QUINN CONTRACTING LTD. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
B Pressure Rig Welder (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB6 February 2018
When i worked for quinn it was very enjoyable, people i worked with were awesome and the management treated me well. I left the company to take a break from welding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work
Maintenance man (Former Employee) –  Blackfalds, AB11 January 2018
Typical oilfield workplace ,most sites where a good place to work excepte for a few jobs where management had a lot to be desired.Quinn was not cheap when it came to safety and safety training I got along with most workers, but in all was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Welders Helper (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB14 December 2017
Wouldn't mind working for them again.

Great company to work for they have lots of hours and the pay is excellent

They provided transportation to and from work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was with Quinn for approx 6 years
Journeyman Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 November 2017
They gave me my start in my trade. They treated me fairly and honestly. They are true leaders in the Maintenance and Turn around industry. Ive worked both turn around and maintenance for Quinn and both are well run and efficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Pipefitter/labouer (Current Employee) –  Blackfalds, AB21 September 2017
Quinn contracting are very safety conscience company. I have worked for several different Managers there. For references you may talk to Bob Bott at the Ram River Gas Plant in Rocky Mountain House, or Tim Jackson at the Nova Joffrey plant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Safety Monitor (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB5 September 2017
A lot of great people to work with. Many tasks and duties to perform so the day was never boring, some days and weeks were long and allowed you to make more than average income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good crew and productive environment
Materials/ Warehouse lead and Tool Distribution (Former Employee) –  Pine River, SK21 August 2017
Fast faced work always something to do days go by fast a lot to learn. Not as much stability as one would like as turnaround jobs can end at any point. A good pay check transportation to and from work if you aren't local you can make money off sub.
Pros
transport you too and from work
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Steam/Glycol Heating Systems Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB25 July 2017
Started working in the cold lake for Quinn in 2001
I worked my way up to the heating system job.
The company was very fair with the pay and work time.
When the oil prices started to go down,the work slowed down to as it always does.
I would go back to work for Quinn if the call was there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment
Accounts Payable (Former Employee) –  Blackfalds, AB5 July 2017
Typical day of work

Answer e-mails
Work with vendors on accounts
Meetings

Hardest part of the Job

working with other departments

Most Enjoyable Part of the Job

When work was completed on time because everyone worked together
Pros
Amazing benefits and great pay
Cons
Never sure if you will have a job or not
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB16 June 2017
broad variety of work learned a lot and improved my skills but managers replaced often and did not help employees to improve skills they had to learn on their own
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place was great when I started working there but went down hill when restructure occured.
Benefits Administrator (Former Employee) –  Blackfalds, AB8 June 2017
A typical day at work consisted of customer service inquiries and reporting. The work culture in the beginning was great but after the re-structure and economy slide due to oil price drop, the overall atmosphere changed in a negative way.
Pros
Flexibility with vacation
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Steamfitter/Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Chetwynd, BC17 May 2017
One of the best companies I have worked for. They are very understanding and the always making sure that you are working in a safe manner. They provide you with amazing training so you can carry with the job they assign you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Toolcrib Attendant (Former Employee) –  Joffre, AB7 April 2017
Would return to them if there was a position available.They take great care of their employees. I don't have a lot to really say. The company changes top end staff a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had some ups and downs
Journeyman Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 March 2017
my experience with Quinn was rocky at best. i found their choice/of supervision and managment was based on being friends with someone and not having sufficient skills required to do the job. thus i found there was always the wrong person in place. good workers were left unnoticed because the poor supervision and managment did not want to feel as tho their job was threatened.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for long lasting employment
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Essex, ON20 March 2017
My day started at 7a.m Monday to Friday ended vary from day to day..Dealt with different Contrators every day.Drove Dumb truck and front end loader. Worked with Veries land scaping, equitment
Pros
bought own lunches
Cons
Vareyed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefit paxkage
Maintenance Pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB3 March 2017
They are a good employer, they have a great benefits package, they also have a good safety standard and varied work locations. Quinn ook a big hit during the oil price collapse but they survived and recovering
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Office (Former Employee) –  Blackfalds, AB1 March 2017
Don't expect much from this employer. No additional perks to working here, long hours, lots of favoritism. Only perk is that there is limited travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed working there
Journeyman Insulator (Former Employee) –  Joffre, AB10 February 2017
I enjoyed working for Quinn .the hardest part of the job for me was all the wasted time that was required I understand its just part of the job but its about the only thing there that I didn't enjoy
Pros
medical and dental
Cons
all the red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Apprentice welder (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB30 December 2016
i would reccomend this company to many people as long as your a hard worker try to get on with a good crew and good boses and you will be successfulkl lots of hours when economy is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loa motel with breat staf
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB17 December 2016
great company, great co workers. hated to see the job end
as an apprentice i learned every day from the experience they hired . i was lucky to be chosen out of school to join their team, wish i could get back out there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 16Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at QUINN CONTRACTING LTD.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 74 reviews
521
429
316
23
15

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture