Find companies:
Rio Tinto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
129 reviews

Rio Tinto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High profile company
Analyst (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJuly 8, 2014
Very large company with high profile work assignments and talented staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always room for advancement
Engineer Co-op (Former Employee), Kitimat, BCJune 28, 2014
Big project spells fast paced environment and tons of shuffling. Lots of room for advancement and most people are happy with their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Electrical Engineer Co-op (Former Employee), Labrador City, NLJune 18, 2014
Rio Tinto is one of the top mining companies in the world with high standard safety culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, great environment.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), NT, AustraliaMay 7, 2014
Start off with a Safety meeting. explaining things we did safe the previous shift, and things we could improve on.
Did triva quiz on nightshifts to manage fatigue.
Crew all got along great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mine Operator. Great people
Mine Operator (Current Employee), Weipa QLD AustraliaJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: favouritism bs
Weipa wonderful lifestyle, but housing is to expensive and the general cost of living is rediculous. Losts of favouritism within the teams which is really bad. can't complain about the rest of my job though I love what I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiguous management, long hours, and lack appreciation.
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 6, 2013
Ambiguous management, long hours, and lack appreciation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supporting company allowing me the opportunity to complete my Master's of Business Administration degree in Executive Management
Temporary Supervisor/Industrial Operator (Current Employee), Kitimat, BCJuly 9, 2013
Pros: recognition of achievements and employee contribution to safety and productivity.
Cons: long working hours with every alternate weekend off.
Typical industrial working environment with production and safety being number one priority. Work starts at 7:00 am and ends at 7:00 pm with four half hour breaks. During my tenure with Rio Tinto Alcan,
I have learned how to work and manage within a large union environment. In addition, being a heavy industry I have learned to watch out for the safety – more... of my co-workers and my own safety.

The management of Rio Tinto Alcan lists safety as top priority followed by productivity on their agenda. The management is also very supportive and are accommodating to its employees.

Teamwork is very important to get various tasks done and therefore, most co-workers are cooperative and work cohesively.

The most difficult part of the job is working near furnaces on extremely hot days with temperatures exceeding 700 degrees Celsius. In contrast, the best part of the job is being trusted and treated with respect. It makes the employees feel responsible and results in better productivity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Driver (Former Employee), Labrador City, NLJune 16, 2013
Worked with company transporting workers around job site. To and from airport. Worked with great management team and safety was a priority at all times.Hardest part of job was winter conditions on gravel roads with full load of workers and slippery conditions with many hills and turns. Keep yourself alert as to conditions of the roads and block out – more... noises from workers being transported.Enjoyable past was getting workers back to camp safely and taking them to airport for their turn-a-rounds for days off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed
Site employee (Former Employee), Northwest Territories, CanadaJune 13, 2013
Extremely 'top heavy' - rife with under-qualified, arrogant young management.
Hence poor business decisions and tremendous waste.
Good safety culture but conservative leadership with no sense (or care) for front-line workers.
No opportunity for advancement unless one relocates to the North.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company likes to dump its senior workers for those they can get cheaper!
Sr. Executive Assistant (Former Employee), USADecember 26, 2012
Pros: family activities
Cons: long hours, no gratitude for job well done, physically demanding, low morale!
Worked for this company as a top rated Executive Assistant for approximately 20 years. I had watched this company through the years treat their employees as they got older shabbily. If you are over 45 and especially a woman watch your back they will find a way to get rid of you. Experience means nothing and neither does your knowledge. Myself and two – more... other women in my area were laid off for no apparent reason and when you asked why they could not say it was due to any type of job performance. We had simply become expendable due to our expertise and our salaries. Want experience in your field then work there after you get what you need from them and then move on to a better company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wornderful environment to work in, learned alot of new skills.
Logistics Coordinator / Administration Support (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 5, 2012
Pros: pizza lunches, had a great relationship with everyone.
Cons: long hours for month end, not being as involved with the hr aspect of the business
- Data Entry, reconsiling, talking on the phone, ordering railcars, switched being on call every second weekend.
- I gained more experience with Microsoft Office, worked a bit in AccPac, Learned alot about being in a corporation vs. when I worked with a small business.
- I got along very well with all the managment as well as my co-workers
- Hardest – more... part of my job was picking up where the person I was filling in for left off, not having them here to explain certain reports and emails. It was a process but eventually it all works out.
- I enjoyed how involved the corporate office is envolved with our operations, as well as being able to contribute to making improvements in certain aspects of the office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large multinational workplace, you are a number.
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Kitimat, BCNovember 5, 2012
Pros: great pay
Cons: too much overtime
Workday starts with a Pre-shift meeting which may include safety items, I was tasked with repairing old equipment often requiring very frequent "Emergency" repairs. Management people under a lot of stress to "just Make Do" until smelter is rebuilt. Co-workers very hardworking and helpful and eager to accomplish assignments in as safe a fashion as possible. – more... The hardest part of the job was doing the same "emergency" time and time again because too much of the machinery was far past its economic service life. The most enjoyable part of the day was the end of shift wrap up meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good camp and people to work with
Multi Skilled Operator (Mine Services) (Former Employee), Hail Creek MackayJuly 1, 2014
Pros: friends
I liked working at Hail Creek, the people I liked the every day challenge made for good job satisfaction I hope I can go back one day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
went home at night
Was a shift Safety Representative (Former Employee), Paraburdoo W.A.June 24, 2014
PICKED ORDERS
PACKED ORDERS
LOADED TRUCK
DELIVERED ORDERS
SIGNED IN ORDERS
DISTRIBUTED ORDERS
CONDUCTED INVENTORIES
ORDERD ITEMS
ISSUED TOOLS
SIGNED IN TOOLS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hotel type room with great food
Mechanical and Wet Serviceman (Former Employee), top end of western austrilia in the kimberlyJune 3, 2014
Pros: great mates
Cons: not much to whinge about
normal 12 hour day plus travel. Great learning site, great training and top blokes to work with. not much to complain about because the team and management were there to back everyone up
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
Australian Fire Control Paraburdoo Carpenter (Former Employee), WA, PARABURDOO.June 2, 2014
Pros: good conditions
Cons: to many regulations.
WORKING A WAY IS GREAT,LEARNING NEW THINGS,MEETING NEW PEOPLE,MANAGEMENT AND CO-WORKERS A GREAT,THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB IS NOT HAVING THE PROPER TOOLS TO DO THE JOB.THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB,IS LEARNING NEW THINGS, TEAM WORK.AND GETTING THE JOB DONE RIGHT THE FIRST TIME.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Multinational Organization with Strong Financials
Global Marketing Analyst (Current Employee), Denver, COMay 8, 2014
Rio Tinto is a leading global mining and metals company. Focused in finding, mining, and processing the Earth’s mineral resources and operating in over 40 countries in order to maximize value for our shareholders. We have the people, capabilities, and resources to supply a world hungry for the metals and minerals that are used in everyday life, in diverse – more... products – from fertilizers, mobiles phones to cars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good Salaries
Administrator (Former Employee), Tete, ZNApril 25, 2014
Pros: free accommodation and food
Cons: normal hours
Productive,good salaries and good incentives.To be an experienced and innovative personnel. To uphold high personal integrity, goal orientation, innovative and effective leadership skills.

Most of the co workers are friendly. Spending the whole day under the mine
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremly hot and hard work but for me very enjoyable
Refinery Operator, Hydrate Department (Current Employee), Nhulunbuy, N.T. AustraliaApril 6, 2014
Pros: 4 days on and 4 days off
Cons: hot & physical work
As stated in my resume we do a lot of hard work in hot conditions. We learn each day how to safely improve our jobs, strong teamwork focus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe & friendly work force. with good job prospects
Boilermaker / welder / Supervisor nightshift (Former Employee), Port HedlandApril 2, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: flys
morning meetings. work for the day.
Helping out with other trades
Mentoring apprentices

1 2 3 4 5

About Rio Tinto

Rio Tinto’s principal business is to sustainably find, develop, mine and process natural resources. The Group is a major – Read more