Roadrunner Transportation Systems

Roadrunner Transportation Systems Employee Reviews

Showing all 50 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management.
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WI2 January 2017
Bait and switch company. Have to wait 90 days before moving your truck to another company, and can only move to another road runner affiliated company. They nickel and dime your settlements down to nothing, no communication between drivers and company. You are basically a company driver with a truck payment.
Pros
Fast trucks.
Cons
See above review.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Camarillo, CA10 December 2016
Horrible place to work. At least 15-16 hrs per day yet only paid for 10. They push their drivers to the brink of fatigue. Very high turnover rate with no overtime whatsover. No 401k plan. No holiday pay. You actually pull double shifts but they justify keeping you on the job by giving you (4) 1 hour lunches or 3 hour lunches...all due to noboby likes working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
owner
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Leslie, MI19 November 2016
I loved having my own family run company, but it got to a point where the jobs were slowing down and money was tight. I needed a more stable job for my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Agent (Former Employee) –  Home Based31 October 2016
Communications there was outstanding but to many chiefs! This was a home based business. I was told to speak to one person for questions, then when I called that person he/she would tell me to talk to another person and so forth. I got the run around to get questions answered. Antiquated agent platform using Mercury Gate and other sites. It took forever to get a rate quote for a customer. Just wasn't a good fit.
Pros
Good rates and service
Cons
Antiquated agent platform
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NC31 October 2016
its was a good job unloading loading trucks until we was done with all the work for that day. but when it is hot it is hot and when its cold its cold in the building
Pros
money is good
Cons
managment sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cost cutting impacts customer expectations.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. Paul, MN26 October 2016
Overall the company is a fun place to work. There are times that it can be stressful but that is the nature of the business. The management of Roadrunner tends to cut costs to increase profits but it typically has an adverse effect on the service to the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work if your young
Supervisor dispatcher (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO23 October 2016
Too big an age difference in management. Salaried employee work over 50 hours a week a lot of times. Nice working area clean and newer. I did multiple jobs including answering customer service calls.
Pros
15 days vacation after 5 years
Cons
Ate lunch at my desk while working
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Sumner, WA7 October 2016
Wonderful place to work. Staff was kind and well mannered. I learned a lot of skills in a short period of time. Love the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sitting at desk working
Transportation Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Cudahy, WI26 September 2016
Frowned upon when talking in groups


Great people, Fun Food Days
NFL Days / dress down days, Halloween Fun.
Great Coffee, vending machines

Hardest part of job is the phone calls from truck drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to grow and learn to succeed
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GA13 September 2016
Worked with some of the best leaders of the company. I had a tremendous opportunity to grow with this company because of the many advancements that were available.
Pros
Tremendous room for growth.
Cons
Long hours that pay off if you are willing to grow your success
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Documentation
Operations Assistant for Chicago City Dispatch (Current Employee) –  Bolingbrook, IL9 September 2016
• Responsible for Foreign to Foreign documentation by preparing bills of lading, export declaration, certificates of origin and related documents for global transactions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Customer Support Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Houston, TX25 August 2016
Roadrunner Transportation Services is a very good company to work for we are all very productive and it's a fun workplace. There is definitely not a high turnover rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horribly company
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WI22 August 2016
worst company to work for. I sat at the bus station for over 4 hours when I got there and no one would answer the phone. no one was there to pick me up when they said they would. when they finally called wanting to know why I was not at orientation they told me their credit card was declined and that was why no one was there to pick up. When being sent back home from orientation they the bus did not get to its final destination until 130 in the morning and over an hour away from where I live/where I originally was picked up. very rude people with no compassion or manners. i never got paid for my 2 days at orientation. worst company ever!!!!!!!!! will never work for them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I say when and where I wanted to drive
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Coon Rapids, MN7 August 2016
self employed, I loved it but I just wanted to be at home, I sold my truck and now I kinda wish I had not. I could have just a couple of weeks off to take a break then went back to it. My husband drives as well.
Pros
my our boss
Cons
if the wheels aren't turning you are not making money
Was this review helpful?Yes13No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations Supervisor.
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA8 July 2016
Work was very challenging at times however the team that i was over worked together under my supervision to expedite and complete the task. Management was very knowledgeable about the SOP and guided me when i needed help. I didn't find anything hard at work and that was the best thing about work.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nonfamily oriented
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, IL29 June 2016
Upper level management of the company have lost touch with their employees. it was a good company when I first started. family owned and operated. Then went public and lost touch with all employees
Pros
come and go as you want
Cons
no discipline
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plenty of room for growth. Enjoy the work place and the job itself
Corporate Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MO1 June 2016
Enjoy the work place and the job itself

Plenty of room for growth

Fast moving

Great location

growing business

Independent contractors
Pros
good pay, hours, benfits
Was this review helpful?Yes6No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is for its self not the employees
OTR Driver owner op (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL26 May 2016
If you would like to go broke and be treated like a idiot then this is the company for you. I ran 4000 miles a week and lucky to bring 1200 dollars home . Can't hardly keep a truck on the road like that . This place is a joke. It's run by a bunch of con artists. They are not driver friendly there are so many hidden charges that you can not make it here as a lease op or owner of.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes60NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the process of reorganization and growth for the better.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CA20 May 2016
Working for Roadrunner was very rewarding when you knew exactly where your customers shipment was and if it would deliver on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Maine, ME10 May 2016
This company is one of the worst company I ever worked for. They have heavy over weight load I kept getting over weight tickets. There staff/dispatch don't know what there doing far as giving out loads. They never paid me a paid check they just kept giving me efs advance's and I ask them for my pay check they say they don't know.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes42No6Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.7
Culture
2.8