Real Canadian Superstore Employee Reviews

Found 662 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tells you how to manage work within short span of time
Grocery Clerk-Part Time (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC17 July 2017
I worked as a part time employee. It was not easy to work double shifts as the hardest part for me personally was to load stuff which eventually gave me bad back ache. But, I learnt how to work within time limits, sudden plan changes or when we are short of team, how to manage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most poeple are great to work with but not all and the people are people.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 July 2017
Not the best place to work but not the worst either. Most of the people are very nice to work with but not all, including management. The store manager is....something.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work, able to work in hectic coniditions
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 July 2017
able to understand and solve customer queries and problems.
try best to satisfied customer needs.
The workplace culture is cooperative
Management at the workplace is collaborative and effective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not that bad
Lead Hand P/T (Former Employee) –  winnipeg11 July 2017
Good pay but hated the union management was okay but is a typical big box store. they will give you the hous if you work hard and do your job to the best of your abilities.
Pros
Team oriented
Cons
union takes your money and gives nothing in return
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff, terrible management, even worse customers.
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC11 July 2017
My boss and colleagues were fantastic. Store managers are on drugs (literally.) and 70% of the customers need to get over themselves. Seriously dude/lady, chill. you're in a grocery store.
Pros
Lunch, benefits, 10% employee discount
Cons
unhelpful managers, egotistic customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff and work environment, stressful on busy days.
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wasaga Beach, ON11 July 2017
Overall its average most staff are easy to get along with. The managers are relatively nice and respectable. hours are fair depending on the department. benefits are good but take long to get and raises are based on time worked. dealing with some angry/ rude customers is to be expected during weekends.
Pros
good staff
Cons
customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy to learn and get along with customers and colleagues alike.
General Merchandise/Electronic Clerk (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK9 July 2017
Working at the Real Canadian Superstore was a fun and enjoyable experience where I got to learn what I needed for the job and knew how and when to use the necessary skills to do my job properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON8 July 2017
This place was just awful!
At first i thought it was great, until the managers began their power trips. They said everything was done by seniority but then would have new hires doing a job before the person who had been their longer. The staff had little to no communication with each other and was very clique based. Trying to book time off was impossible and working with the company during school is next to impossible as the management WILL NOT work with the schedule you have what so ever..

My advice RUN as far as you can!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place.nice environment to work in. good staff.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON3 July 2017
a typical day would be busy cashing out customers, cleaning the cash register, setting up the isles. i learned how to tackle with customer issues and the better way to communicate with people i order to sell our featured products
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organization
Replenishment Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 July 2017
Good organization. Excellent people. i enjoyed my time there.
I spend my day sorting and stocking items on shelves.
I learned a lot about team work.
Good management.
Good work culture.
Hardest part of the job was carrying things.
The most enjoyable part was free lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery Store
Price checker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 July 2017
Overall it was a pretty good place to work with good supervisors, managers, and co-workers. Through this job was able to learn good customer service skills and great multi-tasking ability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Cashier, Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 July 2017
good place to work staff is friendly management is great. Hours are usually good. Great benefits for full time employees. would recommend, great first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 June 2017
Excellent atmosphere to work.
Good time management.
Nice unity in work.
Good training for a new employee.
Easy to communicate with co-workers.
It is honor to work at Real Canadian Superstore.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work. Fast-paced. Management is poor.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mission, BC28 June 2017
The actual work that needed to be done was not awful. Costumers are usually pleasant to talk to. Scheduling was not good. ALWAYS got scheduled on the days I asked time off for months in advance. Only gave me 8 hours a week which made it not worth it. Called in sick once and the manager didn't believe me and made me come in anyways, which was pointless because they let me go home after an hour because I had a really bad flu (not surprised since it's common for people to fake being sick). Management is VERY rude, and picks favourites. I would not recommend this job to anyone.
Pros
Nice customers
Cons
Management, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment dedicated to providing great customer service.
Senior Meat Clerk (Current Employee) –  White Rock, BC27 June 2017
I enjoy my time spent working at Superstore, I utilize the skills I learn on a day-to-day basis to provide excellent customer service. Some shifts may be more difficult than other's due to the fact that product is selling faster than expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun
Front End Manager (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON27 June 2017
They try hard to make it a great place to work by hosting many colleague events - BBQ's, lunches, movie nights, Blue Jay games, Wonderland trips
We are a high volume sales store. Always number 1 for sales and volume.
Working with customers has it challenges but the colleagues and supervisors are quick to respond to make it right for the customer.
Pros
great benefits, discounts and colleague events
Cons
working every weekend and all holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Click and Collect
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON27 June 2017
I worked as a click and collect personal shopper.

Some of the things i found problematic with this job were:
- hours of work (I regularly started at 5am despite several times requesting normal shift hours that work better in my scheduled)
-severe understaffing (we mentioned many times that there was not enough of us in the department to succeed but no moves were made to hire more people)
-management (we only had one department manager who regularly took every weekend off, so when customers had complaints and wished to speak to our manager, she wasn't usually there)

positives on this job were:
-more interesting work than a cashier or stocking shelves
-good community of workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 June 2017
The work is simple, you just have to do it well and on time. You are also included in the workers union. Pretty busy everyday. Employees and management is helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working with the staff and customers
Front end/cashier (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC20 June 2017
Great job! Good for if you need part time employment as most of the shifts don't add up to 40 hours a week. I would definitely work here again. Only left because of move back to the coast
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great co workers
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Pitt Meadows, BC19 June 2017
Even though the store is a great place to work and can be a lot of fun, the management is a mess. Very unorganized and rude managers. No care for work safe rules.
Pros
small amounts of benefits and flexible hours
Cons
rude managers unoginized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Real Canadian Superstore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 667 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

Real Canadian Superstore Reviews by Location