The most enjoyable part of the job would be the creative aspect.
Pros
Tasting delicious treats, flexible hours
Cons
No gratitude towards staff or management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and motivational work atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON30 December 2017
This jab was overall quite enjoyable and educating. All employees at Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory get the opportunity to learn many new chocolate production techniques allowing for the acquisition of many new skills. The management is fair and the expectations are clear. With proper dedication and willingness to learn it is easy for anyone to master this job.
Pros
sample
Cons
weekend hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC26 September 2017
You have no work life balance, I agree with the other review someone else left, you are required to pay for parking if you have a shift in the ferry terminal. You do not get reembursed for that money. They have no standards for health code. Staff constantly tell you if you drop product on the floor to just put it back to sell to customers. I didn't stick around for long.
Pros
Most staff were pleasant to work with
Cons
Management very controlling, pay for parking, no time off, under staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 September 2017
cooking, filing, filling, fast pasted, positive work envirenment, customer service, managment is fun, i liked woring there, lots of chocolate everywhere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Verbal and emotional abuse from management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC4 September 2017
Change schedule at last minute, don't honour time off requests (constantly scheduled during class time), no HR standards at all. Management breaks promises. No work/life balance. Food safety standards are non-existent (actually felt bad serving certain things to customers). She manages through fear and never admits her own mistakes (of which she makes many).
Pros
Get to be somewhat creative
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Ouest, QC31 August 2017
Focus is on sales and numbers
hardest part is making numbers most days
you get to learn alot about chocolate and different types of them such as the brand and different flavors and tastes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory
MULTI-STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 July 2017
Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory was a great company to work. I would definitely work for them again if they need my skill set. Entire management team at RMCF is great.
Pros
Great management team
Cons
Family oriented business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory
OPERATRIONS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 July 2017
It was an amazing experience working with Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory. RMCF offered phenomenal coaching, training, and opportunities to grow. RMCF encourages employees to be creative and to try new tactics to be successful in every department of the industry.
Pros
Fantastic culture
Cons
Small company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fernie, UK6 July 2017
A great place to work, all the staff are extremely friendly and the manager/owner treats everyone exceptionally well.

Learn many things to do with the industry and are given multiple tasks and a lot of responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment and excellent people to work for
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC5 July 2017
i have worked at rocky mountain for over a year now and love it but unfortunately the hours are not enough, the company is wonderful and the owners of the location i work for are wonderful people, i am sad to have to leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
product and work enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL29 May 2017
Excellent quatily products friendly and helpful co-workers, very responsible management . i am enjoying the welcoming enviroment that al our workers have created both for the cutomers and their co-workers i am satisfied with my self because i get to see such happy customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC8 March 2017
The management at the Nanaimo location is VERY poor, raises were promised by certain dates, and when those dates came excuses would be made. For the Ferries location, you either have to pay out of your own pocket daily to park, or park of the road and risk a ticket- many other vendors in the Ferries location offer to pay for their employees parking. Management bases decisions off of hear say and rumors from employees.
Pros
You get to be creative/ hands on
Cons
Poor practiced management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL21 February 2017
-Did a lot of work for very little pay
-No job security
-Very limited number of work hours per week
-Management favored some employees.
-Even if you like chocolate, the work conditions aren't favorable
-Customers were nice.
Pros
Chocolate
Cons
Little to no hours, very low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Chocolatier (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL15 February 2017
Great place to work if the management is great. The work itself is really fun an pretty easy. Highly encourage working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON30 January 2017
not bad to work there, not much supervision. get to work on many different things, so its not the same every singe day. its pretty open to think of new products and make them a reality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work
Production (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 January 2017
very unprofessional... management tried firing me for being 2 months pregnant and would not try to adjust working environment for me.. dramatically cut down hours from 40 to 4..
highly do not recommend working there!!!
Pros
hours
Cons
unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with chocolate to sample
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 December 2016
It was a fun place to work because it was located in the heart of downtown vancouver which attracted many tourists and cullturally diverse people. A typical day would be to sample chocolate and greet the customers which were mostly tourists. It was hard to communicate with some customers becuase they couldnt speak english, thefore making it hard to sell products. the staff was fun, helpful and kind. I enjoyed trying the new products!!
Pros
Got to sample chocolate all the time
Cons
too far. hard to commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great work environment
Cook (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 July 2016
I love working here. In my time here I learned a lot about confectionery cooking. Including items such as fudge, caramel, neutral candy. etc.
Pros
Fun and hours are flexible
Cons
Lots of uninterrupted stirring
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 208 reviews
578
455
345
211
119

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture