Find companies:
Restoration Hardware
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
145 reviews

Restoration Hardware Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management - False expectations
Sales Assocaite (Former Employee), TorontoJune 5, 2013
Pros: discount is nice. all non-management are great.
Cons: cult like. poor pay. minimal hours, never can be fulltime.
The typical work day included judgemental stares of your attire. Regardless of the high end brand names. Your are still given the once over and usually attacked for hair being out of place, a shoe needing polishing or your pants a shade to their disliking. Meanwhile, company dresscode (Business Casual) and is outlined on a poor sheet filled with images – more... of models wearing clothing from Banana Republic. Bottom line nothing is good enough and is based on opinions from management and favoritism. Push, Push PUSH to sell is the main goal. Forget all the ideas, goals and excitement they preach in meetings and the ideologies of the core values. It all comes down to SELL. Meet the quota with no incentive by the way or else face being penalized and of course losing hours. As an abusive bullying tactic hours are used as collateral. Take vacation that you've been planning for years, come home and for the next month you receive minimal hours as a lesson to show you to never disobey management. The hardest part is seeing the company for what it really is and realizing the tactics and mind control used to keep you where they want you. Your sucked in to think its an amazing design position when its a sales job. At the end you meet some great sales staff like yourself and thats it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Leader (Former Employee), Bayview, Toronto ONJune 3, 2013
Pros: discount on product
Cons: everything else
So many times while working here I thought to myself, I would rather be scrubbing puke off of a public bathroom floor than be here. The core values only apply when the store leader can use them against you. You will always be wrong in any scenario. You will NOT have a life. Leaving restoration hardware was the best choice I ever made. Please- if you – more... have any self esteem, don't apply. McDonald's pays the same if you need the money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff, Horrible Leaders/Management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 3, 2013
Pros: sales staff is amazing.
Cons: poor leadership and head office control, poor salary, high expectations
Pushed to sell, make daily quotas, penalized for not making sales. No place to advance. Minimal hours given, they hire too many PT employees to compete over hours. Management from head office comes down too hard on store leaders causing a trickle effect of animosity and negative attitudes. Co-workers on the sales floor are amazing, one thing restoration – more... hardware knows how to do is attract and obtain amazing people who are better than the position hired. Hardest part is trying to make a living while working there unless you are a manager/leader who gets full time. Otherwise you dedicate so much yet see nothing in return. You cant live off 10 hours a week. – less

June 5, 2013

I used to work at a Toronto location and I am glad to be out of there. Everyday there was a day wasted that I wish I could get back. Its sad to see that there are others out there who have the same regards towards the place.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, many great people to work with.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 6, 2013
Good company, many great people to work with. Some design experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and energizing job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Yonge Street Toronto, OntarioNovember 11, 2011
Pros: every morning meetings, we would have games related to core values, or getting to know you!
Cons: no promising full time job
The store has a homey and friendly environment. It caters to high end customers in majority who understands the beauty of restored furnishings with taste. Training was very good on how to meet the changing demands of our customers. They had product knowledge catalogues for us to learn & most of their Senior Employees were very generous helping us with – more... the products, placing orders & more. RH owns a wonderful core values that reflects their employees who had worked with them for many years. And new ones whether full-timer or part- timer have to learn the corporate values.
I enjoyed entertaining our customer's "furry children" who shops along with them and alot of them. So we made sure that we have on stock of pet treats by the register. It was a wonderful experience working with RH even for a few months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time design
Design Associate (Former Employee), Winter Park, FLOctober 17, 2014
Pros: inspring atompshere, cool furniture, great team.
Cons: not enough hours and pay vs. performace.
Each day I came in was there was always something new. The management team was awesome. The overall atmosphere was a very laid back sales environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was designing spaces for customers. The hardest part was my paycheck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service team with fun work ethics
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tracy, CAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: uplifting enviornment, opportunity to make conusmers happy
Cons: i have no complaints about restoration hardware, it was a great work experience.
On a typical day at restoration hardware my goal would be to answer about ten incoming customer service calls an hour. I learned to have patience, to greater my customer service skills, and to adapt to a changing face paced environment. I would have to say the hardest part about the job would be adapting to all the multitasking but it was something – more... that I perfected. I enjoyed working at restoration hardware because I had great coworkers and management, and I also enjoy helping customer fulfill their needs and make them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high turn over
Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee), Tracy, CAOctober 7, 2014
overwhelming with escalated customers
how to defuse an escalated situation and calm an irate customer
management is fair
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very organized place to work. Friendly co-workers
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 5, 2014
My job tittle require me to be very focus on driving and my aware of my surroundings. Thios job keep you busy and make your day go by very fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement Opportunities
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXSeptember 2, 2014
I answered phones and made out going calls I was able to establish a day to day routine and management was involved through weekly evaluations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back working environment with low demands
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAAugust 30, 2014
Pros: long lunch breaks, convenient and easy scheduling
Cons: workday can be boring
Working here was pretty much how I would imagine any sales associate job to be like. Though by working at a store where customers can drop over 10 grand on furniture lent itself to much more demanding and challenging interactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restoration hardware
Assembler (Former Employee), Mira Loma, CAAugust 14, 2014
A very good place to work.. Alot of over time during holidays
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and constantly busy.
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee), Tracy, CAAugust 13, 2014
I loved working for Restoration Hardware. I had a great supervisor and the work was challenging. I learned to build rapport with customers, learned to pay attention to detail, learned that companies can care for employees and their needs. Management was the best, always provided feedback and pushed you to do your best. The hardest part of the job was – more... to deal with upset customers that did not understand timeframes for shipping custom items. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work staff is very informative
Warehouse Asst (Former Employee), Tracy, CAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: paid weekly
Cons: works becomes slow after peak season many employees are laid off
A typical day at work can start at 4:00 am you can expect to have your work cut out for you. I learned a lot about management at this job supervisors worked very closely with employees. The work gets hard during the summer and it gets very hot sometimes. But most of all its a fun place to work you don't have to deal with customers face to face or over – more... the phone. You basically go to work do your job and go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
customer care (Current Employee), grand prairieAugust 10, 2014
this is the best place ever,only thing is that you cant miss just 1 day for any situation because you are in trouble
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun work environemnt.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), McLean, VAAugust 5, 2014
Restoration Hardware was all about the internal customer and knowing that in order to make the external customer satisfied, you had to make sure that your employees come first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment for Retouchers
Photo Editor (Former Employee), Corte Madera, CAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: free lunch during high season
The pixel-pit is laid back and the team is great to work with. They are very supportive in terms of skill set. Barring deadlines, management is also fairly relaxed and fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much attitude, then expecting you use your off time for the companies benefit
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Dunwoody, GeorgiaAugust 4, 2014
Pros: i didn't see any pros for this company.
Cons: attitude, no trust, demanding of your time, bad pay
Management has the attitude they are better than the employees that make the business happen! Never in all my retail career, have I ever felt incapable of doing my job. Management watching your every move, even though management tells you to step up and take care of issues. They believe you should not have a life outside the company... you should live – more... and breath for this company only. The pay is horrendous! Millions of dollars of merchandise is sold and you get a minuscule amount of money for what they ask for. At least give some kind of commission for the millions employees sell. Management acts like it's a privilege to work for the work company and under them.
Not worth the time nor effort! RUN!!!!!!!

If I could have given less than one star for management and work life balance, I would have! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive and busy
Advocate (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: ability to service real people in person . flexiable for sitting walking and standing
Cons: second shift
Control Point Operation ABS Brakes Components. Verifty and direct conerns to motor bay areas, for review/ either repairs from Chassis area. Sun Visor quality concern in Trim inspect areas of concerns and accept or reject base on quality and Team leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company for high end retail products
Packing Associate (Current Employee), West Jefferson, OHJuly 24, 2014
Pros: decent company, management is good
Cons: you must start through a temp company, only after so many hours, you can get hired on, what i hear is that around your 9 mth mark, they might hire you.no benefits. unstable hours
A morning meeting starts off the day, to give us some kind of ball park time we will be there, demonstration of what is needed and if any problems have came up, some future prospects about the upcoming work agenda for the month, week, day etc. We come in and get right into work restocking boxes, grabbing a tote, reading the order, taping up the correct – more... size box, scoring the box if needed, making sure all the items are in the tote, then packing them into box. Ensure the the mailing label is on the box in the correct area. Management is there is you need them and are very good to converse with, they will work with you through any problem. The co- workers are primarily good with your occasional bad apples that like to stir things up, I just like to stay out of all of that, I just like to come in and do my work and go home.The hardest part of this job is never knowing how much you will work in a week, the hours are not consistent, because it is a volume based company, so if they run out of work, they just tell us to go home and some of the totes can be heavy so if you get rotated to the end of the line and you are there for most of the week you get really wore out because the people at the beginning of the line take the lighter totes leaving you with the heavy stuff. I enjoy the job, because the steady-fast pace of it makes the day go by pretty quick- though the quota can wear you out, especially be the end of the week. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Restoration Hardware

Restoration Hardware is a luxury brand in the home furnishings marketplace offering furniture, lighting, textiles, bathware, décor, – Read more

Restoration Hardware Photos