Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers

Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 10 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Executive Assistant to the CFO & CHRO (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCApril 6, 2016
Great atmosphere and room for growth and opportunity.

I enjoy coming to work each day, I feel acknowledged and appreciated in the position I am in my day to day duties.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Colleagues
IT Project Management Consultant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMarch 2, 2016
Great colleagues :)

Very waterfall orientated. They need to react to change in order to maintain a competitive standpoint in the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKFebruary 12, 2016
Loved my job and the people i worked with. Great environment, with a huge support system. Company offers a lot of incentives to employees to advance and succeed.
Pros
opportunity for advancement
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, innovative world leader
Manager, Procurement (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCFebruary 2, 2016
The hardest part of the job was to keep it after 9.5yrs.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the internal and external people that I worked with.
Pros
Beautiful Head Office
Cons
Too much turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of pay raises and long work hours; People are treated like pieces of machinery
Manager (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCJanuary 2, 2016
My experience working for RB is that the company is not known for treating their employees well. Whether you’re a sales associate or have a full-time management position, expect to be overworked and underpaid, especially during auction times. It's all done under the guise of that we need to make everything happen for the auction.

Further, the high level of stress at auctions causes management to behave in an erratic manner. For example, if you want to see what it’s like when customer service employees are reprimanded in front of customers, all you need to do is go to an auction... The systems and processes on the back end (technology) are archaic at best and do not provide the ability for staff to get their jobs done in an efficient manner.

At the head office there were people were getting fired for personal reasons all the time, there was no trust, and I was questioned about any move I made.

For those in management, there is no work/life balance. Management is required to work an average of 50+ hours per week. There were too many expectations and not enough time for employees to complete the set tasks. Employees lived in fear of being fired as that's what they did when they no longer could get what they wanted out of you.

I would recommend this as a place to work unless you have no life and want to work for little pay. You can do the same thing as a lower position for another company with less hours and more pay. You will get burnt out - this seems to be the culture around this company.
Pros
None
Cons
High stress, bad hours, poor compensation, culture of fear
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience , productive and demanding
Yard Staff (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKNovember 6, 2015
The workplace was great for gaining experience working with so many types of equipment associated with farming and Industrial. The few F/T staff where good to work with and helped with making things productive on site. The turn around of part timers was a little disturbing since you couldn't count on them in many instances. Some of this was due to being productive and understanding their role and the other was Management being quick to fire you on the spot. To many constant threats where also presented at meetings that where meant for knowledge and information about safety, work and events... The job can be very demanding especially weeks before and after a action so be prepared for extremes in working hours...
Pros
Reasonable pay @ $16.50 per hour
Cons
Absolutely no respect or dignity afforded to workers, Philosophy is easy come easy go for part timer's, .Always prepare yourself for being employed today and fired by closeing depending on your action
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Saskatoon yard sucks
Yard Staff (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon,SK.August 29, 2015
The Saskatoon yard sucks big time.If you like to be belittled in front of the other yard staff go there for a job.Sale time is go hard or go home.Slow time is we'll phone you if we need you.If management makes a mistake.Yard staff gets fired for it.
Pros
none
Cons
management makes a mistake.Yard staff gets fired
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited advancement or recognition for a job well done
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCJanuary 29, 2015
If you DO NOT like salary increases, bonuses and promotions this is the perfect place for you!

On a day to day basis do not expect to be provided clear directions on what you should be doing. Expect the direction of business to change on a regular basis and be ok with it. Note: *you* are still expected to perform and generate results, sales, etc.

Management is extremely male-dominated (there is a daycare in head office and women are expected to return to work after 3 months off). No flexibility with schedule, you are expected to work very long hours without being paid overtime.

Significant layoffs are the management's solution to the company's problems.
Pros
in-house daycare
Cons
ancient technology systems, erratic behaviour by management, poor offerings by leadership & development
Was this review helpful?Yes71No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice staff
Yard Staff (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 9, 2013
Management undervalues experience and continuity in staff. Job has long hours followed by periods of slowdown and boredom.
Pros
flexible hours in slow times
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes49No26

See more Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture