Find companies:
RED CROSS CARE PARTNERS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

RED CROSS CARE PARTNERS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Timmins, OntarioApril 10, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: was abused
I would never want to work for them again. They don't care about clients or their staff, just their profits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, Negative work environment
Client Care Coordinator (Current Employee), sudbury, ontarioApril 4, 2014
Poor Management, No chance for wage increase, Negative work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a rewarding place to be at
RPN (Current Employee), OshawaMarch 22, 2014
Pros: managing your own time, work with patients in their home
Cons: managers jerking you around as they please, make up rules on the go.
Used to be a great place to be. Management has no appreciation for employees, no consideration. More $$$ oriented than patient oriented or employee appreciation. Would suck the blood out from you for nothing in return.
Rules made up on the go, no set guidelines for employees issues/ concerns.
No support, no consideration for work/ life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Extensive Personal Support Worker (Former Employee), Oxford CountyFebruary 17, 2014
Job very rewarding and good to learn how to speak to families regarding death of family member. Night shift only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse home care company
csw /administration(mod duties) (Current Employee), BarrieFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: our clients
Cons: management, staff, pay
If you enjoy not having a balanced life this job is for you. If you like to work in an environment that changes daily with company policies as there reg managers sees fit this job is for you. If you enjoy not having the same person answer your scheduling calls this job is for you. They have a high turn over for a reason in every department. Check your – more... pay stubs too pay is never right.

enjoy being bullied at work and fyi they have modified workers rate them on this site to up there average trust me I might have been one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and rewarding Nursing experience
Nurse (Current Employee), OntarioJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: 24hr support and excellent resources
I serviced clients in their home worked independently and felt very much appreciated by the clients. It's hard work but very rewarding. This job is demanding but also very flexible I enjoyed being out in the fresh air rather than being cooped up in an institution for 8-12hrs. This job has it's challenges as any other. There is 24hr support, excellent – more... resources and great opportunities to use and enhance all nursing skills now as a manager I am hopefully going to pass on my passion for community nursing to the next generation of community nurses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with the elderly... i learn lots from them
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), St. Catherines ontarioJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: easy to gain employment
Cons: to maintain an 8 hr day i work from 8 am to 9pm
I enjoy the job. I just feel that it is time to move on. I am feeling under appreciated and disrespected by how we are treated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its preferred choice
Community Support Worker (Former Employee), Barrie, ONDecember 9, 2013
Cons: mileage/ wear and tear on vehicle
good job if you like working on your own and a self starter, community work going from client to client,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst communication and management
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee), OntarioNovember 27, 2013
Hired one month. Made promises. Finally started working 2.5 months later. Once again. Promise of hours made. Not followed through. Poor communication. Poor attitude of admin staff and management yet surprised I quit! Unless u r desperate do not work for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding!
PSW (Current Employee), North EastNovember 20, 2013
Pros: some freedom to plan your clients around your schedule.
Cons: scheduling not knowing the area they are scheduling for.
This job requires an unique person that truly cares about the client and not the bottom line. Pay is not the highest wage for this type of work but they offer mileage plus a time allotment. I have learned to say no, and I know what my limits are. My supervisor was helpful in working with me to schedule my availability so I had a life. Communication – more... is the key to this job. We work alone so we think we have to manage it alone. We don't. Biggest complaint is the scheduling not being on site and not knowing our areas. Again communication goes a long way (with the right attitude).
I love the independence and going place to place knowing I've made a difference. I had a client that was abusive. And my supervisor backed me 100%. If you bash your boss why do you expect to be given respect. Too many staff are disrespectful and expect the boss to treat them like they are queens. See above comments from others. They shouldn't be in the healthcare field. When we walk into clients home we are the face of Red Cross some people like to blame others for their failures. Grow up people. Work is hard. Respect goes a long way. You don't deserve anything you make it what it is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Working Conditions, and Terrible Management!
PSW (Current Employee), OntarioNovember 14, 2013
Pros: love the clients i visit daily, makes me feel good knowing i am helping someone in need!
Cons: terrbile workiing condidtions!
Terrible Everything! Must be available for 10 to 12 hours daily to get paid for 6 to 8 hours. In rural areas you are made to drive extended periods to visit clients, with poor compensation for mileage. Extremely poor support from management, can never contact them on the phone, must continuosly leave messages, and they will answer you by leaving you – more... a message, so there is no confrontation. Schedules are changed hourly, and they lie to their clients, or won't even phone them to let them know that the Care Giver is going to be coming at a different scheduled time then they were told. Always hiring new PSW's, because they can't keep anyone due to working conditions, and extremely low pay! They bully employee's! Intimidate employee's! Constant grievances by employee's! Expect employee's to follow "Protocol" when managemnet doesn't! If you need a job so bad, that you need to "Sell Your Soul To The Devil", then go and apply at Red Cross Care Partners, living in poverty would be better! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the worst place I have ever worked
Team Assistant (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONOctober 23, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: bad management, little to no training, no support, abusive mangement
Management is disconnected and doesn't care about the concerns of the employees only about the bottom line.

They arbitrarily hire and fire people, start and end contracts without notice. Positions are never posted so you do not know what is available and they pick and choose favorites.

The workload is overwhelming and there is no support in place. – more... Management yells and abuses employees on a consistent basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Community Support Worker (Current Employee), Belleville, ONAugust 24, 2013
Pros: helping others
Cons: long hours/days
Typical day can be quite busy.
Learned to say no if my work load gets to be to much.
Management needs a bit of work, hard to get a hold of.
Co-workers are nice.
When you lose clients.
Making the clients feel good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Clients
PSW (Current Employee), KingstonAugust 22, 2013
Pros: clients lots of hours if you want to work
Cons: split shifts communication as a whole
This is a community care setting with that comes scheduling issues management issues and high turn over. Many people enter community support thinking itll be easy...its not easy the schedules are hard the hours are rough but if you want to work the hours are there you cant be picky! As for Red Cross as a whole i have worked for companys that are much – more... worse!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clients are amazing! poor supervisors and scheduling
7 yr psw (Current Employee), sarniaAugust 10, 2013
Pros: easy work, friendly clients
Cons: long availability, terrible hrs, intimidating bosses, poor schedulers
The truth behind red cross...you must have a large gap of availability..12-14 hrs just so you can get clients.. you will not work these 12 hrs you might get 6 if you're lucky! ! Even if you have seniority you do not get your hrs. You will not get paid properly for your kms. The scheduling departmant is a complete joke, you can expect to be double booked – more... or not have your clts contacted when THEY have made a change to your clts and yours schedule. They lie about contacting your clts. But mostly you will need a 2nd job benifits are terrible as well as pay! Run, run far away! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for flexablility
Part-time PSW (Current Employee), cambridge onJuly 24, 2013
Pros: more one on one with clients
Cons: poor pay
very flexible with hours. easy to work around home life, children or other commitments. travelling can be a hassle and the wages are horrible. also compensation for gas mileage isn't as good as it could be. It is a lonely job in regards to co-worker support but is good for the one on one you get with your clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and interesting place to work, but with lots of aggravations.
Visiting Nurse (Current Employee), Waterloo, ON- Visiting in Cambridge ONJune 20, 2013
Pros: flexibility, independence, no night shifts, great relationships with clients
Cons: isolation, unpredictable hours and pay, on call responsibilities.
I work with an absolutely fantastic team of nurses for a manager who really cares about enabling us to do our job. The company has great resources in wound care education and advertises upcoming educational opportunities. There is also a small financial support for pursuing education. Seeing client's in their homes creates an opportunity to build very – more... fulfilling and effective therapeutic relationships and allows you to really focus on the needs of the client currently being seen. The clients are all very different, so it provides a great deal of variety and constant learning.

A typical day at work involves seeing 5-13 clients in their homes spread across the town. Several of the clients are typically chronic or acute wound care. These range from post surgical wounds to diabetic foot ulcers, venous or arterial leg ulcers, slow healing traumatic wounds, or even a few of un-known origins. Other clients may be on service for antibiotic therapy for infection, or teaching for diabetics or clients with new ostomies. There is never a dull day. Seeing the clients includes meeting them in their homes and actually doing their treatment plan, ordering supplies, communicating with their case manager, doctor, or pharmacist as appropriate, and communicating with the team assistant about any changes that may occur.

The problem with this company, and this industry, is that there is no consistency with hours or pay, and we are required to be on-call for 24hrs a day, 1 day each week, and for the weekend one weekend in 4. This can create very, very long hours, and a lot of stress. When on call, typically it involves forwarding messages after hours to clients who call in. The on call nurse is also responsible for any emergency visits that may happen after hours. This may include a leaking negative pressure dressing, a blocked catheter, a malfunctioning IV pump, or a symptom emergency in the Oncology or Palliative client. It is very unpredictable and quite stressful at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressfull job with no garanties of hours
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), Brampton, ONJune 13, 2013
Pros: no punch clocks
Cons: travelling in any type of weather conditions
I love what I do it gives great satisfaction to help people in need, although it is very hard to work for a company with no guaranties of hours even if you have seniority, there is no pension and it takes a long time to have benefits. If you want to work for the RCCP you will need another job unless you can afford to work part time hours, another thing – more... is you have to give a 45hr a week of your availability but they don't pay overtime and they don't even give you a 40hr week of work. A typical day will be you start at 7am have 3hr gap then go work for another 2hr have another 2hr gap and go work another 2hr, so you are out of your house for 12hr to 13hr but only get payed for 6hr of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managemnt
CSDC (Former Employee), Barrie, OntarioApril 10, 2013
Company has terrible management. No assistance when in need and always get conflicting information from managers.

About RED CROSS CARE PARTNERS

Bringing together the Canadian Red Cross’s tradition of compassion, experience and quality personal support services with – Read more