Find companies:
Rio Tinto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
132 reviews

Rio Tinto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job
Assistant to Facilities Manager (Former Employee), London, ENGDecember 30, 2013
A great job working in Facilities Management. A small team that looked after the working of the building. A busy diary to run and responsible for booking transport for Senior Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety oriented company with great training opportunities
3rd year Electrical Instrumentation Apprentice (Current Employee), Nhulunbuy, NTDecember 21, 2013
Pros: training, safety
Cons: job security
Rio Tinto provided a safe work environment with an abundance of training opportunities.

I was provided with an enjoyable workplace and a large variety of different work with the only downside being the constant lack of job security due to the market situation and low alumina price
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mining is me
plant operator (Current Employee), QLDDecember 10, 2013
love the mining industry & the people in it leaning new thing in the mining industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work with a varity of tasks.
Lead Safety Coordinator (Former Employee), Salt Lake City UtahDecember 9, 2013
Pros: world class company.
Rio Tinto/Kennecott is a world class company with highly skilled people. It is a company that performs important work mining metals for the country and world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety and Employee Oriented Company
HRSS officer (Current Employee), IndiaDecember 9, 2013
Pros: flexible timings and work culture
Cons: long working hours
A good company with:
• Lots of career opportunities
• Good work culture
• Flexibile timings
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Tier Mining Company
Materials Planner (Former Employee), South Jordan, UTDecember 7, 2013
Pros: exciting enviorment
Cons: subject to lay offs
Great place to work, sustainable environment. Training of employees is top notch, expectations are high, work environment is fast pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Contract Assistant, Adecco (Former Employee), Gillette, WYNovember 29, 2013
Pros: enjoyed my position
Cons: company layoff
My job was very interesting and busy. I enjoy being busy and always learning new things about the job. Coworkers were amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work place
Border Manager - Mongolia (Oyu Tolgoi Project) (Former Employee), MongoliaNovember 25, 2013
Pros: ole tolgoi is a world class mine
Cons: most professional place i have worked
Professional workplace, and Management on site, movement and logistics of thousand of bags of copper concentrate, logistics & projects orientated work day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some good co worker
Steam Plant Operator (Former Employee), Boron,CANovember 20, 2013
Pros: lots of ot
Cons: no life company does not care for union workers
Some of the hourly staff are very friendly, but management like to butt head with coworker. Not a healthy work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Tape
Senior Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee), CanadaNovember 15, 2013
Seniority rules
HSE oriented
Red tape.
Cost constraint
coworkers unprofessional
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29..9 YRS Mostly good speaks for itself
Operator Maintainer (Former Employee), Blair Athol 28.4yrs Clermont 9mths.October 23, 2013
Pros: good team culture
Cons: nil while ihad a job
Attend prestart meeting(any problems from previous shift,hazards etc.)Operate control room, load trains,stockpile maintance.
Mostly a good team environment (look out for each others safety as well as our own).
being able to do all aspects of job compenently and productively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Setup
Health and Safety Environmental Officer (Current Employee), WindhoekOctober 21, 2013
The Setup is different in other countries and a total different story in Africa.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying the work but no job security at this stage.
Haul Truck Operator (Current Employee), Clermont CoalOctober 19, 2013
Pros: safe work environment gaining knowledge forming friendships
Cons: no job security
I enjoy operating the haul trucks and have adapted well to nightshift. Part of learning my job also encompasses enhancing my knowledge of the mining operations. I find the Supervisors easy to converse with and happy to explain finer details. I have enjoyed meeting new co-workers and developing new friendships. Adapting to night shift on my current roster – more... of 9.30pm to 5.30am was challenging as I feel the full 12 1/2 hours shift easier to manage. There is a certain amount of camaraderie that makes your shift enjoyable, plus knowing you are working in a safe environment. When your crew reaches its targets, that in itself is an enjoyable aspect of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Fitter (Former Employee), MarandooOctober 17, 2013
Hard work yet rewarding The co workers are very good to get along with and supervisors have alot of experience to pass on
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owners team with excellent working culture
Manager Project Controls Growth Studies Portfolio (Former Employee), Brisbane, QLDOctober 16, 2013
Pros: culture, freedom, open and honest, friendly atmosphere, professional development
Cons: uncertainties of the resource sector
Transition into owner's team was so seamless just because of the work culture. Accountable for the deliverables. Professional approach by the senior management and healthy friendly atmosphere. I miss working for such a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dealing with parts and fun people
Warehouse Associate/ POD Associate (Current Employee), South JordanOctober 15, 2013
Pros: schedule and time off and sick leave if needed
Cons: not enough room to grow or move up
my typical day at work consist of returning parts from Kennecott, talking with vendors to see if they will take part back, sending repairs out ot be repaired. i learned that the same parts get ordered and not replaced on equiptment. my co-workers are great for the most part we all have fun at times and keep the work place fun and safe. hardest part – more... of my job it not getting training to move up. it get to work with alot of fun people and i do enjoy my job especially when i get to see the big trucks in the mine – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production over safety
Shipping supervisor (Current Employee), BoronOctober 10, 2013
Cons: not a family oriented company. they do not care for your family. just work till you are broken
This place is ran by sociopathic managers from the top, down to most of the lower level supervisors. Off shift employees have absolutely no support from anyone in management. Also there are more supervisors telling you what to do, than there are employees to do it. Supervisors regularly order employees to work outside of safety guidelines and policies – more... set forth by the company, only to try to improve production numbers. This place has really taken micro managing to a new level. The people writing the job descriptions can't even spell right. They seem to hire the least skilled people for management positions, they have no or very little previous experience for the type of work environment. I could go on and on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant safety minded company
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee), Magna UtahAugust 28, 2013
the co-workers are great people, management is willing to work with you to succeed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money long hours
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), tasmaniaAugust 9, 2013
Pros: payday
Cons: long hours
once the skills had been learnt for a particular area the 12 hour shifts become very mundane, there was not a great deal of satisfaction from completing a shift as it was a 24 hour operation and continuous production.
Almost everyone got along or at least tried to, as when doing such long hours for each shift, your workmates nearly become a second family – more... and its your workmates that get you through the shift because for such a simple job things can get extremely stressful, lack of sleep does not help.
The money was reasonably good, but for the hours, effort and time away from family it should be higher.
The main thing i took away from working there was forklift driving experience, how to manage stress and lack of sleep and that it is possible to work hard and still take the time to be friendly with workmates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always something to do
Operator (Former Employee), Magna, UTAugust 6, 2013
Pros: love my job
Cons: not enough hrs
keeping busy / learning new things each day / doing my job as best as I can / my boss's are always happy with what I do / co workers are easy to get along with / enjoyable part staying busy

About Rio Tinto

Rio Tinto’s principal business is to sustainably find, develop, mine and process natural resources. The Group is a major – Read more