Find companies:
Reitmans Fashion Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

Reitmans Fashion Group Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was not what i signed up for
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee), AncasterNovember 6, 2014
Pros: i was the only merchandiser in my store.
Cons: it wasn't the type of position that i was used to.
I was the in-store visual merchandiser for the women's apparel store, Reitmans. I do all placement of merchandise on the sales floor according to a visual directive and place all marketing,
using a marketing guide. I do all displays and mannequin dressings. All seasonal set ups and dress
the store for holidays and special promotions. I do all the shipping – more... and receiving of stock and supplies.
I adjust all the lighting and make the selling floor as appealing and attractive as possible! I manage the
backroom, keeping all over-stock, marketing, shelving, and supplies in a neat and organized manner.
I have trained staff on visual techniques and procedures, and much more!
gain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff, clean and fresh work environment, interactive
Fashion Associate (Former Employee), Regina SaskOctober 8, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: weekend and evening shifts, low pay
Reitmans is a fast-paced women's fashion retailer, promoting practical, trendy, affordable clothing for all body types. An employee is expected to dress professionally, possess expert product knowledge, work well with others, improve sales, reach target goals, and improve the shopping experience for the customers. I have grown to be more social and – more... inept in the field of customer service. As a result, I have gained a deeper understanding for troubleshooting common customer concerns and complaints. I worked with a diverse group of employees, such as: students, homemakers, university graduates, other part-time employees who worked at Reitmans for a second Job, etc. The management was productive, effective, caring, knowledgeable, professional, encouraging and helpful. The hardest part of the job was troubleshooting common customer complaints. However, with an understanding of the policy and the customer's needs and wishes, I used my discretion to grant store credits and refunds. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the public in guaranteeing a pleasant shopping experience in order to promote sales and loyalty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: discount on clothing, leg workout from running around the store, friendly staff
Cons: irate customers, very busy and stressful during holidays
You are expected to work at a fast and efficient pace throughout the day but if you are a people person it can be a very enjoyable workplace.

They tend to hire positive and friendly employees so they help ease the stress of the job.

The most difficult part of the job is dealing with negative and grumpy customers, you need to keep a positive demeanor – more... even if you are being verbally attacked by a customer.

The most enjoyable part is the happy customers and friendly staff. I came away from that job with several friendships that have lasted even after I left the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underappreciated by upper management, reactive decision making, lack of respect given to staff and unrealistic objectives.
Management (Former Employee), GTASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: good discount
Cons: unrealistic expectations, lack of work/life balance, upper management is unreliable at best
Typical day of work consisted of providing attentive customer service and getting treated with a lack of respect by customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work place
Visual Merchandiser/Product Management (Former Employee), Pointe-Claire, QCSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: no training for employees, no oppurtunities fro advancement
I have met some great people with many talents that have taught me great values. Overall, this company was a challenge to work for because it did not have any training programs, I saw many co workers that had potential to be great if they had the appropriate training. Turn over rate was terrible, simply because the management teams did not value staff – more... and demanded to much from everyone, creating a stressful environment that was hard to succeed in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of fun
is Sales Associate (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 1, 2014
Nice co workers, learned a ton within a couple days, coworkers are wonderful and enjoyed the whole atmosphere of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great discount - management needs some correction
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Leduc AlbertaAugust 19, 2014
Loved working at Reitmans for the first manager and loved the crew there but then the work environment started to change. The upper management might like to take note that 7 people quit in a month and usually that is an indication there is something wrong.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a productive and fun workplace
Fashion Associate (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 18, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: shifts were random and far apart.
No job is ever perfect, but at Reitmans I thoroughly enjoyed working with the co-workers. There was room for growth and learning and eventually career growth. My only issue was the hours. There was not enough for anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fellow employees and supervisors
Cashier, Sales Associate, Stock Associate (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 15, 2014
Pros: fun and safe working environment
Cons: no stress mats when working in the back room
I worked for the most part receiving stock merchandise, hanging or folding clothes, steaming clothes, pricing every item in the store and setting up displays. I would also cover for fellow workers with handling the cash register and dropping off money in the safe and assisting customers. My managers were really great and approachable regarding any questions – more... or concerns. The hardest part of the job was unpacking all of the clothing in one shift when we would receive a larger than normal shipment of merchandise. I enjoyed every part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service, fashion
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Montréal, QCApril 15, 2014
• Supervised staff once a week and ensure proper openings and closings of the store
• Reconciliation of cash register
• Cashier in various areas such as returns, impose store policies, purchasing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warm and fuzzy enviroment with great leaders that provide enthusiasm and knowledge
SalLES ASSOCIATE AND CASHIER (Former Employee), Brampton, ONApril 8, 2014
Pros: excellent team, scheudled breaks
Cons: not enough hours
sizing, pricing clothing
Greeting customers
Bringing stock from backroom for replenshipmentè
Assisting customers with wardrobing needs
Building repeat customers with amazing customer service
cashier duties
assisting customers with sizes and add ons in the changeroom
changing signage,price points,new event
reporting to assistant manager
manitaing sales – more... quotas
meeting and exceeding weekly targets – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low wages
Team Lead (Former Employee), Kingston, OntarioApril 8, 2014
Enjoy serving customers.
Great team work.
Goal is to assist in maximizing the sales.
Provide the coaching and leadership.
Assist with the hiring.
Excellent fashion sense and visual presentation skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my short time with Reitmans
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Edmonton ABApril 4, 2014
I had fun working with Reitmans and loved the ladies I was working with. I couldn't stay because the full time position I was hired for didn't come through and I needed to be working full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace to be in
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Georgetown, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: short hours
The ladies that I work with at Reitmans are some of the kindest to the funniest ladies I have ever met. They all have families of their own and love working with each other. They all keep a balanced life style and make time for other things. They always help me on what I need to know about the store on to what's new and how it is fitting to our customers – more... so far. I need to know what our customer is looking for but isn't sometimes what I find is what they are looking for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy store!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), St. AlbertFebruary 26, 2014
Cons: not enough time to excute planograms, not enough hours for part-timers caused lack of coverage on the sales floor.
I enjoyed working at Reitmans! Good staff make all the difference. Fun atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with, Great Customers to serve.
Fashion Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 14, 2014
I enjoyed working at Reitmans very much, I couldn't get enough hours to continue working there. I worked 11 hrs a week some weeks, but I know with retail there are spurts of busy times and not so busy times, which effects our hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shift Leader - Part Time (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ON.February 11, 2014
Pros: friendly and fun working atmosphere
A typical day at work involves helping customers find what they are looking for, up selling and cross selling if what they really want is not available at that moment. The management is a set of very friendly and driven professionals and my co-workers were the best part of my job; they were friendly, helpful and we always worked as a team when needed. – more... The most challenging part was helping customers with very unique style preferences; but I have learnt that by being an attentive listener, you can provide even the hardest customers something that they might like, eventually. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashion Group
Sales associate (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: discount on clothes (employees)
Cons: not enough hours in slow months
Always meet new people that come in to the shop& find out what type of work they do, to see what they acquire for their job & every day wear as well . A typical work day is about 6 hrs sometimes if busy or if it's not it's usually a shorter shift for some people& for others it's a longer shift. I have met a lot of co-working while i have been there, – more... and have stayed friends with them as well outside of the company. The most enjoyable part of the job , is that you get to see the clothes before the customers have a chance to look at it& purchase as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work at
Import Co-ordinator (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: store discount
It was a friendly and enjoyable place to work, Had no problems with the job I was doing and enjoyed every aspect of my job.

I worked well under pressure and had no problems meeting deadline
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much expected from employees with no recognition
SALES ASSOCIATE and TEAM LEAD (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCJanuary 11, 2014
Was expected to do a job but not be paid for it. The management wasn't really available to help and expected a lot from the employees without giving any positive feedback. We only heard negative comments.

1 2 3

About Reitmans Fashion Group

Reitmans, Limited is a Canadian retailing company, specializing in women's clothing, that was founded in 1926 by Herman and Sarah – Read more