Find companies:
Rainforest Cafe
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

Rainforest Cafe Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best staff ..no regrets in working there
Server/Cashier/Bartender/Trainer (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONJuly 15, 2014
Pros: great people .. wonderful friends ..
Cons: very hot.. long hours ..not offered breaks on a reg basis
I enjoyed the work itself and the interaction with guests and my coworkers.
Management team was very hard working.
Wonderful coworkers .. was such a pleasure working with them
The job was very physical .. hardest part was if I had to work a double shift .. 10 hours
Enjoyed so much of it .. the people . the work ..

If I had one criticism it would be – more... there wasn't any job security even though I had been working there for over 9 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All staff communicates very well.
Line Cook (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONOctober 28, 2013
A typical day at the rainforest is always a busy one, but the staff and management make it easy to keep up with the pace from good communication and problem solving skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free meals for cooks
Line Cook (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: payed for soft drinks and free meals
Cons: hours where on and off if the resturant went slow they send you home
The food was amazing and all but the only thing i didnt like was that half the food would go into the garbage .People would pay top dallors for the food but they wouldnt be able to finishing it.They would hire people like every two weeks reducing your hours or maken you quit due to the fact there wasnt enough hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Cashier/Trainer/Hostess (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONSeptember 6, 2013
Management was always around to help where needed. Even though there is a lot of staff there everyone knew everyone and got along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume
Server/Trainer/Crew Supervisor (Former Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 9, 2014
• Providing the customer with top-notch service and making their experience a pleasant one was a priority
• Customer service, cleaning of stations and side work.
• Complete raining of new servers including in a classroom setting.
• Assisted with hosting while working as a server during high-volume times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jungle atmosphere
Bartender (Former Employee), Rutherfor , New JerseyJuly 23, 2014
Had fun. It took my bartending experience to a higher level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK
CHA CHA The Tree frog Mascott.. (Former Employee), OpryMills Nashville TennesseeJuly 17, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: non
Worked as Cha Cha.. They made me work on my 15minute breaks un wrapping toys with my sweaty hands in the hot costume. Took me out on an Event It was 95 degrees out side we were in Direct Sun I was dying... I said I needed a break for a minute they took 15 minute after I told them I could have passed out...

They only paid $9 an hour for you to die in – more... a hot costume... I used to make $25 - $50 an hour for an other place I used to get breaks and I was treated with resect and like I was what I was not just the mascot but an Entertainer....

No Respect for you as a entertainer or person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Server Job
Server (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 6, 2014
Fun atmosphere, great place for kids. If you've ever worked in the hospitality industry as a server, its a pretty typical place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work. Lots of people to talk to.
Unit Accountant/Sales Manager (Former Employee), Ontario, CAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch, fun environment
Cons: loss of free lunches, no benefits.
The restaurant was not great when it came to compensation and benefits due to being a hourly employee. The managers were very personable and were very nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILFebruary 11, 2014
Cons: they don't care, short breaks, no insurance, no perks
The management doesn't care about anything, but the guests. They can be little you and they'll give them free food. All they care about is up selling, you can be the worst worker in the world, but as long as you sell their membership, they'll let you get away with anything. They play favorites. Sometimes you won't even get breaks, even if you're working – more... a 7 hour shift. You have to pay to get the employee perks too. People steal in the breakroom and they don't care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy, never a moment of peace
Tour Guide (Host), Safari Guide (Server) (Former Employee), Anaheim, CAJanuary 22, 2014
As an employee you learn that this restaurant is very strict about several things. Appearance, food health/safety, procedures, sales, cleanliness, etc. I couldn't handle it as a server and there were too many people ahead of me to be promoted as a host lead/supervisor. Some managers were great but most would get in their crabby moods and there would – more... be no talking to them unless you wanted trouble.
The restaurant is "secret-shopped" once per month. If you do your job correctly every time then you will have nothing to worry about. If you get below a certain score you will be fired.
It is quite common for everyone to go out after the night shift or party with each other. If you're fine with that this is the job for you. But if you are not fond of that lifestyle I would avoid this place.
Serving is a hard job, so several people would be open about expressing their negativity behind the scenes. Not the most positive place to work. There is a very high turn-over rate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different experience
Prep Chef (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: had disney perks
Cons: n/a
my typical work day wasn't to hard pretty easy going day. The management was awesome if you needed help with this or that or something you would get it and they were friendly and helpful. I worked with very easy going and helpful co-workers. The hardest part of the job was working so late.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Bar Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 8, 2014
Busy all day long . Waves of customers which tourists were mostly fun all day long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I LOVED IT
Restaurant Floor Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: coworkers, management.
I would have never left this company if I was smarter then!!!! This is an awesome place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy and hard job
Kitchen Chef de Partie (UK) (Former Employee), London PiccadillyDecember 10, 2013
daily rutin: food preparation, back up update, made the orders,
cleaning
dessert, salad, fry and grill section linen work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving, Bartending, Bookkeeping
Host/Server/Bartender/Trainer/Admin (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILOctober 23, 2013
Understood how to run and manage a restraunt, after looking into the business, it is not what I want. Uncle and I was looking into opening our own restraunt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at work
Busser/Server (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJOctober 12, 2013
Clock in start doing my job duties do whatever my manager ask me to do the hardest part is when it gets busy but the most enjoyable part is taking pictures and celebrating kids birthdays
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a alright place to work
Pantry Cook (Former Employee), Hartford, CTOctober 12, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: short breaks no benefits no raises short work hours
Trying to deal with so many different attitudes, That you have to take responsiability on your own. management was very hard to understand because it seemed like they really did'nt care about much except for there own job. the The co-works had to be watched really careful because they were all about themselves hard to get along with. trying to get along – more... with staff. being creative they did not like that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Predictable Schedule and Environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Grapevine, TXSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: predictable schedule, worked only weekends
Cons: working in a tourist trap with loud music and so many people that you can't walk in a straight line
Maintained knowledge of current sales and promotions, policies regarding payment and exchanges and security practices.
Used sales knowledge to sign customers up for rewards program.
Completed all cleaning, stocking and organizing tasks in assigned sales area.
Handled transactions through use of a cash register.
Engaged with customers in a sincere and – more... friendly manner.
Balanced cash transactions at the end of each day.
Assisted kids in the Build-A-Bear workshop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Banquet and Sales Manager / FOH Manager (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: fun
great the best great potential to move up, landrys owns a lot of different properties.

About Rainforest Cafe

Landry's Restaurants is a leading full-service restaurant operator with more than 275 locations throughout the US. The company's – Read more