Find companies:
Rio Tinto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
151 reviews

Rio Tinto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviroment with a very safe and productive workforce
open cut examiner (Former Employee), blair athol coalMay 27, 2013
Pros: nil
Cons: nil
RIO GAVE ME THE OBITUNITY TO GAIN ALL MY SKILLS . AND AS AN OCE TO PARTICAPATE IN SETTING HIGH SAFETY PRODUCTIVE STANDARDS IN THE DAY TO DAY RUNNING OF THE MINE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
focussed on the work at hand
heavy machinary mine equipment operator, (Current Employee), Gove NhulunbuyMay 18, 2013
Pros: yes am catered for, ( accomerdation an meals) and of course get paid
Cons: family time, am away week at a time, but hey
14 hr day, every minute is sceduled and documented, everyone is accountable ,
have learned how to operate efficiently and where to delegate and where to follow up on things to keep the coggs moving smoothly,
interact with management to see where we can improve or tyr new ideas ,
keep co workers involved so they dont feel left out or forgot about which – more... helps them and the operations what ever that may be ,
hardest part maybe working withen a buget , an having to adjust to suit ,
enjoyable things would be to see a project working and improvements , keeping busy an moving forward and confronting new challenges with the support of everyone , working as an individual in a team – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), South Jordan, UTMay 15, 2013
Great benefits and interesting work. Provides great exposure to financial processes in a global environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security with good camp facilities
operator/leading hand (Current Employee), Tom Price WAApril 28, 2013
Pros: good career opportunity
Cons: long hours and length of time away
I currently operate Hitachi 2500 & 3600 excavators Cat D11 dozers Cat 992 & 993K loaders on a daily basis depending on load and haul requirements.
I am currently working as leading hand having regular input in the running of the crew of 45 people.
The hardest part of my job is maintaining crew harmony whilst trying to achieve set production targets.
Most – more... enjoyable part is achieving production targets under sometimes challenging conditions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work. Fantastic Culture
Business Analys (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTApril 8, 2013
Pros: great culture
Cons: challenges with global time zones.
Management respects individuals for their expertise and ability to contribute. Working across a global organization can be challenging due to time differentials, but the organization is professional and really promotes a culture of performance and personal development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rio Tinto is an excellent employer offering many hard and soft benefits
Recruitment Analyst (Former Employee), South jordan, UtahMarch 15, 2013
Pros: on-site gym, excellent benefits, reputable and global company
It would be difficult to pinpoint a "typical" day because each day was very different. My days consisted of full cycle recruitment from resume review, to desk screens, pre-screen evaluations, salary and benefit discussions, and candidate interviews, assessments, scoring, and evaluation. I also had the opportunity to discuss the benefits of moving to – more... Utah and the benefits of working for Rio Tinto with some of the excellent candidates that were sourced from out of state.

Because of Rio Tinto's safety culture, I adopted some of the safety shares and advice practices into my personal life.

I appreciated the manager of our team, as he listened to all input from the team before moving forward with a decision. In addition, when a team member made a mistake, fingers were never pointed, it was "chalked up" to a learning opportunity. This created an atmosphere of growth and unity.

My team was pulled together as a group of contract workers with no history of working together. It was an amazing opportunity. We worked together like a true team! When the contract concluded, we exchanged our personal contact information to assist each other in job referrals, and to keep in touch.

The hardest part of the job was following "sourcing blitzes" when I was inundated with emails of interest. I found an excellent way to manage the emails by creating a follow-up "script" that I could e-mail out to interested candidates.

The most enjoyable part of the job (hands down) was the people. I had the opportunity to work with most of the superintendents at the facility in their hiring efforts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Third Largest Global Mining Company
Manager Commercial (Former Employee), SingaporeMarch 11, 2013
Conservative company trying to overcome the 1998 purchase of ALCAN for a record $38 Billion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Superintendent - Copper Operations (Current Employee), Magna, UtahFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: great benefits, pay
Cons: few holidays
Challenging and fulfilling work. Working for Rio Tinto is great. They are a world-wide company with many opportunities to advance and move within the company. Rio Tinto is focused on safety and producing a high quality product to its customers. The people that I work with are friendly and cooperative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked, Long Hours, Stress
Administration (Former Employee), Magna, UtahJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: salary, benefits
Cons: work long hours, miss lunch, work not appreciated
This company pays well and has good benefits. You will find yourself working long, long hours. If you are in the Environmental Group you will be not only working all day, but having to be on Night Call, Weekend and Holiday Duty rotation. The work you do is not appreciated or rewarded. The current boss at Environmental is arrogant, self focused and destroys – more... morale there. As they say......buyer beware! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with, work life balance great
Document Controller (Former Employee), Brisbane CBDJanuary 23, 2013
Working for Rio was excellent, some things in relation to the way they managed projects could of used some work, however, the project control team was tight and great to work with, enjoyable part of my day was receiving and processing documentation and open communication between CEO's, Managers and staff was maintained,

I did not personally find anything – more... hard about it, everyone was friendly and open, the only reason I have left RTA was due to completing my contract – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RTIO
Superintendent (Former Employee), PannawonicaJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: excellent work conditions
Cons: isolated areas which do not appeal to families
Great place to work, good people, great conditions. Management were good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good times
casting plant technician (Former Employee), lynemouthJanuary 6, 2013
learned a lot of new skills,forklift trucks,overhead crane,lots of computer skills,
i worked with a great bunch of lads
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company likes to dump its senior workers for those they can get cheaper!
Sr. Executive Assistant (Former Employee), USADecember 26, 2012
Pros: family activities
Cons: long hours, no gratitude for job well done, physically demanding, low morale!
Worked for this company as a top rated Executive Assistant for approximately 20 years. I had watched this company through the years treat their employees as they got older shabbily. If you are over 45 and especially a woman watch your back they will find a way to get rid of you. Experience means nothing and neither does your knowledge. Myself and two – more... other women in my area were laid off for no apparent reason and when you asked why they could not say it was due to any type of job performance. We had simply become expendable due to our expertise and our salaries. Want experience in your field then work there after you get what you need from them and then move on to a better company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety aware associates, management values work culture and values
Miner (Current Employee), Boron, CADecember 21, 2012
Pros: payed holidays, vacation, sick leave.
Cons: high safety hazards
I Have qualification in many areas of the mine so my duties can change often. Safety meeting first thing, then asssignment for the day includes crushing Ore, Drilling Blast holes, loading blast holes with explosives, operating Haul trucks, operating loader feeding crusher Hopper with Ore etc..

Hazard, safety, environmental quality control and training.
Cares – more... for there employees and production in processing Ore
Working together through team work
Being aware of all task performed
Working with competent employees and trusting there skills – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Potroom Operator (Former Employee), Lynemouth SmelterNovember 15, 2012
Loved working here but unfortunately it has now closed down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowest pay in mining industry
technician (Former Employee), WANovember 15, 2012
Pros: lots of training, fifo earns frequent flyer points...
Cons: top lowest pay mining company, no life balance roster, too many non-experience people running the site (graduates etc)
Thought the company culture is good, after joining and realized that some of the leader are selfish and racist. And some of the department have 3-4 people working and just mark around all the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety is a key component
Health & Safety Advisor (Current Employee), Boron, CAOctober 25, 2012
Pros: lots of opportunity to advance.
Cons: must be willing to relocate if you want to advance.
Rio Tinto takes safety performance seriously. On our site, all are able to stop any job if a safety concern rises. The downside is there is a lot of paperwork to back it all up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I expected that I would retire from this company. I never felt I needed to go anywhere else, I Loved my job and all the availability to everything the
Procurement superintendent (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: bonuses, traveling, family interaction..etc.
Cons: there really were no cons
I obviously enjoyed my job, there were changes consistently I stayed 30 years and still would like to be there. Hardest part of the job was some of the overseas travel, for awhile it was quite extensive. Most enjoyable was my employees and the interaction with being able to train them to help further their career. I learned every aspect of purchasing – more... and management, Safety protocol, and training in HR procedures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe Work Culture and Good Work Life Balance
Market Analyst (Former Employee), SingaporeSeptember 11, 2012
Safe Work Culture and Good Work Life Balance

Good co-workers with team mentality
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and demanding but fun most of the time.
Principal Advisor, Quality and scheduling (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: ery good income and benefits
Cons: ever changing senior leadereship, makes it tough to start over often
I have enjoyed working with many dynamic hard working individuals with a common goal to produce a product safely. I managed from 3 salary members up to 200 hourly and salary work force and very satisfying. Rio Tinto like allot of companies are in continous change and that makes it very challenging, all part of strong leadership. I have had extensive – more... involement in the Six Sigma methodoligies and find the the systems very rewarding and results driven. I was honored with Process Owner of the year award twicw because of my heavy involement with the systems. I loved working with the many dicsiplines and Union work forces, never a dull moment. – less

About Rio Tinto

Rio Tinto is a leading international mining group, combining Rio Tinto plc, a London listed public company headquartered in the – Read more