Find companies:
Regis Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
131 reviews

Regis Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They care very little about their employees
Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), Burlington, ONDecember 27, 2013
They seem to have a lot of money to advertise, but they don't pay well. They don't care about employee retention at all, their attitude is if you don't like it here leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
where I worked, none of the stylist got along
stylist (Former Employee), Fredericton, NBOctober 24, 2013
Pros: they bought the equipment
Cons: not enough pay for the amount of time you spend doing a good job on the clients
poor pay, too many hours, not enough breaks in the day. One if you are lucky.
My manager was great, to your face, behind your back, watch out. It's a cut throat world in these salons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 11, 2014
I was the manager of 10- 15 employees. In charge of everyday operations. Opening the store to function revenue. Making sure store was presentable. Cleaned and in order. On a slow day when customers needed invited in, I would walk the mall halls and bring in customers with discount cards. Customer service was essential. Products and retail products sold – more... as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
AKA Supercuts Hairstylist (Former Employee), aurora colorado Hampden and towerJuly 8, 2014
Pros: comission
Cons: managment was not satisfying
I have worked for Regis Corporation on and off for 5 years have had different managers at each one High turnover the Sliding Scale I think is more on old school pay. I have been a Stylist for 10 years Have worked for franchises and corporate salons. and I feel that with many managers there is much favortisim with certain empolyees then others that are – more... dependable and hard working and do not get credit for business. that supports the salon. my co workers were great except for a few who are bad apples.. the hardest job about my employment with regis I worked at one salon for a month and was needed at one other store I made average tips 30.00 dollars a day and got transferred to another store and was lucky to make 2.00 a day. my manager at my store was hardly ever at my salon. The training program was 4 stars learned a lot of new techniques. all in out it was job security. pay check to paycheck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Salon Manager (Former Employee), Red Oak, TXJune 17, 2014
Pros: employees discounts
Cons: commission
Sometimes we were busy sometimes slow. It was a very clean, serene atmosphere. Anyone could come in and get great services and enjoy good conversation with everyone(guest and employees).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Stylist (Former Employee), GuthrieMay 27, 2014
Pros: free products, discount on product, clients
Cons: work environment, management
I've been a licensed cosmetologist since 2004. I have worked for SmartStyle twice and I'll never work for them again. The managers they hire are complete jokes and so are upper level managers. They say they offer continuing education classes, in the the three years I worked there only one class was offered. The shops are always under staffed and the – more... only salon I've ever worked in that don't have mats around the style chairs for you to stand on. I left the company because the hot water tank almost caught on fire and the area leader just told me that I'd have to wait til after the weekend before they have someone come look at it and they're also watching the budget. They don't care if their clients or employees are in a safe working environment. If you're just gettting out of school and want to build clientele that's the only good thing you can benefit from this place because you can leave after you build it up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 year old Teenager for District Leader/ Dirty Salon
Stylist (Former Employee), Selinsgrove PAMay 24, 2014
Pros: good place to start because you can make many mistakes
Cons: everything else
Worked at Holiday Hair and it was the worst salon I've ever worked in. They don't even deserve the 1 star they got. They don't even deserve one start for anything. Most of the stylists there keep filthy stations, including the district leader, and don't even clean out their clippers in between clients, let alone clean their brushes. The Manager was – more... seen using a soiled towel, from the soiled linens, to blot a perm dry because no one had touched laundry the day before. The "senior stylists" act like a bunch of 40 year old teenagers and prefer to gossip about you than directly handle a situation. I'll never work for regis again.

The management was horrible, some girls were told to dress more provocatively at work to make more money. We were also expected on our time off to saturate the surrounding businesses with coupons. They don't allow for individuality, or uniqueness, and although they offer education it is up to your manager to allow you to take that education even if you need it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive atomosphere
Managing Cosmetologist / Assistant Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Strongsville, OHMay 13, 2014
Great place to work, team oriented atmosphere. Just did not coincide with schedule for second job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a great deal
Internship (Former Employee), St. Joseph, MoApril 28, 2014
A great place to work for 6 years, learned a lot and worked with some great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed managing
Manager/Stylist (Former Employee), Eugene/Springfield, ORApril 23, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: terminating employees
Open and close store, cash register, bank deposits, customer service, customer complaints, Inventory, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Restructuring
Senior District Leader (Former Employee), CalifornisApril 22, 2014
Regis sadly losing sight of what made them great, their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low wages, horrible upper Management
MANAGER (Former Employee), PORT ORANGE, FLORIDAApril 19, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: pay, hours, benefits, training, horrible upper mgt., micro managed, is not a "treat the salon as if it was your own", how many have heard that before.
I have been an employee of Regis corp. since 2006 and in that time its a fend for yourself atmosphere....the last position for this company was Manager of a Supercuts, and I was never trained for the position just thrown into it...My salon had a lot of turnover in which they blamed me for and I never felt so stressed in a hair position in all the years – more... I have worked as a cosmetologist. I never felt safe in my position. This district went through 3 district managers in my 2 years at Supercuts and feel this just isn't a stable company at all, too many changes all at once and the stylists feel broken and burned out from them. I have to say the Corporation has definitely gone down since 2006 and don't see anything good in the future...Hey Regis why don't you complement your employees and help them when they are down instead of threatening and writing up all the time.
YOU CATCH MORE BEES WITH HONEY THEN NOTHING AT ALL! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regis Corporation
Shift Manager (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZApril 6, 2014
Pros: successful business, rewarding customer relations.
Cons: shortage of staff, insurance, disabled chain of command.
A typical day I open the register and count the morning drawer to prepare to open. A typical day consists of: Color, Haircuts, waxing, and consultations for future highlighted events. During the day different employees arrive at different times of the day. a heavy flow of customers come in as walk ins, as well as customers who have made appointments. – more... A typical day consists of answering many phone calls, attending to clients for their service, and giving upmost customer service to any new potential clients that walk in to our salon. The hardest part of this job is working short staffed. The most rewarding part of this job is building a relationship with our clients. From the moment they enter our salon, and at the time the leave our salon. they receive an experience. When they return the reward is proof that our skills and professionalism have made an impression. With proof our clients needs, and desires have been met.

On the down side this company needs to pay more hourly, and have more stylist to work so we can capture more clients, instead of loosing numerous a day.

Not enough stylists to attend to clients. This results in loss of customers and stylists become burnt out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
Hair Stylist (Current Employee), PennsylvaniaMarch 29, 2014
Pros: tips, nice customers
Cons: no break, on feet all day, lazy co workers, not enough pay
This place sucks. You are WAY UNDERPAID for the work you do. The salon I work at is under staffed and certain stylists feel its ok to sit on their phones the whole day and not do anything while others are taking client after client with no break. You get an hourly wage but it is close to nothing..way better off going to a private salon and letting them – more... train you. There are no classes for improvement and they don't care if you are a new stylist and dont feel comfortable with certain things.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely aweful.Way over worked way under paid!!!
hair stylist (Former Employee), portsmouth vaMarch 25, 2014
Pros: meeting people and seeing them leave happy.
Cons: the pay, the benefits, upper management attitude.
Only two people working in salon the manager and one stylist.The manager told all her personal business to clients and talked about sex life to clients all the time.The manager called out alot which left one person working alone for days at a time.The. district leader had a very nasty attitude and could not find more stylist to work at that particulsr – more... shop.They want you to open and close and do extra work with no pay..The upper managemen always threaten to get rid of stylist. No set schedule.You dont know when you work because the schdule was not posted.The leaders of this company have a very nasty attitude ready to get rid of you for nothing. I have seem it happen several times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Stylist (Former Employee), Forestville, MDMarch 19, 2014
perforem different services on clients , walk in and set up station pass out flyers to potentail clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it here!
Stylist (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLMarch 14, 2014
Pros: endless learning opportunities!
Cons: low starting wage, but great potential to earn more $$
I actually just started working here, and I love it! It's a great start for those who are still looking to learn. A hairstylist fresh outta school stylist job; you work with all different types of people! You can gain experience with different textures easily! I'd recommend it for beginner stylists. As long as you work at a location where you have a – more... good management team and a good team of stylists who all help one another (as my location is) you'll be fine! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Marketing Specialist and Guest Service Rep (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNMarch 13, 2014
The atmosphere is really fun to work in. The managers give you fun challenges to beat while on the clock.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and creativity
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLMarch 7, 2014
Pros: rewarding and flexible
Styling and training new employees. Assisting client to feel confident about their look.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Stylist (Former Employee), Milan, MIFebruary 28, 2014
I worked there for a very short time. The other stylists complained about working there and no one really enjoyed working there. I was hired in as a stylist and the manager's station was next to mine. She constantly said things that embarrassed me in front of my clients. She set sales goals for me, which I met and exceeded--then she undermined my sales – more... by telling my customers, "you don't need all that product." Once when I was in the middle of straightening a client's hair, which was partially done, so part of the head was still curly--she walked up and said, "that looks AWFUL!!" and then stomped away.

If you want a manager that undermines the confidence of your potential return customers, and sabotages your retail sales--this is the place to work.

I have been gone from this company for six months now--and they have gone through two more stylists after me since then, and they are trying to fill that spot still. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Regis Corporation

Regis Corporation is engaged in owning, operating and franchising hair and retail product salons. The Company owns Hair Club for – Read more

Regis Corporation Photos