Find companies:
Rio Tinto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
145 reviews

Rio Tinto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Tape
Senior Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee), CanadaNovember 15, 2013
Seniority rules
HSE oriented
Red tape.
Cost constraint
coworkers unprofessional
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29..9 YRS Mostly good speaks for itself
Operator Maintainer (Former Employee), Blair Athol 28.4yrs Clermont 9mths.October 23, 2013
Pros: good team culture
Cons: nil while ihad a job
Attend prestart meeting(any problems from previous shift,hazards etc.)Operate control room, load trains,stockpile maintance.
Mostly a good team environment (look out for each others safety as well as our own).
being able to do all aspects of job compenently and productively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Setup
Health and Safety Environmental Officer (Current Employee), WindhoekOctober 21, 2013
The Setup is different in other countries and a total different story in Africa.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying the work but no job security at this stage.
Haul Truck Operator (Current Employee), Clermont CoalOctober 19, 2013
Pros: safe work environment gaining knowledge forming friendships
Cons: no job security
I enjoy operating the haul trucks and have adapted well to nightshift. Part of learning my job also encompasses enhancing my knowledge of the mining operations. I find the Supervisors easy to converse with and happy to explain finer details. I have enjoyed meeting new co-workers and developing new friendships. Adapting to night shift on my current roster – more... of 9.30pm to 5.30am was challenging as I feel the full 12 1/2 hours shift easier to manage. There is a certain amount of camaraderie that makes your shift enjoyable, plus knowing you are working in a safe environment. When your crew reaches its targets, that in itself is an enjoyable aspect of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Fitter (Former Employee), MarandooOctober 17, 2013
Hard work yet rewarding The co workers are very good to get along with and supervisors have alot of experience to pass on
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owners team with excellent working culture
Manager Project Controls Growth Studies Portfolio (Former Employee), Brisbane, QLDOctober 16, 2013
Pros: culture, freedom, open and honest, friendly atmosphere, professional development
Cons: uncertainties of the resource sector
Transition into owner's team was so seamless just because of the work culture. Accountable for the deliverables. Professional approach by the senior management and healthy friendly atmosphere. I miss working for such a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dealing with parts and fun people
Warehouse Associate/ POD Associate (Current Employee), South JordanOctober 15, 2013
Pros: schedule and time off and sick leave if needed
Cons: not enough room to grow or move up
my typical day at work consist of returning parts from Kennecott, talking with vendors to see if they will take part back, sending repairs out ot be repaired. i learned that the same parts get ordered and not replaced on equiptment. my co-workers are great for the most part we all have fun at times and keep the work place fun and safe. hardest part – more... of my job it not getting training to move up. it get to work with alot of fun people and i do enjoy my job especially when i get to see the big trucks in the mine – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production over safety
Shipping supervisor (Current Employee), BoronOctober 10, 2013
Cons: not a family oriented company. they do not care for your family. just work till you are broken
This place is ran by sociopathic managers from the top, down to most of the lower level supervisors. Off shift employees have absolutely no support from anyone in management. Also there are more supervisors telling you what to do, than there are employees to do it. Supervisors regularly order employees to work outside of safety guidelines and policies – more... set forth by the company, only to try to improve production numbers. This place has really taken micro managing to a new level. The people writing the job descriptions can't even spell right. They seem to hire the least skilled people for management positions, they have no or very little previous experience for the type of work environment. I could go on and on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant safety minded company
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee), Magna UtahAugust 28, 2013
the co-workers are great people, management is willing to work with you to succeed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money long hours
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), tasmaniaAugust 9, 2013
Pros: payday
Cons: long hours
once the skills had been learnt for a particular area the 12 hour shifts become very mundane, there was not a great deal of satisfaction from completing a shift as it was a 24 hour operation and continuous production.
Almost everyone got along or at least tried to, as when doing such long hours for each shift, your workmates nearly become a second family – more... and its your workmates that get you through the shift because for such a simple job things can get extremely stressful, lack of sleep does not help.
The money was reasonably good, but for the hours, effort and time away from family it should be higher.
The main thing i took away from working there was forklift driving experience, how to manage stress and lack of sleep and that it is possible to work hard and still take the time to be friendly with workmates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always something to do
Operator (Former Employee), Magna, UTAugust 6, 2013
Pros: love my job
Cons: not enough hrs
keeping busy / learning new things each day / doing my job as best as I can / my boss's are always happy with what I do / co workers are easy to get along with / enjoyable part staying busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lean process, traffic patterns
Operation Supervisor (Current Employee), South Jordan, UTAugust 5, 2013
Responsible for five operating warehouses and the warehouse employees for Kennecott Utah Copper. Warehouses range in size and number of employees with the largest at 480,000 square feet and eighteen employees. Directly responsible for overseeing the operations of receiving and distribution of parts needed for the mining industry. Successfully implemented – more... 5S standards, involved in six sigma projects, continued improvements in traffic patterns, warehouse flow, and production while keeping a safe work environment. Reviewing each team member quarterly on inventory, production, 5’s standards, quality of received goods, shipping accuracy, and service to the end users. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Advisor: Graduate Recruitment and Development (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPJuly 31, 2013
Pros: working from home and flexi hours
Cons: not too many benefits
It's a fast paced environment. The culture is the best. I like the company because they have flexi hours and you can work from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace
Financial Accountant (Former Employee), Perth, WAJuly 11, 2013
Pros: valuable experience
Cons: staff turnover
Month end responsibilities included posting journals, raising inter-company invoices, posting accruals, performing cash flow reconciliation, reconciliation of inter-company balances, creating local monthly finance report, month end submissions to headquarters in London.
I learned a lot in relation to a month end close and additionally half year end – more... reporting requirements. Rio Tinto were also evaluating divestment potential for it's diamond division which were quite interesting times.
I built a good relationship with management and colleagues. This was a challenging time due to a high turnover of staff however it was rewarding being given added responsibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Life long friends are made.
Shipping Operator (Former Employee), Boron, CAJune 13, 2013
Pros: benefits, job security and retirement are among the best.
Cons: dust
I loved working at Rio Tinto. They take care of their employees. Safety and customer satisfaction are the # 1 priority of this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The safest company I have ever worked for. Pressure to accomplish was self induced not driven. Great company to work for and I would recommend them to
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Concentrator at Copperton UtahJune 13, 2013
Pros: some gift cards were given and free lunches when exception work was attained
Cons: self induced stress knowing the production losses that would occur from over runs.
I would start my day by getting there 1 Hr. ahead of the crew and usually would be an Hr. behind them. The challenge of juggling 2 and 3 main issues each day made it challenging and fulfilling. The hours ere quite long but worth it and my drive for excellence was the reason for the extra hours.This was probably the hardest part along with any discipline – more... that had to be handled. The actual best part of the job was getting things done ahead of schedule if possible, Safely and efficiently. Taking a project from start to end. Cradle to Grave. Like to see the savings from improvements and working smarter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviroment with a very safe and productive workforce
open cut examiner (Former Employee), blair athol coalMay 27, 2013
Pros: nil
Cons: nil
RIO GAVE ME THE OBITUNITY TO GAIN ALL MY SKILLS . AND AS AN OCE TO PARTICAPATE IN SETTING HIGH SAFETY PRODUCTIVE STANDARDS IN THE DAY TO DAY RUNNING OF THE MINE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
focussed on the work at hand
heavy machinary mine equipment operator, (Current Employee), Gove NhulunbuyMay 18, 2013
Pros: yes am catered for, ( accomerdation an meals) and of course get paid
Cons: family time, am away week at a time, but hey
14 hr day, every minute is sceduled and documented, everyone is accountable ,
have learned how to operate efficiently and where to delegate and where to follow up on things to keep the coggs moving smoothly,
interact with management to see where we can improve or tyr new ideas ,
keep co workers involved so they dont feel left out or forgot about which – more... helps them and the operations what ever that may be ,
hardest part maybe working withen a buget , an having to adjust to suit ,
enjoyable things would be to see a project working and improvements , keeping busy an moving forward and confronting new challenges with the support of everyone , working as an individual in a team – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), South Jordan, UTMay 15, 2013
Great benefits and interesting work. Provides great exposure to financial processes in a global environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security with good camp facilities
operator/leading hand (Current Employee), Tom Price WAApril 28, 2013
Pros: good career opportunity
Cons: long hours and length of time away
I currently operate Hitachi 2500 & 3600 excavators Cat D11 dozers Cat 992 & 993K loaders on a daily basis depending on load and haul requirements.
I am currently working as leading hand having regular input in the running of the crew of 45 people.
The hardest part of my job is maintaining crew harmony whilst trying to achieve set production targets.
Most – more... enjoyable part is achieving production targets under sometimes challenging conditions. – less

About Rio Tinto

Rio Tinto is a leading international mining group, combining Rio Tinto plc, a London listed public company headquartered in the – Read more