Find companies:
Red Lobster
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,298 reviews

Red Lobster Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday Is A Busy Day
Server (Former Employee), springfield,paNovember 30, 2014
Busy as always but nothing I couldn't handle,I've learned several skill working at Red Lobsters but the most difficult one was carrying trays above my head but I eventually mastered it.In my opinion the management wasn't as strict because everything they asked was already expected in addition the co-workers were very helpful and most of the time we – more... worked as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very great environment to work in
❸ Team leader (Former Employee), Memphis,TNNovember 30, 2014
Pros: free food
My days at Red Lobster were some of my best days. The environment was very enlightening. The people there were great and i just enjoyed being there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun .The core management is a very effective one.
Server/Server Assistant (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 29, 2014
A typical day was serving food ,helping out coworkers,putting it in a computer system,while delivering a memorable experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decatur is horribly run!
Server (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 29, 2014
Pros: 50% meal
Cons: work environment, poor management
You make good money but that's the only upside. This was the most poorly run I've ever worked at in many many years. If you aren't in "the club", you're nothing there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, terrible pay...
Bartender/ Server (Current Employee), Boardman, OHNovember 29, 2014
Pros: discounts, coworkers
Cons: no consistency, poor management
My coworkers are awesome. Management could use a few classes on to properly manage. Hours are hard to come by. There is no consistency so far as diners go which means you can leave with less money than you came to work with after tip outs. Some managers can't take constructive criticism for their employees and also have favorites. Good job for college – more... kids. Not a good job if you have a family to support. Very unorganized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well run organization
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 26, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: long hours, dealing with public is pressure situations
manage staff, food inventory, preparation, presentation. Team management skills. The most difficult part of the job was the work hours. I enjoyed motivating and training staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for the seafood lover in you
SERVER/BARTENDER (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 26, 2014
Pros: cheesy biscuits
Cons: cheesy biscuits
Some of the best people ever. So many great memories of customers and coworkers I had the opportunity to get to know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Professional
Service Professional/Ast to Mgt (Current Employee), ClarksvilleNovember 25, 2014
Pros: good hourly rate, less than 40 hrs a week, more professional position.
Cons: benefits suck, can be boring if not busy.
If it weren't for the wonderful people I work for, I would not recommend this job. The only reason working in a restaurant makes any sense is because you anticipate it being temporary. First and foremost there is a big difference between management and hourly employees. Managers have no work life balance, they typically work 50+ hours a week, including – more... weekends and holidays. This can be mitigated by a good management team that is willing to work with each other and swap shifts, but even then the pay is average. Typical managers make between 38-45K a year, without bonuses. WITH bonuses they typically make about 45-50K a year. Their benefits are pretty good admittedly. Hourly employees will work like dogs, plain and simple. Benefits are non existent unless you average over 30 hours a week. It's good to be a server if you're in school, its quick cash and they'll work with your school schedule. Service professionals are the intermediary between hourly positions and the managers. They are the highest paid hourly employees but they take on leadership roles. You'll help with food counts, pre-meal temp checks, help manage and flex labor throughout the day, and resolve guest complaints. You maintain the standards and get the expectations of the managers done through the team. A service professional is about the only hourly job with having. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, great people
Host (Former Employee), Indianapolis IndianaNovember 21, 2014
Great people to work with in a fun environment, many chances for advancement within company but not with pay raises
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The operation is runned poorly
Server/Waiter (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCNovember 20, 2014
The operation with the proper management could be a high potential of profit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working team.
Server (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILNovember 18, 2014
Pros: half off food.
Co workers were generally friendly. Very physically taxing work including walking 6 miles on average per shift. Hardly ever had breaks and with no break room all employees were on their feet throughout entire shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Cook/Prep (Current Employee), Savannah, GANovember 18, 2014
Pros: pays great, fun people
Cons: bad management
I really like this job only because of the people I work around. Their fun, joke-telling, hard working people and I love that. Working at this job is more than knowing about the job itself. You have people all different age ranges and personalities. You will grow wiser in life from stories you hear about other people lives more than stuffing a lobster – more... in the oven. At this job I feel the hardest thing to do is wash dishes because anything else you do is just following by procedure. The reason I say bad management is from this one particular manger who cant manage people. I know his method he just sucks at using it. He tries to become friends with the employee's at work, I really don't see a problem with that.. its just he is trying too hard to be cool and talks down too people, but thinks he is being funny. I am still one of those people. Other than that its a fun place to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what I expected
Cook (Former Employee), hanover,mdNovember 18, 2014
the job its self is good but the servers suck because management isn't on their back
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for part work, but I'm looking for full time hours.
Dishwasher (Current Employee), Maplewood, MONovember 17, 2014
Pros: weekly pay, friendly atmosphere, discounts for employees
Cons: distant from home, part time hours, short late shifts
My current experience at work is cleaning dishes, cookware, glasses, and emptying box and trash in to dumpsters. Mornings also requires cleaning bathrooms, mopping and vacuuming floors, and making biscuits. I love the friendly atmosphere that most coworkers provide, but some make days hard by not dumping dishes. Management is easygoing and helpful. – more... The bad is short late night shifts, location of restaurant is also far from home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work great management
BARTENDER, TEAM LEADER, SERVER, CERTIFIED TRAINER (Former Employee), Reno, NVNovember 17, 2014
Pros: great food!
It may be crazy busy some days and slow on others. But right management makes floor cuts accordingly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, upbeat, easy going, and fun place to work!
Waitress (Former Employee), The Villages, FLNovember 17, 2014
The easiest part of this job was talking to the guests and meeting their needs. The hardest part of this job was when the computers went down and I had to remember off the top of my head every single order that each of my guests placed. Management was wonderful and very helpful. My coworkers were great with team work and were always there for each other. – more... I learned how to manage my time appropriately and maintain mental clarity in a stressful environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people, excellent culture, excellent development
Beverage and Hospitality Manager (Current Employee), Valencia, NMNovember 16, 2014
Pros: development and a future is always a given within this company.
I have thoroughly enjoyed working with this company, they have allowed me to fail and grow. Pushing me to be excellent at what I do not just great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Server/Bartender (Former Employee), Frederick, MDNovember 14, 2014
Very flexible while in school or wanting to work part time. The management has always been supportive and I felt appreciated with the work I have done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good comany
Cook (Former Employee), Springfield, PANovember 14, 2014
Loved working for this company!!! very good people very good food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy job that will help you get by
Server (Current Employee), Novi, MINovember 14, 2014
Pros: the tips
Cons: lack of team work
A typical day at work is usually very busy, stressful, and can get aggravating. I've learned how to greet tables in a better manner and how to coop with a diverse crowd of people. Management is fair. They do what they need to get done in order to meet the standards of the district managers. My co-workers are alright. Everyone seems to be in it for themselves – more... but overall we tend to work together when its needed. The hardest part of the job is being able to get your work done when others don't do their own job. When teamwork is hard to build its hard to get by. The most enjoyable part of my job is the people that come in there. Different lifestyles and different experiences at each table is very interesting. – less

About Red Lobster

This company has cornered not one but two dining markets: seafood and "Hospitaliano." Darden Restaurants is the #1 casual-dining – Read more