Find companies:
Red Lobster
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,178 reviews

Red Lobster Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and fun to work at
Kitchen worker (Former Employee), Edmoton AlbertaMay 9, 2013
Very good comunity of the work place. Organized but every place has their problems. Casual acts of improper management within certain managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was like one big family
Cashier, Bartender, Hostess, Waitress (Former Employee), Kingston, ONMarch 20, 2013
Pros: management team was professional
Cons: hard to get weekends off
A typical day at work would be to show up on time with a smile on your face and ready to meet your guests needs. I learned that even after being there for five years I didn't have much seniority, they base seniority on age. The older you are the more it will be easier to get what you're asking for (shift wise). The hardest part of my job was trying – more... to get some weekends off. The most enjoyable part was the relationships I developed with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Certified Grill Master/Alley Coordinator (Former Employee), torontoMarch 18, 2013
Pros: able to develope culinary skills within the company
learned how to garnish meals according to company guidelines
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
broiler/ dish pit (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 4, 2013
Id keep my station cleaned an stocked.
deep fry. broiler.
it was not to bad but they need to actually lessen to their employes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Prep And Dishwasher
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 28, 2013
Preparing Food For The Day.
Keeping Up With Clean Dishes.
Keeping Inventory On Food For The Week
Making Sure The Front House Is Cleean Before They Open
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Hostess (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: 50% off on days of work
Cons: not enough hours, cut often after 3-4 hours
- Very busy
- Learned lots of communication Skills
- Liked and Disliked some of my co workers however for the most part it was like a big family
- The hours werent very convenient
- Social aspect of socializing with everyone at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, with some issues.
Dish Washer (Utility) (Former Employee), Windsor, ONJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: discounted food, great people.
Cons: unreliable hours, advancement is rare.
The work can be overwhelming when you first start off but you quickly get the hang of it after a month or two. The people you work with are all kind and fun making each time you work that much more enjoyable. The hours can be unreliable though as they tend to either over hire or under schedule making it difficult to "make ends meat" at times.

Management – more... will often do what they can to give you enough hours, though you have to ask for it as they prefer to give it to those who want it. If you're a family person they can usually work around your schedule so you have holidays and the sort off, which is nice.

The job itself is very stressful. When it gets busy you are often told to do multiple jobs at once while under staffed. And rather than getting everyone's full support and co-operation, you will find most people would rather bump heads, making work very difficult and almost impossible to focus on the task at hand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely Amazing!
Bartender (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONDecember 14, 2012
Pros: 50% off food when you're on shift, i think 25% off food with up to 7 people when you come in for dinner
I loved working for Red Lobster, the training program was awesome, the management was superb, they would hop in to help whenever we were busy, always supportive and accomodating. The co-workers were tons of fun, work was always a blast even when we had a two hour standing line! The only difficulty I would mention would be that its customer service... – more... you get jerks in every once in a while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, great co-workers.
Dishwasher (Former Employee), brantford ontarioDecember 13, 2012
Pros: job security, discounts on the great food!
Cons: not enough hours
Along with doing dishes i did prep work. This job can be stressfull do to the high amounts business Red Lobster receives. Management is really great, there is 3 of them which are assigned to each part of the establishment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great food ,great benefits,great management
Waitress (Former Employee), Ottawa ,Ont.September 30, 2012
Pros: good money, great hours
loved working there ,pay was good,great benefits and manegement was always fair and very caring about each individual
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not my favorite
Customer Service (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 24, 2012
Although it wasn't my favourite job, i have good memories and enjoyed most days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not enough hours
Hostess (Current Employee), Brantford, ONAugust 17, 2012
Pros: 50 % off if you are working and 25% when i bring in family
Cons: short hours
My co-workers are very nice, typical day would be constantly on your feet, Management is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Lobster Enviroment
Server (Current Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 3, 2012
I enjoy working at Red Lobster. I've learned how to work well independently and as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, fun, but higher class enviroment
Waitress (Former Employee), Humble, TXSeptember 19, 2014
Fast pace environment. You meet new people constantly every shift and gain great customer service experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun workplace
Cook (Former Employee), BocaSeptember 18, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is making the customers happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Descent way to make it through school
Server (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 17, 2014
Shifts can be traded, allowing flexible schedules. My biggest complaint is the way "day only" servers are sat and forced to stay, even when night replacements have already arrived. You cannot transfer the table to the night server, even moments later. The managers go crazy of the most ridiculous rules regardless of whether it is what is best for the – more... guest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Volume and speedy place to work
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 17, 2014
I started during a huge promotional period in which the manager that hired me got fired. I quickly learned my station as a prep specialist and started to thrive in these conditions. Later to find out the quality of work I was used to from coworkers was not up to par. I tried everything I could to make my days easier and to help others have better days – more... with any extra I could do. Management declined with the sale of the corporation to a new company and people got lazy. I loved the type of work with recipes and raw cooking materials. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great team members
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COSeptember 16, 2014
When I was employed with Red Lobster; the franchise was owned by Darden Restaurants and was a leader in full service dining.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall good place to work as a student.
Server, Host, Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Mechanicsburg, PASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: discounted food
Made pretty good money during most promotions. Work can be very slow or very busy. The job requires you to be a people person or you will not last, nor will you make money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive fast-pase environment
Server/Bartender/Servers Pro (Former Employee), Pearland, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: food is 50% off and friendly environment
Cons: no break sometimes and dealing with hungry, rude guest
It's Friday night, it's loud, crowed and the temperature seems to rise the more guest come into the resturant. I learned to have patients. Time managemen is an extreamly important skill to learn in a hospitality environment. My manager once told me, if you're not early, you're late and it's taken me a long way in all aspects in my life. I learned to – more... calmly react to people who are rude, including my co-workers. Respect should be acted upon in the work environment. Everything is always better when having a smile on your face. The hardest part of my job would be trying to hold it together when things go bad, if one person slacks everything else doesn't flow properly. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with a variety of people and some even from out of the contry. – less

About Red Lobster

This company has cornered not one but two dining markets: seafood and "Hospitaliano." Darden Restaurants is the #1 casual-dining – Read more