Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay is above average, unfortunately very little culture or opportunity for growth
Finance (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 August 2017
The pay is above average, unfortunately very little culture or opportunity for growth. employees are not motivated, and there is a huge disconnect between upper management and its employees
Pros
hours, benefits
Cons
little investment in personal or career advancement, poor morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rmwb
Manager, Creative Solutions (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 July 2017
I enjoyed working with my colleagues at the RMWB.

Did not expect to be made redundant and still don't believe it made operational sense.

Would have wished to finish my career there.
Pros
The People
Cons
Some of the decisions made at a senior level
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and a good group of employees
Senior Developer / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, AB3 July 2017
I enjoyed working there, met a lot of good people. Learned a lot in my field. I enjoyed working on project with other departments. This employer valued contribution on all levels.
Pros
Fun environment, good people
Cons
Cost of living
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 June 2017
great place to work, enjoyable staff, flex hours available, overall enjoyable. work load was fast pace, most of the managers were very nice, close to home
Pros
flex hours available
Cons
contracts run out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Records/Storage Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 May 2017
Great place to work, everyone was easy to get along with. If you ever had an issue with something someone was always there to help.

There was always something to work on, kept me busy and on my feet a lot which was awesome makes the day go by fast.
Pros
Great hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, AB18 April 2017
It was an incredible experience for me to be able to work at one of the biggest Municipality of Canada.
I found that experience very grateful, to help people to comfort them after going through a such disaster
Cons
very risky
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 March 2017
The Fort McMurray Hotel Group provided excellent opportunities to grow and build a long career. The management team provided much needed support and encouragement.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the trades guys are fun to work with
supervisor (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, AB16 February 2017
this is a good place to work however 35 hour work weeks are a little to slow for me I need more hours and be depended on more. there is not much room for advancement a great place if you have a few years left to retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
RCMP Switchboard Operator (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, AB1 February 2017
Overall good company. The people are great. Management is over well helpful. Good Benefits. Good work atmosphere. I liked my experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refuse pickup for municipality
Refuse Collector (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB24 October 2016
Drive a tandem truck with my class 3 license and loaded and unloaded the truck. Cleaned up the shop on a daily basis and put together refuse bins.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great environment to work
Student Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB3 August 2016
Great staff that all work together to better the city and each other. Learned lots of skills about operating equipment and running a city.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a rewarding job.
Road maintenance technician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB17 July 2016
good place to work . liked how organized it was people were also good if you needed help with something. family oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Watch Clerk (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB16 July 2016
Amazing job with great people. Busy atmospher, with lots of multitasking required. My officers are wonderful and you learn something new everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Senior Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 April 2016
Always something new to look forward to, the people are all welcoming and very friendly.

Other staff willing to provide mentoring and coaching.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Distance between operational Units
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying and secure
Architectural Services Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, AB4 February 2016
RMWB is a ever changing environment, long term goals are often changed by re-election of council or changes in senior leadership.
Very heavy political influence.
Pros
Well paying
Cons
politically unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While working previoulsy with RMWB I found that they recognized your work ethic and honesty. Co-workers are also great to work in a team environment.
support clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 February 2016
Great place to work, wonderful co-workers and management. Enjoyed meeting people, also addressing concerns from the public. RMWB is one of the most respected employers in Fort McMurray
Pros
Excellent health bennfits, great hours, vacation
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is awsome place to work
Internal Auditor - Compliance and Control Branch (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB11 November 2015
RMWB is an awesome place to work. You will learn a lot during your stay here. Excellent benefits. Cost of Living Allowance (COLA) as it is up north community. This city depend on only one resource, the Oil and Sand, and when it is down like now in 2nd half of 2015, there will be no job security.
Pros
Excellent Benifits, Secure Pension Plan, Work Life Balance
Cons
Lack of clear instruction from higher management, Workplace Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely challanging thing are continually changing, upgrading etc.
Operator/Power Engineer (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB7 August 2015
Learnt many new things concerning a municipality that is undergoing huge expansions and upgrades. This municipality faces the same obstacles as the local industries with man power shortages, etc.
Pros
Organization skills and project management knowlege improvement
Cons
Impossible to stay ahead and prepare for everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back
Clerical Support (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB16 April 2015
I would say the RMWB is a well rounded company and has exceptional benefits and compensation. People are overly friendly , good, calm, relaxed working environment.
Pros
Benefits and hourly rate
Cons
Hiring process
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job Experience Ever
Legislative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB11 March 2015
Working in the Legal and Legislative Services department from Sept 2007 to May 2010 was my worst job experience ever. My supervisor should never have been a supervisor and was the most cold hearted person I have ever encountered. Peers at her level and above were well treated but myself and other admins who came and went were treated poorly. That is why no many admins came and went in this department - no one could work under her for very long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

84%
13 ratings
Add your rating

Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo Reviews by Location