Reed Business Information Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freelance job so no direct interaction, only online
Freelance Writer (Former Employee) –  Home basedSeptember 14, 2015
Very organized editors. I was assigned projects that involved policy manuals and updating safety regulations. It was a brief, but engaging experience. I learned a lot with the project, but about the topic but also the way that legal documents must be created.
Pros
Freelance, deadline oriented materials
Cons
Short lived based on my own time constraints
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun wokplace
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  New yorkJuly 15, 2015
• Worked as a team lead and managed a for a team size of 9
• Requirement gathering and New module creation
• Data Migration
• Development, defect fixing and production support
• Offshore coordinator and later as Onsite coordinator
• Defect Prevention and Reviews of deliverables
• Deployment Activities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun while it lasted
Taxonomist/Content specialist (Current Employee) –  DoetinchemJune 8, 2015
Been made redundant as of July 1st, so not really in the mood for a review.
Although the colleagues were good to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Senior Web Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  SuttonFebruary 13, 2015
Providing the recruitment and classified sales team with support by loading jobs, creating MPUs, Leaderboards and skyscrapers from scratch in order to promote the jobs from our clients for candidates to apply for across the RBI job websites (New Scientist, CommunityCare, Personnel Today, Flight Global, Estates Gazette, Farmers Weekly and Hairdressers Journal)
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is ok company
Senior Project Researcher/Reporter (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILJanuary 22, 2015
Construction information gathering company. People were not that great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional with a friendly atmosphere
Accounts Payable Representative, Purchasing (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 11, 2014
A fast paced environment, but working with my co-workers was enjoyable and fun. We were a team that worked together to make things happen on a timely basis. We learned each others jobs in order to cover one another during vacations and absences. Our manager was an amazing woman who always had an "open door policy" and made sure that you were trained in all areas of accounting. The most enjoyable part of the job was coming in everyday and the hardest part was saying goodbye when there were layoffs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Oracle DBA (Former Employee) –  Highlands Ranch, COOctober 14, 2014
business was sold and closed. job was great just disappeared
Pros
people
Cons
sold
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a pleasure to work with the people at Video Business magazine --Reed Business. They treated threir employees with respect and compassion.
First Editor at Large and then Senior Editor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, Calif.July 26, 2014
I was hired to write deadline and fast breaking news stories.
Pros
benefits
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Professional HR team
HR Administrator - Reward (Former Employee) –  Sutton, ENGMay 29, 2014
RBI was an engaging role, which offered me the opportunity to up date my skills and become proficient in current HR systems and processes.
Pros
friendly and professional work colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a people company -
Bid Source Relationship Specialist (Current Employee) –  Norcross, GAApril 18, 2014
No cohesion - or consistency from management.
Pay is not desirable. Managers are motiviated by numbers for monthly - yearly bonus on a metric scale required by the staff that do not receive monthly bonuses.
Cons
not a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reed was an intracil part of my life and the experince was well worth it.
Mail Clerk - Mail Technician/Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 6, 2014
Learned customer service, time management, shipping & receiving, how to run a forklift and computer skills.
The people were great.
Pros
everything
Cons
the company went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started off a people company
Senior Production Support Developer (Former Employee) –  East Grinstead, ENGJanuary 24, 2014
Joined the company from the civil service
Plenty of support from colleagues and managers.
No hierarchy, everyone was equally helpful

Was a 'everyone muck in', the business requirements were paramount

Just before I left due to redundancy, the company had turned into a 'the answer's No, now what's the question?' everything became paper bound with the business crying out for action and the IT departments stone-walling
The whole company was in a state of 'what happened to the good old days?'
Pros
good work environment
Cons
none at first
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security.
Sales (Former Employee) –  New Providence, NJJanuary 7, 2014
If you dial and smile - you will fit in. All functions managed overseas.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reed was a good company to work for.
Print Order Tech III (Former Employee) –  Highlands Ranch, COMay 21, 2013
Reed closed their U.S. offices a few years ago. It was a fast-paced work environment with many deadlines and a lot of multitasking.
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
business magazines popularity was declining, so reed sold all their u.s. publications
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Inside Sales Manager-Furniture Today & Kids Today (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCMarch 11, 2013
Develop sales strategies to assist Regional Managers in servicing and retaining accounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company, great benefits, advancement great
Assistant Production Mgr, Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PAFebruary 17, 2013
I was in HR Benefits administration and I supervised a team of 4. A typical day at work was to distribute and administer benefits upon qualifying events. I implemented the computerization of the medical, dental and prescription drug plans from claim form submissions to the card system. I administered the new employee orientation programs and retirement programs. It was a very interesting and high pressure environment which I thoroughly enjoyed. The hardest part of the job was supervising the staff.
Pros
management experience
Cons
handling difficult staff at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours, great people to work with
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAJanuary 21, 2013
The time would just fly by very busy work in accounts payable, I meet a lot of people at the company from the UK.
Pros
great hours
Cons
ok to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed to leave to box.
National Distribution Director (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 7, 2012
Good company overall. Bad timing on decisions from the top.
Pros
allows creativity
Cons
difficult management at the end
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Supportive
IT Client Manager (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAOctober 23, 2012
I had the opportunity to work with some great people who made the environment very educational. They provided training as well as included me in many important meetings. After 6 months of being hired as a contractor, they brought me on board permanently. I had the opportunity to learn a few new management systems. Always will be greatful for the opportunity.
Pros
flexible working hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Freelance Journalist (Current Employee) –  Sutton, SurreyOctober 11, 2012
I freelance from home so there isn't really a typical day at work, but when I have been in the office there is a really great atmosphere, everyone gets on really well and it's just a pleasure to work for my publication. The most enoyable part of my job is the freedom to travel and meeting new people and clients.
Pros
great people, great stories to chase up, good wages
Cons
long hours if i do not set myself a route. not enough travel abroad
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture