Find companies:
Research In Motion
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
467 reviews

Research In Motion Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Corporate Company
Project Coordinator Co-op (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 16, 2014
Every employee has the pportunity to be innovative and create new products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work as we tried to develop cutting edge products
Software Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 14, 2014
Organization, Organization, Organization.... As with other Tech companies that haven't done so well in the past better organization, focus and execution is needed when so many smart people are assembled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great team
CAD Surface Designer- CGI Design (Current Employee), MississaugaMarch 12, 2014
I love my job and people that I work with. It's a great environment but the only thing that concerns me is the job security due to all the changes that are currently happening at BlackBerry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Obviously Not a Viable option for Long
Cosmetic Quality Inspection (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 10, 2014
Pros: great benefits, free gifts
Cons: long hours, company is dying, everyone laid off
Long hours, continental shift. Good benefits and perks though. Laid off while on Maternity Leave, thanks RIM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Field Return Analysis Engineering Technologist (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONMarch 10, 2014
Very friendly environment.

Hardest part was knowing if you were gonna have a job the next day ..

Working with new technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and salary
Configuration Management Analyst - HW Engineering (Former Employee), Waterloo, OntarioMarch 7, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: when i first started, the hours were almost 24/7, in the end we couldn't find enough work to keep busy.
I enjoyed the benefit of flexible hours, as I'm a morning person, so I would come into work for 7am. I was able to complete a lot of work before general meetings, and the day's activities started.

My co-workers were like family. The co-ordination of efforts between us helped in meeting deadlines. Also, sharing of new information or a new process was – more... always welcomed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...if you can stay.
Engineer (Former Employee), Waterloo, OntarioMarch 6, 2014
Pros: get to work on the latest technology and newest smartphones designs.
Cons: no room for promotions or career advancement.
9-5 style work environment, easy-going atmosphere. I think I was lucky to have an awesome manager and director, but higher-ups seem to lack real direction. Mushroom management and mushroom employees are everywhere. i.e. You may be kept in the dark about what is 'really' going on unless you happen to talk to the right person. Co-workers were great to – more... work with. Hardest part of the job was keeping to up-to-date on the all the technologies that everyone wanted to put into the products, some of it didn't make any sense. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning about why products are designed and made they way they are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowldge Booster
Software Developer -Front End Developer (Coop) (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 5, 2014
I learned many new programming key concepts
Like GWT
and get enough practice one
Software Tools like
ECLIPSE
GIT
PERFORCE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working environment with required training
WLAN Certification Tester Co-op (Former Employee), MissisaugaMarch 3, 2014
Pros: free lunch and training
Cons: nothing
It was a good work environment to develop your skills. All colleagues are very co-operative and supportive, which makes the work pressure less. The training facilities are remarkable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Tooling Engineer (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONMarch 3, 2014
Machine maintenance
Production line repairing
Spare part management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with great atmosphere
Test Software and Radio Lab Technician (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 2, 2014
Pros: benefits, appreciations, peace of mind
Cons: distance of travelling to work
All days were peaceful and productive
Learnt many skills such as use of test instruments and programming skills in Visual Studio c#, ATS Smart Vision
Appreciations from superiors
Great team members for collaboration
Some pressuring days due to high volume of production
Most enjoyable part of work is working with new technology and electronics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very satisfying and fun place to work
GRS Data Admin/Configuration Management Analyst (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 2, 2014
Pros: benefits and
Cons: automation leading to job cuts
Multitasking, great people to work with, amazing benefits and salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace
Insurance Analyst (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Continually challenged my knowledge in the Risk Management/Insurance industries. I learned something new every day in a culturally diverse environment with a great group of people. Toughest part of my job at BlackBerry is given the recent reorganization with the firm, it sometimes makes for a stressfull day. Despite that, I love everybody I work with – more... and look forward to going to work every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Workforce Systems Administrator (Former Employee), HalifaxFebruary 25, 2014
Amazing company to work for. Great benefits and compensation.
Reason for leaving: Site closure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive workplace
Premier Support Analyst (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 24, 2014
This was a fun place to work as co-workers were always beside each other
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment, excellent people
Software Developer (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: very dedicated people
Cons: missing the current trends
Great technologies exceptional people, solid performance, great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice employer
Software Developer (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 21, 2014
A good work-life balance;
good pay;
nice coworkers;
nice culture;
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced team environment
Research and Development - Software Test Engineer (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Good company to work for. Corporate smartphone and service provided. Good benefits package. RRSP contribution matching. Many health incentives. Flex hours available, but not globally enforced [can cause confusion]. Management is approachable, open dialogue encouraged. Typical work is M-F; however, being a smartphone manufacturer it can be difficult – more... to actually "disconnect" from the office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
3GPP COMPLIANCE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), waterloo, ontarioFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: opportunity to learn about emerging technologies at the source of their development
Cons: happened to be present during layoffs which created a less pleasant atmosphere
Learned about the network architecture and access technologies from GSM-3G. The material was well taught by an expert.

Great co-worker and management. Hardest part of the job were the hours where equipment malfunctioned however those instances provided opportunities to tackle a new problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company that allows room for advancement
PRODUCT DEMAND CONTROL MANAGER (Former Employee), WaterlooFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: blackberry losing space in the market causing job cuts
I worked with BlackBerry for 12 yrs. I have watched this company grow and was part of the growth.
The management style was trustworthy always motivating their employees to better themselves and the skills. I started my career in the call centre and grew with the company through internal courses that they offered and because a Product Demand Control – more... Manager who managed New Product Launches and End of Life Plans.
Co workers are fun and very helpful it was a team environment.
Management was always approachable and willing to help when needed.
Most enjoyable part of my job was starting a New Product plan for a product and executing it flawlessly end to end. It was rewarding. – less

Research In Motion Photos