Find companies:
Rio Tinto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
145 reviews

Rio Tinto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging opporutunity
Spécialiste amélioration des affaires aux achats (Former Employee), Jonquière, QuébecJuly 23, 2014
Pros: business project with many human interactions
Cons: not on a continuous basis
Cost reduction project with the Singapour procurement team and several plants based on alloying elements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High profile company
Analyst (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJuly 8, 2014
Very large company with high profile work assignments and talented staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always room for advancement
Engineer Co-op (Former Employee), Kitimat, BCJune 28, 2014
Big project spells fast paced environment and tons of shuffling. Lots of room for advancement and most people are happy with their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive, well compensated, opportunity for advancement
Process Engineer (Current Employee), Quebec, CanadaFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: competitive workplace, opportunity to travel with work
Cons: very limited budgets for projects since al price drop
A great first employer, they are capable of providing plenty of training and opportunities, being such a vast and international company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mine Operator. Great people
Mine Operator (Current Employee), Weipa QLD AustraliaJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: favouritism bs
Weipa wonderful lifestyle, but housing is to expensive and the general cost of living is rediculous. Losts of favouritism within the teams which is really bad. can't complain about the rest of my job though I love what I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiguous management, long hours, and lack appreciation.
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 6, 2013
Ambiguous management, long hours, and lack appreciation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supporting company allowing me the opportunity to complete my Master's of Business Administration degree in Executive Management
Temporary Supervisor/Industrial Operator (Current Employee), Kitimat, BCJuly 9, 2013
Pros: recognition of achievements and employee contribution to safety and productivity.
Cons: long working hours with every alternate weekend off.
Typical industrial working environment with production and safety being number one priority. Work starts at 7:00 am and ends at 7:00 pm with four half hour breaks. During my tenure with Rio Tinto Alcan,
I have learned how to work and manage within a large union environment. In addition, being a heavy industry I have learned to watch out for the safety – more... of my co-workers and my own safety.

The management of Rio Tinto Alcan lists safety as top priority followed by productivity on their agenda. The management is also very supportive and are accommodating to its employees.

Teamwork is very important to get various tasks done and therefore, most co-workers are cooperative and work cohesively.

The most difficult part of the job is working near furnaces on extremely hot days with temperatures exceeding 700 degrees Celsius. In contrast, the best part of the job is being trusted and treated with respect. It makes the employees feel responsible and results in better productivity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work environment
Miner (Former Employee), diavik,NWTJune 19, 2013
Pros: nice camp
Cons: no outdoor activities.
the work environment has an positive environment,work safe and learn too advance at an steady rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Driver (Former Employee), Labrador City, NLJune 16, 2013
Worked with company transporting workers around job site. To and from airport. Worked with great management team and safety was a priority at all times.Hardest part of job was winter conditions on gravel roads with full load of workers and slippery conditions with many hills and turns. Keep yourself alert as to conditions of the roads and block out – more... noises from workers being transported.Enjoyable past was getting workers back to camp safely and taking them to airport for their turn-a-rounds for days off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed
Site employee (Former Employee), Northwest Territories, CanadaJune 13, 2013
Extremely 'top heavy' - rife with under-qualified, arrogant young management.
Hence poor business decisions and tremendous waste.
Good safety culture but conservative leadership with no sense (or care) for front-line workers.
No opportunity for advancement unless one relocates to the North.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wornderful environment to work in, learned alot of new skills.
Logistics Coordinator / Administration Support (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 5, 2012
Pros: pizza lunches, had a great relationship with everyone.
Cons: long hours for month end, not being as involved with the hr aspect of the business
- Data Entry, reconsiling, talking on the phone, ordering railcars, switched being on call every second weekend.
- I gained more experience with Microsoft Office, worked a bit in AccPac, Learned alot about being in a corporation vs. when I worked with a small business.
- I got along very well with all the managment as well as my co-workers
- Hardest – more... part of my job was picking up where the person I was filling in for left off, not having them here to explain certain reports and emails. It was a process but eventually it all works out.
- I enjoyed how involved the corporate office is envolved with our operations, as well as being able to contribute to making improvements in certain aspects of the office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large multinational workplace, you are a number.
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Kitimat, BCNovember 5, 2012
Pros: great pay
Cons: too much overtime
Workday starts with a Pre-shift meeting which may include safety items, I was tasked with repairing old equipment often requiring very frequent "Emergency" repairs. Management people under a lot of stress to "just Make Do" until smelter is rebuilt. Co-workers very hardworking and helpful and eager to accomplish assignments in as safe a fashion as possible. – more... The hardest part of the job was doing the same "emergency" time and time again because too much of the machinery was far past its economic service life. The most enjoyable part of the day was the end of shift wrap up meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pay, excellent benefits, poor management/ labour dynamic
Industrial maintenance Electrician (Current Employee), Kitimat British Columbia CanadaMay 28, 2012
Pros: sabbatical
Cons: trying to get the sabatcal when you want it
a tyical day at work, starts with a safety meeting, .performance review and work assigment. It is a high priority from managment to stick to the assigned work scheduale however, due to the age and overall condition of the plant this is a very difficult task. Each of the various departments is in a similair condition and overall interdepartmental communications – more... can get ineffective at times creating a lot of unwanted stress. My co-workers can be and usually are the best part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job assignment
Advisor - Asset Management (Former Employee), South Jordan, UTSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great asset management vision
Cons: poor management
This was a wrong opportunity for me based on the culture. I was unable to stabilized into the culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits and most areas are great to work. Large company that has some senior leaders that do not follow the Rio Tinto values
Manager-Contractor Management (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: benefits, security
Cons: senior leaders not held to account
Great place to work for 15 years, Most areas of the company are very well managed. Some areas especially in support teams are not managed well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Maintenace Supervisor (Former Employee), South JordanAugust 21, 2014
They push the employees with degrees harder than they push the employees with time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Term Employee
Environmental Proj. Coordinator/Admin. Assistant (Former Employee), South Jordan, UTAugust 17, 2014
Pros: bonus' and incentives you can earn and salaries
Cons: layoffs, cutbacks
Very busy each day, lots of work to do and workload was usually quite heavy. I loved the guys I worked with and had a long term friendship with most of them. Worked for many years, but the company does have a lot of layoffs in their history.
Usually Supervisor level bosses were great, but the higher ups were not as aware of the reality of what we did – more... or its importance to keeping the company running. The hardest part of the job was the workload, especially when they had layoffs or hiring freezes, because sometimes we were doing two jobs instead of one.
Best part of the job is they pay very well for the market, give regular bonus' and incentives you can earn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction Safety Specialist
Construction Safety Specialist (Former Employee), Pilbara WAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: great job
Cons: different sites
  EPCM and Contractor compliance management
 Investigating accidents and incidents and preparing the required reports.
 Contractor EPCM Safety Management plan reviews
 Reviewing safety statistics capturing trends and implementing proactive safety programs.
 Implement, maintain and develop our client's safety systems to all applicable regulatory – more... and legislative requirements, manage and develop safety policy and procedures, ensure that all clients employees and other relevant parties are periodically briefed on current and forthcoming safety issues, and any changes to safety systems, policies and procedures, and ensure statutory reporting and investigation of accidents and incidents
 Compliance auditing
 Statistical analysis of incident and implementation safety initiatives to ensure compliance.
 Implement and reinforce RTIOEP HSEQ standards and work practices – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised working place and residence
Mine Surveyor (Current Employee), ZvishavaneAugust 12, 2014
Pros: free food and accomodation
Cons: few options on recreation
The place is well organised and the place of residence is clean and the relaxing places are always clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Fitter (Former Employee), gove ntAugust 7, 2014
Pros: good pay, good roster
Cons: red tape, idiots
Good workplace with excellent co workers who believed in getting the job done

1 2 3 4 5

About Rio Tinto

Rio Tinto is a leading international mining group, combining Rio Tinto plc, a London listed public company headquartered in the – Read more