Find companies:
Restoration Hardware
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
139 reviews

Restoration Hardware Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management - False expectations
Sales Assocaite (Former Employee), TorontoJune 5, 2013
Pros: discount is nice. all non-management are great.
Cons: cult like. poor pay. minimal hours, never can be fulltime.
The typical work day included judgemental stares of your attire. Regardless of the high end brand names. Your are still given the once over and usually attacked for hair being out of place, a shoe needing polishing or your pants a shade to their disliking. Meanwhile, company dresscode (Business Casual) and is outlined on a poor sheet filled with images – more... of models wearing clothing from Banana Republic. Bottom line nothing is good enough and is based on opinions from management and favoritism. Push, Push PUSH to sell is the main goal. Forget all the ideas, goals and excitement they preach in meetings and the ideologies of the core values. It all comes down to SELL. Meet the quota with no incentive by the way or else face being penalized and of course losing hours. As an abusive bullying tactic hours are used as collateral. Take vacation that you've been planning for years, come home and for the next month you receive minimal hours as a lesson to show you to never disobey management. The hardest part is seeing the company for what it really is and realizing the tactics and mind control used to keep you where they want you. Your sucked in to think its an amazing design position when its a sales job. At the end you meet some great sales staff like yourself and thats it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Leader (Former Employee), Bayview, Toronto ONJune 3, 2013
Pros: discount on product
Cons: everything else
So many times while working here I thought to myself, I would rather be scrubbing puke off of a public bathroom floor than be here. The core values only apply when the store leader can use them against you. You will always be wrong in any scenario. You will NOT have a life. Leaving restoration hardware was the best choice I ever made. Please- if you – more... have any self esteem, don't apply. McDonald's pays the same if you need the money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff, Horrible Leaders/Management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 3, 2013
Pros: sales staff is amazing.
Cons: poor leadership and head office control, poor salary, high expectations
Pushed to sell, make daily quotas, penalized for not making sales. No place to advance. Minimal hours given, they hire too many PT employees to compete over hours. Management from head office comes down too hard on store leaders causing a trickle effect of animosity and negative attitudes. Co-workers on the sales floor are amazing, one thing restoration – more... hardware knows how to do is attract and obtain amazing people who are better than the position hired. Hardest part is trying to make a living while working there unless you are a manager/leader who gets full time. Otherwise you dedicate so much yet see nothing in return. You cant live off 10 hours a week. – less

June 5, 2013

I used to work at a Toronto location and I am glad to be out of there. Everyday there was a day wasted that I wish I could get back. Its sad to see that there are others out there who have the same regards towards the place.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, many great people to work with.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 6, 2013
Good company, many great people to work with. Some design experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and energizing job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Yonge Street Toronto, OntarioNovember 11, 2011
Pros: every morning meetings, we would have games related to core values, or getting to know you!
Cons: no promising full time job
The store has a homey and friendly environment. It caters to high end customers in majority who understands the beauty of restored furnishings with taste. Training was very good on how to meet the changing demands of our customers. They had product knowledge catalogues for us to learn & most of their Senior Employees were very generous helping us with – more... the products, placing orders & more. RH owns a wonderful core values that reflects their employees who had worked with them for many years. And new ones whether full-timer or part- timer have to learn the corporate values.
I enjoyed entertaining our customer's "furry children" who shops along with them and alot of them. So we made sure that we have on stock of pet treats by the register. It was a wonderful experience working with RH even for a few months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restoration hardware
Assembler (Former Employee), Mira Loma, CAAugust 14, 2014
A very good place to work.. Alot of over time during holidays
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and constantly busy.
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee), Tracy, CAAugust 13, 2014
I loved working for Restoration Hardware. I had a great supervisor and the work was challenging. I learned to build rapport with customers, learned to pay attention to detail, learned that companies can care for employees and their needs. Management was the best, always provided feedback and pushed you to do your best. The hardest part of the job was – more... to deal with upset customers that did not understand timeframes for shipping custom items. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work staff is very informative
Warehouse Asst (Former Employee), Tracy, CAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: paid weekly
Cons: works becomes slow after peak season many employees are laid off
A typical day at work can start at 4:00 am you can expect to have your work cut out for you. I learned a lot about management at this job supervisors worked very closely with employees. The work gets hard during the summer and it gets very hot sometimes. But most of all its a fun place to work you don't have to deal with customers face to face or over – more... the phone. You basically go to work do your job and go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
customer care (Current Employee), grand prairieAugust 10, 2014
this is the best place ever,only thing is that you cant miss just 1 day for any situation because you are in trouble
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun work environemnt.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), McLean, VAAugust 5, 2014
Restoration Hardware was all about the internal customer and knowing that in order to make the external customer satisfied, you had to make sure that your employees come first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment for Retouchers
Photo Editor (Former Employee), Corte Madera, CAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: free lunch during high season
The pixel-pit is laid back and the team is great to work with. They are very supportive in terms of skill set. Barring deadlines, management is also fairly relaxed and fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much attitude, then expecting you use your off time for the companies benefit
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Dunwoody, GeorgiaAugust 4, 2014
Pros: i didn't see any pros for this company.
Cons: attitude, no trust, demanding of your time, bad pay
Management has the attitude they are better than the employees that make the business happen! Never in all my retail career, have I ever felt incapable of doing my job. Management watching your every move, even though management tells you to step up and take care of issues. They believe you should not have a life outside the company... you should live – more... and breath for this company only. The pay is horrendous! Millions of dollars of merchandise is sold and you get a minuscule amount of money for what they ask for. At least give some kind of commission for the millions employees sell. Management acts like it's a privilege to work for the work company and under them.
Not worth the time nor effort! RUN!!!!!!!

If I could have given less than one star for management and work life balance, I would have! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive and busy
Advocate (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: ability to service real people in person . flexiable for sitting walking and standing
Cons: second shift
Control Point Operation ABS Brakes Components. Verifty and direct conerns to motor bay areas, for review/ either repairs from Chassis area. Sun Visor quality concern in Trim inspect areas of concerns and accept or reject base on quality and Team leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company for high end retail products
Packing Associate (Current Employee), West Jefferson, OHJuly 24, 2014
Pros: decent company, management is good
Cons: you must start through a temp company, only after so many hours, you can get hired on, what i hear is that around your 9 mth mark, they might hire you.no benefits. unstable hours
A morning meeting starts off the day, to give us some kind of ball park time we will be there, demonstration of what is needed and if any problems have came up, some future prospects about the upcoming work agenda for the month, week, day etc. We come in and get right into work restocking boxes, grabbing a tote, reading the order, taping up the correct – more... size box, scoring the box if needed, making sure all the items are in the tote, then packing them into box. Ensure the the mailing label is on the box in the correct area. Management is there is you need them and are very good to converse with, they will work with you through any problem. The co- workers are primarily good with your occasional bad apples that like to stir things up, I just like to stay out of all of that, I just like to come in and do my work and go home.The hardest part of this job is never knowing how much you will work in a week, the hours are not consistent, because it is a volume based company, so if they run out of work, they just tell us to go home and some of the totes can be heavy so if you get rotated to the end of the line and you are there for most of the week you get really wore out because the people at the beginning of the line take the lighter totes leaving you with the heavy stuff. I enjoy the job, because the steady-fast pace of it makes the day go by pretty quick- though the quota can wear you out, especially be the end of the week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Experience Ever
Design Consultant (Former Employee), Mt. Lebanon, PAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: nice products
Cons: no benefits, mean management, uncomfortable working conditions, poor training. manager hogs the leads.
If I could give less then one star I would. They are not for the employee. Whatever they tell you don't believe them. RUN....
There are too many good companies. I work for an income not for fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top notch brand that is truly leading ALL home retailers below Ralph Lauren Home.
Visual Merchandising Operations Manager (Former Employee), Corte Madera, CAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: super trend setting brand that is leading home retailers
Cons: not for the weak, need to have the drive, if you think you are just getting in and do little, not the place for you.
Absolutely a trend setting brand that I was so very blessed to have worked for and had the experience of building what we see today. From the front to the back of retail stores, the look, feel, sound, and smell of the brand and all aspects of what you see, I learned so much and feel it was the greatest company I have worked for.

The leadership is tough – more... if you are not willing to listen and take great notes, you should not consider the company. You need to ensure you have the drive to do better every time. The CEO is driven to be the best and will get there. Once you have his trust, he is very rewarding and true to the brand. The chief creative officer is right on trend and leading the industry on how things are developed and done in every creative aspect. The chief product officer is absolutely the best person to work with and for. Gets people, gets the product and understands what it takes to make it all happen.

Creatively the company has it's chosen few but they have earned their title and truly know the business. Each of the creative leaders is driving to always out do the last execution and it shows in all of what you see today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tracy, CAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: health benifits
Cons: management
Restoration Hardware was an ok place to work. It paid well for what you did and the customers were ok for the most part. However management played favorites which made the work environment uncomfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
sales associate (Current Employee), Vero Beach, FLJuly 14, 2014
Pros: hard work is rewarded
Cons: no benefits for part time workers
I enjoy working here just wish the position was full time. the company sells quality furniture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very negative environment
customer care advocate (Former Employee), West Jefferson, OhioJuly 11, 2014
Pros: very clean
Cons: management very poor, low morale, deceitful
You schedule changes every 3 months. Only time I received 40 hours of week was Nov & Dec. They listen to 100% of the calls and are very critical about what you say. You have to say the person name in the 1st sentence and repeat what the customer wants. They expect you to be on the call, follow SOP and note with details in under 10 min. If you cant do – more... this you will be wrote up. It doesnt matter if you are one minute late or 4 hours still 1/2 occurrence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad place
Backend support (Current Employee), Tracy caJuly 2, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: everything
RUN FROM THIS PLACE!!!!!! Very low wages, they rather give parties instead of raises!!! Management plays favorites, if your not their favorite you don't get ahead!!! They make you feel less and non important!

1 2 3 4 5

About Restoration Hardware

Restoration Hardware is a luxury brand in the home furnishings marketplace offering furniture, lighting, textiles, bathware, décor, – Read more

Restoration Hardware Photos