Radisys Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dying vine
Finance (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORMarch 2, 2015
Over the last few years, there has been a lot of change at this company. The changes stemmed mainly from sending manufacturing overseas (so, lay-offs made sense). However, Radisys recently began a new round of lay-offs affecting GA. Those that are left are reeling from the news that they have terminated positions for our key engineering people, as well as folks from HR, our lawyer and our facilities team. The outlook is bleak. We feel that either the company is going to be sold or go under. The general consensus is to look for a job. We've lost all our good people. Yet, they promote people into higher positions who have no background/experience to back such promotions.
Pros
have a job...today.
Cons
bleak outlook, constant lay-offs, good people let go while inexperienced people get promoted.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent blend of highly skilled workforce and teamwork
Associate Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, IndiaOctober 22, 2014
A typical day at work included doing the assigned tasks by a given time just like any other company, but what set this company apart from the rest of the companies is that each one may be assigned tasks which they've never done before and from various disciplines. This may include development, debugging, testing a product, helping with documentation and doing all this while trying to meet deadlines. This makes the work at RadiSys quite challenging but also very fruitful. At the end of my tenure at RadiSys, I had learnt how to deal with debugging issues that RadiSys' customers had rasied, helping with the development of projects, debugging in fields such as networking, he;ping the documentation team with the finer details of the project/product (as it was a product based company).
When learning anything new, the coworkers help getting you up to speed so that you can learn faster and meet deadlines. The most challenging part of the job was mainly dealing with the multiplexed roles of a developer, debugger, tester and documentation help , but this was exactly what made the job satisfying and helped keep you on your toes so that we are never bored. Doing those challenging things only made me get better at all those things gradually.
Pros
free lunch, open environment, lunch trips
Cons
only yearly health check ups, no outdoor sports facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good internship place
Intern (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORSeptember 23, 2014
It is a good place to start an internship. I learned many details of Tcp/IP protocol and how to set up servers. The management is loose since I am an intern. Co-workers are nice, they like new technologies and they do too much about their family in the workplace. My hardest part is reading the Perl code because I did not know anything about Perl at that time. The most enjoyable part of my internship is designed the UI.
Pros
learned many networking stuff
Cons
do not have enough work to do
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company constantly undergoing changes
Manager (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORJune 27, 2014
Constant management changes and lay offs makes life hard at Radisys.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent in establishing a new market
Sales and Applications Engineer (Former Employee) –  Conshohocken, PAJanuary 21, 2014
Became a leader in the embedded PC marketplace through high volume manufacturing, and extension of long-lived designs.
Pros
had backing of intel corporation
Cons
overreached with its acquisition of texas micro
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot and had a lot of run working at Radisys.
GM, Strategy and Business Development (Former Employee) –  Portland Area, OregonDecember 1, 2013
Recruited out of Tektronix to start the Telecom Thrust and did accomplish the task! Radisys is now recognized for being a Telecom company.

Great set of people and work with a lot of good people. Weathered over 8 acquisitions and integrated a lot of products and consolidated portfolios - had fun along the way.

Enjoyed starting a new product line for ATCA and grew it aggressively for several years. Wished the Telecom market was not so lumpy and was more predictable.

Too bad I had to leave, but wishing the remaining folks good luck to grow the company back and build it up.
Pros
variety of experience - everything from product management to m&a
Cons
smaller company with constant resource challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
AP Accountant (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORJune 21, 2013
Enjoyed working here. Company takes great care of their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work (at least as an intern)
Software Intern (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLFebruary 27, 2013
- Great people
- Great learning opportunity
- Interesting work
- Fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Lead New Product Introduction/Test Technician (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORAugust 24, 2012
run of the mill production.Responsible for reviewing assembly and test documentation, prior to being released to the production floor. Work with test engineering to debug test software in the production work environment. Validate completed products through test. Perform level 1 and 2 debug on failed boards. Participated in several Quality improvement teams to improve Test yields and improve productivity.
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Radisys is now a ghost of its formal self
Functional Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORMay 16, 2012
All of Radisys's production has moved oversea. What remains of the engineering staff shuttles to/from south east asia.
Pros
cowboy culture
Cons
all manufacture and repair is overseas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa dinamica com muitos responsibilidades
Engenheiro de Suporte Técnico (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 18, 2013
Tive muitos responsabilidades e muitos clientes diferentes em partes diferentes do mundo, aun não tive um dia tipico. Az vezes, trabalhava de meu casa depende da hora do dia (por exemplo reunioes as 6:00 na manha, falar com os expertos na China as 22:30 para resolver problemas dos clientes). Durante o dia, posso ficar-mim dentro do laboratório para duplicar e resolver problemas. Az vezes, estou dentro da oficina para ter chamadas telefonicas, sessão de remote, sistema de mensagens instantâneas, visitas físicas com meus clientes. Az veces, as visitas sao no paises diferentes.

De coisas de gerencia, nao tive um gerente dentro de mi oficina. O primer gerente de Continuous Computing (antes de Radisys) foi perfeito. Ele mim deu oportunidades para demonstrar mis habilidades e cuidava para meu sucesso, e tenha interesa para avançar mim. O ultimo gerente de Radisys foi tudo gestos vazios. Com meus gerentes, falamos una vez cada duas semanas com Skype.

Meus colegas e eu nos caimos muito bem, incluye meus colegas em paises diferentes. Tambem, meus clientes e eu nos caimos muito bem, especialmente com meus clientes afora do estados unidos. Que gostei mais de meu trabalho e responsibilidades diferentes, falar com clientes e colegas no partes diferentes do mundo, e a tecnologia tambem.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4