Red Lobster Employee Reviews

Found 118 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 July 2017
Great Place to work. Fun, flexible.
Great Managers, caring and understanding.
Pay was minimum wage but made excellent tips. Not an average serving job, lots of side duties and work to be carried out in comparison to other serving positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as a dishwasher
Utility / Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 July 2017
Hardest part of the job: mangers were rude,Staff were not coming in on their time of work start, didn't give the staff the right amount of hours that they promise us.
Pros
50% off food when working.
Cons
20% off food when not working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON27 June 2017
-fast paced, always doing something
-how to properly seat and serve guests
-the management wasn't bad, some ups and downs
-hardest part would be you have to be a good multi tasker
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big kitchen, great staff, busy workplace
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 June 2017
Dishwashing at Red Lobster typically was the same thing everyday. For example, I would get to work, change, and instantly get to work being very busy on arrival. It was a very fast paced workplace. It had a lot of seating as well. It was located in a pretty busy end of Ottawa as well.

Management there was pretty laid back but very keen on making sure everybody in the kitchen and the front of house did their jobs accordingly. Overall these managers worked very hard and well.

The hardest part of the job would be having to keep up with the dishes, especially on either holidays, or even hot weekends in the summer when it was extremely busy.

The most enjoyable part of this job was to learn new things in all parts and positions of the kitchen.
Pros
Gave me good experience
Cons
Busy all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 June 2017
If you are a male there are really good chances that you will be asked to do the morning trucks on Mondays. The servers are fun and very nice and the kitchen has a lot of people that have English as a second language. so its very diverse and fun if you are up for the challenge.
Pros
competitive
Cons
Very Bias Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON30 May 2017
Co-workers were always willing to lend a hand when needed during the training process as well as throughout long shifts. Costumers were very patient and understanding
Pros
Paitient costumers
Cons
Pour managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life
Host (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON25 May 2017
No job advancement. No support from management. Poor work environment. Was not fun working here and management did not use my skills to what I deserved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Toronto Zoo, ON9 May 2017
Red Lobster is an American casual dining restaurant chain headquartered in Orlando, Florida. The company has operations in Canada, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Mexico, and Japan, in addition to the United States
Pros
lots of money
Cons
really busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has a very fun environment. teamwork are always part of the shift.
Service Professional/Server/Host (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 May 2017
Working at Red Lobster helped me a lot with my growth, being able to mingle with different types of people around me. During my shift there are some co-workers that needed much of positive feedback to clean while they lean though i can see that they were very much helpful and nice when you needed some help. Management are not consistent enough to give feedbacks, so some of the staff doesn't know where they at on their productivity. But the good thing is, management are open for some suggestions and concerns. The hardest part of my job is stillnkeeping your positive attitude with the rest of the guests and team even with customer complaints. I enjoyed working in Red Lobster for 5 years now because i am into customer service even from the start, I'd love connecting to people. I am happy whenever my guests are happy.
Pros
50% for food during shift, 15days paid leave
Cons
few hours on shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Server (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 April 2017
like any company this company is all about numbers. Meet the numbers. It has a great staffs who knows what they are doing .great atmosphere.
The best year of my life was there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work with clashing dynamic between Front and Back of house
Alley Coordinator, Baker, Line Cook, Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 April 2017
A fast paced and steady work environment. However the clash between expectations of the cooks and servers dragged down what was a great place to be. If you can get past the disrespect from certain people and the treatment of your work stations it is a very manageable work experience.
Pros
Excellent managers, steady hours, food discount
Cons
Servers do not respect the Cooks work stations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First restaurant
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON3 April 2017
red Lobster was the first restaurant I worked at. Only reason I left was because the store closed down. Great place, Great staff. The location worked perfectly for me as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Lobster review
Alley Coordinator, Bus Person, Hostess and Server (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON29 March 2017
For the most part, there is a great group of employees at Red Lobster. The best part of the company was the fact that they were willing to accommodate a variety of schedules to the best of their ability, which from what I gather, does not necessarily happen elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
Hostess/Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 March 2017
Wonderfully lively atmosphere to both work and dine at!
I enjoyed meeting new people through this company, making life long friendships! The delicious food made it easy to spread the word of this fantastic restaurant!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Line Cook / Baker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 March 2017
Great place to work I would work there again only reason I left was I was Moving out of town and couldn't commute into work every day xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Server/Bartender/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Evansville, In18 February 2017
Was almost always busy, made good money consistently. Typically section/sidework resposibilities. Great management, and advancement opportunities.
Pros
Employee discount, flexible schedule
Cons
Could only take 3 tables at a time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Host/Server (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON5 February 2017
Customer service skills are definitely required to work at Red Lobster as you deal with many different types of people every day. It can become difficult to work with so many customers, but it is manageable. The hours are good and bad as you need to work through meals and breaks depend on how busy the restaurant is, but shifts are always a good amount of hours. Working around seafood can be difficult as the smell is strong and is always surrounding you, but you get used to it. The people that work at Red Lobster are extremely friendly and are easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, Management Unreliable
Hostess/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON1 February 2017
Red Lobster has a very family feel among its coworkers. Unfortunately as soon as they seem to have a great management system they send them away and replace them. This can be difficult as some managers give and take shifts depending on personal preference of the people they work with. And often times when management is shifty it affects the whole store negatively.
Pros
Great Experience for Fast paced environments
Cons
Inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time Management
Food Preparation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 January 2017
Customer service is excellent. They have a good team work. They also have multi-tasking, Time Efficient, Attention to Details and Safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, friendly staff
HOSTESS (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON18 January 2017
Red lobster is a great community of employees who are dedicated workers.
My overall time here has taught me how to be a good employee, they have helped me learn the ways of proper safety training, and restaurant management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Red Lobster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,340 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

79%
978 ratings
Add your rating