Find companies:
RED CROSS CARE PARTNERS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

RED CROSS CARE PARTNERS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Client Service Delivery Coordinator (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONJuly 22, 2014
i learn alot about my clients and thier needs. Management is a excellent team and coworkers are a well maintained group of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homecare
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), North Bay, ONJuly 8, 2014
Pros: you get to meet one-on-one and actually get to know your clients really well.
Cons: milege
I love home care it is absolutely wonderful, to be able to assist with allowing a person to live a better quality of life in the comfort of their own homes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is bullying and rude to PSWs. Do not work here!
Community Support Worker (Former Employee), MississaugaMay 26, 2014
Pros: job experience
Cons: no respect, no job security, lack of money for driving.
The schedulers and management treat workers like garbage. They are bullying and keep bothering you to work hours that are not in your schedule with large gaps between clients Or they work you straight without any breaks - no lunch most days or any breaks and do not give you traveling time between clients so you end up rushing so you can make it to your – more... next client and no time to eat or use the bathroom. They break employment laws.

They have a condescending attitude towards workers and treat you like you are children.

I am completely shocked by this agency. Other agencies are better and so many PSWs I've met quit Red Cross Care Partners to work for other agencies and gave up the benefits just to get the out. They have no respect for workers and they all have this smiling serpent like attitude. You'll find out.

The gas they pay you doesn't amount to much. You pay $400 a month in gas and they reimburse you $160 a month. You are working for 8 hours and get paid for 5 because of the driving around. What is worse is they try to get you to work days and then come back for one or two hours at night!

They schedulers and management have no conscience about booking you without any breaks or and give you no driving time even though they have breaks. These people are inhumane and uncivilized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding but tiring job
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), Guelph, ONMay 25, 2014
Pros: interacting with and helping people
Cons: long hours and physical demands
A typical day would include an early start at between 6:00 AM and 7:00AM at the home of my first client of the day. I would have to provide my own transportation at my own cost. The first client could vary from day to day and therefore the distance traveled and time would also vary. Most clients are entitled to a visit anywhere from 15 minutes to 1 – more... hour (typically). During the visit (depending on the time allowed and what duties are approved) I would assist the client with personal hygiene, meal preparation, safe ambulation, dressing, confirmation that medication had been taken, light housekeeping. I would then travel to the next client and perform similar duties as required for typically an 8 hour day which also includes evenings and weekends (every second). This job requires good work ethic and the ability to work without direct supervision as well as the ability to manage your own time effectively. The best part of the job is meeting and interacting with a variety of people and knowing that what I do helps them. The hardest part of the job for me is now the physicality aspect and the long hours which leaves me little time or energy for a personal life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of gov't funding and workers time.
PSW (Former Employee), muskoka.May 16, 2014
Cons: too many to list.
Absolutely horrific. What an abuse of the system. 80% of the clients do not need help. Like a lot of these government assisted FREE services, its abused by clients. Essentialy you're a cleaning lady and demoralized by management. Hey, your tax dollars are paying for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed-Bullied-Poorly skilled nurses
Nurse (Current Employee), EasternMay 5, 2014
Pros: great clients
Cons: no life
No respect and a lot of headaches.Nurses are new grads with no experience and a know it all attitude.Alot of errors.Horrible patient care.They call us the FLY BY Nurses because the visits and care are so minimal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EXCELLENT IN HOME CARE SERVICES
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONApril 13, 2014
99.9%
GOOD WAGES
GOOD WORKING CONDITIONS
FLEXIBILITY
PAID DRIVING
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Timmins, OntarioApril 10, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: was abused
I would never want to work for them again. They don't care about clients or their staff, just their profits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, Negative work environment
Client Care Coordinator (Current Employee), sudbury, ontarioApril 4, 2014
Poor Management, No chance for wage increase, Negative work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a rewarding place to be at
RPN (Current Employee), OshawaMarch 22, 2014
Pros: managing your own time, work with patients in their home
Cons: managers jerking you around as they please, make up rules on the go.
Used to be a great place to be. Management has no appreciation for employees, no consideration. More $$$ oriented than patient oriented or employee appreciation. Would suck the blood out from you for nothing in return.
Rules made up on the go, no set guidelines for employees issues/ concerns.
No support, no consideration for work/ life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Extensive Personal Support Worker (Former Employee), Oxford CountyFebruary 17, 2014
Job very rewarding and good to learn how to speak to families regarding death of family member. Night shift only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse home care company
csw /administration(mod duties) (Current Employee), BarrieFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: our clients
Cons: management, staff, pay
If you enjoy not having a balanced life this job is for you. If you like to work in an environment that changes daily with company policies as there reg managers sees fit this job is for you. If you enjoy not having the same person answer your scheduling calls this job is for you. They have a high turn over for a reason in every department. Check your – more... pay stubs too pay is never right.

enjoy being bullied at work and fyi they have modified workers rate them on this site to up there average trust me I might have been one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and rewarding Nursing experience
Nurse (Current Employee), OntarioJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: 24hr support and excellent resources
I serviced clients in their home worked independently and felt very much appreciated by the clients. It's hard work but very rewarding. This job is demanding but also very flexible I enjoyed being out in the fresh air rather than being cooped up in an institution for 8-12hrs. This job has it's challenges as any other. There is 24hr support, excellent – more... resources and great opportunities to use and enhance all nursing skills now as a manager I am hopefully going to pass on my passion for community nursing to the next generation of community nurses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with the elderly... i learn lots from them
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), St. Catherines ontarioJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: easy to gain employment
Cons: to maintain an 8 hr day i work from 8 am to 9pm
I enjoy the job. I just feel that it is time to move on. I am feeling under appreciated and disrespected by how we are treated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst communication and management
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee), OntarioNovember 27, 2013
Hired one month. Made promises. Finally started working 2.5 months later. Once again. Promise of hours made. Not followed through. Poor communication. Poor attitude of admin staff and management yet surprised I quit! Unless u r desperate do not work for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding!
PSW (Current Employee), North EastNovember 20, 2013
Pros: some freedom to plan your clients around your schedule.
Cons: scheduling not knowing the area they are scheduling for.
This job requires an unique person that truly cares about the client and not the bottom line. Pay is not the highest wage for this type of work but they offer mileage plus a time allotment. I have learned to say no, and I know what my limits are. My supervisor was helpful in working with me to schedule my availability so I had a life. Communication – more... is the key to this job. We work alone so we think we have to manage it alone. We don't. Biggest complaint is the scheduling not being on site and not knowing our areas. Again communication goes a long way (with the right attitude).
I love the independence and going place to place knowing I've made a difference. I had a client that was abusive. And my supervisor backed me 100%. If you bash your boss why do you expect to be given respect. Too many staff are disrespectful and expect the boss to treat them like they are queens. See above comments from others. They shouldn't be in the healthcare field. When we walk into clients home we are the face of Red Cross some people like to blame others for their failures. Grow up people. Work is hard. Respect goes a long way. You don't deserve anything you make it what it is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Working Conditions, and Terrible Management!
PSW (Current Employee), OntarioNovember 14, 2013
Pros: love the clients i visit daily, makes me feel good knowing i am helping someone in need!
Cons: terrbile workiing condidtions!
Terrible Everything! Must be available for 10 to 12 hours daily to get paid for 6 to 8 hours. In rural areas you are made to drive extended periods to visit clients, with poor compensation for mileage. Extremely poor support from management, can never contact them on the phone, must continuosly leave messages, and they will answer you by leaving you – more... a message, so there is no confrontation. Schedules are changed hourly, and they lie to their clients, or won't even phone them to let them know that the Care Giver is going to be coming at a different scheduled time then they were told. Always hiring new PSW's, because they can't keep anyone due to working conditions, and extremely low pay! They bully employee's! Intimidate employee's! Constant grievances by employee's! Expect employee's to follow "Protocol" when managemnet doesn't! If you need a job so bad, that you need to "Sell Your Soul To The Devil", then go and apply at Red Cross Care Partners, living in poverty would be better! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the worst place I have ever worked
Team Assistant (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONOctober 23, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: bad management, little to no training, no support, abusive mangement
Management is disconnected and doesn't care about the concerns of the employees only about the bottom line.

They arbitrarily hire and fire people, start and end contracts without notice. Positions are never posted so you do not know what is available and they pick and choose favorites.

The workload is overwhelming and there is no support in place. – more... Management yells and abuses employees on a consistent basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Community Support Worker (Current Employee), Belleville, ONAugust 24, 2013
Pros: helping others
Cons: long hours/days
Typical day can be quite busy.
Learned to say no if my work load gets to be to much.
Management needs a bit of work, hard to get a hold of.
Co-workers are nice.
When you lose clients.
Making the clients feel good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Clients
PSW (Current Employee), KingstonAugust 22, 2013
Pros: clients lots of hours if you want to work
Cons: split shifts communication as a whole
This is a community care setting with that comes scheduling issues management issues and high turn over. Many people enter community support thinking itll be easy...its not easy the schedules are hard the hours are rough but if you want to work the hours are there you cant be picky! As for Red Cross as a whole i have worked for companys that are much – more... worse!!! – less

About RED CROSS CARE PARTNERS

Bringing together the Canadian Red Cross’s tradition of compassion, experience and quality personal support services with – Read more