Rio Tinto Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 51 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supporting company allowing me the opportunity to complete my Master's of Business Administration degree in Executive Management
Temporary Supervisor/Industrial Operator (Current Employee) –  Kitimat, BCJuly 9, 2013
Typical industrial working environment with production and safety being number one priority. Work starts at 7:00 am and ends at 7:00 pm with four half hour breaks. During my tenure with Rio Tinto Alcan,
I have learned how to work and manage within a large union environment. In addition, being a heavy industry I have learned to watch out for the safety of my co-workers and my own safety.

The management of Rio Tinto Alcan lists safety as top priority followed by productivity on their agenda. The management is also very supportive and are accommodating to its employees.

Teamwork is very important to get various tasks done and therefore, most co-workers are cooperative and work cohesively.

The most difficult part of the job is working near furnaces on extremely hot days with temperatures exceeding 700 degrees Celsius. In contrast, the best part of the job is being trusted and treated with respect. It makes the employees feel responsible and results in better productivity.
Pros
recognition of achievements and employee contribution to safety and productivity.
Cons
long working hours with every alternate weekend off.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work environment
Miner (Former Employee) –  diavik,NWTJune 19, 2013
the work environment has an positive environment,work safe and learn too advance at an steady rate.
Pros
nice camp
Cons
no outdoor activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes31No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  Labrador City, NLJune 16, 2013
Worked with company transporting workers around job site. To and from airport. Worked with great management team and safety was a priority at all times.Hardest part of job was winter conditions on gravel roads with full load of workers and slippery conditions with many hills and turns. Keep yourself alert as to conditions of the roads and block out noises from workers being transported.Enjoyable past was getting workers back to camp safely and taking them to airport for their turn-a-rounds for days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed
Site employee (Former Employee) –  Northwest Territories, CanadaJune 13, 2013
Extremely 'top heavy' - rife with under-qualified, arrogant young management.
Hence poor business decisions and tremendous waste.
Good safety culture but conservative leadership with no sense (or care) for front-line workers.
No opportunity for advancement unless one relocates to the North.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wornderful environment to work in, learned alot of new skills.
Logistics Coordinator / Administration Support (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 5, 2012
- Data Entry, reconsiling, talking on the phone, ordering railcars, switched being on call every second weekend.
- I gained more experience with Microsoft Office, worked a bit in AccPac, Learned alot about being in a corporation vs. when I worked with a small business.
- I got along very well with all the managment as well as my co-workers
- Hardest part of my job was picking up where the person I was filling in for left off, not having them here to explain certain reports and emails. It was a process but eventually it all works out.
- I enjoyed how involved the corporate office is envolved with our operations, as well as being able to contribute to making improvements in certain aspects of the office.
Pros
pizza lunches, had a great relationship with everyone.
Cons
long hours for month end, not being as involved with the hr aspect of the business
Was this review helpful?Yes5No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large multinational workplace, you are a number.
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BCNovember 5, 2012
Workday starts with a Pre-shift meeting which may include safety items, I was tasked with repairing old equipment often requiring very frequent "Emergency" repairs. Management people under a lot of stress to "just Make Do" until smelter is rebuilt. Co-workers very hardworking and helpful and eager to accomplish assignments in as safe a fashion as possible. The hardest part of the job was doing the same "emergency" time and time again because too much of the machinery was far past its economic service life. The most enjoyable part of the day was the end of shift wrap up meetings.
Pros
great pay
Cons
too much overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pay, excellent benefits, poor management/ labour dynamic
Industrial maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  Kitimat British Columbia CanadaMay 28, 2012
a tyical day at work, starts with a safety meeting, .performance review and work assigment. It is a high priority from managment to stick to the assigned work scheduale however, due to the age and overall condition of the plant this is a very difficult task. Each of the various departments is in a similair condition and overall interdepartmental communications can get ineffective at times creating a lot of unwanted stress. My co-workers can be and usually are the best part of the job.
Pros
sabbatical
Cons
trying to get the sabatcal when you want it
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milieu de travail stimulant.
Area Manager-Project OBP (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJune 14, 2016
Journée longue et très occupée
J'ai appris a négocier avec différents responsables d'opération
Aspect le plus agréable: la disponibilités et collaboration des gens d'opération.
Pas vraiment d'aspect difficile, compte tenu de mon expérience en opération.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L'entreprise qui a tué le fleuron Québécois de l'aluminium
Opérateur, électrolyse (Former Employee) –  Alma, QCMarch 29, 2016
L'entreprise qui a tué le fleuron Québécois de l'aluminium. Alcan se comportait en bon père de famille et a contribué à l'essor économique du Saguenay Lac-St-Jean. Cependant, depuis que l'entreprise a été acquise par Rio Tinto c'est désormais une des pires entreprises que j'ai connue à ce jour.
Pros
Salaire
Cons
Gestion inhumaine
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Climat de travail malsain
Superviseur des opérations (Former Employee) –  Sorel-Tracy, QCMarch 23, 2016
Il s'agit de mon point de vue d'une entreprise tellement orienté vers la santé-sécurité qu'ils en oublient le facteur humain.
Pros
Près de chez moi.
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
entreprise mondiale
Operateur machinerie lourde (Current Employee) –  Havre-Saint-Pierre, QCFebruary 3, 2016
travailleur depuis 25 ans dans divers domaine .Aime la production.
Respect envers ses employer.
renumeration adequate.
travailler sous pression.
Pros
nouveaux defi
Cons
horaire diverse
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agréable
Peintre surintendant (Former Employee) –  Sorel-Tracy, QCNovember 8, 2015
J'ai travaillé avec de très bons superviseurs et collaborateurs.
L'aspect le plus difficile était de peindre dans des conditions très chaude entre les tuyaux.

L'aspect le plus agréable était tous les projets que nous avons obtenus, peindre en hauteur avec nacelle.

Un très bon esprit d'équipe.
Pros
Les heures et essence payé
Cons
La distance de chez moi au travail
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
belle ambiance de travaille
Havre-Saint-Pierre, Qc (Former Employee) –  havre saint pierreSeptember 23, 2015
journé de travail de 12 heur 3,2,2,3
longue heure de travaille
j aime les grosse machine
Pros
salaire
Cons
pus de travaille
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mécanicien véhicule auto-propulsés
Mécanicien (Former Employee) –  Shawinigan, QCApril 16, 2015
Réparation et entretien des véhicules destinés aux opérations de l'aluminerie. Collaboration avec le soutien technique et superviseur.
Remorquage dans les salles de cuves est l'aspect le plus difficile où la sécurité est de rigueur.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
En changement
Conseiller santé sécurité environnement (Former Employee) –  QuébecMarch 28, 2015
Il s'agit d'une entreprise de classe mondiale géré principalement par des actionnaires. Il y sont véhiculés de bonnes cultures et le personnel y est très professionnel. Seul la précarité du marché créé un sentiment d'incertitude dans plusieurs sphères de l'entreprise.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nous étions des sou contractant
Cuisinière en cafétéria (Former Employee) –  sorel tracyJanuary 15, 2015
Le matin je devais préparer le dîner ainsi que le souper de la journée soupe salade repas principal pour environ 200 personnes et ca a tous les jours ainsi que le dessert j adore cuisiner c est une passion pour moi mais surtout d apprendre a tous les jours quelques choses de nouveau.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne relation au travail
Inspecteur de l'ingôt (Current Employee) –  Shawinigan, QCSeptember 19, 2014
J'ai beaucoup d'autonomie, je suis formé à plusieurs postes de plus avec les changements récents je suis maintenant instructeurs. Le plus difficile c'est le climat de travail dans la situation actuel ou l'avenir de l'entreprise est entre les mains des hauts dirigeants. L'aspect le plus agréable c'est d'être en plein contrôle de mes machines et de produire à pleine capacité.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tirer profit de la gestion d'équipe
Adjoint Coordonnateur d'intégrité mécanique PSM (Former Employee) –  Sorel-Tracy, QCJuly 30, 2014
cette expérience m'a permis de mettre en application des nouvelles compétences relationnels et de leadership en vue de motiver mon équipe à donner le meilleur de soi en vue de réaliser l'objectif commun de l'équipe.
Pros
apprendre à gérer efficacement du personnel
Cons
ras
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne emploi
Mécanicien aux installations portuaires (Former Employee) –  SaguenayJuly 18, 2014
Très bonne condition de travail. C'étais un emploi étudiant mais j'aurais voulu être engagé.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunitée de développement
Superviseur (Former Employee) –  Jonquiere, QCMarch 9, 2014
Le développement de ses cadres étaient pour Rio Tinto Alcan un outil pour les besoins constants et ouvert à cette option.

Que ce soit en gestion, en sécurité, en qualité ou autres, nous pouvions y accéder. Le développement personnel était important pour effectuer le travail quotidien.
Pros
bon salaire et avantages sociaux.
Cons
inégalité entre ses unitées.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 275 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture