Find companies:
Regis Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
144 reviews

Regis Corporation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They care very little about their employees
Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), Burlington, ONDecember 27, 2013
They seem to have a lot of money to advertise, but they don't pay well. They don't care about employee retention at all, their attitude is if you don't like it here leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
where I worked, none of the stylist got along
stylist (Former Employee), Fredericton, NBOctober 24, 2013
Pros: they bought the equipment
Cons: not enough pay for the amount of time you spend doing a good job on the clients
poor pay, too many hours, not enough breaks in the day. One if you are lucky.
My manager was great, to your face, behind your back, watch out. It's a cut throat world in these salons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average leadership
Director (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNNovember 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch. free parking
Cons: management structure
A company with average leadership. Very much a "Good Old Boys Club"
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard, Low pay, doesn't care for employees
Stylist (Former Employee), solihull/redditchNovember 18, 2014
Pros: we got free hair services... sometimes.
after working for regis for 5 years, i have realised that i will never be paid above minimum wage for my highly practised skills. holidays are terrible, you only get four saturdays off per year. not once have i ever been asked where i want to go with my career, no growing room to progress onto another position.
there is no constant training, as we never – more... had time to leave the salon. or reviews, so staff could map their progress and targets.
commission awful and targets unrealistic.
typical days would be very very busy with back to back clients, and often no lunch break.
management was poor, they only cared about making money and staff are treated badly. and often didn't see any prizes to competitions or incentives that we had won. co-workers extremely catty and two-faced. never felt comfortable and often this shows to clients.
the most enjoyable part of the job was being able to interact with my clients one on one and never leave them. able to take my own equipment in meaning i didn't have to worry about being liable for any damages.
learned how to handle myself under pressure and to work without eating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regis
Operator (Current Employee), Houston, TxNovember 1, 2014
I've been with this corporation for many years. Great Company to work for. The company does offer training to stay up to date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive always busy
Shipping and Receiving (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNNovember 1, 2014
Pros: we eat free everyday we also always have a picnic for employees and family
Cons: health care breaks
productive staying very busy ,learned iam very productive and management is always there fir me.co-workers try and work as a team,the hardest part of the day is making sure all needs are met.the most enjoyable part is having a productive day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started Regis in 1989 as stylist. Became salon manager in 1993. Worked multi salons as manager. Manage multi stores
District Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 27, 2014
Pros: loved the business and hard work.
Cons: hated when regis took a cut on employees and my position was no longer there.
Typical day. Imay be in Maryland working a store by myself and be called in Delaware that the entire staff had quit, while my stores in West Virginia were calling for a back ground check on an applicant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Hairstylist/Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Newark, OhioOctober 21, 2014
I was a Hairstylist so everyday was different. I loved meeting new people and making them feel good about themselves. The challenges to the job would be guiding people in a different direction if what they had picked out didn't work for them. The one thing I enjoyed was putting a smile on someones face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful upper managment
Manager/Stylist (Former Employee), Kokomo, INOctober 21, 2014
Pros: hourly pay
Cons: minimum wage. managment.
The district leaders as well as the regional leaders are unorganized, disrespectful, and deceitful. I had my salon manager take over date, went in to sign my contract and was informed that the position was no longer available. The DL and RL had already approved me for the manager position. I quit my second job to devote all my time to the salon I was – more... taking over. The stylist only make 7.25 per hour and there isnt much opportunity for advancement. I have worked for this company in 4 different locations hoping it wasnt the same everywhere and it was awful everywhere. I do not suggest any Regis branch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
advancement reviews
Salon Manager (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNOctober 14, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: long hours during holidays
Started as stylist and was in management in 3 years.

The education they offer is great.

And I was working with a manger who did not mind taking the time to teach me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs some major improvement
Smart Style Stylist (Former Employee), NCSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and gaining experience
Cons: they expect you to be an assembly line to stay on commission- good luck, needs better screening for employees i.e drug testing, appearance is everything - dirty store and unprofessional looking employees
Thankful for the experience but there are more cons than pros working there. . The turnover rate is bad with Smartstyle because of lack of training and unwillingness to change. It's never a good store when 4 employees resign within 3 months of each other. Managers need more training in the areas of scheduling, professional appearance, and people management – more... skills. My manger worked 9 to 3 every day and had 3 to 4 days scheduled off back to back. At smartstyle when a customer has a complaint and wants their money back, doesn't like the color and so forth the manager has to do the correction. People work 8 to 5 and can't get there when management is there. It's a ridiculous rule. We all trained in school and are capable of correcting.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Expanding major haircare business with many acquisitions & nice people
Merchandise Planning & Distribution (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: growing company, nice people, complimentary cafeteria
Cons: cold weather, cold office, hard to move up
Team meeting to communicate any issues, challenges and acknowledgements followed with MPD departmental communication to review and monitor all weekly account order allocations. Analyzing and cutting orders to fit within budget and, or regulatory compliance standards, especially all outbound Canadian shipments, resolving those issues and releasing orders – more... to the DC and logistics team. I learned how a chain salon and major haircare expansion model works with constant acquisitions, automatic replenishment programs, order reviews and allocations, and the challenges or endless CN compliance regulations for various types of products. How to minimize mistakes, fix them, and stay within budget while preventing chargebacks. My co-workers were pleasantly nice and friendly, family oriented people who loved reality television and gossip. The hardest part of the job was educating certain account managers of regulatory compliancy needs and the importance of timeliness with their order releases keeping the operational big picture in mind. The most enjoyable part of the job was saving the company thousands of dollars and gaining recognition for "saving the day" prior to what could have been major CN border issues or over-budget challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and rewarding
Hair Stylist/Manager (Current Employee), Staten Island, NYSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: sometimes buisness is slow
enjoy working with my fellow workers, we work as a team. my job is very rewarding and love making my cliets feel good about themselves
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked and underpaid
Store Manager (Former Employee), Selinsgrove, PAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: great co workers and meeting new people everyday
Cons: benefits are awful, pay is next to nothing
I worked for this company for almost 6 years and have seen regis plummeting down hill from there. In the past couple years they have restructured twice and the CEO knows nothing about doing hair he's just like running a business blind. I was a store manager and felt threatened of losing my job all the time,the district leader was just a brown noser – more... and hated my store because she was a previous store manager and always had it out for us, because we are located in the same mall and use to be ran separately. She is write up happy and would write you up for anything she could find or make up to make herself look powerful,she does not know her job,and nore does she know how to train anybody a monkey could do a better job than her.the first couple years of working here were great than they restructured and got rid of our area supervisors that knew what they were doing, and combined us with holiday hair and smart styles instead of keeping them separately ran. I would never work for this company ever again. Unless they got rid of the district lead that is awful and rude. The greatest part about my job is the customers and the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Yakima, WAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: very fun and enjoyable
Cons: no benefits and insurance and was on minimum wage or commission and sometimes was really slow.
I have a variety of things to do from cutting hair, perming and coloring the hair I talked to people about hair products and let them know which ones, I learn a lot of what a stylist does on a daily basis with different clients. I got along with everyone in the job really enjoy it, the hardest part was understanding what the client needed at times and – more... fixing a corrective color. I enjoy a lot because everyday was something different and you get alot of different customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 11, 2014
I was the manager of 10- 15 employees. In charge of everyday operations. Opening the store to function revenue. Making sure store was presentable. Cleaned and in order. On a slow day when customers needed invited in, I would walk the mall halls and bring in customers with discount cards. Customer service was essential. Products and retail products sold – more... as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
AKA Supercuts Hairstylist (Former Employee), aurora colorado Hampden and towerJuly 8, 2014
Pros: comission
Cons: managment was not satisfying
I have worked for Regis Corporation on and off for 5 years have had different managers at each one High turnover the Sliding Scale I think is more on old school pay. I have been a Stylist for 10 years Have worked for franchises and corporate salons. and I feel that with many managers there is much favortisim with certain empolyees then others that are – more... dependable and hard working and do not get credit for business. that supports the salon. my co workers were great except for a few who are bad apples.. the hardest job about my employment with regis I worked at one salon for a month and was needed at one other store I made average tips 30.00 dollars a day and got transferred to another store and was lucky to make 2.00 a day. my manager at my store was hardly ever at my salon. The training program was 4 stars learned a lot of new techniques. all in out it was job security. pay check to paycheck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Salon Manager (Former Employee), Red Oak, TXJune 17, 2014
Pros: employees discounts
Cons: commission
Sometimes we were busy sometimes slow. It was a very clean, serene atmosphere. Anyone could come in and get great services and enjoy good conversation with everyone(guest and employees).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Stylist (Former Employee), GuthrieMay 27, 2014
Pros: free products, discount on product, clients
Cons: work environment, management
I've been a licensed cosmetologist since 2004. I have worked for SmartStyle twice and I'll never work for them again. The managers they hire are complete jokes and so are upper level managers. They say they offer continuing education classes, in the the three years I worked there only one class was offered. The shops are always under staffed and the – more... only salon I've ever worked in that don't have mats around the style chairs for you to stand on. I left the company because the hot water tank almost caught on fire and the area leader just told me that I'd have to wait til after the weekend before they have someone come look at it and they're also watching the budget. They don't care if their clients or employees are in a safe working environment. If you're just gettting out of school and want to build clientele that's the only good thing you can benefit from this place because you can leave after you build it up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 year old Teenager for District Leader/ Dirty Salon
Stylist (Former Employee), Selinsgrove PAMay 24, 2014
Pros: good place to start because you can make many mistakes
Cons: everything else
Worked at Holiday Hair and it was the worst salon I've ever worked in. They don't even deserve the 1 star they got. They don't even deserve one start for anything. Most of the stylists there keep filthy stations, including the district leader, and don't even clean out their clippers in between clients, let alone clean their brushes. The Manager was – more... seen using a soiled towel, from the soiled linens, to blot a perm dry because no one had touched laundry the day before. The "senior stylists" act like a bunch of 40 year old teenagers and prefer to gossip about you than directly handle a situation. I'll never work for regis again.

The management was horrible, some girls were told to dress more provocatively at work to make more money. We were also expected on our time off to saturate the surrounding businesses with coupons. They don't allow for individuality, or uniqueness, and although they offer education it is up to your manager to allow you to take that education even if you need it. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Regis Corporation

Regis Corporation is engaged in owning, operating and franchising hair and retail product salons. The Company owns Hair Club for – Read more

Regis Corporation Photos