Raven Industries Employee Reviews

Showing all 29 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven review
Senior Lead Laminator Operator (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMay 6, 2016
I had many different jobs and could vary day to day. When hurricane season hit we worked 7 days a week 12 hours a day. Lots of opportunities to learn other machines and learn Senior positions.
Pros
advancement. decent pay
Cons
did not like the supervisor and the way he ran his crew.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Putting compoents on boards
Electrical production (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDSeptember 6, 2015
the instructions give when doing the job and not good. and they made people switch every 2 hrs. so one would not get carpel tunnel. Pulling wires for jobs was very hard for the person to do but it had to be done. the plant was clean and had "air" but the 10 hr. days very had and management would not tell employees until the day before.
Pros
Air condition
Cons
Poor training practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Production, Laborer Ready (Former Employee) –  Latrobe, PAAugust 12, 2015
good company, management was great . new my wage although through a temp agency. liked the work and was trained very well
Pros
good management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven Industries
ATD Steering Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDApril 1, 2015
Work crew is great. Training that I did & the training I received was well put together & informative. The immediate manager was helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Members
Engineering Technician II (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMarch 18, 2015
The opportunities and challenges helped me grow professionally and personally.
The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing our products change the world for the better.
Pros
Good benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven is unstable and up and down. They lay off to many good people
Training Specialist/Trainer II, March (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDMarch 14, 2015
Not a stable employer. They are investing in the wrong parts of the company and are no longer worried about their employees. They are quick to lay off even though they invest millions in facilities that are not necessary for the success of the company.
Cons
layoffs and not people orientated.
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Raven Industries is great, learning how to do new jobs is imperative in Electronics Assembly.
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 9, 2015
I have experience cross-training on various jobs, especially soldering, and learning how to operate Zierick machine, which apply stake pins into circuits boards great challenge, and learning how to do change-over on machine, when running different boards.
Pros
raven acknowledges everybody birthdays and provide free lunch with supervisors for 1hr. lunch.
Cons
health benefits great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Work
Repair Technician (Current Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDFebruary 15, 2015
Learned how to work with a diverse group of personalities.
Company provided stable environment even through market downturns.
Pros
many & affordable benefits
Cons
lots of red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok if you're in Sioux Falls
Manufacturing employee (Current Employee) –  Earth City, MOJanuary 9, 2015
Raven in Sioux Falls is a solid company, our outlying plant did not survive based on market conditions. I've enjoyed my time at Raven and everyone has been good to work with. If you're in the Sioux Falls area check them out.
Pros
good people
Cons
going out of business
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Assurance Calibration Technician (Current Employee) –  Earth City, MOJanuary 8, 2015
40 hours per week
Electronic test technician
Calibration technician - Quality Assurance Department
Receiving inspector - Quality Assurance Department
Board level inspection - Quality Assurance Department
Multi-task person.No supervision,
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and the job is more technical and very rewarding in a long run. the people were great and the management as well.
Electronic Assembler (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDNovember 25, 2014
During my work at the industry, i had experienced the best chance in learning many skills when it come to the technical work. this company has and still serving many customers with very good quality products.
Pros
freel lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
facilities/maintenance tech ll
Maintenance Foreman/Facilities Technician (Current Employee) –  Earth City, MONovember 22, 2014
preventative maintenance
machinery breakdowns
anything facility related
enjoys working with co-workers
pmxpert software record keeping
working with contractors on facility upgrades
installation of machinery
electrical upgrades- powering up machinery
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Senior Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  Earth City, MOOctober 29, 2014
Raven is a good place to work. Doesn't matter if your management or a production worker, it is a great atmosphere to work in. I've learned a lot and the most enjoyable part is the freedom I have to do things as long as it's done right, on time, and to the criteria set. The hardest part of the job is being located at a remote facility and not being able to talk with some people face to face to get something accomplished.
Pros
climate controlled environment, nice work schedule
Cons
remote facility and trying to get things accomplished
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Raven Industries
Advanced Operator (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDOctober 20, 2014
Team work!
Setting up machines for product run, removing rolls with crane/forklift
Enjoyed working with management and crew.
Challenging, enjoyed going to work and working with others.
Pros
positive employee attitudes, free coffee in break room, overtime
Cons
could be better employee training for new employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!!!!
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO earth cityJuly 29, 2014
The worst place ever to work for. The management is terrible they show favoritism so much. They dont care nothing about the employee. I would be very careful in choosing this company.
Pros
pay not so bad
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding position and learning opportunity
Marketing Assoc.& Trade Show Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Latrobe, PAJuly 15, 2014
Smaller family owned company. Assistant to the Marketing manager required creating and distributing marketing materials. Planning, scheduling and coordinating Trade shows and other events. Creating packaging for products. Co-workers were great. Management was very good as well. The hardest part of the job was to learn all about toner and the toner industry as well as to create interesting promotional material for this type of market
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A reasonable job with reasoable benefits.
Electronic Technician (Current Employee) –  Earth City, MOMarch 19, 2014
I do like the fact that you are required to test for basic electronic and inspecting of circuit boards. You are also required to take a state certified solder test before starting work. The overall work enviornment is not very pleasant and there is definitely favoritism going on by the supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Film Division
Lead Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJanuary 23, 2014
Lead Operator of Tarp Machine. Oversee line of employees to ensure quality. Process reports of production and data entry into AS400, take samples to quailty to pass insection.
Pros
management and fast paced
Cons
long work days, work weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great companies to work for
Electrical Assembler/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Earth City, MOOctober 28, 2013
Loved electronics assembly the most. Wish the companies didn't always have to go through temp services and would hire direct. Easy to get along with others and great supervisors to work for.
Cons
pay seems low for the industries
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of value built into employees
PC Cell Lead (Current Employee) –  Earth City MoOctober 4, 2013
Typically I am overworked on a daily basis and am not felt that my work is valued at all from the upper management. I am always told to do better, that I can do better.
Pros
work hours
Cons
morals, values of management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7