Find companies:
Rio Tinto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
155 reviews

Rio Tinto Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, safety is priority
Laboratory Operator/Metallurgist Technician (Former Employee), KunnurraOctober 8, 2014
Pros: different experiences
Cons: long way from civilization
Learnt dogging and rigging and forklift driving

Management value workers

Hardest part of job is heat

enjoyable part is great people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job assignment
Advisor - Asset Management (Former Employee), South Jordan, UTSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great asset management vision
Cons: poor management
This was a wrong opportunity for me based on the culture. I was unable to stabilized into the culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits and most areas are great to work. Large company that has some senior leaders that do not follow the Rio Tinto values
Manager-Contractor Management (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: benefits, security
Cons: senior leaders not held to account
Great place to work for 15 years, Most areas of the company are very well managed. Some areas especially in support teams are not managed well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Maintenace Supervisor (Former Employee), South JordanAugust 21, 2014
They push the employees with degrees harder than they push the employees with time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Term Employee
Environmental Proj. Coordinator/Admin. Assistant (Former Employee), South Jordan, UTAugust 17, 2014
Pros: bonus' and incentives you can earn and salaries
Cons: layoffs, cutbacks
Very busy each day, lots of work to do and workload was usually quite heavy. I loved the guys I worked with and had a long term friendship with most of them. Worked for many years, but the company does have a lot of layoffs in their history.
Usually Supervisor level bosses were great, but the higher ups were not as aware of the reality of what we did – more... or its importance to keeping the company running. The hardest part of the job was the workload, especially when they had layoffs or hiring freezes, because sometimes we were doing two jobs instead of one.
Best part of the job is they pay very well for the market, give regular bonus' and incentives you can earn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction Safety Specialist
Construction Safety Specialist (Former Employee), Pilbara WAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: great job
Cons: different sites
  EPCM and Contractor compliance management
 Investigating accidents and incidents and preparing the required reports.
 Contractor EPCM Safety Management plan reviews
 Reviewing safety statistics capturing trends and implementing proactive safety programs.
 Implement, maintain and develop our client's safety systems to all applicable regulatory – more... and legislative requirements, manage and develop safety policy and procedures, ensure that all clients employees and other relevant parties are periodically briefed on current and forthcoming safety issues, and any changes to safety systems, policies and procedures, and ensure statutory reporting and investigation of accidents and incidents
 Compliance auditing
 Statistical analysis of incident and implementation safety initiatives to ensure compliance.
 Implement and reinforce RTIOEP HSEQ standards and work practices – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised working place and residence
Mine Surveyor (Current Employee), ZvishavaneAugust 12, 2014
Pros: free food and accomodation
Cons: few options on recreation
The place is well organised and the place of residence is clean and the relaxing places are always clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Fitter (Former Employee), gove ntAugust 7, 2014
Pros: good pay, good roster
Cons: red tape, idiots
Good workplace with excellent co workers who believed in getting the job done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than your typical huge company.
Senior Advisor, Human Resources (Current Employee), Denver, COAugust 5, 2014
Cons: be careful which product group you work for. some are much better than others.
I can't complain too much during my time with Rio Tinto. Your manager is your lifeline to your career. If you get a good one, then the sky is the limit. Unfortunately, there aren't many good ones in Human Resources department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Port Controller (Current Employee), Perth, SCTAugust 4, 2014
Pros: good work cultrure
Cons: six twelve hours days in a row
Productive work environment good working culture. Good management system. A company that cares about its workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Advisor Product Stewardship (Former Employee), Rossing Uranium, SwakopmundJuly 31, 2014
Pros: great career opportunities
Cons: no study opportunities
Working at Rio Tinto was a great experience and learning curve and gave me vast and great insights in the mining and processing field in terms of environmental management and sustainable development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place but very poor and inexperienced management
Mine Planner (Current Employee), AustraliaJuly 30, 2014
Pros: have made good friends and it is a unique part of the country.
Cons: very expensive place to live with limited housing assitance.
Enjoyable work place but very poor and inexperienced management.

Important decisions are rushed or made by those who do not have adequate experiance to be in senior roles. Harassment issues are not taken as seriously as they should be.

Very young Technical Team and high employee turnover rate.

A typical day involves talking with short term planners – more... about any issues they have to see if those issues can be resolved in the medium term plan. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extremely busy
supervisor/trainer (Former Employee), supervisorJuly 15, 2014
extremely busy supervising 160 plus trainee operators, on 3 sites. I learned that people have different ways of learning machinery and they were in a hurry to learn more. Not always accepting that learning to operate machinery takes time, there is so much involved in becoming an operator and that its just not about driving, its about knowing everything – more... regarding machinery that they are on, informed them that I still learn things and I have been operating for years, there is always something to learn. management were very helpful and extremely patient, My co-workers were great support and we looked after each other. The hardest part of the job was shift change of supervisors, we all had different ways of supervising. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the trainees graduate at the end of their 2 years and obtaining their certificates, the hard work had paid off for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good camp and people to work with
Multi Skilled Operator (Mine Services) (Former Employee), Hail Creek MackayJuly 1, 2014
Pros: friends
I liked working at Hail Creek, the people I liked the every day challenge made for good job satisfaction I hope I can go back one day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
went home at night
Was a shift Safety Representative (Former Employee), Paraburdoo W.A.June 24, 2014
PICKED ORDERS
PACKED ORDERS
LOADED TRUCK
DELIVERED ORDERS
SIGNED IN ORDERS
DISTRIBUTED ORDERS
CONDUCTED INVENTORIES
ORDERD ITEMS
ISSUED TOOLS
SIGNED IN TOOLS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hotel type room with great food
Mechanical and Wet Serviceman (Former Employee), top end of western austrilia in the kimberlyJune 3, 2014
Pros: great mates
Cons: not much to whinge about
normal 12 hour day plus travel. Great learning site, great training and top blokes to work with. not much to complain about because the team and management were there to back everyone up
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
Australian Fire Control Paraburdoo Carpenter (Former Employee), WA, PARABURDOO.June 2, 2014
Pros: good conditions
Cons: to many regulations.
WORKING A WAY IS GREAT,LEARNING NEW THINGS,MEETING NEW PEOPLE,MANAGEMENT AND CO-WORKERS A GREAT,THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB IS NOT HAVING THE PROPER TOOLS TO DO THE JOB.THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB,IS LEARNING NEW THINGS, TEAM WORK.AND GETTING THE JOB DONE RIGHT THE FIRST TIME.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Multinational Organization with Strong Financials
Global Marketing Analyst (Current Employee), Denver, COMay 8, 2014
Rio Tinto is a leading global mining and metals company. Focused in finding, mining, and processing the Earth’s mineral resources and operating in over 40 countries in order to maximize value for our shareholders. We have the people, capabilities, and resources to supply a world hungry for the metals and minerals that are used in everyday life, in diverse – more... products – from fertilizers, mobiles phones to cars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, great environment.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), NT, AustraliaMay 7, 2014
Start off with a Safety meeting. explaining things we did safe the previous shift, and things we could improve on.
Did triva quiz on nightshifts to manage fatigue.
Crew all got along great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good Salaries
Administrator (Former Employee), Tete, ZNApril 25, 2014
Pros: free accommodation and food
Cons: normal hours
Productive,good salaries and good incentives.To be an experienced and innovative personnel. To uphold high personal integrity, goal orientation, innovative and effective leadership skills.

Most of the co workers are friendly. Spending the whole day under the mine

About Rio Tinto

Rio Tinto is a leading international mining group, combining Rio Tinto plc, a London listed public company headquartered in the – Read more