Find companies:
Research In Motion
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
460 reviews

Research In Motion Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and famous work place
ASY (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONOctober 23, 2014
I was one of the best experience I ever had to work in one of the companies in Canada.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Human Resources Information System Analyst (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONOctober 22, 2014
working with different departments to update and improve processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Blackberry
Hardware Platform Integration Engineering Student (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONOctober 22, 2014
A typical day would involve a team meeting. After check-in's and goals were set, the team would separate and work on their individual tasks.
I learned how to better research and design.
I learned how to populate SMT boards better and more effectively.
I learned how to better my communication skills, in terms of team presentations and report writing.

My – more... co-workers were all friendly.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with lack of support in things like software development when we were strictly working on hardware projects.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to say that I worked at Blackberry and that I got to be part of several Patents applications – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss Ice cream Days
Electronic Assembler (Former Employee), Waterloo OntarioOctober 22, 2014
Great People
Exciting work environment
Lots of great training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative
Senior Human Resources (HR) Business Partner (Former Employee), waterloo, ONOctober 2, 2014
Fast paced environment
The people are wonderful, smart, creative and innovative
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and comfortable place to work with great compensation
Customer Information Analyst (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 30, 2014
I had a great experience working at BlackBerry and feel that I learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Software Testing Associate (Internship) (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 30, 2014
1) Typical day would be busy or free depending on the project deadlines
2) Learned about Software testing
3) Management was cooperative
4) Co-workers were approachable
5) Managing yourself under high-pressure work was the hardest part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place with nice people
line assembly (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 25, 2014
we had break time every 2 hours, and stretch time for five minutes in between had good time working at Rim.everyone was really nice and friendly.the company provide free coffee,tea and some other.
en which i enjoy very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Business System Analyst (SAP) (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 23, 2014
Blackberry is a great company, I worked on functional and technical site for project implementations Overall I am extremely satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there and would return
Display Lab Technician (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 23, 2014
Designed new test fixtures
Tested displays
reworked displays as required
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great small highly specialized team
Partner - Enterprise Architecture & Delivery (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: small, smart, motivated and credible
Cons: still small
Strong accomplished, credible, results-driven practitioner with extensive hands-on, in Program/Project applications and development with delivery management experience motivated group. RIMG counts with demonstrated ability to foster cost-effective operational improvements. Paired with a great reputation for delivering rapid and sustained increases to – more... profitability transformation delivery programs and projects across multiple geographies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
BlackBerry Technical Server Support Associate (Former Employee), Bedford, NSSeptember 8, 2014
This was a great place to work, the people and teams I worked with were very supportive of one another, while management promoted knowledge, training and advancement.

The head office in Waterloo, ON decided to close the CSO, Customer Support Operations satellite office in Bedford, NS at the end of the year 2013. This was a disappointment to myself – more... and the other employees who were laid off, but now I am excited to take all the knowledge, skills and experience I have gained from this job onto my next job opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, professionalism, team work, encouraging everyday.
Software Developer (co-op) (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: employee benifits
Cons: long meetings
Lets consider a typical day:
- start working on JIRA issues assigned by Team Lead.
- understand the issue and make some alternate solutions.
- discuss the solutions with issue-relevant senior team-member.
- submit the change in git for code-review.
- make changes in code based on code-review, if any.
- end of the day : team meeting to report individual's – more... work to Team Lead.

Co-worker are friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment for working place
Software Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Halifax, NSSeptember 3, 2014
I loved working there thoroughly for 3 years. Great work enviornment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company struggled through adversity in the market
BlackBerryTechnical and Server Support Rep (Former Employee), Halifax, NSAugust 26, 2014
Pros: good pay, benefits and work environment (early years)
Cons: management confusion, job security, work environment (recent years)
Company started excellent prior to competition narrowing the tech gap then quickly lost ground - internally and externally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast pace environment
Partner Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONAugust 22, 2014
Pros: flexibility
I enjoyed working at BlackBerry. My years with this company was very much enjoyed and appreciated. I gained many skills and made great friends who are now like family.
For the most part I had great managers. Most were exceptional and listened and involved us in processes and changes. I learned to work collaboratively with team mates to create from scratch – more... processes and procedures for a newly developed team and to continue to manage and update these processes.
The most enjoyable part of the job was providing the customers with information that they required and also handling their account on a daily basis to ensure thing ran seamlessly and effectively. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good team worker.
Board Repair Operator (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONAugust 19, 2014
I was work very hard.I have excellent skills working with all kinds of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work in
Systems Administrator (Current Employee), MississaugaAugust 7, 2014
Pros: work atmosohere
Cons: managment
good atmosphere and excellent work environment. management is problem issue
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, innovative place to work at.
SAP ABAP Developer Project Lead (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONAugust 5, 2014
Every department is different. In the department that I worked at, I worked on the latest technologies. I had a great experience here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grate company to work for
Quality Inspector (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONAugust 4, 2014
Pros: free icecream
Cons: continental shift
Inspected BB devices as per inspection procedures.

Learned how to use software and perform electrical tests.
Hardest part of the job was to reply all emails and not miss important one

Most enjoyable part of the job is inspect new devices

I would say management an co-workers OK

1 2 3 4 5

Research In Motion Photos