Find companies:
Rent A Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,295 reviews

Rent A Center Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great while it lasted
Lead Assistant Manager (Current Employee), St. Thomas, ONSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: relaxed envirnment
Cons: no advancement
answer phone s
accounts receivable
assist drivers
payroll bank deposits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Experience
Customer Account Rep - Store Manager (Former Employee), Brampton, OntarioApril 19, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: not enough focus on canadian stores
Great Place to work for, just need to focus a little more on Canadian Stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would work for again
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee), CanadaJanuary 3, 2013
sometimes you get overwhelmed with collections and deliveries, but overall a good place to work. I've been an employee three times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you don't have family
Sales Manager (Current Employee), CanadaMay 8, 2012
Cons: long hours, mean customers, no family time
It pays well, but it will chew you up and spit you out!! If you have family or any social life RUN!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 26, 2012
Hard to balance work and life working 50+ hours a week, no holidays to start and salary is slightly below where I believe it should be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Detroit, MIDecember 19, 2014
Its a job made for experience. it takes a special person to work here.
j.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job`
Accounting Manager (Former Employee), Aurora, CODecember 19, 2014
Enjoyed Working For This Company. Management Was Great. Pay Was Decent. Customers Were A Little Rough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressurized environment with small staff
Assist Store/ Sales Manager (Former Employee), Capitol Heights, MDDecember 18, 2014
Pros: district competitions for sales: free lunch, paid saturday off, win merchandise
Cons: too small staff, job threats, split off days, long hours
A Typical day at Rac for an Asst.Mgr./Sales Mgr. Is very stressful not only dose the person have to make sure everything that is being delivered that day is going out on time but the merchandise is in the store. The sales Mgr. coordinates everything from the time that deliveries get taking to the customers and information being verified on their applications. – more... It's up to the sales Mgr. to have the sales floor staged with pricing and promotions.In that position you receive consistent pressure from upper management to reach sales goals because the Sales Mgr. is the only one expected to make sales out of a small staff of five.These things are the reason your job is always in jeopardy and you are constantly reminded of that. when in all actuality if it wasn't for the sales Mgr. no one would have job because it's up to the Sales Mgr. to establish a rapport with the customers, that makes every ones else's position relevant. The hardest part of the job is long hours and split off days (50hrs.wk.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Takes a special kind of person to do this job
Store General Manager (Former Employee), Panama City, FLDecember 17, 2014
Pros: alot of hours
Cons: no time for family
When I first started RAC I enjoyed it. However I was single and young. Once I had a family it took alot of family time away and everything I did rotated around RAC. Coming in on your one day off and on salary, being told if you didn't come in you didn't care and therefore was looked down on. At the later part of my employment when district managers – more... changed, is when I really wanted to leave and did not even want to come to work any longer. The DM for disctrict 153 in 2012 was not quite the DM I looked up to, as all she did was down all of her employees and threaten them on a daily basis that she could fire them and to top it off with her foul launguage and inappropriate remarks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is what you make it.
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Columbia, MODecember 17, 2014
Pros: work atmosphere
Cons: work/life balance
Luckily I worked w/ a great group of guys, so work every day was almost like hanging out w/ friends. Obviously conflicts and disputes will arise as w/ any job, but all in all I look back on my time as a positive learning experience. I was the sales manager/ asst store manager, so I was responsible for the bulk of the sales/ customer interaction.

Hardest – more... part of job: Resolving conflicts w/ angry customers
Most enjoyable part of job: Customer interaction/ relationships built

Work/life balance was less than desirable. Often work until 7p or 8p including Saturdays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive work place
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Bonham txDecember 16, 2014
Pros: company discounts
Cons: no smoking on the truck
I came in and put everything on floor or outside to advertise our products that way they can sell. I have learned to sell products and how to put the products together and how to take them down. I also learned how to manage my time to where I got all my deliveries done before my shift ended. My co-workers were nice and great to work with. There was – more... nothing hard about this job to me. Everything I did at this job was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Manager
Account Manager (Former Employee), Lehigh Acres, FLDecember 13, 2014
Pros: lots of over time.
Cons: not enough break time.. rarely see your family
Job is horrible. Not for people who have a heart for others, as an account manager i had to make dicisions That. I wasn't too happy about..
Sometimes people where going through hard times in life. (New baby,death in the family etc) and they couldnt pay, my manager used to tell me.." i dont care pick it up..."
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity & New Experience
Auditor (Former Employee), McAllen, TXDecember 11, 2014
Managing accounts, employees, payroll, audits, all reports, inventory, and all day operations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderfull Work atmostphere
Customer Executive Account (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 11, 2014
Pros: location, staff and the work itself.
Cons: nothing!
This was 1 of my first jobs and I started off as a seasonal worker
and grew to be a Assistant Manager... It was a good job that started me to enjoy Customer Service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Accounts Manager (Former Employee), Waltham, MADecember 9, 2014
wonderful place to work, full of growth, and opportunities to learn and morph into the career oriented person you want to become.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Busy
Account Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 8, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: late night work, working 10 to 11 hour shifts
start collections then start deliveries. no work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excessively stressful job with mediocre salary.
Second Assistant Manager (Sales) (Current Employee), Lexington Park, MDDecember 5, 2014
Pros: decent co-workers, benefits offered, 401k matching
Cons: 47+ hour work weeks, no schedule flexibility, mediocre salary
I began working for Rent A Center in January of 2013. When I was hired, I was lead to believe that I would be responsible for making sales. This quickly turned into performing collections duties, deliveries, and other miscellaneous tasks that were not originally explained.

The company has recently restructured their salary system, resulting in a loss – more... of almost $200 per month from the amount I was hired for.

Overall, the company has a great "vision"- provide goods to people that have had financial hardship that they would otherwise not be able to attain. However, I believe that the quotas and standards enacted undermine this.

You have to be a very mentally strong person to handle this job. From difficult clients to strenuous expectations from corporate, it is by no means an easy paycheck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Alton, ILDecember 5, 2014
Pros: great work
I would have a meeting in the morning to discuss what we needed to do. then start the collection calls. I love the face to face with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rent a center
Full time Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee), presque isle, meDecember 4, 2014
I would move couches and help costumers pay their bills. Also try to sell them items that they needed and wanted
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee), Liberal, KSDecember 4, 2014
typical work day, not knowing what to do. boss didn't know what to do. a co worker and i did all managment work while he did nothing. never work for this company agian

1 2 3 4 5

About Rent A Center

Our stores offer name-brand furniture, electronics, appliances and computers through flexible rental purchase agreements that – Read more