Find companies:
RBC Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
174 reviews

RBC Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment.
Teller Manager (Former Employee), Hueytown, ALJanuary 14, 2014
RBC offered a family-like environment to work in. RBC was my first 'real' job. I enjoyed it and learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
System Service Technician I (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCJanuary 9, 2014
A good experience and worked with knowledgeable people. Good weekly paychecks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investments
Financial Advisor (Current Employee), Florham Park, NJJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: i can think outside of the box.
Cons: the smallest accounts tend to require the most amount of time.
A typical day at work for me is to discuss portfolios with clients, learn if there's been any changes in their short-term or long-term goals, and find solutions through investments that will help them continue with their chosen lifestyle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady workflow
Operations Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 7, 2014
Came in in the morning did daily reports, for various offices across tehe U.S. Open/closed accounts, helped with the audit of accounts. Also open and closed Money Market accounts. Made a physical and digital file of all accounts. Help the mail room with the delivering of mail and restock toner/paper to the copy machines/printers. Also restock the pantry – more... and cleaned the fridge every two weeks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My current work environment
Service Desk IT Analyst (Current Employee), Downtown MinneapolisJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: laid back, flexible, great people and management, very friendly
I believe RBC service desk is the most flexible and friendliest place any IT Analyst can work for. The people there are very nice and management is great. The best part about this service desk is that it is not big on metrics so we have more time to troubleshoot and fix the issue for the end user.

The challenging part of the RBC Service Desk is there – more... are always issues you will come across once in a while that you just get stumped on even though you've been here for years. I enjoy the challenge and this is a plus vs doing the same repetitive thing day in and day out.

For a helpdesk on a typical day we average around the 300's for total call throughout the day (20-30 calls per analyst). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Teller (Former Employee), Franklin, NCNovember 13, 2013
Awesome place to work, too bad it was sold and bought by PNC Bank.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Learning Opportunity
Loan Officer/Relationship Manager (Former Employee), Durham, NCOctober 29, 2013
Financial understanding is the key to a responsible, sound life. My time in the banking industry taught me very important life lessons in financial management, professionalism, and the general nuiances of the corporate world as a whole. My typical work day changed as my role changed throughout the my career in the industry. From relationship management – more... to portfolio management, the world of meeting goals and surpassing them was a constant. Setting benchmarks, devising a plan, and strategically executing to achieve became essential practice. Management ranged from micro-management to being trusted to carry out the task with little to no contact, more than once quarterly. Coworkers ranged from the ultra-competitive types, to the team oriented "we all win as one unit" types. The hardest part of it all was the ongoing nature of getting yourself motivated quarter after quarter to reach the goals. No matter how great you were on the 31st, today is a new month and you are back at zero. But, also with that came the most enjoyable part of the job. In reaching these goals and benchmarks, you get to help the customers achieve lifetime benchmarks. There is nothing more fulfilling than helping someone buy their first home, save for that wedding, help with college, or approve that loan that made something essential more affordable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Senior Teller (Former Employee), Mountain Brook, ALOctober 10, 2013
Ok environment the pay was the best but they allowed you to do try new things but no advancement soon
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place and people
Bankruptcy assistant (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: hours, pay, weekends and holidays off great work place
Cons: n/a
A typical day at work come in do E-mail, fax and responsible for typing memos kept detailed messages from customers , containing name, coding and bankruptcy processing customer service request, maintaining files, checks and personal debt records and process discharges and dismissals, process outgoing and incoming mail, organized appointments/meetings. – more... What did I learned how to work the computer printer over all how bankruptcy works. Management was great she was every nice was on top of everything. Co-workers was ok we were short handed for a few weeks but other then that we all got along. Hardest part it was alot to leaner in a short time. The most enjoyable part of the job I like to leaner new things and expanding my knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treasury Management Support Specialist II/Operations Specialist
Treasury Management Support Specialist II (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: learned a lot of banking skills and received educational reimbursement while employed with bank.
Cons: job security due to merger.
Two separate positions, started with RBC Bank as an Operations Specialist and transferred to the Treasury Management Support Specialist II role.

Worked in Exceptions Processing Department first processing all checks/money orders/agency payments and NSF checks/Fraud and Counterfeit Checks using Recovery System. Reconciled and cleared outstanding GL – more... issues within 10 days of occurrence. Reviewed and coded bankruptcy/deceased papers weekly. Researched and reported to ChexSystems, branches and collection agencies for bank errors and official checks.

Worked in Treasury Management Department first on General Services team, then on Electronic Services team processing setups/deletions/maintenances for several bank Treasury services. Processed PNC Bank Reconciliation reports, Tampa Bay deposits daily and monthly, and created general ledger tickets for each. Project manager and creator of special project for Check Access customer list updating account records while retrieving bank funds and maintaining accurate, up to date records. Processed and reconciled over 100 commercial customer accounts for bank reconciliation at month end. Back up for team members. Created, updated and maintained job requirement procedures and cross-trained with others on team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2013
No many people
Not a lot of hours
Learn a lot about communication devices
Non stressful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People in Hartford, CT
Senior Registered Client Associate (Former Employee), Hartford, CTSeptember 9, 2013
Enjoyed working at this company although there were many mergers and rotation of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting new people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Spring Lake, NCAugust 20, 2013
If you enjoy meeting new people and assisting them with opening accounts...then this job is for you. If you don't like working with money....then...on to something else
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was pleasant enough but ultimately, it was just a job.
New Accounts Officer & Customer Service (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 19, 2013
Pros: depended on who my supervisor was
Cons: depended on who my supervisor was
It was an OK job but a lot of what made it good or bad depended on who our supervisor was. I has supervisors who inspired great loyalty and made us feel like someone had our back. This, of course, inspired us to go above and beyond. And then there were others who were short with us, uninformed and quick to blame his or her employees for issues that – more... would arise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
Receptionist (Former Employee), St AugustineAugust 15, 2013
Pros: uniforms, benefits
Responding to customers via telephone and walk in customers, preparation of all incoming and outgoing letters, assisting in database management, sorting and filing of all correspondences, assisting with minor queries and any other tasks assigned. I have had the opportunity to work with various people from different cultural backgrounds, as well as attend – more... to diverse customers. This has enhanced my ability to communicate effectively with diverse people and provide more enhanced customer service. I have learnt that teamwork is the most essential aspect to any organization in order to boost performance, increase profits and create a unique environment.

There was not much difficulties in the job, however, the most tedious aspect may have been sorting and filing physical correspondences in cabinets rather than electronically. My most enjoyable aspect was the team spirit involved and the relationships built especially with the Relationship Managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales in a very competitive environment.
Director Sales (Former Employee), NYAugust 13, 2013
Pros: compensation, benefits.
Cons: an industry that has been decimated my regulation and technology.
Our Sales meeting started every morning 7:30a.m. We, the sales team, made sales calls for 1 to 3 hours after the sales meeting. Once the mandatory calls were made I prospected several hedge fund and mutual fund clients. I also made follow-up calls to clients with whom I had been working investment ideas.
I arranged conference calls as well as 1-on-1 – more... meetings for clients.

Afternoon meeting started at 2pm followed immediately by the largest Starbucks you could imagine!

Repeat the morning festivities sprinkled with typical trading desk pranks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Careful what group you end up in!
Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 13, 2013
Depends what group you are in - some a good and some are a nightmare
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Gastonia, NCAugust 7, 2013
I really enjoyed working with the RBC Team! I only worked there for a short period of time > I was balancing working and caregiving and caregiving required more time. RBC was very supportive and understanding. They truly care about their clients and families , but their employees and families as well! There is much to learn in the world of banking and – more... your clients whether person or business; they are your number #1 priority and they are depending on you to take care of their banking needs accurately. Yes , I did enjoy working with my co-workers and the clients as well! Great place to work and grow!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for carlin Equities which was acquired by RBC
OTC Trading Operations Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 5, 2013
They promised us the world and gave us nothing. They basically purchased our blood sweat and tears in our development of a trading platform with no intentions are keeping the company in tact. First lesson in corporate takeovers and cut throat strategies. Generous severance package however.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Bangalore, KAAugust 4, 2013
Learnt handling the situation.

Learnt training the new-comers.

About RBC Bank

The Royal Bank of Canada is the largest financial institution in Canada, as measured by deposits, revenues, and market capitalization. – Read more