RBC Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 195 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Executive Protection (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 23, 2015
This was a very challenging position and demanded a lot of me. The need to remain professional at all times was paramount and I learned how to deal with many different types of people.
Pros
learned new skills
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth opportunity
Investment specialist (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg ManitobaMarch 8, 2015
I have just been with RBC for just over a year and is now training in investment department. Hardwork pays, if you love what you are doing RBC rewards your dedication.
Pros
growth opportunity
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment where everyone are counted equal
Technical Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 6, 2015
What I love most about RBC is diversity. People from different parts of the world works together as a team. I was just a Coop there, but i was treated same as any other Full-Time employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 4, 2015
-Answering phone calls, solving customer complaints
-Learned advanced information about finance
-Motivating Management
-Fun and out-going co-workers
-Nothing really hard about it. Duties are simple and easy to learn and complete.
-Most enjoyable part of the job is the bonuses you can receive.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced working environment
Community Manager, Enterprise Social Media (Former Employee) –  TorontoMarch 4, 2015
Work days depended on whether I was part of the Admin team or part of the Social Media team. Admin allowed for 9-5 work cycle, while social media often allowed for varying times of work, and often included weekends during events. Had the pleasure of working with great and energetic colleagues while mentoring new staff.
Pros
being off-site to cover live events for social media inclusion
Cons
often worked late evenings or weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Brand
Mortgage Specialist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 28, 2015
My personal review is that I am working for one the most recognized brand in north america. Their training excels in every field and enjoying meeting highly professional individuals and I am excited to share my 25 yrs of work experiences.
Pros
top recognized brand in north america
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience overall
Banking Advisor - Outbound (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONFebruary 28, 2015
A typical day at work would be starting getting all your systems ready on the computer to proactively contact existing RBC clients(the automated dailer makes the calls). Discuss clients financial goals, spot opportunities, up selling, making referrals to other colleges when needed.

Management is great, always supportive. Co-workers(probably will depends on your team, however an overall review would be that they a pretty good).

The hardest part I would say would be that time to time you may not have a good day or maybe calls coming one after another, so it could be draining sometimes.

Most enjoyable part will be team outings, every quarter every team will go out (for example in the last 2 hours of your shift on a Friday or something) for dinner or karaoke and stuff.
Pros
good salary, recognition for hard work
Cons
repetitiveness
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and disciplined. Fun place to work. Friendly work culture.
QA Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 24, 2015
Day starts with a cup of coffee.
Quick look at emails in between "hello" and "good morning" to the co-workers.
Slowly go deep into the work
Attend scrum meeting and decide goal
Work accordingly
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Royal Bank of Canada
Commercial Sales Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCFebruary 7, 2015
Royal Bank of Canada is a great financial institution where the main focus are to help our clients and communities build a better future. I try to give each client the best service possible to make sure they leave the facility with a smile. Since my two years of work, I have invested my time in delivering quality products and services as well as making a difference in the communities that I serve. My shared values of service, teamwork, responsibility, diversity and integrity help me guide my behaviors and decisions toward the well-being of my clients. Everyday you face different situations concerning financial problems, administrative tasks as well as responsibilities, which help me gain professional skills.

The best part of the job would probably be creating a relationship with clients and knowing that they trust you to make the best decision for them and their financial future. It is all about trust and loyalty.

Teamwork is extremely important for the reason that I have been a basketball player all my life and being part of a team with different personalities is always overwhelming. However, if you know how to interact and manage those diverse personalities you get something great. It is easier and more fun to work in a teamwork environment. Also, you not only learn from them but learn from yourself as well. In other words, how you manage certain situations and conflicts as well as how you can communicate and fix those issues.

Overall, it has been a great experience so far to be part of the Royal Bank of Canada team but I am now looking for new challenges where I can get
  more... more responsibilities as well as gain professional experience and skills.  less
Pros
environment
Cons
repetitiveness
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment with a lot of room to grow within the firm
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 5, 2015
A very professional setting with some of the best people to work with. A high paced environment with a good work / life balance.
Pros
good career prospects
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an ideal place to work
TECHNICAL ARCHITECT (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 1, 2015
RBC is a right place to work for any Software Professional
As the name RBC is a great and fun at work place, I have been learning a lot here ! It is an honor to be a part of this great organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a retail store, however I was in a beauty department
Banker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 22, 2015
I worked as a beauty advisor with a permanent placement of 18 hours per week. I enjoyed the role however with my full time position I had to leave due to my transfer.
Pros
base + commission
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 20, 2015
great company to work with.
Lots of learning opportunities.
Co-workers are helpful
downside of it is to continue with the project and transition into a permanent role as their is no opportunities in the near future.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trading is about making trade offs.
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 20, 2015
The pay is exceptional, but so are the sacrifices you need to make in order to work on the trading floor. Long hours, lots of politics, and higher stress environment. Typically a learn as you go environment, but they do pay for industry courses such as your CSC and CFA.

Overall it can be very rewarding financially if you put your career and competition first.
Pros
good benefits, good pay
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetative work
Account Service Agent (Current Employee) –  North York, ONJanuary 14, 2015
Same tasks day in and day out. No room for growth unless you work downtown. Back office is complied of indexing client documents on the computer for 8 hours daily
Was this review helpful?Yes10No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good environment to work with
Business Test Lead/UAT Lead (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 13, 2015
It's challenging to work on different versions of mobile versions and different devices, carriers for RBC Mobile Banking Applications. Learnt how to dealt with multiple tasks at the same time by meeting the dead lines.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients and co-workers are fantastic to work with
Facilities Coordinator / Handyman (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJanuary 9, 2015
Fast paced environment, that gives you all kinds of challenges.
Never boring and always busy.
Clients and co-workers are fantastic to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
QA Manager/Lead (Current Employee) –  TorontoJanuary 7, 2015
Synergy project to integrate two lines of Businesses of RBC Trading. Currently RBC uses Third party applications for Equity and Options trading. By this new platform created, RBC would save large amount of money currently paid. The Wealth Management team has developed a Middleware Desktop application developed in .NET Frame work environment integrating OMS developed in Tandem and up/down stream applications. My responsibilities were to manage testing efforts, support business analyst activities and qualify the application. Testing cycle starting with order placement, trade execution, OMS functioning, Fill executions, trade reporting, trade archival through XML and FIX protocol
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RBC
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ONDecember 16, 2014
RBC is a great company to work for. They are very client oriented and put them first privacy wise as well as interest wise.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Client Advisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, ManitobaDecember 11, 2014
RBC is a good company to work for. They value staff and provide us with great benefits. The staff are also very nice to work with and diversity is a flag flown very high in the company. Great culture!
Pros
good benefits
Cons
basic salary small
Was this review helpful?Yes8No12

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 379 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture