Rio Tinto Employee Reviews

Found 103 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
machinerie lourde pelle mécanique
réparateur crc (Former Employee) –  Shawinigan, QC13 February 2014
voir aux remplacement des cuves et a la reconstruction ., le travaille consiste lorsque une cuve perse a faire son remplacement en passant par 4 étapes
Pros
travaille stimulent
Cons
très chaud ( chaleur des cuves )
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail sécuritaire
Superviseur et opérateur de production (Former Employee) –  Shawinigan9 February 2014
J'ai commencé comme opérateur et j'ai eu l'opportunité de devenir superviseur de production.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for. Very interesting and challenging work.
Senior Designer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 January 2014
Typical day starts by checking and reviewing the work with the project manager. At 11 am there is a daily meeting with the project manager, the design team and upper management. In that meeting you outline your progress and highlight any problems you have or see the potential of developing. After the lunch break you return to your work station and continue with your design activities as per instructions from management and the agreed plan of action.
Pros
Senior management is very involved in the design process providing instant support when needed.
Cons
Unfortunately due to the poor economy they can't offer a permanent position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Résumé en gros
Opérateur siphonneur (Former Employee) –  Shawinigan, QC22 January 2014
Tres belle entreprise de plus de 500 employées.
Chiffre sous rotation 6-3. Jour/Soir/Nuit

Travail sous chaleur extrême, surtout l'été. Des 76oC en période de canicule.

Belle équipe, tiens a leurs employées, comme une grande famille.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mine Operator. Great people
Mine Operator (Current Employee) –  Weipa QLD Australia4 January 2014
Weipa wonderful lifestyle, but housing is to expensive and the general cost of living is rediculous. Losts of favouritism within the teams which is really bad. can't complain about the rest of my job though I love what I do.
Pros
Great benifits
Cons
Favouritism BS
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tres bonne entreprise
Mec.entretien chantier et diesel mach. lourde (Former Employee) –  shawinigan (quebec31 December 2013
pour moi c'est de bonne annee au sien RTA car j'ai pu me dévoppe comme mec.diesel et entretien car il mon permis de travail et alle a l'ecole en meme temp toute en encouragent .

on n'a peut aussi batir avec l'aide ingenieur des outil pour fasilité le travail des operateur des salle de cuve.

je pourrais vous en dire plus mais pour moi j'ai passe 25 ans de ma vie a etre choiyer tant au avantage qu'au salaire et la bonne entente syndicat et patronat.
Pros
te donne la posibilite de te demarque dans des projet ou experience
Cons
qu'il y a une fermeture (tros vielle)
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
journee de travail
Opérateur usine de traitement des eaux (Former Employee) –  Shawinigan10 October 2013
Rencontre de début de quart ou l'ont échange entre employés et superviseur sur les travaux a effectuer, la sécurité et les statistiques.

Planifier la journee avec notre equipe si il y a des contraintes ou des changements.

Parfois difficile de satisfaire et conjuger tous les autres departement pour que tous puisse effectuer leur travaux.

Satisfaction de notre travail avec le partage des stastiques et résultats, petite competition entre operateur.
Pros
travail d'équipe
Cons
horaire difficile avec famille amis
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiguous management, long hours, and lack appreciation.
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 October 2013
Ambiguous management, long hours, and lack appreciation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail d'équipe
MÉCANICIEN D'ENTRETIEN (Current Employee) –  Shawinigan, QC29 August 2013
Bonne collaboration entre les différents corps de métier
Apprentissage constant
Formation continue
Santé et sécurité au travail
Pros
Bons fonds de pension et santé et sécurité au travail
Cons
Usine poluante pour l'environnement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expérience de travaille exceptionelle
Adjointe de gestion (Former Employee) –  Sorel-Tracy, QC8 August 2013
J'ai eu la chance de travailler avec une équipe exceptionelle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supporting company allowing me the opportunity to complete my Master's of Business Administration degree in Executive Management
Temporary Supervisor/Industrial Operator (Current Employee) –  Kitimat, BC9 July 2013
Typical industrial working environment with production and safety being number one priority. Work starts at 7:00 am and ends at 7:00 pm with four half hour breaks. During my tenure with Rio Tinto Alcan,
I have learned how to work and manage within a large union environment. In addition, being a heavy industry I have learned to watch out for the safety of my co-workers and my own safety.

The management of Rio Tinto Alcan lists safety as top priority followed by productivity on their agenda. The management is also very supportive and are accommodating to its employees.

Teamwork is very important to get various tasks done and therefore, most co-workers are cooperative and work cohesively.

The most difficult part of the job is working near furnaces on extremely hot days with temperatures exceeding 700 degrees Celsius. In contrast, the best part of the job is being trusted and treated with respect. It makes the employees feel responsible and results in better productivity.
Pros
Recognition of achievements and employee contribution to safety and productivity.
Cons
Long working hours with every alternate weekend off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work environment
Miner (Former Employee) –  diavik,NWT19 June 2013
the work environment has an positive environment,work safe and learn too advance at an steady rate.
Pros
nice camp
Cons
no outdoor activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  Labrador City, NL16 June 2013
Worked with company transporting workers around job site. To and from airport. Worked with great management team and safety was a priority at all times.Hardest part of job was winter conditions on gravel roads with full load of workers and slippery conditions with many hills and turns. Keep yourself alert as to conditions of the roads and block out noises from workers being transported.Enjoyable past was getting workers back to camp safely and taking them to airport for their turn-a-rounds for days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed
Site employee (Former Employee) –  Northwest Territories, Canada13 June 2013
Extremely 'top heavy' - rife with under-qualified, arrogant young management.
Hence poor business decisions and tremendous waste.
Good safety culture but conservative leadership with no sense (or care) for front-line workers.
No opportunity for advancement unless one relocates to the North.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail intéressant conviable et salaire plus que convenable
Planificateur entretien (Former Employee) –  Sorel-Tracy11 June 2013
je peux parler pour QIT et non pour toutes les autres unitées de RIO TINTO, mais l'usine de Qit, donc j'ai fait partie pendant pres de 24 ans. C,est l,endroit pour travailler dans notre région et moi je peux comparer ,car j'ai travailler 20 ans dans une autre usine majeur de la région
Pros
Nos patrons nous laissent faire notre Job
Cons
les employé(e) ont perdu toute identification a leur usine
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail...
Retraité (Former Employee) –  Shawinigan, QC23 December 2012
Travail d'équipe valorisant et "productif"...Relations interpersonnelles façiles...Je me considère comme un bon "soldat", loyal...
Pros
$$$$$
Cons
forte "pression" parfois inutile...
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wornderful environment to work in, learned alot of new skills.
Logistics Coordinator / Administration Support (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 December 2012
- Data Entry, reconsiling, talking on the phone, ordering railcars, switched being on call every second weekend.
- I gained more experience with Microsoft Office, worked a bit in AccPac, Learned alot about being in a corporation vs. when I worked with a small business.
- I got along very well with all the managment as well as my co-workers
- Hardest part of my job was picking up where the person I was filling in for left off, not having them here to explain certain reports and emails. It was a process but eventually it all works out.
- I enjoyed how involved the corporate office is envolved with our operations, as well as being able to contribute to making improvements in certain aspects of the office.
Pros
pizza lunches, had a great relationship with everyone.
Cons
long hours for month end, not being as involved with the hr aspect of the business
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and friendly People
Senior Project / Solution Manager (Current Employee) –  Montreal28 November 2012
The working environment is peaceful and a place where you can learn a lot if you that is your thing
Pros
lots of benefits for fulltime staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large multinational workplace, you are a number.
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC5 November 2012
Workday starts with a Pre-shift meeting which may include safety items, I was tasked with repairing old equipment often requiring very frequent "Emergency" repairs. Management people under a lot of stress to "just Make Do" until smelter is rebuilt. Co-workers very hardworking and helpful and eager to accomplish assignments in as safe a fashion as possible. The hardest part of the job was doing the same "emergency" time and time again because too much of the machinery was far past its economic service life. The most enjoyable part of the day was the end of shift wrap up meetings.
Pros
great pay
Cons
too much overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expérience enrichissante
recrutement, sourcing, avantages sociaux (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 September 2012
Equipe très professionnelle, encadrante et formatrice.
Beaucoup de plaisir à travailler avec des personnes de grande qualité et toujours disponible
Pros
caféteriat, gym, centre médical
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rio Tinto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 506 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8