Find companies:
Reitmans Fashion Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

Reitmans Fashion Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would have stayed forever if they paid more.
Customer service (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 23, 2013
Pros: 50% off clothing
Cons: low pay
Great team, and a fun environment.. Just can't live on the wages they pay. If they had better pay I never would have left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashion trend really inspired me, learned a lot of new ways to put together outfits. learned how to multitask.
Cashier & Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 6, 2013
Pros: yes, we had free meals when we had meetings and celebrations
Cons: yes, weekends and evenings.
Greeting customers and providing them product knowledge was day to day challenge because we had different types of materials and fabrics. Sometimes handling difficult customers and dealing with issues such a returning the product with out the receipts or bring it after the expiry date of the receipts was bit challenging. I learn to be poised and calm – more... in difficult situations. I really enjoyed visual merchandising, the hardest part of the job was when we had to setup the store walls according to the floor plan. I loved the new products that came into the store daily. We had a great team and I learned to share the responsibilities. Our management team was very co-operative and understanding. I always looked forwarding to going to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PROMOTION FROM WITHIN
Retail Manager (Former Employee), Leamington, ONApril 11, 2013
Pros: gained a lot of experience in hr management
Cons: not having enough autonomy for specific target needs
GREAT TEAM ENVIRONMENT,ENJOYED MY BOSS--SHE WAS A LEADER WHO PRACTICED WHAT SHE PREACHED AND REALLY BELIEVED THAT EVERYONE COULD MAKE A DIFFERENCE GIVEN THE RIGHT TRAINING & SUPPORT, NOT HAVING THE RIGHT PRODUCT TO MEET OUR CUSTOMERS NEEDS AT TIMES WAS NOT ONLY CHALLENGING BUT PROVED TO BE A DETRIMENT TO OUR BUSINESS. I LEARNED HOW TO MEET THESE CHALLENGES – more... AND TO PROVIDE THE COMPANY WITH ADDITIONAL CUSTOMER INFORMATION SO THEY COULD MAKE INFORMED DECISIONS WHEN ALLOCATING PRODUCT: IN ESSENCE I LEARNED TO ADVOCATE FOR MY CUSTOMERS AND MY TEAM. I ENJOYED MY TIME WITH THIS COMPANY – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 28, 2013
Pros: friendly co-workers and management, staff discount
Cons: short hours
I have worked so many places and am so glad I had the pleasure to work at Reitmans.
The managment is fantastic. I know it was not just my store because I helped at other stores on off days. They were kind and caring but yet remained in control. I have epilepsy and it's really hard to find managment and co-workers that understand and they did. It was – more... like a little family.
No matter how busy it got there was always help. The hardest part of my job was telling my little Reitmans family that I was moving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dynamic and challenging job
Réceptionniste (Current Employee), Montreal, QuebecMarch 5, 2013
The work load was heavy at this job, but the work was challenging and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate--Meet daily target, provide customer service, cashier, merchandising/stocking
Sales Associate (Current Employee), St CatharinesDecember 6, 2012
Currently, I am working at Reitmans, Canada’s largest female specialty retailer, as a sales associate. My goal is to meet daily sales target and to use my human resource knowledge to help understand what customers want and need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Plus-Sized Fashions to Help Love Your Body
Sales Associate - Addition-Elle & Penningtons (Former Employee), Toronto, ON and Red Deer, ABNovember 19, 2012
Pros: excellent discount on clothing
Cons: not a living wage
With excellent coaching toward self and sales improvement as well as a positive, fast-paced work environment, this has been my favourite retail position over many occasions. (I often took summer jobs while in College and seasonal periods.) Helping women find the wardrobe that expresses themselves is definitely the most rewarding part of this role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job meeting new clients hourly
Manager/Assitant Manager (Former Employee), Charlottetown, PEAugust 27, 2012
Pros: coworkers
Cons: standing long hours
Selling clothes to those who came in to the location, meeting goals set out, coaching staff how to achieve goals, and recruiting new staff. The long hours standing on a concert floor were hard on the legs but having the coworkers I had made up for the sore legs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment, fun atmosphere
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Langley, BCAugust 7, 2012
Pros: 50% clothing discount
Cons: young inexperienced staff members
A typical day at work consited of me basically being a girlfriend to our customers and enhancing their shopping experience by making valuable suggestions to their purchase considerations and showing the customer how to complete their wardrobe with Reitmans products. I had fabulous co-workers who made my work day enjoyable. The hardest part of the job – more... was ensuring that we hit our daily sales targets. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers and creating repeat business through key relationships with our clientele. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time
Sales associate (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABJuly 18, 2012
Pros: enjoyed working in the fashion and sales. working with the public.
Cons: temporary
I was helping them out during a time when i was setting up my business in a new location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Team Lead
Sales Team Lead (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 3, 2012
I enjoyed my time at Reitmans. I enjoyed working with people, whether it be with my colleagues, or with customers that walk through the door on a daily basis. I always had to keep my mind one step ahead of the customer, to anticipate what she would be thinking and see if there is anything that I could do to break down or to solve the customer's problems.

On – more... a typical day, I would:
- Handle cash
- Customer Service
- Maintained inventory, both on the floor and in the back room
- Training of new and old employees with new materials brought to everyone's attention – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work setting
Sales Associate (Former Employee), London, ONApril 12, 2012
Working at Smart Set was a lot of fun. I met a lot of great people, had fun with fashion, and learned tones about the industry. I loved working for Reitmans
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive place to work with...
ASSISTANT MANAGER for THYME MATERNITY (Current Employee), Regina, SKMarch 26, 2012
I was able to use all my experience and education and skills like training, development & coaching, doing performance reviews for employees, payroll, solving complex customer services issues, supervise the employees to enusre the company standards are maintained in the areas of customer service, operations, visual merchandise and human resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: good staff, good location, 50% clothing discount
Cons: part time with very minimal hours
A typical day at Reitmans consisted of assisting customers with finding clothing items they were looking for and building off that item to create an outfit. Example; a customer is looking for dress pants and maybe a shirt for an interview. I would show her our dress pants find out what style and cut she is looking for then move on to colour and pattern. – more... Once we found pants she loves I would show her some dress shirts, cardigans, blazers and blouses to find out what style she is most comfortable in for an interview. Once we have determined a style I would help her find a colour that pops so she will stand out of the crowd and accessories to finish off the look.

When the store wasn't too busy I would unpack stock and put it out on the floor, create displays from our plan-o-gram and clean the store.

The staff at the store was a lot of fun to work with the managers were a blast we actually had game night once a month with the staff.

The thing I liked best about Reitmans was the clothing and my discount, we received 50% off everything in store. I also loved helping the customer find and awesome outfit and feel good about herself. The one thing I didn't like about the company was the hours I was hired as part time but I never really got any hours. I would go in for a 5 hour shift and they would tell me its not busy enough go home after 3 hours, i would get called constantly telling me my shift was cancelled because we weren't busy enough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company & the wages are average
Store Manager (Former Employee), EdmontonMarch 21, 2012
Pros: good management training twice a year .
Cons: no free lunches ever not even on boxing days.
A good company but too much pressure from the supervisors related to sales . Lot of focus on theoratical aspect than the practical aspect .The overall team was very productive / organised & great with customers ,work was fun often . Wages could have been better .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convivialité en milieu de travail
Préparateur de commandes (Current Employee), MontréalJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: superviseur flexible
Cons: perpectives d'avancement tres limitées
Département de commerce électronique. La journée de travail débute à 7h00 du matin. Une fois sur les lieux, je me dirige vers le coffre à scanners afin d'aller chercher les articles entreposés dans des espaces prévus à cet effet. Les codes des articles sont envoyés automatiquement sur le scanner. Une fois le Picking fait, le packing ou répartition des – more... articles par commande-client peut commencer. Dès qu'il y en a suffisamment, je vais au shipping qui consiste à revérifier la conformité de la commande et des coordonnées du client, l'emballer, la peser, imprimer l'étiquette des coordonnées et la mettre dans une cage à l'intention du ramassage de Canada post. Des taches générales de manutention sont également effectuées.
Les opportunités de développement à mon sens quasi-inexistantes; toutefois le management, du moins dans mon département est de qualité. La cordialité et l'esprit d'équipe caractérisent la plupart de ceux de mon département.Je ne trouve rien de difficile pour ce qui est de mes responsabilités au sein de l'entreprise et le point le plus satisfaisant pour moi est l`'atteinte des objectifs qui se résument en la livraison aux client sous un délai fixé. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grande possibilité d`avancement
Gérante de magasin (Former Employee), Montréal, QCApril 19, 2013
Pros: la possibilité de grandir
Cons: b.
j`ai aimée travailler pour cette compagnie.J`ai travaillée sur plusieurs projets et c`était tres motivant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formation de commis de vente - Reitmans
conseillère de mode et à l'atelier (Former Employee), Québec, QCMarch 8, 2013
Pros: j'ai apprit comment fonctionne les boutiques.
Cons: la vente à tout prix quand la cliente entre en boutique. toujours proposer et encore, je m'y sentais pas à l'aise.
Lors de mon passage, j'ai vu l'envers du décor pas en tant que cliente mais commis.
Le support n'était pas toujours disponible pour avoir des réponses car le personnel est peu nombreux dans les boutiques et souvent beaucoup de choses à penser pour alimenter les ventes.
Le contact avec la clientèle était vraiment le principe de faire savoir que j'étais – more... là mais souvent trop direct ne laissant pas le temps d'entrer dans la boutique ce qui donnait des retours de talons des clientes. Mais c'est le principe des petites boutiques! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secrétaire au V.-P, Ressources Humaines
Secrétaire au Vice-Président, Ressources Humaines (Former Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 29, 2012
Pros: patron maîtrisant son domaine et plusieur autres, très agréable de travailler avec lui
Cons: conflit entre la gérante du personnel et le v.-p, ambiance difficile
- Énormément de travail confidentiel
- Connaissance et mise à jour des lois sur l'employabilité au niveau national
- Traduction de documents
- Dactylographie et mise à jour des documents