Find companies:
Reed Employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
71 reviews

Reed Employment Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Company is a horrible establishment
Senior Sales Executive (Current Employee), Norcross, GAJuly 31, 2013
Pros: free soda
Cons: management is horrible
This company is on the verge of bankruptsy due to mis management of the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst
Business Analyst (Former Employee), New JerseyJuly 31, 2013
 One to one client’s interaction for requirement gathering and issues resolution and working with offshore team to provide end to end solution to fulfill clients need.
 Prepare Use case document for Freezing Payroll functionality.
 Preparation of Business Process Mapping Diagram, Activity Diagram, Sequence Diagram, CAR Analysis, & MOM.
 Coordinating – more... with Client and SME’s at on-site to gather task requirements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee), Norcross, GAJuly 8, 2013
Pros: healthcare and paid holidays
Cons: short breaks
Reed Construction was a very good place of employment.A typical day at work was,Receiving packages from Fed Ex and UPS also USPS mail.Some sorting.After all mail was in I start Shipping packages out.Sometime i ship out over 300 pieces a day.The best part about working there was my co-worker,working together to make everyone job easier.When you work – more... together the company can be successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and useful experience
Campus Liaison Officer, Somerset College (Former Employee), Exeter, ENGJune 30, 2013
Pros: close to where i live so very short commute.
Cons: agency staff are not treated with respect by majority of staff directly employed by the college.
Quite a hard role to fill owing to much of it being one that brought me into situations of conflict with several students who would rather not be attending the college.

Very good support from Reed staff who kept in regular contact with my line management at the college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), Leeds, ENGJune 27, 2013
Dealing with outgoing post
Sorting and organising documentation
Ensuring post is distributed to the correct people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An established business with on-going entrepreneurism.
Director of International Sales and Marketing (Former Employee), Provo, UTJune 22, 2013
Pros: making a difference in the early stages of the business.
Cons: limited appreciation of and limited budgets for international operations.
A packaged software company at the beginning of the dot.com boom. Strategized with direct and dotted-line reports on the best international path for the company. Brought ideas and business cases to management. Once approved we set out to enter six new markets with localized versions of the (electronic publishing, knowledge management, help desk) software: – more... Spanish, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, and Japanese. Planned and executed product rollouts, including PR campaigns, local advertising, and trade shows. Hardest part of the job was persuading management that international operations could significantly and positively impact the bottom line. Most enjoyable: making a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great conmpany
Vice President Global Support (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 23, 2013
Pros: benefits, compensation, work environment
Cons: work life balance
Great company with strong leadership with proven track record. Market leading products. Great people and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working enviroment
Senior Researcher (Former Employee), Highlands Ranch, COMay 6, 2013
Pros: reasonable working hours, flexible management
Cons: policies change a lot
Loved working at reed, had to leave due to moving out of state, would continue to be working there if I had stayed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communicators with little after care.
Secretary and then duties clerk (Former Employee), WakefieldApril 23, 2013
The actual positions I worked within West Yorkshire Police were interesting, thought provoking and very enjoyable. However, Reed did little, if anything, to actually assist with my further career once the Police could no longer fund my position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Environment
Public Sector Researcher (Former Employee), Littleton, COApril 22, 2013
Pros: office environment
Cons: communication with out of state management
Able to schedule own work day
Learned construction environment
Office management strong
Hard to get response from upper management
"GREAT" Co-Workers
Self motivated,
Quality Product
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm environment
Randoms Coordinator (Current Employee), Bolingbrook, ILApril 17, 2013
A typical day at the job is mostly sitting at the desk performing daily duties. There are some team building activities throughout the day to break up the monotny but otherwise its just mostly getting the job at hand completed. Ive learned that team work here is key and management as well as coworkers have to be knowledgeable about what is going on – more... with all accounts. The best part of the job are the hours that I work. I enjoy my coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good support from the team
Adninistrator Receptionist (Current Employee), EnfieldApril 9, 2013
A nice place to work, learning something new everyday, no two days are the same. Satisfying and rewarding job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enriching
Quality Reporter (Former Employee), ChennaiApril 2, 2013
Pros: initiatives for all round development
It was an enriching experience working with Elsevier. An Elsevier day begins with the Sunrise meetings that determine the agendas for the day.The tasks allotted are always finished in a meticulous manner. The things that I learnt working with this team and company are multifarious - team attitude to achieving group goals, keyboard shortcuts, a global – more... atmosphere by participating in several initiatives promoting important issues such as Eco Protection. The management encompassed different kinds of people and the experience was extremely enjoyable, in its diversity. The most enjoyable part of the job is the encouragement that talented professionals get with being proactive and the hardest part being striving for a balance between work time and initiative-work time, which was challenging and breathtakingly refreshing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Customer service advisor (Former Employee), leedsFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: friendly workplace
Cons: no flexible hours
it was a very friendly environment to work as well as everyone being of grate help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee), Horsham PaFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: great benefits, friendly people, the company worked with a lot of charities
Cons: time management was not clear.
I learned the steps to process a patent. We were trained to enter data into our database in codes. An example is quotation marks were not put in as " they were put in as +37. The hardest part of the job was remembering all the codes but you eventually got use to it. The most enjoyable part of the job was definitely learning new things. Though I was – more... not at this position for a very long time I feel like I learned a lot from just the training alone. My co-workers were all friendly and we worked as a team to meet our weekly quotas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have to really be aggressive and innnovative to make it work
Sales Force Automation (Former Employee), Duluth, GAFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: learned a lot about the aec industry and sales
Cons: numbers, ok if you can do it
When it was CMD had a more homey feel but the corporate buy out made working their only about numbers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting challenges to meet the needs for work opportunities for Commercial Construction Industry
Team Lead (Former Employee), Norcross, GAFebruary 13, 2013
A typical day for me was training, teaching, and coaching staff to efficiency benchmarks, including reviewing dialogues with prospects and sources, as well as managing contacts through a CRM system. I also worked with staff on how to manage their time best to meet their daily, weekly, and monthly goals. I supported management by collaborating with them – more... to learn the needs of staff and to work with staff on Best Practices for success. The co-workers were friendly and open to learning new techniques. The hardest part of the job was watching any staff develop an unproductive attitude. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing so much success from the people I trained! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reed Construction Data is great company to work for
Business (Current Employee), Norcross, GAFebruary 6, 2013
Recruits only the best!

The most enjoyable part of the job is working with such hard working and challenging leaders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with excellent benefits
Data Management Coordinator (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 22, 2013
Being employed at Reed Elsevier has been my best work experience yet. I've learned so much from how to be a professional to working hard and having good work ethic in order to be successful with any company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once strong company that's lost its way
Regional Research Manager (Former Employee), Norcross, GeorgiaJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: strong medical/dental/vision benefits, 401(k) plan, vacation
Cons: oppressive micro management culture, lack of corporate vision and leadership, lack of understanding of the industry (commercial construction) they serve
One problem with these reviews is that it appears that a number of companies, with the name Reed, have been aggregated together. My experience with Reed Construction Data, a division of Reed Business Information/Reed Elsevier, was at one time very positive and became increasingly negative due to a highly incompetent corporate management structure that – more... had no ability to forecast market conditions or create a strategy to deal with the major changes in their core markets. The company once derived the vast majority of their revenue from publication based advertising. When the bottom fell out of this market their response was simply to cut and even divert resources from other divisions of the company that were not exposed to the decline in advertising revenues to bolster the legacy publications. In doing so they weakened the very divisions that had the greatest profit potential and, ultimately, took a massive loss in walking away from the very publications they had sought to preserve.

The biggest farce were a series of "Reed Values" which were supposed to guide the organization's management philosophy and approach to the marketplace. To say these values were farcical would be an understatement. One value, for example, was "valuing our people," and yet there was no evidence to show that they truly valued any of their employees as oppressive work practices and micro management resulted in high turnover. These positions were subsequently left open, in an effort to cut costs, resulting in even greater work demands on the employees and creating an environment that resulted in a viscous cycle of cuts and more cuts.

The company, whose goal is to provide actionable, validated data to professionals in the construction industry, has eliminated anyone who ever had any knowledge or understanding of how the industry actually functions and replaced them with bureaucrats from data companies whose sole mission is to produce data as cheaply as possible.

This strategy is best evidenced by their decision to outsource some functions to India and other foreign outposts and further reduce the domestically based data gathering staff which in turn has resulted in a enormous deterioration in the quality of their data. The current philosophy seems to be to aggregate data provide a very light to non-existent level of validation of the data and then charge the lowest possible price with the profit resulting from the margin created by significantly lower labor and production costs. The flaw in the strategy is that many customers are electing to use higher cost providers as they can see that Reed no longer has any commitment to providing quality information.

There was a time when the company offered above market salaries, generous benefits (401(k) & pension, strong medical, dental, vision, vacation, etc...) however even those benefits have been dramatically scaled back.

A once great place to work has become a soul crushing enterprise that places no value on its employees. – less