Raven Industries Employee Reviews

Showing all 33 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD4 December 2016
Paid great i loved the schedule 12 hours shifts. I worked on machine, every 2 to 3 hours I'll change whatever product to a new one. (Plastic). While I wait for 3 hours, I normally go down step to help other co work on their work.
Pros
1 hours lunch break
Cons
Great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven was good place to learn
Materials Director (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD4 October 2016
9-10 hour days and Saturday
Electronics purchasing, point of use, six sigma, Kan Ban
Most management was fair
Good coworkers
Working with some of the management
Working with most of the people
Pros
Learning
Cons
Seperation from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None stop work atmosphere.. great production, very safe
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MN4 December 2016
Face paced, less talk, more work. Orderly fashioned in a professionalism setting. The hardest part of the job was lifting heavy items.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Raven Industries is great, learning how to do new jobs is imperative in Electronics Assembly.
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO9 March 2015
I have experience cross-training on various jobs, especially soldering, and learning how to operate Zierick machine, which apply stake pins into circuits boards great challenge, and learning how to do change-over on machine, when running different boards.
Pros
Raven acknowledges everybody birthdays and provide free lunch with supervisors for 1hr. lunch.
Cons
Health benefits great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven review
Senior Lead Laminator Operator (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD6 May 2016
I had many different jobs and could vary day to day. When hurricane season hit we worked 7 days a week 12 hours a day. Lots of opportunities to learn other machines and learn Senior positions.
Pros
advancement. decent pay
Cons
did not like the supervisor and the way he ran his crew.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job environment. Desk in a cubicle.
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO21 June 2016
Good job until they decided to close the facility and lay everyone off.

Had 4 weeks of vacation.

Was writing software and designing testers which was fun.

Co-workers were helpful, a team environment.
Pros
Close to home. Good working hours.
Cons
They laid everyone off.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Members
Engineering Technician II (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD18 March 2015
The opportunities and challenges helped me grow professionally and personally.
The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing our products change the world for the better.
Pros
Good benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Work
Repair Technician (Current Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD15 February 2015
Learned how to work with a diverse group of personalities.
Company provided stable environment even through market downturns.
Pros
Many & Affordable Benefits
Cons
Lots of red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding position and learning opportunity
Marketing Assoc.& Trade Show Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Latrobe, PA15 July 2014
Smaller family owned company. Assistant to the Marketing manager required creating and distributing marketing materials. Planning, scheduling and coordinating Trade shows and other events. Creating packaging for products. Co-workers were great. Management was very good as well. The hardest part of the job was to learn all about toner and the toner industry as well as to create interesting promotional material for this type of market
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Putting compoents on boards
Electrical production (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD6 September 2015
the instructions give when doing the job and not good. and they made people switch every 2 hrs. so one would not get carpel tunnel. Pulling wires for jobs was very hard for the person to do but it had to be done. the plant was clean and had "air" but the 10 hr. days very had and management would not tell employees until the day before.
Pros
Air condition
Cons
Poor training practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Senior Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  Earth City, MO29 October 2014
Raven is a good place to work. Doesn't matter if your management or a production worker, it is a great atmosphere to work in. I've learned a lot and the most enjoyable part is the freedom I have to do things as long as it's done right, on time, and to the criteria set. The hardest part of the job is being located at a remote facility and not being able to talk with some people face to face to get something accomplished.
Pros
climate controlled environment, nice work schedule
Cons
remote facility and trying to get things accomplished
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your personal needs do not matter to them
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD8 May 2013
Not a family friendly job. Long hours with no breaks. The management treats everyone like the are expendable.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Returned to School
Process, Safety, Training Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD22 August 2013
Enjoyed working with co-workers.
Management allowed flexibility.
Created Division Training program
No advancement with the job
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Production, Laborer Ready (Former Employee) –  Latrobe, PA12 August 2015
good company, management was great . new my wage although through a temp agency. liked the work and was trained very well
Pros
good management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven Industries
Advanced Operator (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD20 October 2014
Team work!
Setting up machines for product run, removing rolls with crane/forklift
Enjoyed working with management and crew.
Challenging, enjoyed going to work and working with others.
Pros
Positive employee attitudes, free coffee in break room, overtime
Cons
could be better employee training for new employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I have had as an engineer
Hardware Engineer (Former Employee) –  Round Rock, TX29 April 2013
Working at Raven was fun. I had my hands on a lot of different projects. My boss was a great guy. Most of the co-workers were great to work with as well. I would work in there again.
Pros
Learned a lot, location, people, lots to do.
Cons
Not much for advancement in Austin
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven is unstable and up and down. They lay off to many good people
Training Specialist/Trainer II, March (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD14 March 2015
Not a stable employer. They are investing in the wrong parts of the company and are no longer worried about their employees. They are quick to lay off even though they invest millions in facilities that are not necessary for the success of the company.
Cons
Layoffs and not people orientated.
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Film Division
Lead Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SD23 January 2014
Lead Operator of Tarp Machine. Oversee line of employees to ensure quality. Process reports of production and data entry into AS400, take samples to quailty to pass insection.
Pros
Management and Fast Paced
Cons
Long work days, work weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!!!!
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO earth city29 July 2014
The worst place ever to work for. The management is terrible they show favoritism so much. They dont care nothing about the employee. I would be very careful in choosing this company.
Pros
pay not so bad
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of value built into employees
PC Cell Lead (Current Employee) –  Earth City Mo4 October 2013
Typically I am overworked on a daily basis and am not felt that my work is valued at all from the upper management. I am always told to do better, that I can do better.
Pros
Work hours
Cons
Morals, Values of management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Raven Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7